DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/952,688 filed on 11/19/2024
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined
This action is made NON-FINAL
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 11/19/2024 have been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a 2 step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), see MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: see MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2)
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? see MPEP 2106.05
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to an information processing device (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions (i.e., article of manufacture). Therefore, claim 12 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c)
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below [with the category of abstract idea in brackets]) and will be used as a representative claim for claims 1 – 11. Claim 1 recites:
An information processing device for remote control on a vehicle that executes a first mode in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and a second mode in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the information processing device comprising one or more processors, wherein
the one or more processors are configured to execute:
acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode, and is specified by a user of the vehicle; and
transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. [mental process/step]
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, a human is able to determine an execution request is needed from collecting data (a user specified mode) and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” [with a description of the additional limitations in brackets], while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”.):
An information processing device for remote control on a vehicle that executes a first mode in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and a second mode in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the information processing device comprising one or more processors, wherein
the one or more processors are configured to execute: [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module]
acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode, and is specified by a user of the vehicle; and [pre-solution activity (data gathering)]
transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. [well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields (transmitting data)]
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “the one or more processors are configured to execute”, the “information processing device” with these processors is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of acquiring data, evaluating the result, and transmitting) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Regarding the limitation of ”acquiring…”, “transmitting… ” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (information processing device) to perform the process. In particular, the receiving steps from the user for a user-specified mode are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the evaluating step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the transmitting results step to the external device is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting a signal), and amounts to a mere well-understood, routine, conventional activity as supported by MPEP section 2106.05(d).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of information processing device amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode, and is specified by a user of the vehicle;” and “ transmitting to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode.” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In addition, these additional limitations (and the combination, thereof) amount to no more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2 – 11 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Dependent claim 2 utilizes the information processing device (applying the abstract idea using generic computing module) to further output a first screen (insignificant extra-solution activity[displaying]) for a user to select to execute a acquired user-specified mode (insignificant extra-solution activity[data gathering]) and transmitting the execution request to the external device (well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields [transmitting data]). The mental process of determining to execute the user-specified mode is done on the information processing device which is merely a generic computer module. Therefore, dependent claims 2 – 11 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of 1.
Furthermore, please see below for the analysis of claims 12 – 20.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c)
Independent claim 12 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below [with the category of abstract idea in brackets]) and will be used as a representative claim for claims 12 – 20. Claim 12 recites:
A non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer for remote control on a vehicle and that cause the computer to perform functions, the vehicle being configured to execute a first mode in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and a second mode in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the functions comprising:
acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode and is specified by a user of the vehicle; and
transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. [mental process/step]
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, a human is able to determine an execution request is needed from collecting data (a user specified mode) and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” [with a description of the additional limitations in brackets], while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”.):
A non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer for remote control on a vehicle and that cause the computer to perform functions, the vehicle being configured to execute a first mode in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and a second mode in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the functions comprising: [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module]
acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode and is specified by a user of the vehicle; and [pre-solution activity (data gathering)]
transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. [well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields (transmitting data)]
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitation of “a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer”, is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of acquiring data, evaluating the result, and transmitting) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Regarding the limitation of ”acquiring…”, “transmitting… ” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer) to perform the process. In particular, the receiving steps from the user for a user-specified mode are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the evaluating step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the transmitting results step to the external device is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting a signal), and amounts to a mere well-understood, routine, conventional activity as supported by MPEP section 2106.05(d).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode, and is specified by a user of the vehicle;” and “ transmitting to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode.” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In addition, these additional limitations (and the combination, thereof) amount to no more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 13 – 20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Dependent claim 13 utilizes the storage medium (applying the abstract idea using generic computing module) to further output a first screen (insignificant extra-solution activity[displaying]) for a user to select to execute a acquired user-specified mode (insignificant extra-solution activity[data gathering]) and transmitting the execution request to the external device (well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields [transmitting data]). The mental process of determining to execute the user-specified mode is done on a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer which is merely a generic computer module. Therefore, dependent claims 13 – 20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of 12.
Therefore, claim(s) 1 – 20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 10 and 12 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inokuchi et al. (US 12472798 B2), further in view of Tamane et al. (US 20180347533 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Inokuchi teaches an information processing device for remote control on a vehicle that executes a first mode (Inokuchi: Abstract: “An information processing apparatus is configured to perform remote air conditioning by selecting either one of a first air conditioning mode,”)
in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and (Inokuchi: Abstract: “which is a mode in which remote air conditioning is performed using electric power stored in a battery of the vehicle, ”)
a second mode (Inokuchi: Abstract: “and a second air conditioning mode,”)
in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, (Inokuchi: Abstract: “which is a mode in which remote air conditioning is performed using an engine of a vehicle”)
the information processing device comprising one or more processors, wherein
the one or more processors are configured to execute: (Inokuchi: Col. 5, lines 32 – 35 : “The ECU 100 has a configuration of a computer. The ECU 100 is provided with a processor 101, a main storage unit 102, an auxiliary storage unit 103, and a communication unit 104.”)
… transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. (Inokuchi: Col. 2, lines 58 – 62: “The remote air conditioning is air conditioning performed via remote control by a user from the outside of the vehicle, and is performed by the user transmitting a request to perform air conditioning using a user terminal from the outside of the vehicle.”; Col. 7, line 62 – Col. 8, line 1: “In step S101, the control unit 110 determines whether or not an air conditioning command has been received from the server 30. The air conditioning command may include information on a target temperature. When an affirmative determination is made in step S101, the processing or routine proceeds to step S102,”: Col. 8, lines 26 – 43: “In step S103, the control unit 110 executes the second air conditioning mode. When the remote air conditioning is not started, air conditioning is started by operating the heat pump 51. When the remote air conditioning has been started and the air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode has already been performed, the second air conditioning mode is continued. At this time, the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is sufficiently large, and hence, the remote air conditioning can be quickly started by starting the air conditioning by means of the heat pump 51. On the other hand, in step S104, the control unit 110 executes the first air conditioning mode. When the air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode has already been performed, the second air conditioning mode is switched to the first air conditioning mode to perform the air conditioning. In this step S104, the engine 41 is started to circulate the cooling water, and air conditioning is started using the heat of the cooling water.”)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches an information processing device for remote control on a vehicle that executes a first mode in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and a second mode in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the information processing device comprising one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode, and is specified by a user of the vehicle whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode, and is specified by a user of the vehicle; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0003: “A center type remote startup system that starts up a driving device such as an engine or an electric compressor (an electric motor) for air conditioning in response to a startup request transmitted from a portable communication terminal device carried by a user to a vehicle remotely located via a center server has been known”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. One with knowledge in the art would find the setting screen for setting various air conditioning parameters as taught by Tamane to be use of a known technique to improve the similar method of requesting an pre-air-conditioning from a user as taught by Inokuchi in the same way. Tamane teaches the ability of the user to adjust detailed settings related to the air conditioning of the vehicle on a display unit whereas Inokuchi teaches the ability to start the pre-air-conditioning in the vehicle via remote control. Inokuchi further teaches the ability to start the pre-air-conditioning in either a first or second mode, thus combining with Tamane’s display unit, the user will now be able to select the specific modes as well. This improves the functionality of the remote device of Inokuchi as it can now be used to adjust further air conditioning settings and also improving the flexibility the user has pertaining to their air conditioning needs.
Regarding claim 2, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches transmitting the execution request for the user-specified mode to the external device related to the vehicle in response to receiving the first operation (Inokuchi: Col. 7, lines 15 – 25 : “The vehicle 10 and the user terminal 20 illustrated in FIG. 4 have been associated with each other in advance and registered in the server 30. In the user terminal 20, when the user activates predetermined application software to perform an operation for starting remote air conditioning, an air conditioning request is generated in the user terminal 20 and transmitted to the server 30 (S11). Upon receiving the air conditioning request, the server 30 generates an air conditioning command, which is a command for executing remote air conditioning, for the corresponding vehicle 10, and transmits it to the vehicle 10 (S12).”; Col. 7, lines 26 – 40: “The control unit 110 of the vehicle 10, which has received the air conditioning command, executes the second air conditioning mode (S13). As a result, the remote air conditioning can be started immediately. When the second air conditioning mode is executed, an air conditioning start notification is transmitted from the vehicle 10 to the server 30 (S14). The air conditioning start notification is a notification for notifying the user that the remote air conditioning has started. The server 30 transmits the air conditioning start notification to the user terminal 20 (S15). In the user terminal 20 that has received the air conditioning start notification, an image indicating that the remote air conditioning has started is displayed on the display 205. Thus, the user can know that the remote air conditioning has been started.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to select to start the AC on an application software. The system then starts the air conditioning)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches transmitting the execution request for the user-specified mode to the external device related to the vehicle in response to receiving the first operation. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a first screen for selecting whether to execute the acquired user-specified mode; receiving a first operation that selects execution of the user-specified mode, in a case where the first screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a first screen for selecting whether to execute the acquired user-specified mode; receiving a first operation that selects execution of the user-specified mode, in a case where the first screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 1, one with knowledge in the art would find the setting screen for setting various air conditioning parameters as taught by Tamane to be use of a known technique to improve the similar method of requesting an pre-air-conditioning from a user as taught by Inokuchi in the same way. Tamane teaches the ability of the user to adjust detailed settings related to the air conditioning of the vehicle on a display unit whereas Inokuchi teaches the ability to start the pre-air-conditioning in the vehicle via remote control. Inokuchi further teaches the ability to start the pre-air-conditioning in either a first or second mode, thus combining with Tamane’s display unit, the user will now be able to select the specific modes as well. This improves the functionality of the remote device of Inokuchi as it can now be used to adjust further air conditioning settings and also improving the flexibility the user has pertaining to their air conditioning needs.
Regarding claim 3, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches further comprising a memory configured to store the user-specified mode, wherein
the one or more processors are configured to execute acquiring the user-specified mode stored in the memory. (Inokuchi: Col. 4, lines 52 – 59: “Now, the user terminal 20 will be described. The user terminal 20 is a smart phone, a mobile phone, a tablet terminal, a personal information terminal, a wearable computer (such as a smart watch or the like), or a small computer such as a personal computer (PC). The user terminal 20 includes a processor 201, a main storage unit 202, an auxiliary storage unit 203, an input unit 204, a display 205, and a communication unit 206.”; Col. 7, lines 15 – 25 : “The vehicle 10 and the user terminal 20 illustrated in FIG. 4 have been associated with each other in advance and registered in the server 30. In the user terminal 20, when the user activates predetermined application software to perform an operation for starting remote air conditioning, an air conditioning request is generated in the user terminal 20 and transmitted to the server 30 (S11). Upon receiving the air conditioning request, the server 30 generates an air conditioning command, which is a command for executing remote air conditioning, for the corresponding vehicle 10, and transmits it to the vehicle 10 (S12).”; Col. 7, lines 26 – 40: “The control unit 110 of the vehicle 10, which has received the air conditioning command, executes the second air conditioning mode (S13). As a result, the remote air conditioning can be started immediately. When the second air conditioning mode is executed, an air conditioning start notification is transmitted from the vehicle 10 to the server 30 (S14). The air conditioning start notification is a notification for notifying the user that the remote air conditioning has started. The server 30 transmits the air conditioning start notification to the user terminal 20 (S15). In the user terminal 20 that has received the air conditioning start notification, an image indicating that the remote air conditioning has started is displayed on the display 205. Thus, the user can know that the remote air conditioning has been started.”
Supplemental Note: the predetermined application software to start air conditioning is stored on the storage unit of a user terminal that the user can select to start a vehicle’s AC. The user wishes to start the AC immediately thus in this example the second air conditioning mode as started)
Regarding claim 4, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches storing the first mode or the second mode specified by the received second operation in the memory as the user-specified mode (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches storing the first mode or the second mode specified by the received second operation in the memory as the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a second screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode; receiving a second operation that specifies the first mode or the second mode, in a case where the second screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a second screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode; receiving a second operation that specifies the first mode or the second mode, in a case where the second screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 5, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches storing the execution condition set by the received third operation in the memory in association with the user-specified mode (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches storing the execution condition set by the received third operation in the memory in association with the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a third screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode; receiving a third operation that sets the execution condition, in a case where the third screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute:
outputting a third screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode;
receiving a third operation that sets the execution condition, in a case where the third screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 6, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: (Inokuchi: Col. 5, lines 32 – 35 : “The ECU 100 has a configuration of a computer. The ECU 100 is provided with a processor 101, a main storage unit 102, an auxiliary storage unit 103, and a communication unit 104.”)
when transmitting the execution request for the user-specified mode to the external device related to the vehicle, (Inokuchi: Col. 2, lines 58 – 62: “The remote air conditioning is air conditioning performed via remote control by a user from the outside of the vehicle, and is performed by the user transmitting a request to perform air conditioning using a user terminal from the outside of the vehicle.”; Col. 7, line 62 – Col. 8, line 1: “In step S101, the control unit 110 determines whether or not an air conditioning command has been received from the server 30. The air conditioning command may include information on a target temperature. When an affirmative determination is made in step S101, the processing or routine proceeds to step S102,”)
acquire the execution condition stored in the memory; and
transmit the acquired execution condition to the external device together with the execution request for the user-specified mode. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
Regarding claim 7, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein:
the execution condition in a case where the user-specified mode is the first mode is a condition related to a remaining charge level of a battery mounted on the vehicle; and (Inokuchi: Col. 8, lines 2 – 12: “In step S102, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount. In this step S102, it is determined whether or not a condition for performing air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode is satisfied. The predetermined amount is a remaining amount of charge in which the influence on the traveling of the vehicle 10 is within an allowable range even when the remote air conditioning is executed in the second air conditioning mode.”)
the execution condition in a case where the user-specified mode is the second mode is a condition related to a remaining fuel level in a fuel tank mounted on the vehicle. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 53 – 59: “when the remaining amount of fuel in the engine 41 becomes equal to or less than a predetermined amount while the first air conditioning mode is being executed, it may be determined that the stop condition for the remote air conditioning is established. The predetermined amount referred to herein is a fuel amount that may make it difficult to operate the engine 41.”)
Regarding claim 8, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches acquiring the first mode or the second mode specified by the received fourth operation as the user-specified mode. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches acquiring the first mode or the second mode specified by the received fourth operation as the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a fourth screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode; receiving a fourth operation that specifies the first mode or the second mode, in a case where the fourth screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute:
outputting a fourth screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode;
receiving a fourth operation that specifies the first mode or the second mode, in a case where the fourth screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 9, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches transmitting the execution condition set by the received fifth operation to the external device together with the execution request for the user-specified mode (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches transmitting the execution condition set by the received fifth operation to the external device together with the execution request for the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute: outputting a fifth screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode; receiving a fifth operation that sets the execution condition, in a case where the fifth screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute:
outputting a fifth screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode;
receiving a fifth operation that sets the execution condition, in a case where the fifth screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 10, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein:
the execution condition in a case where the user-specified mode is the first mode is a condition related to a remaining charge level of a battery mounted on the vehicle; and (Inokuchi: Col. 8, lines 2 – 12: “In step S102, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount. In this step S102, it is determined whether or not a condition for performing air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode is satisfied. The predetermined amount is a remaining amount of charge in which the influence on the traveling of the vehicle 10 is within an allowable range even when the remote air conditioning is executed in the second air conditioning mode.”)
the execution condition in a case where the user-specified mode is the second mode is a condition related to a remaining fuel level in a fuel tank mounted on the vehicle. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 53 – 59: “when the remaining amount of fuel in the engine 41 becomes equal to or less than a predetermined amount while the first air conditioning mode is being executed, it may be determined that the stop condition for the remote air conditioning is established. The predetermined amount referred to herein is a fuel amount that may make it difficult to operate the engine 41.”)
Regarding claim 12, Inokuchi teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer for remote control on a vehicle and that cause the computer to perform functions, (Inokuchi: Col. 5, lines 32 – 35 : “The ECU 100 has a configuration of a computer. The ECU 100 is provided with a processor 101, a main storage unit 102, an auxiliary storage unit 103, and a communication unit 104.”)
the vehicle being configured to execute a first mode (Inokuchi: Abstract: “An information processing apparatus is configured to perform remote air conditioning by selecting either one of a first air conditioning mode,”)
in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and (Inokuchi: Abstract: “which is a mode in which remote air conditioning is performed using electric power stored in a battery of the vehicle, ”)
a second mode (Inokuchi: Abstract: “and a second air conditioning mode,”)
in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the functions comprising: (Inokuchi: Abstract: “which is a mode in which remote air conditioning is performed using an engine of a vehicle”)
… transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. (Inokuchi: Col. 2, lines 58 – 62: “The remote air conditioning is air conditioning performed via remote control by a user from the outside of the vehicle, and is performed by the user transmitting a request to perform air conditioning using a user terminal from the outside of the vehicle.”; Col. 7, line 62 – Col. 8, line 1: “In step S101, the control unit 110 determines whether or not an air conditioning command has been received from the server 30. The air conditioning command may include information on a target temperature. When an affirmative determination is made in step S101, the processing or routine proceeds to step S102,”: Col. 8, lines 26 – 43: “In step S103, the control unit 110 executes the second air conditioning mode. When the remote air conditioning is not started, air conditioning is started by operating the heat pump 51. When the remote air conditioning has been started and the air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode has already been performed, the second air conditioning mode is continued. At this time, the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is sufficiently large, and hence, the remote air conditioning can be quickly started by starting the air conditioning by means of the heat pump 51. On the other hand, in step S104, the control unit 110 executes the first air conditioning mode. When the air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode has already been performed, the second air conditioning mode is switched to the first air conditioning mode to perform the air conditioning. In this step S104, the engine 41 is started to circulate the cooling water, and air conditioning is started using the heat of the cooling water.”)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer for remote control on a vehicle and that cause the computer to perform functions, the vehicle being configured to execute a first mode in which an air conditioner is operated without operating an internal combustion engine, and a second mode in which the air conditioner is operated by operating the internal combustion engine, the functions comprising: transmitting an execution request for the user-specified mode to an external device related to the vehicle in response to acquiring of the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode and is specified by a user of the vehicle whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches acquiring a user-specified mode that is the first mode or the second mode and is specified by a user of the vehicle; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0003: “A center type remote startup system that starts up a driving device such as an engine or an electric compressor (an electric motor) for air conditioning in response to a startup request transmitted from a portable communication terminal device carried by a user to a vehicle remotely located via a center server has been known”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 13, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches transmitting the execution request for the user-specified mode to the external device related to the vehicle in response to receiving of the first operation (Inokuchi: Col. 7, lines 15 – 25 : “The vehicle 10 and the user terminal 20 illustrated in FIG. 4 have been associated with each other in advance and registered in the server 30. In the user terminal 20, when the user activates predetermined application software to perform an operation for starting remote air conditioning, an air conditioning request is generated in the user terminal 20 and transmitted to the server 30 (S11). Upon receiving the air conditioning request, the server 30 generates an air conditioning command, which is a command for executing remote air conditioning, for the corresponding vehicle 10, and transmits it to the vehicle 10 (S12).”; Col. 7, lines 26 – 40: “The control unit 110 of the vehicle 10, which has received the air conditioning command, executes the second air conditioning mode (S13). As a result, the remote air conditioning can be started immediately. When the second air conditioning mode is executed, an air conditioning start notification is transmitted from the vehicle 10 to the server 30 (S14). The air conditioning start notification is a notification for notifying the user that the remote air conditioning has started. The server 30 transmits the air conditioning start notification to the user terminal 20 (S15). In the user terminal 20 that has received the air conditioning start notification, an image indicating that the remote air conditioning has started is displayed on the display 205. Thus, the user can know that the remote air conditioning has been started.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to select to start the AC on an application software. The system then starts the air conditioning)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches transmitting the execution request for the user-specified mode to the external device related to the vehicle in response to receiving of the first operation. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a first screen for selection as to whether to execute the acquired user-specified mode; receiving a first operation to select execution of the user-specified mode, in a case where the first screen is output. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a first screen for selection as to whether to execute the acquired user-specified mode; receiving a first operation to select execution of the user-specified mode, in a case where the first screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a first screen for selection as to whether to execute the acquired user-specified mode; receiving a first operation to select execution of the user-specified mode, in a case where the first screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 14, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein
the computer includes a memory configured to store the user-specified mode,
the functions performed by the computer include acquiring the user-specified mode stored in the memory. (Inokuchi: Col. 4, lines 52 – 59: “Now, the user terminal 20 will be described. The user terminal 20 is a smart phone, a mobile phone, a tablet terminal, a personal information terminal, a wearable computer (such as a smart watch or the like), or a small computer such as a personal computer (PC). The user terminal 20 includes a processor 201, a main storage unit 202, an auxiliary storage unit 203, an input unit 204, a display 205, and a communication unit 206.”; Col. 7, lines 15 – 25 : “The vehicle 10 and the user terminal 20 illustrated in FIG. 4 have been associated with each other in advance and registered in the server 30. In the user terminal 20, when the user activates predetermined application software to perform an operation for starting remote air conditioning, an air conditioning request is generated in the user terminal 20 and transmitted to the server 30 (S11). Upon receiving the air conditioning request, the server 30 generates an air conditioning command, which is a command for executing remote air conditioning, for the corresponding vehicle 10, and transmits it to the vehicle 10 (S12).”; Col. 7, lines 26 – 40: “The control unit 110 of the vehicle 10, which has received the air conditioning command, executes the second air conditioning mode (S13). As a result, the remote air conditioning can be started immediately. When the second air conditioning mode is executed, an air conditioning start notification is transmitted from the vehicle 10 to the server 30 (S14). The air conditioning start notification is a notification for notifying the user that the remote air conditioning has started. The server 30 transmits the air conditioning start notification to the user terminal 20 (S15). In the user terminal 20 that has received the air conditioning start notification, an image indicating that the remote air conditioning has started is displayed on the display 205. Thus, the user can know that the remote air conditioning has been started.”
Supplemental Note: the predetermined application software to start air conditioning is stored on the storage unit of a user terminal that the user can select to start a vehicle’s AC. The user wishes to start the AC immediately thus in this example the second air conditioning mode as started)
Regarding claim 15, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches storing the first mode or the second mode specified by the received second operation in the memory as the user-specified mode (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
Inokuchi teaches storing the first mode or the second mode specified by the received second operation in the memory as the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a second screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode; receiving a second operation to specify the first mode or the second mode while the second screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the functions performed by the computer include:
outputting a second screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode;
receiving a second operation to specify the first mode or the second mode while the second screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 16, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches storing the execution condition set by the received third operation in the memory in association with the user-specified mode (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches storing the execution condition set by the received third operation in the memory in association with the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a third screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode; receiving a third operation to set the execution condition while the third screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the functions performed by the computer include:
outputting a third screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode;
receiving a third operation to set the execution condition while the third screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 17, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein the functions performed by the computer include: (Inokuchi: Col. 5, lines 32 – 35 : “The ECU 100 has a configuration of a computer. The ECU 100 is provided with a processor 101, a main storage unit 102, an auxiliary storage unit 103, and a communication unit 104.”)
when transmitting the execution request for the user-specified mode to the external device related to the vehicle, (Inokuchi: Col. 2, lines 58 – 62: “The remote air conditioning is air conditioning performed via remote control by a user from the outside of the vehicle, and is performed by the user transmitting a request to perform air conditioning using a user terminal from the outside of the vehicle.”; Col. 7, line 62 – Col. 8, line 1: “In step S101, the control unit 110 determines whether or not an air conditioning command has been received from the server 30. The air conditioning command may include information on a target temperature. When an affirmative determination is made in step S101, the processing or routine proceeds to step S102,”)
acquiring the execution condition stored in the memory; and
transmitting the acquired execution condition to the external device together with the execution request for the user-specified mode. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
Regarding claim 18, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein:
the execution condition in a case where the user-specified mode is the first mode is a condition related to a remaining charge level of a battery mounted on the vehicle; and (Inokuchi: Col. 8, lines 2 – 12: “In step S102, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount. In this step S102, it is determined whether or not a condition for performing air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode is satisfied. The predetermined amount is a remaining amount of charge in which the influence on the traveling of the vehicle 10 is within an allowable range even when the remote air conditioning is executed in the second air conditioning mode.”)
the execution condition in a case where the user-specified mode is the second mode is a condition related to a remaining fuel level in a fuel tank mounted on the vehicle. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 53 – 59: “when the remaining amount of fuel in the engine 41 becomes equal to or less than a predetermined amount while the first air conditioning mode is being executed, it may be determined that the stop condition for the remote air conditioning is established. The predetermined amount referred to herein is a fuel amount that may make it difficult to operate the engine 41.”)
Regarding claim 19, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches acquiring the first mode or the second mode specified by the received fourth operation as the user-specified mode. (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches acquiring the first mode or the second mode specified by the received fourth operation as the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a fourth screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode; receiving a fourth operation to specify the first mode or the second mode while the fourth screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the functions performed by the computer include:
outputting a fourth screen for specifying the first mode or the second mode;
receiving a fourth operation to specify the first mode or the second mode while the fourth screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 20, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches transmitting the execution condition set by the received fifth operation to the external device together with the execution request for the user-specified mode (Inokuchi: Col. 9, lines 3 – 34: “In step S107, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than a predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature is a temperature that serves as a boundary when it is determined which of the first air conditioning mode and the second air conditioning mode is to be executed. This temperature may be set, for example, in accordance with the capacity or performance of the heat pump 51, or may be set based on laws and regulations. For example, there may be a case where even if the second air conditioning mode is executed, the vehicle interior temperature cannot be made sufficiently high due to the insufficient capacity or performance of the heat pump 51. In such a case, the predetermined temperature is set so as to execute the first air conditioning mode. In addition, for example, there may be a case where there is a regulation in which the first air conditioning mode cannot be executed unless the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. In such a case, the first air conditioning mode may be set only when the vehicle exterior temperature is equal to or less than the predetermined temperature. However, the first air conditioning mode may be executed when the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is less than the predetermined amount so that the first air conditioning mode is executed in step S104. The predetermined temperature has been stored in the auxiliary storage unit 103. When an affirmative determination is made in step S107, the processing proceeds to step S108, whereas when a negative determination is made, the processing proceeds to step S109. When the negative determination is made in step S107, the air conditioning mode executed in step S103 or step S104 is continued.”,
Supplemental Note: once the user requests the AC to be one, the user-specified mode is dependent upon the cited parameters of the hybrid vehicle in which a first or second mode is determined to be used)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches transmitting the execution condition set by the received fifth operation to the external device together with the execution request for the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however does not teach wherein the functions performed by the computer include: outputting a fifth screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode; receiving a fifth operation to set the execution condition, in a case where the fifth screen is output whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches wherein the functions performed by the computer include:
outputting a fifth screen for setting an execution condition for the user-specified mode;
receiving a fifth operation to set the execution condition, in a case where the fifth screen is output; and (Tamane: Paragraph 0073: “For example, the user can perform various settings when operating the air conditioning device 10 on a predetermined GUI, and the remote operation unit 2203 transmits various signals such as a startup request including the various settings to the center server 100. Thus, in the vehicle 2, control of the air conditioning device 10 based on the setting content (a set temperature as a requested value of the room temperature by the user, a set operation time as a requested value of an operation time of the air conditioning device 10 by the user, or the like) is performed.”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inokuchi et al. (US 12472798 B2) and Tamane et al. (US 20180347533 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 20140330453 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Inokuchi, as modified, teaches wherein:
the first mode is a mode (Inokuchi: Abstract: “An information processing apparatus is configured to perform remote air conditioning by selecting either one of a first air conditioning mode,”)
in which the air conditioner is operated using electric power of a battery mounted on the vehicle; (Inokuchi: Abstract: “which is a mode in which remote air conditioning is performed using electric power stored in a battery of the vehicle, ”)
the second mode is a mode (Inokuchi: Abstract: “and a second air conditioning mode,”)
in which the air conditioner is operated using electric power generated by using power of the internal combustion engine; and (Inokuchi: Abstract: “which is a mode in which remote air conditioning is performed using an engine of a vehicle”)
the one or more processors are configured to execute: (Inokuchi: Col. 5, lines 32 – 35 : “The ECU 100 has a configuration of a computer. The ECU 100 is provided with a processor 101, a main storage unit 102, an auxiliary storage unit 103, and a communication unit 104.”)
… an actual record value of a battery charge amount or a fuel amount consumed by execution of the user-specified mode; and (Inokuchi: Col. 8, lines 2 – 12: “In step S102, the control unit 110 determines whether or not the remaining amount of charge in the battery 42 is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount. In this step S102, it is determined whether or not a condition for performing air conditioning in the second air conditioning mode is satisfied. The predetermined amount is a remaining amount of charge in which the influence on the traveling of the vehicle 10 is within an allowable range even when the remote air conditioning is executed in the second air conditioning mode.”; Col. 9, lines 53 – 59: “when the remaining amount of fuel in the engine 41 becomes equal to or less than a predetermined amount while the first air conditioning mode is being executed, it may be determined that the stop condition for the remote air conditioning is established. The predetermined amount referred to herein is a fuel amount that may make it difficult to operate the engine 41.”)
In sum, Inokuchi teaches wherein: the first mode is a mode in which the air conditioner is operated using electric power of a battery mounted on the vehicle; the second mode is a mode in which the air conditioner is operated using electric power generated by using power of the internal combustion engine; and the one or more processors are configured to execute: an actual record value of a battery charge amount or a fuel amount consumed by execution of the user-specified mode. Inokuchi however, does not teach acquiring, after the user-specified mode is executed in the vehicle whereas Tamane does.
Tamane teaches acquiring, after the user-specified mode is executed in the vehicle, (Tamane: Paragraph 0003: “A center type remote startup system that starts up a driving device such as an engine or an electric compressor (an electric motor) for air conditioning in response to a startup request transmitted from a portable communication terminal device carried by a user to a vehicle remotely located via a center server has been known”; Paragraph 0089: “The button 630 is operation means for shifting to a setting screen for setting various pieces of setting content (a set temperature, a set operation time, or the like) included in the startup request. Specifically, text information “Detailed setting” is drawn. Thus, the user can set various pieces of setting content related to the startup request by operating the button 630.”,
Supplemental Note: the user is able to make a detailed selection on the GUI regarding the air conditioner)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Tamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Inokuchi in view of Tamane however still do not teach outputting the acquired actual record value whereas Nakagawa does.
Nakagawa teaches outputting the acquired actual record value. (Nakagawa: Paragraph 0007: “vehicle-state detection means (110a, 110b, 140, 152, 172, S21, S23, S25) for detecting a vehicle state; notification means (S20 to S34) for notifying the user of information regarding the vehicle state by using the remote control terminal when a preset set condition is satisfied after start of the actuation of the in-vehicle device; selection-screen display means (S34) for displaying a selection screen for allowing the user to select whether to continue or terminate the actuation of the in-vehicle device on the remote control terminal when the notification is made by the notification means; and actuation control means (S38) for controlling the actuation of the in-vehicle device in accordance with a result of selection made by the user.”; Paragraph 0157: “Moreover, in this embodiment, the system is applied to the plug-in vehicle including the battery which is chargeable by the external power supply. However, the remote control system for the pre-air-conditioning can also be applied to other vehicles, for example, a non-plug-in hybrid vehicle or a vehicle without a drive motor, which runs with an internal combustion engine alone. In this case, for example, a notification of information regarding a fuel amount may be made in place of the notification of the information regarding the remaining battery level. Specifically, a notification of information regarding a remaining amount of energy of an energy supply source for supplying energy required for a travel of the vehicle and energy required for pre-air-conditioning only needs to be made.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Inokuchi with the teachings of Nakagawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teaching of Nakagawa able to notify the remaining amount of fuel and energy level to the user would be obvious to try with the vehicle system of Inokuchi as it allows the user more information when determining whether or not to use the air conditioner depending on the fuel/energy levels of the vehicle. For example, if the fuel/energy levels are determined by the user to be lower than they prefer, the user will not activate the pre-air-conditioning of the vehicle or use it for a shorter duration. On the other hand, if the vehicle is fully fueled up or charged, the user may determine to keep the pre-air-conditioning on until it reaches their desired level. With this combination, the user of Inokuchi’s vehicle system is able to obtain additional fuel/energy information to make an informed decision on whether to start the pre-air-conditioning or not.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665