DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a FINAL office action in response to the Applicant’s response filed 11 May 2025.
Claims 1, 7-9, 12, 14, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Playfair et al. (US 2012/0296799 A1) (hereinafter Playfair), in view of
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Playfair et al. (US 2012/0296799 A1) (hereinafter Playfair), Turner (2014/0067680 A1) (hereinafter Turner), in view of Basha (US 2014/0095384 A1) (hereinafter Basha).
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Playfair teaches:
One or more processors, and a memory including instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: Register a consumer for an energy or resource reduction service (See at least paragraphs 29, 30, 42, 51, 62, 68, and 76 which describe users registering for an energy reduction program).
Monitor electrical power usage at a property associated with the consumer (See at least paragraphs 28-30, 61, 62, 67, 71, 74, 76, 78-80, 82, 84, and 87-89 which describe using monitoring devices to monitor and meter electricity consumption of devices and buildings that register with the system).
Adjust an HVAC system at the property based on geo-location data of the consumer (See at least paragraphs 31, 58, 59, 67, 71, 87, 92, 94, and 100 which describe the system adjusting a heating and cooling system at the customer’s building based on the location data and the historic consumption data).
Determine an energy savings amount based on the adjustment to the HVAC system; Associate a monetary value with energy savings at the property (See at least paragraphs 32, 33, 35, 47, 68, 74, 107-109, 112-114, and 123 which describe determining energy savings by the user in accordance with reducing energy consumption and/or changing equipment for more energy efficient equipment, wherein the system calculates credits/funds to award the user based on the energy savings, and providing the credits/funds to the user’s account).
Playfair discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as stated above. Playfair does not explicitly disclose the following, however Turner teaches:
Receive, from a charging supplier merchant computing device associated with a charging supplier merchant, a transfer request and transaction information for a vehicle charge transaction, and Determine, based at least in part on the monetary value and the transaction amount, a transfer amount to be paid to a charging supplier merchant (See at least paragraphs 4-9, 11-14, 41, 43, 45-48, 51, 52, and 54 which describe a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner. By using a digital wallet application on a user device that is linked to their credits and bank, a user would predictably be able to utilize the wallet to pay for services and goods, such as electric vehicle charging.
The combination of Playfair and Turner discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as stated above. Playfair and Turner do not explicitly disclose the following, however Basha teaches:
Receive, from a merchant computing device associated with a supplier merchant, a real-time savings instant transfer request and transaction information for a transaction; and In response to receiving the real-time savings instant transfer request and the transaction information, determine, based at least in part on the monetary value and the transaction amount, a transfer amount to be paid by a company associated with the company computing system to the merchant to offset a transaction amount paid by the consumer for the transaction (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 19, 20, 21, and 34 which describe a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha. By having a merchant request an instant funds transfer request for a transaction with a payment provider, such as a credit/points holder (e.g. the utility company of Playfair), and verifying that that the funds are available to cover the transaction, a merchant, such as the charging station of Turner, would predictably ensure that service can be covered by some payment method, and thus, ensuring the customer and the service provider receive their desired services and funds.
With respect to claims 3 and 16, the combination of Playfair, Turner, and Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as stated above. In addition, Playfair teaches:
Wherein monitoring the electrical power usage includes using an electrical metering device integrated with one or more power monitoring devices located at the property (See at least paragraphs 28-30, 61, 62, 67, 71, 74, 76, 78-80, 82, 84, and 87-89 which describe using monitoring devices to monitor and meter electricity consumption of devices and buildings that register with the system).
With respect to claim 7, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Playfair teaches:
The step of associating the monetary value with energy savings at the property includes determining the monetary value based on the energy savings resulting from the HVAC system adjustment at the property (See at least paragraphs 32, 33, 35, 47, 68, 74, 107-109, 112-114, and 123 which describe determining energy savings by the user in accordance with reducing energy consumption and/or changing equipment for more energy efficient equipment, wherein the system calculates credits/funds to award the user based on the energy savings, and wherein the reduction is due to changing use of a heating and cooling system).
With respect to claim 8, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Playfair teaches:
The instructions further causing the one or more processors to update the monetary value dynamically based on real-time data from the property and historical energy usage patterns (See at least paragraphs 32, 33, 35, 47, 68, 74, 107-109, 112-114, and 123 which describe determining energy savings by the user in accordance with reducing energy consumption and/or changing equipment for more energy efficient equipment, wherein the system calculates credits/funds to award the user based on the energy savings and historic information. In addition, see at least paragraphs 89, 94, and 104 which describe collecting consumption data in real time, and using this information for analytics, such as determining energy savings).
With respect to claim 9, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Playfair teaches:
A digital wallet application; and receiving the monetary value from the utility company computing system for storage in the digital wallet application (See at least paragraphs 32, 33, 35, 47, 68, 74, 107-109, 112-114, and 123 which describe determining energy savings by the user in accordance with reducing energy consumption and/or changing equipment for more energy efficient equipment, wherein the system calculates credits/funds to award the user based on the energy savings, and providing the credits/funds to the user’s account).
Playfair discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. In addition, Turner teaches:
A consumer device associated with the consumer, the consumer device comprising: a digital wallet application; one or more second processors; and a second memory including second instructions, that when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the one or more second processors to: receive a notification regarding the registration and energy savings amount,
store the monetary value in the digital wallet application, and transmit payment information during a vehicle charging transaction (See at least paragraphs 4-9, 11-14, 41, 43, 45-48, 51, 52, and 54 which describe a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha. By using a digital wallet application on a user device that is linked to their credits, a user would predictably be able to utilize the wallet to pay for services and goods, such as electric vehicle charging.
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated above. In addition, Playfair teaches:
The second instructions further causing the one or more second processors to receive the notification via one or more of the following communication channels: email, smart message service (SMS), push notification, and a dedicated mobile application (See at least paragraphs 59 and 73 which describe a user receiving notifications on their phone via SMS and email).
With respect to claim 11, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated above. In addition, Turner teaches:
The digital wallet application being configured to store transaction details for a vehicle charging transaction and to integrate with a bank or payment provider associated with the consumer to facilitate the vehicle charging transaction (See at least paragraphs 4-9, 11-14, 41, 43, 45-48, 51, 52, and 54 which describe a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha. By using a digital wallet application on a user device that is linked to their credits and bank, a user would predictably be able to utilize the wallet to pay for services and goods, such as electric vehicle charging.
With respect to claim 12, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated above. In addition, Basha teaches:
The payment information comprising the request for real-time savings instant transfer (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 19, 20, 21, and 34 which describe a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha. By having a merchant request an instant funds transfer request for a transaction with a payment provider, such as a credit/points holder (e.g. the utility company of Playfair), and verifying that that the funds are available to cover the transaction, a merchant, such as the charging station of Turner, would predictably ensure that service can be covered by some payment method, and thus, ensuring the customer and the service provider receive their desired services and funds.
With respect to claim 13, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated above. In addition, Turner teaches:
A charging point configured to: receive a vehicle charging request; prompt the consumer for the payment information; process the payment information, including applying the monetary value to the vehicle charging transaction; and initiate charging of the vehicle based on the processing of the payment information (See at least paragraphs 4-9, 11-14, 41, 43, 45-48, 51, 52, and 54 which describe a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging, wherein the user requests the charging, provides payment information which is processed, and finally the charging is initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging, and , wherein the user requests the charging, provides payment information which is processed, and finally the charging is initiated. By using a digital wallet application on a user device that is linked to their credits, a user would predictably be able to utilize the wallet to pay for services and goods, such as electric vehicle charging. In addition, by processing payment information after a user requests for a charging service, a vehicle charger will predictably be able to ensure that a user has the funds to pay for a service before providing it, thus reducing fraud and theft.
With respect to claim 20, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claim 14 as stated above. In addition, Playfair teaches:
Determining the monetary value based on the energy savings resulting from the HVAC system adjustment at the property (See at least paragraphs 32, 33, 35, 47, 68, 74, 107-109, 112-114, and 123 which describe determining energy savings by the user in accordance with reducing energy consumption and/or changing equipment for more energy efficient equipment, wherein the system calculates credits/funds to award the user based on the energy savings, and wherein the reduction is due to changing use of a heating and cooling system).
Updating the monetary value dynamically based on real-time data from the property and historical energy usage patterns (See at least paragraphs 32, 33, 35, 47, 68, 74, 107-109, 112-114, and 123 which describe determining energy savings by the user in accordance with reducing energy consumption and/or changing equipment for more energy efficient equipment, wherein the system calculates credits/funds to award the user based on the energy savings and historic information. In addition, see at least paragraphs 89, 94, and 104 which describe collecting consumption data in real time, and using this information for analytics, such as determining energy savings).
Claims 2, 6, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Playfair, Turner, and Basha as applied to claims 1 and 14 as stated above, and further in view of Steinberg (US 2019/0285299 A1) (hereinafter Steinberg).
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as stated above. Playfair, Turner, and Basha does not explicitly disclose the following, however Steinberg teaches:
Instructions further causing the one or more processors to: receive, from a consumer device associated with the consumer, the geo-location data, the HVAC system adjustment being made based on a location of the consumer relative to the property as indicated by the geo-location data (See at least paragraphs 14-20, 75, 84, 85, 87-90, 92, and 93 which describe tracking a user location based on the GPS location of a user device, wherein the HVAC system is adjusted based on the user location, including increasing and decreasing the temperature when the user is away or at the property, and wherein such adjustments save the user energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha, with the system and method of tracking a user location based on the GPS location of a user device, wherein the HVAC system is adjusted based on the user location, including increasing and decreasing the temperature when the user is away or at the property, and wherein such adjustments save the user energy of Steinberg. By tracking a user location, and using this location information to make adjustments to heating and cooling equipment in order to save energy, a managing system will predictably be able to make energy adjustments without impacting the user’s lifestyle, and thus, saving the user energy and money without negatively affecting the user.
With respect to claims 6 and 19, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as stated above. Playfair, Turner, and Basha does not explicitly disclose the following, however Steinberg teaches:
The HVAC system adjustment including one of the following: increasing a temperature setting of the HVAC system and reducing a temperature setting of the HVAC system, wherein such adjustment serves to reduce energy consumption while the consumer is away from the property (See at least paragraphs 14-20, 75, 84, 85, 87-90, 92, and 93 which describe tracking a user location based on the GPS location of a user device, wherein the HVAC system is adjusted based on the user location, including increasing and decreasing the temperature when the user is away or at the property, and wherein such adjustments save the user energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha, with the system and method of tracking a user location based on the GPS location of a user device, wherein the HVAC system is adjusted based on the user location, including increasing and decreasing the temperature when the user is away or at the property, and wherein such adjustments save the user energy of Steinberg. By tracking a user location, and using this location information to make adjustments to heating and cooling equipment in order to save energy, a managing system will predictably be able to make energy adjustments without impacting the user’s lifestyle, and thus, saving the user energy and money without negatively affecting the user.
Claims 4, 5, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Playfair, Turner, and Basha as applied to claims 1, 3, 14, and 16 as stated above, and further in view of Steele et al. (US 2015/0066609 A1) (hereinafter Steele).
With respect to claims 4 and 17, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 3, 14, and 16 as stated above. Playfair, Turner, and Basha does not explicitly disclose the following, however Steele teaches:
The one or more power monitoring devices being integrated into a breaker/distribution box and being configured to measure energy consumption of individual circuits within the property (See at least paragraphs 4, 22, 27, 29, 39, and 48 which describe monitoring energy consumption by individual circuits and appliances, wherein the monitoring devices include metering devices in a breaker box, in an outlet, in a junction box, or in a switch, and wherein the system uses the monitored energy consumption to calculate energy savings and credits to award a user based on the savings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha, with the system and method of monitoring energy consumption by individual circuits and appliances, wherein the monitoring devices include metering devices in a breaker box, in an outlet, in a junction box, or in a switch, and wherein the system uses the monitored energy consumption to calculate energy savings and credits to award a user based on the savings of Steele. By placing a metering device in a breaker box, an outlet, or switch, a energy management system will predictably be able to identify specific energy consumption by specific circuits, thus being able to determine specific appliances that are consuming electricity, which can be used for making more accurate energy saving plans.
With respect to claims 5 and 18, Playfair/Turner/Basha discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 3, 14, and 16 as stated above. Playfair, Turner, and Basha does not explicitly disclose the following, however Steele teaches:
The one or more power monitoring devices comprising one or more of a smart plug and smart switch associated with one or more appliances or systems at the property (See at least paragraphs 4, 22, 27, 29, 39, and 48 which describe monitoring energy consumption by individual circuits and appliances, wherein the monitoring devices include metering devices in a breaker box, in an outlet, in a junction box, or in a switch, and wherein the system uses the monitored energy consumption to calculate energy savings and credits to award a user based on the savings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of a user registering for an energy saving program, wherein a system monitors the energy consumption of appliances and the entire building of the user, wherein the system calculates an energy saving path for the user, adjusts heating and cooling devices in accordance with the plan, and awarding the user with credits/funds based on the energy savings of Playfair, with the system and method of a digital wallet applicant on a user device, wherein the user registers the wallet and receive notification of stored credits in the wallet, wherein the wallet stores funds/credits for the user and can be linked to their bank, and wherein the user is able to transmit payment using the funds to pay for vehicle charging of Turner, with the system and method of a merchant contacting a payment provider with transaction information and requesting an instant funds request, wherein the payment provider determines based on the funds stored for the buyer and the transaction amount, whether to provide the necessary funds, and if so, then transferring funds to the merchant from the payment provider to offset a transaction amount of Basha, with the system and method of monitoring energy consumption by individual circuits and appliances, wherein the monitoring devices include metering devices in a breaker box, in an outlet, in a junction box, or in a switch, and wherein the system uses the monitored energy consumption to calculate energy savings and credits to award a user based on the savings of Steele. By placing a metering device in a breaker box, an outlet, or switch, a energy management system will predictably be able to identify specific energy consumption by specific circuits, thus being able to determine specific appliances that are consuming electricity, which can be used for making more accurate energy saving plans.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
13 July 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628