DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-21 are pending for examination. Claims 2-12, 14 and 15 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicants’ amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 9-14 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating et al. (US 2010/0090477 A1) in view of Hamel et al. (US 2005/0105231 A1) in further view of Vock et al [US 7911339 B2].
Regarding claim 2, Keating et al. discloses a wearable article comprising:
an energy storage device (energy storage device 240/340);
a kinetic energy generator (energy-harvesting mechanism 250/350), configured to be manipulated (see, e.g., Fig. 2: energy- harvesting mechanism 250/350 is placed in sole of shoe/footwear 130) to induce a voltage output, the kinetic energy generator (energy-harvesting mechanism 250/350) coupled to and configured to charge (see, e.g., §30) the energy storage device (energy storage device 240/340); and
a wireless transmission circuit (including RF transmitter/receiver 380), coupled to the volatile energy storage device (see Fig. 3), comprising an antenna having a minimum transmission energy (antenna of RF transmitter/receiver 380, no separate number given; see Fig. 3; furthermore, it is implicit that the antenna has a minimum transmission energy as it will not function with zero power input—the minimum amount of power required to transmit would therefore be the ‘minimum transmission energy’ );
However, Keating et al. appears to be silent regarding an electronic data storage and transmitting data once the energy storage device is charged to the minimum transmission energy level. Whereas it could be interpreted that such a data storage feature would be implicitly taught by the reference—since microcontroller 370 would require at least a memory to store an instruction set as well as an effective working memory to store sensor 360 data—as would reaching a minimum transmission threshold be required for data transmission—since, otherwise, not enough energy to send data would be stored and transmission would not be possible—the following is noted for expediting prosecution.
On the other hand, Hamel et al. (Figures 3a-5) discloses an article (energy harvesting circuit 18') comprising:
an energy storage device (e.g., energy storage 42, 42', which may be a capacitor or battery; see, e.g., §74, §99);
a wireless transmission circuit (StrainLink transmitter 44), coupled to the energy storage device (see, e.g., Fig. 3a), comprising an antenna (antenna 68) having a minimum transmission energy (energy threshold Vth1, see Abstract; §69, §78);
a kinetic energy generator (piezoelectric transducer (PZT) 20), configured to be manipulated to induce a voltage output, the kinetic energy generator coupled to and configured to charge (See, e.g., Fig. 3a) the energy storage device (energy storage 42, 42');
an electronic data storage (e.g., non-volatile memory 54 included in StrainLink transmitter), configured to store data (see §93);
wherein, upon the energy storage device charging to at least the minimum transmission energy, the energy storage device is configured to discharge energy to a wireless transmission circuit to enable the wireless transmission circuit to transmit the data stored in the electronic data storage (see, e.g., §78: when energy storage device reaches higher energy threshold of 6.3 volts, StrainLink transmitter 44 is powered to transmit data; see also, e.g., §93).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Keating et al. with the explicit teaching of an electronic data storage and associated functionality of transmission of stored data, as taught by Hamel et al., for the purpose of reducing maintenance for a wireless monitoring system by harvesting energy from an ambient source of energy and reducing energy consumption for powering a load to less than the harvested energy amount (see, e.g., §§ 14-16, §§86-87, §§90-93).
Neither Keating nor Hamel specifically discloses that the electronic data storage is configured to store data related to a lifecycle condition of the wearable article. In an analogous art, Vock discloses a wearable article wherein an electronic data storage is configured to store data related to a lifecycle condition of a wearable article (columns 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Keating et al. in view of Hamel with the explicit teaching of an electronic data storage configured to store data related to a lifecycle condition of a wearable article, as taught by Vock, for the purpose of monitoring and alerting the user of the useful life remaining of the wearable article.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Keating, Hamel, and Vock further renders obvious that the kinetic energy generator is a piezoelectric generator (Keating: energy-harvesting mechanism 250/350 may be a piezoelectric disk or element; see §§28, 32).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Keating, Hamel, and Vock further renders the wearable article of an article of footwear having a sole obvious (Keating: sole, no separate number given), wherein the piezoelectric generator (Keating: energy-harvesting mechanism 250/350) is positioned, at least in part, in relation to the sole (Keating: see, e.g., Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Keating, Hamel, and Vock further renders obvious that the piezoelectric generator (Keating: energy-harvesting mechanism 250/350) may be configured to generate a discrete energy output less than the minimum transmission energy upon a discrete flexing of the piezoelectric generator (Keating: energy-harvesting mechanism 250/350), and wherein the energy storage device (Keating: energy storage device 240/340) is configured to charge to at least the minimum transmission energy upon a plurality of discrete flexing events of the piezoelectric generator (Keating: see, e.g., §30: each flexing of energy- harvesting mechanism 250/350 results in mechanical energy being collected by harvesting module, then used to recharge, e.g., rechargeable energy storage device 340 either directly or under monitoring and regulation of power management unit 340).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Keating, Hamel, and Vock further renders obvious that the volatile energy storage device (Keating: energy storage device 240/340) may be a capacitor (Keating: see, e.g., §32).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Keating, Hamel, and Vock further renders obvious a controller (Hamel: controller 46) configured to cause the wireless transmission circuit to transmit the activity data based, at least in part, on receiving an indication that the volatile energy transmission device has a charge of at least the minimum transmission energy (Hamel: see, e.g., §60: Electrical power generated in PZT 20 is rectified in rectifier 40, stored in electrical storage device 42, and once sufficient energy has been stored, is provided to a load, such as wireless sensing module 44, by means of controller 46).
Claims 12-14 are interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 2-4 above.
Claims 19-21 are interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 9-11 above.
Claims 4, 8, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating et al. (US 2010/0090477 A1) in view of Hamel et al. (US 2005/0105231 A1) in view of Vock et al [US 7911339 B2], and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2013/0074375 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Keating, Hamel and Vock renders obvious the claimed invention, including, it appears, that the piezoelectric generator may be positioned within the sole (Keating: see, e.g., Fig. 2: energy-harvesting mechanism 250 appears to be “positioned within” the sole of shoe 130).
However, whereas Keating may not explicitly discuss positioning “within the sole,” the following is noted for expediting prosecution.
On the other hand, Chang et al. (Figure 1) discloses a wearable article (shoe 1) including a piezoelectric generator and further comprising a sole (sole 11, vamp 12, insole 13), and
Regarding claims 4, wherein the piezoelectric generator (first generator unit 23, which may be a piezoelectric element, see §22) is positioned within the sole (see Fig. 1); and
Regarding claims 8, Chang discloses a sole (sole 11, vamp 12, insole 13) having a major surface, wherein the piezoelectric generator (first generator unit 23, which may be a piezoelectric element, see §22) is substantially coextensive to and conformal with the major surface of the sole (see Fig. 1: first generator unit 23 is coextensive to and conformal with insole 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Keating et al. with the explicit teaching of placement of the generator within the sole, as taught by Chang et al., where Keating et al. appears silent regarding specific details of the location of the generator, and Chang et al. teaches a suitable location for the generator, where the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP §2144.07).
Claims 14 and 18 are interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 4 and 8 above.
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating et al. (US 2010/0090477 A1) in view of Hamel et al. (US 2005/0105231 A1) and Vock et al [US 7911339 B2] and further in view of Mullen (US 2005/0258717 A1).
Regarding claims 5-7, the combination of Keating, Hamel, and Vock renders obvious the claimed invention but appears to be silent regarding the possibility of utilizing a plurality of piezoelectric generators and associated positioning.
On the other hand, Mullen (Figure 6) discloses an apparatus (shoe 600), comprising:
Regarding claim 5, a plurality of piezoelectric generators (piezoelectric arrays 610, 640 including generators 619) and wherein the plurality of piezoelectric generators is positioned in discrete and separate locations in the wearable article (see, e.g., Fig. 6: both at heel and toe of shoe 600); and
Regarding claim 6, a first piezoelectric generator (e.g., piezoelectric array 610) of the plurality of piezoelectric generators is positioned proximate a forefoot of the wearable article (see, e.g., Fig. 6) and wherein a second piezoelectric generator (e.g., piezoelectric array 640) of the plurality of piezoelectric generators is positioned proximate a heel of the wearable article (see, e.g., Fig. 6); and
Regarding claim 7, a sole (sole, no separate number given, see, e.g., §50), wherein the plurality of piezoelectric generators is distributed substantially evenly with respect to the sole (see, e.g., Figs. 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Keating et al. with the use and distribution of a plurality of piezoelectric generators, as taught by Mullen, where Keating et al. appears silent regarding specific details of the number and location(s) of the piezoelectric generator, and Mullen teaches a suitable plurality of units and locations for the generators, where the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP §2144.07).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the piezoelectric generators in any of a number of arrangements, including “substantially evenly with respect to the sole,” etc., for the purpose of maximizing energy generated, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 15-17 are interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 5-7 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC M. BLOUNT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
/Eric Blount/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685