DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 17-32 in the reply filed on 9/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant is intending to preserve rejoinder. This is not found persuasive because the independent claim is not found to be allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 33-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-18, 22-23, 27, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogane (US 20130222916).
Ogane discloses an AR film. Concerning claim 17, Ogane discloses the AR film comprises a low refractive index film that has a refractive index of 1.27 and 1.28 (para. 0061, 0071, and 0082). As a note with respect to the first and second layers as claimed, Examiner notes that Example 1 of the instant application recites the low refractive index film having two layers is formed by a single spin coating step of a single composition and the boundary surface can be an actual one or imaginary boundary. Given that Ogane discloses a coating that is less than 200 nm and is produced by a single spin coating step, the resulting film would have the claimed first and second layers (para. 0036-0040 and Examples). The low refractive index film comprises a binder and hollow particles (FIG. 1; abstract, para. 0022-0032). Further, Ogane discloses the number density of the voids is 26 voids/µm2 for example (para. 0063) and the content of voids is from 5 to 25 vol% (para. 0035).
Concerning claim 22, the hollow particles have an average particle diameter of 15 nm to 100 nm, specifically 55 nm (Example 1; para. 0026). With respect to claims 23 and 27, the content of binder to hollow particles is from 0.2 to 0.8, wherein the content of binder is from 15 to 40 wt% and the content of hollow particles is from 50 to 85 wt% and the ratio is calculated from the above (para. 0037-0038). In regard to claim 32, the coated substrate is applied to an optical device, wherein the recitation of “optical device” would meet the limitations as claimed (para. 0086).
Claims 17 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makino et al. (EP 3373048).
Makino discloses an optical member comprises a substrate upon which a low refractive coating is disposed, wherein the coating has a refractive index from 1.21 to 1.27 and the optical member is a lens and the like (abstract; para. 0131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogane (US 20130222916) in view of Makino et al. (EP 3373048).
Ogane discloses the above but is silent to the distribution structure of the voids as claimed.
Makino discloses an optical member comprising a coating comprising a plurality of chain particles and a binder, wherein the resulting coating has voids that are distributed such that the number of voids near the surface is less than that of the interior, resulting in a film that has excellent antifouling and antireflection effects (para. 0127-0129). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a greater number of voids near the substrate, in order to have excellent antifouling and antireflection effects. With respect to claim 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed ratio of the cross-sectional area of the voids in the first layer be greater than that of the second layer, in order to have excellent antifouling and antireflection effects as recited above.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogane (US 20130222916).
Ogane discloses the above, including the thickness of the coating is up to 200 nm, resulting in a first layer thickness that can include and encompass the claimed range, given the above process is the same as that disclosed.
Claims 24 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogane (US 20130222916) in view of Kamitani et al. (US 6465108).
Ogane discloses the above but is silent to the claimed substrate roughness and water contact angle and the underlayer as claimed.
Kamitani discloses a substrate coated with a silica basecoat. Concerning claims 24, 29, and 31, Kamitani discloses a substrate coated with a silica basecoat, resulting in a contact angle from 27° to 31° and a surface roughness of 0.1 to 0.5 nm (col. 7, lines 5-28; Table 2), wherein such a coated substrate allows for improved durability, hydrophilicity, and surface smoothness (cols. 2-7). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the substrate of Kamitani as the substrate of Ogane, in order to take advantage to the above stated benefits. With respect to claim 30, since the roughness is the same as that claimed, the average roughness would be within the claimed range.
Claims 25-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogane (US 20130222916) in view of Kobori et al. (US 20170131439).
Ogane discloses the above, including the binder being selected depending upon the wear resistance, adhesive force, and environmental reliability which can be an alkoxysilane hydrolytic condensate, which can be considered to be the claimed silica (para. 0030). However, Ogane is silent to the claimed polysilsesquioxane and contents thereof.
Kobori discloses a low refractive index layer comprising at least 5.0 wt% polysilsesquioxane, wherein the polysilsesquioxane improves the strength of the coating (para. 0102-0103). Given that Ogane discloses the content of hollow particles are balanced with the content of the binder, in order to produce the refractive index (Ogane; para. 0032-0038) and Kobori discloses the content of polysilsesquioxane is at least 5 wt% for improving strength (Kobori; para. 0102-0103), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the claimed ratios and amounts, in order to produce a low refractive index layer that has improved strength with the desired refractive index.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-24 and 29-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12181630. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a low refractive index layer having overlapping values of the claimed physical and optical properties.
Claim 27 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12181630 in view of Ogane (US 20130222916). The claims disclose the addition of hollow particles but is silent to the claimed content of hollow particles. Ogane discloses the content of hollow particles is from 50 to 85 wt% to produce the void size and resulting refractive index (para. 0034-0038). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed range of hollow particles.
Claims 25-26 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12181630 in view of Ogane (US 20130222916) and Kobori et al. (US 20170131439). The ‘630 claims recite the low refractive layer comprises a binder. However, the claims are silent to the claimed binder.
Ogane discloses the above, including the binder being selected depending upon the wear resistance, adhesive force, and environmental reliability which can be an alkoxysilane hydrolytic condensate, which can be considered to be the claimed silica (para. 0030). However, Ogane is silent to the claimed polysilsesquioxane and contents thereof.
Kobori discloses a low refractive index layer comprising at least 5.0 wt% polysilsesquioxane, wherein the polysilsesquioxane improves the strength of the coating (para. 0102-0103). Given that Ogane discloses the content of hollow particles are balanced with the content of the binder, in order to produce the refractive index (Ogane; para. 0032-0038) and Kobori discloses the content of polysilsesquioxane is at least 5 wt% for improving strength (Kobori; para. 0102-0103), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the claimed ratios and amounts, in order to produce a low refractive index layer that has improved strength with the desired refractive index.
Conclusion
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783