DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/18/2025, 07/29/2025 and 04/03/2026 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because the claim form and arrangement does not comply with the form and arrangement guidelines as set out in MPEP 608.01(n) III-IV, wherein a dependent claim should first declare the preceding claim from which it depends, then continuing to specify a further limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
For example, to overcome the Objection, the claim may be rewritten in a similar form as follows:
“The air conditioning system according to claim 1, provided within a vehicle, the vehicle comprising:…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 9-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2-5, 9 and 13, the recitation of “...the second circulating air duct…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, the recitation is directly related to an alternative and optional feature (and/or) of independent claim 1. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation [MPEP 2143.03]. Dependent claims which contain language referencing a previously optional feature as a requirement makes interpretation of the claims difficult, raising concerns as to precisely when infringement would occur. Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation. Therefore, the claims and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 2, the recitation of “...the air conditioning system is provided with the heating mode comprising the first heating state, and wherein when the air conditioning system is in the first heating state…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, claim 2 has already defined the first heating state as the configuration wherein “the first air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the fourth air outlet, and the first circulating air duct are all communicated, the circulating air inlet, the first air outlet, the second air outlet, the third air outlet, the fourth air inlet, and the second circulating air duct are all blocked”.
Thus, it is unclear to the Examiner how to interpret the claim when the same claim is redefining the already established first heating state as comprising – the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the fourth air outlet, and the first circulating air duct are all communicated, the circulating air inlet, the first air inlet, the first air outlet, the second air outlet, the third air outlet, the fourth air inlet, and the second circulating duct are all blocked – Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 5, the recitation of “…a second cooling state…” in line 13 of the claim renders the claim unclear. Specifically, claim 5, has already disclosed “a second cooling state”. Therefore, it is unclear if the new instance of the terms are referring to the previously disclosed elements, or if they are entirely new elements. Applicant should either fix antecedent basis issues for clarity, or Applicant should further name the elements to meet the minimum requirements for clarity and precision. Accordingly, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 5, the recitation of “...the cooling mode further comprises a second cooling state…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, claim 5 has already defined a second cooling state as the configuration wherein “the circulating air inlet, the first air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the second air outlet, and the third air outlet are all communicated, the fourth air inlet, the first air outlet, the fourth air outlet, the first circulating air duct, and the second circulating air duct are all blocked”.
Thus, it is unclear to the Examiner how to interpret the claim when the same claim is redefining the already established second cooling state as comprising – the circulating air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the second air outlet, and the third air outlet are all communicated, the first air inlet, the fourth air inlet, the first air outlet, the fourth air outlet, the first circulating air duct, and the second circulating air duct are all blocked – Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 10, the recitation of “...a second switch valve group…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a second switch valve group may exist without the existence of a first switch valve group. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 10, the recitation of “...a third switch valve…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a third switch valve may exist without the existence of a first or second switch valve. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “...a third switch valve group…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a third switch valve group may exist without the existence of a first or second switch valve group. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “...a fifth switch valve…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a fifth switch valve may exist without the existence of a first through fourth switch valve. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 12, the recitation of “...a fourth switch valve group…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a fourth switch valve group may exist without the existence of a first through third switch valve group. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 12, the recitation of “...a seventh switch valve…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a seventh switch valve may exist without the existence of a first through sixth switch valve. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 12, the recitation of “...a fourth switch valve group is provided at the third air inlet and a second branch channel…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, the specification and drawings do not appear to corroborate the claim language as recited. Specifically, the claim dictates that the fourth switch valve group (41) is disposed at the third air inlet (321). However, the drawings and specification indicate that the fourth switch valve group is present at the third air inlet end (401) and the second branch channel (134) (Application ¶ 0077 and at least drawings 7-8). While the naming conventions are similar and not necessarily improper, the Application has established a structural difference between a “third air inlet” and a “third air inlet end”. Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation without improperly importing understanding from the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Any deficiency in the prior art should not be construed as allowable subject matter, rather as a testament to the current uncertainty in the claim language.
Regarding Claim 13, the recitation of “...a fifth switch valve group…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a fifth switch valve group may exist without the existence of a first through fourth switch valve group. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 13, the recitation of “...a ninth switch valve…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a ninth switch valve may exist without the existence of a first through eighth switch valve. Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the fourth branch channel" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 13, the recitation of “...a fourth air inlet end… ,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, upon review of the Application specification [at least ¶ 0021], the fourth air inlet end appears to be drawn to the structure of the second circulating air duct. Independent claim 1, from which 13 depends, recites the second circulating air duct as an alternative and optional feature. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation [MPEP 2143.03]. Dependent claims which contain language referencing a previously optional feature as a requirement makes interpretation of the claims difficult, raising concerns as to precisely when infringement would occur. Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation. Therefore, the claims and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Any deficiency in the prior art should not be construed as allowable subject matter, rather as a testament to the current uncertainty in the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Klein et al. (US 20140075974 A1, hereinafter “Klein”).
Regarding Claim 1, Klein teaches an air conditioning system [1] [at least Figs. 9B-9C], comprising:
a first heat exchange air duct [4], wherein a condenser [8] is provided in the first heat exchange air duct [¶ 0120; Fig. 9; apparent from inspection], the first heat exchange air duct is provided with a first air inlet end [close to 6] and a first air outlet end [downstream of 4 from 6], the first air inlet end comprises a first air inlet [fan 6] communicated with a circulating air inlet [57] [¶ 0118] in a vehicle [Abstract] and a second air inlet [56] communicated with an outside of the vehicle [¶ 0119; fresh air may be provided to 56], and the first air outlet end is respectively communicated with a first air outlet [17] communicated with an inside of the vehicle [¶ 0112; warm air may flow through path 17 to the passenger compartment] and a second air outlet [16] communicated with an outside of the vehicle [Figs. 8-9; ¶ 0111; flow path 16 and mechanism 25 guide warm air to the outside];
a second heat exchange air duct [3], wherein an evaporator [7] is provided in the second heat exchange air duct [¶ 0120; Fig. 9; apparent from inspection], the second heat exchange air duct is provided with a second air inlet end [close to 5] and a second air outlet end [downstream of 3 from 5], the second air inlet end comprises a third air inlet [fan 5] communicated with the circulating air inlet [57] [¶ 0118] in the vehicle and a fourth air inlet [55] communicated with the outside of the vehicle [¶ 0119; fresh air may be provided to 55], and the second air outlet end is respectively communicated with a third air outlet [12] communicated with the inside of the vehicle [¶ 0104; cool air may flow through path 12 to the passenger compartment] and a fourth air outlet [11] communicated with the outside of the vehicle [¶ 0112]; and
a circulation system [at least Figs. 9A-9C], comprising:
a first circulating air duct [air channel containing mechanism 73; See at least Fig. 9B] communicated with the first heat exchange air duct [Fig. 9B; apparent from inspection], wherein the first circulating air duct is configured to recover air after heat exchange through the first heat exchange air duct [¶ 0118] and circulate the air to the first air inlet and/or the third air inlet [Fig. 9B; apparent from inspection pathway 57 may flow to either pathways 53 or 54 via mechanism 58 and 59]; and/or,
a second circulating air duct communicated with the second heat exchange air duct, wherein the second circulating air duct is configured to recover air after heat exchange through the second heat exchange air duct and circulate the air to the first air inlet and/or the third air inlet [Examiner notes that the limitations following the alternative and optional language “and/or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], and therefore Klein reads on the claim].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein.
Regarding Claim 2, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above [Figs. 8-9] and Klein teaches wherein:
the air conditioning system is provided with a heating mode comprising a first heating state [¶ 0020-0022; the system may comprise heating and reheat operations], and wherein when the air conditioning system is in the first heating state [Note: a claim term is functional when it recites a feature “by what it does rather than by what it is” [MPEP 2173.05(g)]; therefore, when a prior art references teaches the identical structure but is silent about performing the claimed function or configuration, a reasonable presumption exists that the prior art reference is capable of performing the same function [MPEP 2182]]:
the first air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the fourth air outlet, and the first circulating air duct are all communicated [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection ductwork connects the claimed elements],
the circulating air inlet, the first air outlet, the second air outlet, the third air outlet, the fourth air inlet, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] are all blocked [Note: the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art [MPEP 2114]; While it is unclear if Klein teaches the specific opening/closing combination configuration of doors to communicate or block airflow, Klein does teach controllable valve mechanisms at the interface of each claimed inlet and outlet [See Figs. 8-9] (i.e. 52 may block upstream inlet of 4, 51 may block upstream inlet of 3, 58 may block inlet 55, 59 may block inlet 56, the combination of 58 and 59 may block 57, 23 may block outlet 11, 25 may block outlet 16, 26 may block 17, 41 may block 12 and 73 or 74 and 75 may block the circulating air duct); Klein further states that the opening and closing of valves are one of multiple variable controls in combination with the surface area of specific heat exchangers in the design and the flow mass of the fans in the system [¶ 0009-0010]. Therefore because the prior art contains the corresponding structure capable of blocking all claimed duct paths, in combination with the prior art indicating that a plurality configurations are known to be desirable (i.e. heating, reheating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), one of ordinary skill in the art would likely conclude that the claimed configuration does not provide a new and unexpected result if the structure of the prior art is capable of performing the recited function [MPEP 2114]]; and
air from outside the vehicle is directed into the first heat exchange air duct for heat exchange [¶ 0117-0118; paths 56 and 57 may both receive outside air and have pathways to fan 6 of duct 4], flows through the first circulating air duct, and is partly directed into the first air inlet for continued circulation [Fig. 9B-9C; apparent from inspection air may flow from 73 via 17, into 54 to flow back to 6], partly directed into the second heat exchange air duct through the third air inlet for heat exchange and is discharged outside the vehicle [Fig. 9B-9C; apparent from inspection that air directed through 73 may flow through 58 towards 53, such that air may arrive at 3 through 5, wherein mechanism 23 may allow air to exhaust to the environment via 11]; or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the optional language “or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], therefore Klein reads on the claim; the remainder of the limitations are considered to be attached to the optional language]
the air conditioning system is provided with the heating mode comprising the first heating state, and wherein when the air conditioning system is in the first heating state:
the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the fourth air outlet, and the first circulating air duct are all communicated,
the circulating air inlet, the first air inlet, the first air outlet, the second air outlet, the third air outlet, the fourth air inlet, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] are all blocked; and
air from outside the vehicle is directed into the first heat exchange air duct for heat exchange, flows through the first circulating air duct, and is directed into the third air inlet, flows into the second heat exchange air duct for heat exchange, and is discharged outside the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 3, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 2 above wherein the heating mode further comprises a second heating state, the first heating state is switchable to the second heating state [¶ 0017; Klein discloses that the heating, reheating, and cooling operation may be controlled solely via the control of air guidance mechanisms inside the housing], and when the air conditioning system is in the second heating state:
the circulating air inlet, the first air inlet, the second air inlet, the fourth air inlet, the first air outlet, and the fourth air outlet are all communicated [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection ductwork connects the claimed elements],
the third air inlet, the second air outlet, the third air outlet, the first circulating air duct, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] are all blocked [Note: the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art [MPEP 2114]; While it is unclear if Klein teaches the specific opening/closing combination configuration of doors to communicate or block airflow, Klein does teach controllable valve mechanisms at the interface of each claimed inlet and outlet [See Figs. 8-9; also see rejection of Claim 2 above for analysis regarding the similar structure of the prior art being capable of the claimed function]]; and
air after heat exchange through the first heat exchange air duct is discharged into the vehicle [Fig. 9B-9C; air from duct 4 may flow to passenger compartment 9] and recirculates into the first heat exchange air duct together with air from inside the vehicle [¶ 0117; flow path 57 may receive circulating air from the passenger compartment 9].
Regarding Claim 4, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above and Klein teaches wherein the air conditioning system is provided with a cooling mode [¶ 0017; Klein discloses that the heating, reheating, and cooling operation may be controlled solely via the control of air guidance mechanisms inside the housing], the cooling mode comprises a first cooling state, wherein in the first cooling state:
the first air inlet, the fourth air inlet, the second air outlet, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] are all communicated [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection ductwork connects the claimed elements],
the circulating air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the first air outlet, the third air outlet, the fourth air outlet, and the first circulating air duct are all blocked [Note: the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art [MPEP 2114]; While it is unclear if Klein teaches the specific opening/closing combination configuration of doors to communicate or block airflow, Klein does teach controllable valve mechanisms at the interface of each claimed inlet and outlet [See Figs. 8-9] (i.e. 52 may block upstream inlet of 4, 51 may block upstream inlet of 3, 58 may block inlet 55, 59 may block inlet 56, the combination of 58 and 59 may block 57, 23 may block outlet 11, 25 may block outlet 16, 26 may block 17, 41 may block 12 and 73 or 74 and 75 may block the circulating air duct); Klein further states that the opening and closing of valves are one of multiple variable controls in combination with the surface area of specific heat exchangers in the design and the flow mass of the fans in the system [¶ 0009-0010]. Therefore because the prior art contains the corresponding structure capable of blocking all claimed duct paths, in combination with the prior art indicating that a plurality configurations are known to be desirable (i.e. heating, reheating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), one of ordinary skill in the art would likely conclude that the claimed configuration does not provide a new and unexpected result if the structure of the prior art is capable of performing the recited function [MPEP 2114]]; and
air from outside the vehicle is directed into the second heat exchange air duct for heat exchange [¶ 0117; pathway 55 may receive airflow from outside the vehicle and directs it to pathway 53, towards 5], flows from the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] into the first heat exchange air duct for heat exchange [air from duct 3 may flow to the passenger compartment 9, wherein pathway 57 may receive airflow from the passenger compartment and flow towards first duct inlet 6], and is discharged outside the vehicle [via at least 16].
Regarding Claim 5, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 4 above and Klein teaches wherein the cooling mode further comprises a second cooling state, the first cooling state is switchable to the second cooling state, and when the air conditioning system is in the second cooling state:
the circulating air inlet, the first air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the second air outlet, and the third air outlet are all communicated [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection ductwork connects the claimed elements],
the fourth air inlet, the first air outlet, the fourth air outlet, the first circulating air duct, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] are all blocked [Note: the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art [MPEP 2114]; While it is unclear if Klein teaches the specific opening/closing combination configuration of doors to communicate or block airflow, Klein does teach controllable valve mechanisms at the interface of each claimed inlet and outlet; See Figs. 8-9; also see rejection of Claim 4 above for analysis regarding the similar structure of the prior art being capable of the claimed function]; and
air after heat exchange through the second heat exchange air duct is discharged into the vehicle [Fig. 9B-9C; air from duct 3 may flow to passenger compartment 9], flows through the circulating air inlet [¶ 0117; flow path 57 may receive circulating air from the passenger compartment 9], is partly directed into the third air inlet for continued circulation [¶ 0115-0117; Figs. 9B-9C; mechanisms 58 and 59 are capable of directing airflow from 57 to either 53 or 54], partly flows through the first air inlet for heat exchange in the first heat exchange air duct [¶ 0115-0117; Figs. 9B-9C; mechanisms 58 and 59 are capable of directing airflow from 57 to either 53 or 54] and is discharged outside the vehicle [pathways 11 and 16 discharge to outside the vehicle via mechanisms 23 and 25]; or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the optional language “or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], therefore Klein reads on the claim; the remainder of the limitations are considered to be attached to the optional language]
the cooling mode further comprises a second cooling state, the first cooling state is switchable to the second cooling state, and when the air conditioning system is in the second cooling state:
the circulating air inlet, the second air inlet, the third air inlet, the second air outlet, and the third air outlet are all communicated,
the first air inlet, the fourth air inlet, the first air outlet, the fourth air outlet, the first circulating air duct, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] are all blocked; and air after heat exchange through the second heat exchange air duct is discharged into the vehicle, flows through the circulating air inlet, and is directed into the third air inlet for continued circulation.
Regarding Claim 6, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above and Klein teaches wherein a first control valve [Fig. 8; combination of 58 and 58] is provided between the third air inlet and the first air inlet, and is configured to control an opening and closing of the third air inlet [¶ 0115-0117; Figs. 9B-9C; mechanisms 58 and 59 are configured to work together to mix a variety of airflow from paths 55, 56 and 57, such that their configuration determines the flowpath of said air towards either 5 or 6], and the first control valve is provided with a first switch position, a second switch position, and a third switch position, switchable between each other [¶ 0116; Klein discloses the valves have a plurality of combinations including at least open, partially open, or closed, wherein the operations are configurable];
when the first control valve is at the first switch position, the first air inlet is open and the third air inlet is closed [Fig. 9B-9C; mechanism 59 may facilitate flow from 57 to 6, while 58 may block flow from 57 to 5];
when the first control valve is at the second switch position, the third air inlet is open and the first air inlet is closed [Fig. 9B-9C; mechanism 58 may facilitate flow from 57 to 5, while 59 may block flow from 57 to 6]; and
when the first control valve is at the third switch position, both the third air inlet and the first air inlet are open, and the first control valve is configured to control an air intake ratio between the third air inlet and the first air inlet [¶ 0115; Fig. 9B-9C; mechanism 58 and 59 may facilitate flow from 57 to 5 and 6, while the opening degree of each mechanism may be partially open to facilitate intended mixing].
Regarding Claim 9, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above [Fig. 9B] and Klein further teaches comprising:
a first branch channel [portion of 4 extending towards 26] and a second branch channel [portion of 4 extending towards 25] communicated with the first air outlet end [both branches are at the downstream end of 4, relative to 6], wherein the first branch channel is communicated with the first air outlet and the second branch channel is communicated with the second air outlet [¶ 0105-0120; air flowing through 26 may flow through the first outlet to 9 or 73; air flowing through 25 is exhausted to the second outlet]; the first circulating air duct is provided with a third air inlet end [end of duct containing mechanism 73 closer to 17] and a third air outlet end [end of duct containing mechanism 73 closer to 57], the third air inlet end is communicated with the second branch channel [Fig. 9B-9C; apparent from inspection that the duct containing mechanism 73 is downstream of 26, relative to 6], and the third air outlet end is communicated with the first air inlet and/or the third air inlet [Fig. 9B; duct containing mechanism 73 may flow towards 57, which may then flow to either 5 and/or 6]; and/or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the alternative and optional language “and/or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], and therefore Klein reads on the claim]
a third branch channel and a fourth branch channel communicated with the second air outlet end, wherein the third branch channel is communicated with the third air outlet and the fourth branch channel is communicated with the fourth air outlet, and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] is provided with a fourth air inlet end and a fourth air outlet end, the fourth air inlet end is communicated with the fourth branch channel, and the fourth air outlet end is communicated with the first air inlet and/or the third air inlet.
Regarding Claim 15, Klein teaches a vehicle [Abstract], comprising: a vehicle body [¶ 0019; the air conditioning system may be arranged under, in front of, or behind the passenger compartment of the vehicle] and the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above [Abstract] and Klein teaches wherein the air conditioning system is provided at the vehicle body [Abstract, ¶ 0018-0019].
Claims 7-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein as in claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi (JP 2010013044 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above and Klein teaches wherein the first circulating air duct is provided with a third air inlet end [end of duct containing mechanism 73 closer to 17] and a third air outlet end [end of duct containing mechanism 73 closer to 57], the third air inlet end is directly connected to the first heat exchange air duct [Fig. 9B; apparent from inspection], and the third air outlet end is communicated with the first air inlet and/or the third air inlet [Fig. 9B; duct containing mechanism 73 may flow towards 57, which may then flow to either 5 and/or 6]; and/or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the alternative and optional language “and/or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], and therefore Klein reads on the claim]
the second circulating air duct is provided with a fourth air inlet and a fourth air outlet, the fourth air inlet is directly connected to the second heat exchange air duct and located before the third air outlet or the fourth air outlet, and the fourth air outlet is communicated with the first air inlet and/or the third air inlet.
Klein does not explicitly teach wherein the third air inlet end is located before the first air outlet and the second air outlet.
However, Takahashi teaches an air conditioning system for a vehicle [Figs. 1-10] comprising at least two heat exchange air ducts [14, 15] each comprising a respective heat exchanger [52, 46], wherein a plurality of air guidance mechanisms [23, 25, 26, 27, 28, 33, 35 and 20] control the airflow through the air conditioning unit such that the air is configurable to flow into the vehicle compartment, flow to the exterior of the vehicle, or be recirculated into the air conditioning system via control of the plurality of mechanisms (switching door) [¶ 0029-0037]. Outlets 26, 27 and 28 may be outlets flowing to the passenger compartment, whereas 34 may be exhaust to the outside [¶ 0036-0037]. Takahashi further comprises a return path (circulating air duct), wherein both the passenger compartment outlets and the exhaust outlet are apparently downstream from a first inlet end of the circulating air duct (i.e. 32a is upstream of 26, 27, 28 and 34). Takahashi further teaches that this configuration of providing the inlet of the circulation duct directly downstream of the heat exchanger enables the system to control relatively all the air from the heat exchanger to a specific path, thereby enabling the better control capabilities of air flows, thus improving the system [¶ 0067]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied a known technique to a known device (i.e. provide the recirculation pathway upstream of any outlets) and that in combination, the technique would improve the known device in a similar manner (i.e. improve control of air flowing directly from a heat exchanger), and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing the inlet of the circulation duct directly downstream of the heat exchanger enables the system to control relatively all the air from the heat exchanger to a specific path, thereby enabling the better control capabilities of air flows, thus improving the system [¶ 0067].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Klein to have wherein the third air inlet end is located before the first air outlet and the second air outlet, in view of the teachings of Takahashi, where applying a known technique to a known device with no change in their respective function would improve the known device in a similar manner and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing the inlet of the circulation duct directly downstream of the heat exchanger enables the system to control relatively all the air from the heat exchanger to a specific path, thereby enabling the better control capabilities of air flows, thus improving the system.
Regarding Claim 8, Klein, as modified, teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 7 above and Klein teaches wherein:
the first circulating air duct, the first air outlet, and the second air outlet are all provided with first control switches [¶ 0070; Figs 9B-9C; first circulating control duct contains mechanism 73, first air outlet contains 26, second air outlet contains 25], and each of the first control switches is respectively configured to control an opening and closing state, air intake volume and speed of the first circulating air duct, the first air outlet, and the second air outlet [¶ 0070, 0105-0108; air guidance mechanisms are controllable for various positions from completely closed to completely opened; Figs. 9B-9C, apparent from inspection]; and/or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the alternative and optional language “and/or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], and therefore Klein as modified reads on the claim]
the second circulating air duct, the third air outlet, and the fourth air outlet are all provided with second control switches, and each of the second control switches is respectively configured to control an opening and closing state, air intake volume and speed of the second circulating air duct, the third air outlet, and the fourth air outlet.
Regarding Claim 10, Klein, as modified, teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 8 above and Klein teaches wherein a second switch valve group is provided at a first branch channel [portion of 4 extending towards 26] and a second branch channel [portion of 4 extending towards 25], the second switch valve group comprises a third switch valve [26] provided at the first branch channel and a fourth switch valve [25] provided at the second branch channel [Fig. 9b; apparent from inspection], and the second switch valve group is configured to control an air intake ratio between the first branch channel and the second branch channel [¶ 0116; Klein discloses the valves have a plurality of combinations including at least open, partially open, or closed, wherein the operations are configurable]; or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the optional language “or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], therefore Klein as modified reads on the claim; the remainder of the limitations are considered to be attached to the optional language]
a second control valve is provided at a connection between the first branch channel and the second branch channel, the second control valve is provided with a fourth switch position and a fifth switch position switchable between each other, and the second control valve is configured to control the air intake ratio between the first branch channel and the second branch channel; and
when the second control valve is in the fourth switch position, the second branch channel is communicated and the first branch channel is blocked, and when the second control valve is in the fifth switch position, the first branch channel is communicated and the second branch channel is blocked.
Regarding Claim 11, Klein, as modified, teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 8 above and Klein teaches wherein a third switch valve group is provided at a third branch channel [portion of 3 extending towards 41] and a fourth branch channel [portion of 3 extending towards 23], the third switch valve group comprises a fifth switch valve [23] provided at the fourth branch channel and a sixth switch valve [41] provided at the third branch channel, and the third switch valve group is configured to control an air intake ratio between the third branch channel and the fourth branch channel [¶ 0116; Klein discloses the valves have a plurality of combinations including at least open, partially open, or closed, wherein the operations are configurable]; or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the optional language “or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], therefore Klein as modified reads on the claim; the remainder of the limitations are considered to be attached to the optional language]
a third control valve is provided at a connection between the third branch channel and the fourth branch channel, the third control valve is provided with a sixth switch position and a seventh switch position switchable between each other, and the third control valve is configured to control the air intake ratio between the third branch channel and the fourth branch channel; and
when the third control valve is in the seventh switch position, the fourth branch channel is communicated and the third branch channel is blocked, and when the third control valve is in the sixth switch position, the third branch channel is communicated and the fourth branch channel is blocked.
Regarding Claim 12, Klein, as modified, teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 8 above and Klein teaches wherein:
a fourth switch valve group is provided at the third air inlet and a second branch channel [portion of 4 extending towards 25], the fourth switch valve group comprises a seventh switch valve [25] provided at the second branch channel and an eighth switch valve [59] provided at the third air inlet, and the fourth switch valve group is configured to control an air intake ratio between the third air inlet and the second branch channel [¶ 0115; Fig. 9B-9C; mechanism 58 and 59 may facilitate flow from 57 to 5 and 6, while the opening degree of each mechanism may be partially open to facilitate intended mixing]; or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the optional language “or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], therefore Klein as modified reads on the claim; the remainder of the limitations are considered to be attached to the optional language]
a fourth control valve is provided at a connection between the third air inlet and the second branch channels, the fourth control valve is provided with an eighth switch position and a ninth switch position switchable between each other, and the fourth control valve is configured to control the air intake ratio between the third air inlet and the second branch channel; and
when the fourth control valve is in the eighth switch position, the first circulating air duct is communicated and the second branch channel is blocked, and when the fourth control valve is in the ninth switch position, the second branch channel is communicated and the first circulating air duct is blocked.
Regarding Claim 13, Klein, as modified, teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 8, wherein:
a fifth switch valve group is provided at a fourth air inlet end and the fourth branch channel, the fifth switch valve group comprises a ninth switch valve provided at the fourth branch channel and a tenth switch valve provided at the fourth air inlet end, and the fifth switch valve group is configured to control an air intake ratio between the fourth air inlet and the fourth branch channel [see 112(b) rejection above, as the above claimed structure appears to be tied to alternative and optional structure, therefore the accompanying structure may also not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03]; in the interest of compact prosecution, while the claim language is indefinite, Klein Fig. 9C, comprising a plurality of branch channels with respective air mechanisms [74, 75] may be considered to be the claimed structure, as inlets 5 and 6 may receive respective airflows from the plurality of branches via mechanism 58, 59, 74, 75; ¶ 0119-0120]; or
[Examiner notes that the limitations following the optional language “or” are not required by the claim, as such language does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP 2143.03], therefore Klein as modified reads on the claim; the remainder of the limitations are considered to be attached to the optional language]
a fifth control valve is provided at a connection between the fourth air inlet end and the fourth branch channel, the fifth control valve is provided with a tenth switch position and an eleventh switch position switchable between each other, and the fifth control valve is configured to control the air intake ratio between the fourth air inlet and the fourth branch channel; and
when the fifth control valve is in the tenth switch position, the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] is communicated and the fourth branch channel is blocked, and when the fifth control valve is in the eleventh switch position, the fourth branch channel is communicated and the second circulating air duct [Note: the second circulating air duct is recited as an alternative and optional feature in claim 1 and is not considered to limit the scope under the broadest reasonable interpretation] is blocked.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein as in claim 1 above, and further in view of Pierres et al. (US 20210323386 A1, hereinafter “Pierres”).
Regarding Claim 14, Klein teaches the air conditioning system according to claim 1 above and Klein teaches wherein the first heat exchange air duct and the second heat exchange air duct are provided adjacent to or spaced apart from each other [Figs. 9B-9C; apparent from inspection 3 and 4 are adjacent], a first wind wheel [6] is provided in the first heat exchange air duct, and a second wind wheel [5] is provided in the second heat exchange air duct [¶ 0066, 0113; the blowers comprise air wheels],
while blowers commonsensically utilize motors in the state of the prior art, Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein the air conditioning system further comprises at least one drive motor, wherein the drive motor drives the first wind wheel and the second wind wheel.
However, Pierres teaches a housing for a heating, ventilation and/or air conditioning device of a motor vehicle [10] [Figs. 1-3] comprising a main housing [12], wherein the housing comprises adjacent first and second ducts [11a, 11b], such that the duct comprise a plurality of air control mechanisms configured to circulate and divert airflow to and from the passenger compartment to provide desired heating or cooling functions via heat exchange with the heat exchangers disposed within the air ducts [¶ 0038-0042]. Pierres further discloses a first finned wheel [18] mounted in the first flow duct for generating a first airflow, as well as a second finned wheel [19] mounted in the second flow duct for generating a second flow, the wheels being able to be driven individually or together by an electric motor [21] [¶ 0040].
Considering the prior art’s disclose demonstrates that the configuration of providing power to a plurality of adjacent blowers with a singular drive motor is not new in the art, as the modification would not appear to modify the function of the device in any significant manner (i.e. the blowers still function as typical blowers regardless of the number of motors) [Pierres ¶ 0054]. Therefore, the modification may be considered an omission of an element and its function (i.e. operating two blowers from at least a single motor, instead of one motor per blower) is obvious if the functional power from additional motors is not required or desired. Alternatively, the modification may also be considered a mere change in size/proportion, as modification of a single motor to provide the power for multiple blowers is considered commonsensical if further power function of the singular motor is desired i.e. it is not inventive to replace a plurality of motors with a single motor, as the function of the blowers being driven would not be modified in any significant manner, and a change in size of a single motor would be commonsensical if further power is desired or required at the time of design [MPEP 2144.04].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Klein to have wherein the air conditioning system further comprises at least one drive motor, wherein the drive motor drives the first wind wheel and the second wind wheel, in view of the teachings of Pierres where applying a known technique to a known device (i.e. provide a singular motor to a plurality of blowers) with no change in their respective function (i.e. blowers continue to function as typical blowers) may be considered an obvious omission of an element and its function (i.e. it is obvious to provide a singular motor to a plurality of blowers if the power from a plurality of motors is not desired) and the modification would have yielded unchanging predictable results i.e. standard operation of the blowers to produce an airflow through the ducts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(WO 2013105200 A1) discloses a vehicle air conditioner provided with heat exchangers in separate airflow ducts, such that the separate airflow ducts may receive a recirculation airflow from the mixing chamber prior to flowing into the passenger compartment [Abstract].
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763