Response to Arguments
Claim & specification objections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior on their own or in combination fail to teach “altering the color space based on environmental data”, specifically Imai’s achromatic W is not equivalent to a reduced color space”. Further the applicant argues that Imai’s achromatic W is used to display white light and thereby all colors of light and the purpose of Imai’s achromatic W is to prevent color separation within that field sequential color displays.
The examiner is not contending that achromatic W is displaying a color other than white light, nor that the purpose of Imai is to prevent color separation in a field sequential color display. However, the examiner does note that the current limitation is “a plurality of modes based on the environmental conditions, each of the modes having a different light configuration, wherein one mode comprises a reduced color space mode”. Said limitation is very broad in its scope requiring different light configuration and a reduced color space not that all light configurations much be different nor that the full color space of the entire display is in a reduced color space mode. Further how the light configuration is different and how the color space is reduced is not defined within the claims.
The examiner responses by stating that it is clear that the light configuration is different in the combination of prior art provided in that the driving characteristics are clearly different between the different modes, further by providing an achromatic W (white light) in conjunction with the adjusted RGB signals (mixed therein) during display a reduced color space mode is indeed generated (Imai paragraph [0044] “As shown in FIG. 5a, when white (W) image 6 is displayed on the display device by the display process according to the first embodiment, the observer can see displayed white (W) image 6 as a normal white image by way of successive additive mixture as long as the observer observes the image with a fixed line of sight. Field images are not conventional R, G, B field images, but fields of R, G, B, W pixels that exist together.”)
For the above reasons the rejections as previously presented are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20160155242 – Bean) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9087471 – Miao) in further view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0024618 - Imai).
Regarding claim 1, Bean teaches an augmented reality display (Bean: Fig. 4, abstract, and para 0014-0025, augmented reality system 12 on the overlay display 16) comprising: an environmental background analyzer to determine environmental conditions (Bean: Figs. 1-2 and para 0015-0020, the color of the real-world background is analyzed and reviewed in order to determine how to color the overlay display); and
one or more light sources used to display augmented reality content to a user with the display (Bean: Figs. 1-2, and 6 and para 0017-0030, an overlay display 16, which is arranged to overlay an output on a background, a camera 18, which is arranged to detect the background, and the processor 30, which is connected to the overlay display 16. As such, a display operating in multiple output configurations/format based upon environmental inputs).
Bean does not explicitly teach a multi-mode display; a mode selector to select one of a plurality of modes based on the environmental conditions, each of the modes having a different light configuration, one or more light sources controlled by the mode selector.
Miao teaches a multi-mode display (Miao: abstract and Figs. 1-3 and related descriptions, different brightness settings in display is shown. The adaptive brightness control feature adjusts the display brightness of CGI light 135 in real-time based upon the brightness of the ambient environment.); a mode selector to select one of a plurality of modes based on the environmental conditions (Miao: abstract and Figs. 1-3, different brightness settings in display. The adaptive brightness control feature adjusts the display brightness of CGI light 135 in real-time based upon the brightness of the ambient environment.), each of the modes having a different light configuration, one or more light sources controlled by the mode selector (Miao: abstract and Figs. 1-3 and related paragraphs, the controller 155 controls illumination power source 205 to drive the LED backlight of display source 140 that produces CGI light 135.)
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean in view of the teachings of Miao so as to optimize the contrast and brightness of the same AR overlay under changing conditions and to improve the overlay visibility under changing ambient light and power limit.
However, the combination of Bean and Miao does not explicitly teach wherein one mode comprises a reduced color space mode.
Imai teaches wherein one mode comprises a reduced color space mode (Imai: abstract, and para 0040 – 0049, video signal processor generates RGBW video signals in synchronism with the colors of the illuminating lights. RGBW field sequential including achromatic W (reduced color space)).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean and Miao in view of the teachings of Imai so as to provide an improved display system which cures the problems of overlay legibility and artifact and power trade-offs under changing scene or ambient conditions (by adding a W component into the sequence so each field image does not look like a pure primary, the viewer does not visually perceive color breakups).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the mode selector comprises a user interface configured to enable a user to select the mode (Bean: AR and analyzer as discussed above; Miao: Fig. 2, user interface 215 using touch interface 160; Imai: RGBW video signals).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the mode selector comprises: an ambient light sensor to determine ambient light level (Miao: Fig. 2 and related descriptions, 145, and 155); and wherein the environmental conditions (Miao: Fig. 2, camera and scenes) include the ambient light level (Miao: Fig. 2 and related descriptions, 145, and 155).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the mode selector comprises: an environmental background analyzer is configured to determine a color of a real-world scene over which an image will be displayed (Bean: Figs. 1-2 and related descriptions; Miao: Fig. 2 and related descriptions; Imai: para 0039 – 0049), the real- world scene comprising the environmental conditions (Bean: Figs. 1-2 and related descriptions; Miao: Fig. 2 and related descriptions; Imai: para 0039 – 0049).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches wherein a first mode is a color sequential mode, enabling red, green, and blue light sources in sequence during a frame, and a second mode is an alternative mode (Miao: Fig. 2 and related descriptions; Imai: para 0039 – 0049 and para 0073 – 0093 and Figs. 12, and 16-21, any non RGB correspond to second mode. RGB mode = first mode).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the alternative mode comprises a color sequential mode using a reduced set of colors (Imai: para 0045 – 0049, 0073, 0128 – 0140, alternative mode corresponds to color sequential with a reduced set of colors).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches wherein a frame rate is different between the modes (Imai: para 0045 – 0049, 0073, 0128 – 0140, RGBW/RGB and different field counts / timing per frame).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches wherein the mode is selected based on a content being presented (Miao: Miao: Figs. 2-3 and related descriptions, controller 155 selects operating mode, e.g., brightness, transparency for CGI light by controlling illumination power source 205 and display source 140; Imai: the system switches illumination light colors depending on the displayed color images and generates an achromatic video signal from the content; increasing frame/field frequency by presenting content.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches wherein the mode is selected on a
per-frame basis (Imai: para 0045 – 0049, per-field/per-frame color sequence control; Bean: scene per camera frame; Miao: real-time adjusting).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the one or more light sources comprising a light array including a plurality of LEDs, wherein the light array is configured to selectively illuminate a portion of a display, such that a first portion of the display has a different color spectrum than another portion of the display (Imai: para 0073 – 0080, 0093, 0128 – 0140, plurality light-emitting regions showing different colors to neighboring pixel groups (per-portion chromatic differences), with a variety of matrix regions).
Regarding claim 17, Bean teaches multi-mode display for augmented reality (Bean: Figs. 1-2 and related descriptions, augmented reality system 12 and overlay display 16), the multi-mode display comprising: an environmental background analyzer to determine environmental conditions (Bean: Figs. 1-2 and related descriptions, camera and processor background color analysis); an illumination source to provide a plurality of light sources (Bean: Figs. 1-2 and 6 and related descriptions).
Bean does not explicitly teach a mode selection system to select a color sequence, based on the environmental conditions; an output to output modulated light to a user. However, Miao teaches a mode selection system to select a color sequence (Miao: abstract and Figs. 1-3 and related descriptions), based on the environmental conditions (Miao: abstract and Figs. 1-3 and related descriptions, different brightness settings in display is shown. The adaptive brightness control feature adjusts the display brightness of CGI light 135 in real-time based upon the brightness of the ambient environment.); an output to output modulated light to a user (Miao: eyepiece emits CGI to the eye and thus an output delivering modulated light to the user is shown).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean in view of the teachings of Miao so as to optimize the contrast and brightness of the same AR overlay under changing conditions and to improve the overlay visibility under changing ambient light and power limit.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the color sequence includes a full spectrum display sequence and a reduced color space display sequence; the illumination source controlled by an output of the mode selection system; a combiner to combine light from the plurality of light sources; a spatial light modulator to receive the combined light from the combiner, the spatial light modulator to modulate the light.
Imai teaches wherein the color sequence includes a full spectrum display sequence and a reduced color space display sequence (Imai: Fig. 4 and Fig. 14 and related descriptions, RGB color sequences and various light sources output is controlled by sequence control); the illumination source controlled by an output of the mode selection system (Imai: Fig. 4 and Fig. 14 and related descriptions, RGB color sequences and various light sources output is controlled by sequence control); a combiner to combine light from the plurality of light sources (Imai: Fig. 4 and Fig. 14 and related descriptions, W is divided into RGB and color separation and color combination is shown at least in Fig. 14); a spatial light modulator to receive the combined light from the combiner (Imai: Fig. 4 and Fig. 14 and related descriptions, LC display or mirror device both are spatial light modulators that modulate illumination according to the video signal and timing), the spatial light modulator to modulate the light (Imai: Fig. 4 and Fig. 14 and related descriptions, LC display or mirror device both are spatial light modulators that modulate illumination according to the video signal and timing).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean and Miao in view of the teachings of Imai so as to provide an improved display system which cures the problems of overlay legibility and artifact and power trade-offs under changing scene or ambient conditions (by adding a W component into the sequence so each field image does not look like a pure primary, the viewer does not visually perceive color breakups).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the mode selection system further to use data from one or more sensors to select the color sequence, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of: an ambient light sensor (Miao: controller 155, ambient sensor 145, and power control and transparent layer; see also Bean: camera detection background color), a thermal sensor, an augmented reality background sensor, and a battery sensor.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches wherein the mode is selected on a per-frame basis (Imai: RGB and W provide color timing and provides frame by frame results in which sequence to run, e.g., RGB vs RGBW).
Regarding claim 20, this claim is similarly rejected on the same rationale as claim 17.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean, Miao, and Imai in further view of Lynch et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9177503).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, with the exception of the concept thermal sensors integrated across a display, configured to generate of a temperature map, and controller compensates/adjusts based on identifying a duration of operation above threshold temperatures and adjusts brightness/color based on the temperature. Lynch teaches the concept thermal sensors integrated across a display, configured to generate of a temperature map, and controller compensates/adjusts based on identifying a duration of operation above threshold temperatures and adjusts brightness/color based on the temperature (Lynch: abstract and Figs. 4-6 and Fig. 11 and related descriptions, see thermal sensors). They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean in view of the teachings of Lynch so as to decrease drive/power and mitigate temperature induced color/brightness parameters.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bean, Miao, and Imai in further view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0247437).
Regarding claim 5, the combination does not explicitly teach the concept of using a battery sensor to switch to a reduced-color (black and white) mode when battery level is low. Kim teaches the concept of using a battery sensor to switch to a reduced-color (black and white) mode when battery level is low (Kim: Figs. 4-8 and related descriptions, converting color UI to black and white in response to the battery charging level, e.g., threshold).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean, Miao, and Imai in view of the teachings of Kim so as to provide the improved electronic device that operates in a normal user mode or a power saving mode and, in the power saving mode, limit a maximum clock speed of a processor (for example, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), an Application Processor (AP), and the like) or reduce brightness of a display to reduce current consumption.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean, Miao, and Imai in further view of Huang (U.S. Patent No. 7385881) in additionally view of Verney (U.S. Patent No. 4779942).
Regarding claim 6, the combination does not explicitly teach a clock to determine a time of day. Huang teaches a clock to determine a time of day (Huang: Figs. 2-3 and related descriptions, clock circuit 16 is coupled to the microprocessor 11, and is operable so as to generate the time of day.).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean, Miao, and Imai in view of the teachings of Huang so as to provide a more efficient and better display system providing automatic day and night display modes selected using a clock (time of day).
However, the combination does not explicitly teach mode selector to select a color space to preserve scotopic vision.
Verney teaches mode selector to select a color space to preserve scotopic vision (Verney: abstract and Figs. 3-5 and related descriptions, the red light is filtered by a filter which transmits at least about 80% of the visible spectrum within a range up to about 640 nanometers in wavelength and inhibits the transmission of 99.9% of said red light above about 720 nanometers in wavelength on the electromagnetic spectrum within the spectral sensitivity of the night vision goggles.).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bean in view of the teachings of Verney so as to provide a more user-friendly and beneficial display select that mode at night to preserve vision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the objections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KE XIAO/SPE, Art Unit 2627