DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 12/18/2024 has/have been taken into account.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,179,047. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims is encompassed by the claims of the patent.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims is encompassed by the claims of the patent.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,376 in view of Lara (US 6,467,574).
The claims of the patent fail to explicitly recite the forces and steps which place the elements into the open, closed and standard positions. However, Lara teaches an open position (Lara: Fig. 7), a closed position (Lara: Fig. 8), and a standard position (Lara: Fig. 6) with the closed position being caused by a first force from falling, the open position being configured to be caused by compression of a button and a second force in a vertical direction, and the standard position allowing movement and preventing the cable from passing through (Lara: Col. 4, Ln. 5-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instant application with the positions from Lara, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a device which can be easily attached to a cable, adjustable along the cable and over its supporting lugs, and automatically move to a safety locked position in the event of a fall, thereby providing a device that is safe, simple to use, avoiding all risk of improper operation (Lara: Col. 4, Ln. 5-50).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “the attachment portion is configured to be rotatable degrees relative to a vertical axis to an at least substantially horizontal position on either side of the body portion”. This should read “the attachment portion is configured to be rotatable 90 degrees relative to a vertical axis to an at least substantially horizontal position on either side of the body portion” or “the attachment portion is configured to be rotatable relative to a vertical axis to an at least substantially horizontal position on either side of the body portion” (emphasis added).
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the opposite arms of the attachment portion" in line(s) 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chandler (US 2,324,361).
In regards to Claim 1, Chandler discloses a horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus, comprising: an attachment portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 23, 24) rotatable about an axis of a moveable pin (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 24) and connected to a body portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 6, 7) by the moveable pin, the body portion comprising: a fixed jaw (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 6) having a first moveable pin groove (Chandler: Fig. 1-3, 5; 20, 21, 30); and a moveable jaw (Chandler: Fig. 1-4; 22) having a second moveable pin groove, wherein a cable channel is defined by at least a portion of the fixed jaw and at least a portion of the moveable jaw (Chandler: Fig. 1); wherein at least a portion of the moveable pin is disposed within the first moveable pin groove and the second moveable pin groove of the fixed jaw and the moveable jaw such that a range of motion of the moveable pin is defined at least in part by the first moveable pin groove and the second moveable pin groove of the fixed jaw and the moveable jaw; wherein at least one of the first moveable pin groove and the second moveable pin groove comprising a vertical portion (Chandler: Fig. 3; 30) further comprises a first non-linear portion (Chandler: Fig. 3; 21).
In regards to Claim 2, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 6, 7) is configured to at least partially surround a portion of a cable so as to retain the portion of the cable within the cable channel.
In regards to Claim 3, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the attachment portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 23, 24) comprises an eyelet (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 23).
In regards to Claim 4, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the attachment portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 23, 24) comprises the moveable pin (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 24), the moveable pin being fixedly disposed between two opposite arms.
In regards to Claim 5, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first moveable pin groove (Chandler: Fig. 1-3, 5; 20, 21, 30) and the second moveable pin groove comprising the vertical portion (Chandler: Fig. 3; 30) further comprises an S-shaped groove profile.
In regards to Claim 6, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 5, wherein the vertical portion (Chandler: Fig. 3; 30) comprises an intermediate portion positioned in between the first non-linear portion (Chandler: Fig. 3; 21) and a second non-linear portions (Chandler: Annotated Fig. 3; P2).
In regards to Claim 8, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the attachment portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 23, 24) is configured to be rotatable degrees relative to a vertical axis to an at least substantially horizontal position on either side of the body portion (Chandler: Fig. 1-3; 6, 7).
In regards to Claim 13, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus is configurable between an open position, a closed position, and a standard position (Chandler: Col. 2, Ln. 33-38).
In regards to Claim 18, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 1, wherein the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus is configurable between an open position, a closed position, and a standard position (Chandler: Col. 2, Ln. 33-38).
In regards to Claim 19, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 18, wherein the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus is configurable in the closed position based at least in part on a first force acting on the attachment portion in a falling direction (Chandler: Col. 1, Ln. 10-17; discloses weight locking the apparatus closed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandler (US 2,324,361) in view of Ulbing (US 3,940,173).
In regards to Claim 14, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 13, wherein the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus is configured to be placed in the open position based on a process comprising a vertical displacement of the moveable pin, the vertical displacement of the moveable pin resulting at least in part from a force applied to the attachment portion (Chandler: Col. 3, Ln. 2-10).
Chandler fails to disclose the apparatus being configurable in the open position based at least on a two-step operation comprising a compression of a button element. However, Ulbing teaches an apparatus being configurable in the open position based at least on a two-step operation comprising a compression of a button element (Ulbing: Fig. 1-4; 50).
Chandler and Ulbing are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. line attachments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Chandler with the button from Ulbing, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a biased latch mechanism that secures the apparatus in a closed position automatically (Ulbing: Col. 2, Ln. 62-67, thereby removing the need for separate locking fasteners.
In regards to Claim 20, Chandler discloses the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 19, wherein the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus being configurable in the open position based at least on an operation comprising a second force applied to the attachment portion in a second direction different from the falling direction (Chandler: Col. 3, Ln. 2-10; Col. 3, Ln. 1-34).
Chandler fails to disclose the apparatus being configurable in the open position based at least on a two-step operation comprising a compression of a button element. However, Ulbing teaches an apparatus being configurable in the open position based at least on a two-step operation comprising a compression of a button element (Ulbing: Fig. 1-4; 50). [Note: See the rejection of claim 14 for motivation and/or rationale.]
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandler (US 2,324,361) in view of Ulbing (US 3,940,173) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lecourt (US 6,293,600).
In regards to Claim 15, Chandler, as modified, teaches the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 14, but fails to disclose the attachment portion further comprises a bracket disposed between two opposite arms of the attachment portion.
However, Lecourt teaches an attachment portion (Lecourt: Fig. 1; 12) that further comprises a bracket (Lecourt: Annotated Fig. 1; B) disposed between two opposite arms of the attachment portion.
Chandler and Lecourt are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. line attachments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment portion in Chandler with the bracket from Lecourt, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an attachment portion structure that encourages an attached element to move towards its distal end, thereby ensuring optimal response to an applied force (Lecourt: Col. 2, Ln. 9-16).
In regards to Claim 16, Chandler, as modified, teaches the horizontal lifeline shuttle apparatus of claim 15, wherein the bracket (Lecourt: Annotated Fig. 1; B) is configured to facilitate an execution of the two-step process by a user using a single hand.
Annotated Figures
I: Chandler; Fig. 3
II: Lecourt; Fig. 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631