DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application with case number 18/952,915 filed on 11/19/2024, in which claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP23210867.0, filed on 11/20/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 11/19/2024 has/have been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
5. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
6. Examiner notes that Applicants have used the phrase “and/or” in claim(s) 3, 6, 7, 11 and 12. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) has held that use of the phrase “and/or” within a claim is not indefinite. According to the PTAB, “and/or” is not wrong, but it’s not preferred verbiage (see Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811).
7. Nevertheless, during patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (see MPEP § 2111; Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). Based upon this guidance from the MPEP and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or” under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.
Claim Objections
8. Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
“UAV” should read “unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV).”
“a position and orientation of the laser scanner module” in lines 6 should read “the position and orientation of the laser scanner module.”
9. Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
“a position and orientation of the laser scanner module” in 15 should read “the position and orientation of the laser scanner module.”
10. Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
“A UAV” should read “An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV).”
11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
13. Claim 1-12, and 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
14. Claims 1, 5 and 6 recite the limitation “the point cloud.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of prior art rejection, the first instance of the limitation in claim 1 was interpreted as “a point cloud.”
15. Claim 7 recites the limitation “the UAV” in 16 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of prior art rejection, the limitation was interpreted as “a UAV.” To overcome the rejection, Applicant is advised to change the limitation to “An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV).”
16. Claim(s) 2-12, and 15-16 rejected by virtue of its/their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
18. Claim(s) 1-2, and 11-16
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kendoul et al. (US-20210278834-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Kendoul discloses a computer-implemented method for autonomously exploring, by a mobile robot, one or more objects of interest, the mobile robot comprising a computing unit and a laser scanner module for scanning surfaces of the one or more objects of interest, the laser scanner module having a field of view, comprising (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 2-3, 10, [0001 & 0073 & 0111 & 0227], discloses a method for use in performing exploration and mapping of unknown GPS-denied environments, such as indoors and underground, using an unmanned or unpiloted aerial vehicle [i.e., a computer-implemented method for autonomously exploring, by a mobile robot], beyond visual line of sight and/or beyond communication range. The aerial vehicle 210 generates range data using a range sensor 214 of the aerial vehicle 210. The range data is indicative of a range to the environment. The range sensor is provided using a Lidar sensor [i.e., the mobile robot comprising a laser scanner module]. The aerial vehicle 210 further includes a mapping and control system [i.e., the mobile robot comprising a computing unit] for facilitating functionalities for mapping an environment and autonomously controlling the flight of the aerial vehicle 210 within the environment in accordance with the map. The control board 403 is also typically coupled to a motor 407 for controlling movement of the Lidar sensor 408, to thereby perform scanning over a field of view [i.e., the laser scanner module having a field of view]. The user defined exploration target is in the form of a target plane “F” as shown in Fig. 10, or in other forms such as a target area (not shown), a target volume; a target object [i.e., scanning surfaces of the one or more objects of interest] and/or a target point):
defining a three-dimensional exploration map, wherein the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 10 (reproduced and annotated below for Applicant’s convenience), and [0227], discloses the user defined exploration target is in the form of a target plane “F” as shown in Fig. 10, or in other forms such as a target area (not shown), a target volume (not shown); a target object (not shown) [i.e., defining a three-dimensional exploration map, wherein the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map] and/or a target point (not shown). When the user defined exploration target is the target plane “F”, the aerial vehicle 210 flies autonomously toward the nearest point on the plane. Examiner notes, when the target is a target object, the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map);
Annotated Fig. 10 of Kendoul – Objects of interest
partitioning the exploration map into a multitude of three-dimensional exploration blocks (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 4, 7A, and [0134], discloses at step 720, the processing device 401 calculates a depth map, which involves determining a minimum range to the environment for directions surrounding the vehicle. The range data will be parsed to identify a minimum range in a plurality of directions around the vehicle. At step 725, the processing device 401 calculates an occupancy grid including an occupancy in voxels for a three dimensional grid around the vehicle [i.e., partitioning the exploration map into a multitude of three-dimensional exploration blocks]. This is typically achieved by segmenting the point cloud and examining for the presence of points within the different voxels of a three dimensional grid surrounding the vehicle. This is used to identify obstacles around the vehicle, allowing paths along which the vehicle can fly to be identified); and
an autonomous exploration of the exploration map by means of the mobile robot (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 2, and [0162], discloses the aerial vehicle 210 is flying autonomously and is generating range data [i.e., an autonomous exploration of the exploration map by means of the mobile robot]. Whilst the aerial vehicle 210 is within communication range of the user processing system 220, the aerial vehicle 210 transmits to the user processing system 220, further map data generated based on the range data),
wherein the exploration of the exploration map comprises the mobile robot exploring, along an exploration path, at least a subset of the exploration blocks (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 8, and [0192], discloses the map data includes at least some of the range data, a three dimensional map generated based on the range data, an occupancy grid indicative of the presence of the environment in different voxels of the grid [i.e., at least a subset of the exploration blocks], a depth map indicative of a minimum range to the environment in a plurality of directions, or a point cloud indicative of points in the environment detected by the range sensor. At step 810, the aerial vehicle 210 determines a corresponding first flight plan, and at step 820 the aerial vehicle 210 completes its flight autonomously using the flight plan [i.e., wherein the exploration of the exploration map comprises the mobile robot exploring, along an exploration path]), and the laser scanner module generating scan data while the mobile robot is travelling along the exploration path (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 9A-9C, and [0109 & 0200], discloses the range sensor 214 is a Lidar sensor [i.e., the laser scanner module generating scan data]. As mapping progresses, the windows are updated as shown in Figs. 9B and 9C, to show additional information, including expansion of the point cloud 922, together with the path 923 traversed by the vehicle and user defined waypoints 924 used to guide navigation of the vehicle [i.e., while the mobile robot is travelling along the exploration path]), wherein:
exploring an exploration block at least comprises determining, whether the respective exploration block comprises one or more points of the point cloud (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 7A, and [0134], discloses at step 725, the processing device 401 calculates an occupancy grid including an occupancy in voxels for a three dimensional grid around the vehicle. This is typically achieved by segmenting the point cloud and examining for the presence of points within the different voxels of a three dimensional grid surrounding the vehicle [i.e., exploring an exploration block at least comprises determining, whether the respective exploration block comprises one or more points of the point cloud]. This is used to identify obstacles around the vehicle, allowing paths along which the vehicle can fly to be identified); and
the computing unit of the mobile robot updates the exploration map and defines the exploration path (Kendoul, in at least [0076 & 0164], discloses the user processing system 220 obtains user defined flight instructions. The user interacts with the graphical user interface with regard to the map representation, to define waypoints, flight paths, manoeuvres or the like [i.e., defines the exploration path]. The aerial vehicle 210 transmits further map data that includes any updates to the map data [i.e., the computing unit of the mobile robot updates the exploration map and defines the exploration path], or selectively limits the further map data to only include updates to the map data in a predetermined time window, updates to the map data within a predetermined range of the aerial vehicle, or updates to the map data within a predetermined range of waypoints).
In regard to claim 2
, Kendoul teaches/discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile robot is a UAV, particularly a quadcopter drone (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 2-3, and [0105-0106], discloses the aerial vehicle 210 is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) [i.e., wherein the mobile robot is a UAV]. The aerial vehicle 210 is a quadrotor helicopter [i.e., particularly a quadcopter drone]. Examiner notes, the term particularly was interpreted based on its dictionary meaning as specifically and the claim was interpreted to limit the scope of the invention to a quadcopter drone).
In regard to claim 11
, Kendoul discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a three-dimensional volume is defined by a user as the three-dimensional exploration map in a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 1, and [0075-0076], discloses at step 120, upon receipt of the transmitted map data, the user processing system 220 displays, using a graphical user interface, a map representation based on the map data. The map data includes information regarding the environment surrounding the aerial vehicle 210 in three dimensions [i.e., wherein a three-dimensional volume]. At step 130, the user processing system 220 obtains user defined flight instructions in accordance with user interactions with the graphical user interface [i.e., defined by a user as the three-dimensional exploration map in a graphical user interface]):
is displayed on a screen of a mobile computing device; and/or
allows the user to define a polyhedron, in particular a cuboid, as the three-dimensional exploration map by marking two corner points of the cuboid; and/or
shows a two-dimensional representation of the one or more objects of interest (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 2-5, discloses the user processing system 220 [i.e., a mobile computing device] includes an electronic processing device, such as at least one microprocessor 500, a memory 501, an input/output device 502, such as a touch screen display [i.e., a screen of a mobile computing device]).
In regard to claim 12
, Kendoul discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein exploring an exploration block comprises scanning, by the laser scanner module, particularly with a user-defined scanning accuracy, surfaces of objects present in the exploration block, in particular wherein the one or more objects of interest comprise:
buildings or other man-made structures, and the surfaces include at least one of façades, roofs, pillars and pavement; and/or
natural objects or scenes, particularly caves (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 10, and [0004 & 0227], discloses drones are required to collect data (mapping, inspection, images, gas, radiations, etc.) from areas that are inaccessible to humans (dangerous or not possible) such as in underground mining stopes, underground urban utility tunnels [i.e., buildings or other man-made structures], collapsed tunnels and indoor structures, etc. In these GPS-denied environments, generally there is no navigation map that the drone can use to navigate and the options are either, assisted flight in line of sight, or waypoint navigation where waypoints are selected by the operator during flight, or autonomous exploration. The user defined exploration target is in the form of a target plane “F” as shown in Fig. 10, or in other forms such as a target area (not shown), a target volume (not shown) [i.e., buildings or other man-made structure]; a target object (not shown) [i.e., the surfaces include at least one of façades, roofs, pillars and pavement] and/or a target point (not shown). Examiner notes, the terms particularly and in particular were interpreted based on their dictionary meaning as specifically and the claim was interpreted to limit the scope of the invention by using the mentioned terms).
In regard to claim 13
, Kendoul discloses a UAV comprising a computing unit and a laser scanner module, the laser scanner module having a field of view, wherein the computing unit is configured (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 2-4, and [0073 & 0105 & 0111 & 0113], discloses the aerial vehicle 210 generates range data using a range sensor 214 of the aerial vehicle 210. The range data is indicative of a range to the environment. The range sensor is provided using a Lidar sensor [i.e., a laser scanner module]. The aerial vehicle 210 is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) [i.e., a UAV]. The aerial vehicle 210 further includes a mapping and control system [i.e., a computing unit] for facilitating functionalities for mapping an environment and autonomously controlling the flight of the aerial vehicle 210 within the environment in accordance with the map. The control board 403 is also typically coupled to a motor 407 for controlling movement of the Lidar sensor 408, to thereby perform scanning over a field of view [i.e., the laser scanner module having a field of view]):
a) to receive a three-dimensional exploration map that is partitioned into a multitude of three-dimensional exploration blocks, or
b) to receive a three-dimensional exploration map and to partition the exploration map into a multitude of three-dimensional exploration blocks, or
c) to receive exploration-map information, particularly comprising coordinates, to generate a three-dimensional exploration map based on the exploration-map information, and to partition the exploration map into a multitude of three-dimensional exploration blocks (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 6, 7A-7B and, [0122-0123 & 0132-0134], discloses at step 600, the aerial vehicle 210 receives flight instructions data from the user processing system 220 [i.e., to receive a three-dimensional exploration map]. Then, at step 610, the mapping and control system of the aerial vehicle 210 determines a flight plan based on the flight instructions data, and stores flight plan data indicative of the flight plan in the memory. At step 700, a flight plan is determined and at step 720, the processing device 401 calculates a depth map, which involves determining a minimum range to the environment for directions surrounding the vehicle. At step 725, the processing device 401 calculates an occupancy grid including an occupancy in voxels for a three dimensional grid around the vehicle [i.e., to partition the exploration map into a multitude of three-dimensional exploration blocks]. This is typically achieved by segmenting the point cloud and examining for the presence of points within the different voxels of a three dimensional grid surrounding the vehicle. This is used to identify obstacles around the vehicle, allowing paths along which the vehicle can fly to be identified),
wherein the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 10 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), and [0227], discloses the user defined exploration target is in the form of a target plane “F” as shown in Fig. 10, or in other forms such as a target area (not shown), a target volume (not shown); a target object (not shown) [i.e., wherein the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map] and/or a target point (not shown). When the user defined exploration target is the target plane “F”, the aerial vehicle 210 flies autonomously toward the nearest point on the plane. Examiner notes, when the target is a target object, the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map), and wherein the computing unit is configured to control an autonomous exploration of the exploration map by means of the UAV (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 2-3, and [0105 & 0224], discloses the aerial vehicle 210 is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) [i.e., by means of the UAV]. Once the aerial vehicle 210 has received the flight instructions data from the user processing system 220, the aerial vehicle 210 then proceeds to fly autonomously in accordance with the flight instructions data and the range data [i.e., wherein the computing unit is configured to control an autonomous exploration of the exploration]), wherein the exploration of the exploration map comprises the UAV exploring, along an exploration path, at least a subset of the exploration blocks (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 8, and [0192], discloses the map data includes at least some of the range data, a three dimensional map generated based on the range data, an occupancy grid indicative of the presence of the environment in different voxels of the grid [i.e., at least a subset of the exploration blocks], a depth map indicative of a minimum range to the environment in a plurality of directions, or a point cloud indicative of points in the environment detected by the range sensor. At step 810, the aerial vehicle 210 determines a corresponding first flight plan, and at step 820 the aerial vehicle 210 completes its flight autonomously using the flight plan [i.e., wherein the exploration of the exploration map comprises the UAV exploring, along an exploration path]), and the laser scanner module generating scan data while the UAV is travelling along the exploration path, the scan data relating to a point cloud (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 9A-9C, and [0109 & 0200], discloses the range sensor 214 is a Lidar sensor [i.e., the laser scanner module generating scan data]. As mapping progresses, the windows are updated as shown in Figs. 9B and 9C, to show additional information, including expansion of the point cloud 922 [i.e., the scan data relating to a point cloud], together with the path 923 [i.e., while the UAV is travelling along the exploration path] traversed by the vehicle and user defined waypoints 924 used to guide navigation of the vehicle), wherein:
exploring an exploration block at least comprises determining, based on the scan data, whether the respective exploration block comprises one or more points of the point cloud ((Kendoul, in at least Fig. 7A, and [0134], discloses at step 725, the processing device 401 calculates an occupancy grid including an occupancy in voxels for a three dimensional grid around the vehicle. This is typically achieved by segmenting the point cloud and examining for the presence of points within the different voxels of a three dimensional grid surrounding the vehicle [i.e., exploring an exploration block at least comprises determining, based on the scan data, whether the respective exploration block comprises one or more points of the point cloud]. This is used to identify obstacles around the vehicle, allowing paths along which the vehicle can fly to be identified); and
the computing unit of the UAV is configured to update the exploration map and to define the exploration path (Kendoul, in at least [0076 & 0164], discloses the user processing system 220 obtains user defined flight instructions. The user interacts with the graphical user interface with regard to the map representation, to define waypoints, flight paths, manoeuvres or the like [i.e., to define the exploration path]. The aerial vehicle 210 transmits further map data that includes any updates to the map data [i.e., the computing unit of the UAV is configured to update the exploration map and to define the exploration path], or selectively limits the further map data to only include updates to the map data in a predetermined time window, updates to the map data within a predetermined range of the aerial vehicle, or updates to the map data within a predetermined range of waypoints).
In regard to claim 14
, Kendoul discloses a system for scanning surfaces of one or more objects of interest, the system comprising a UAV according to claim 13 and a mobile computing device (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 2, and [0071-0073 & 0105 & 0227], discloses the system 200 [i.e., a system] broadly includes an aerial vehicle 210 and a user processing system 220 [i.e., a mobile computing device]. The aerial vehicle 210 uses a Lidar sensor. The aerial vehicle 210 is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) [i.e., the system comprising a UAV]. The user defined exploration target is in the form of a target plane “F” as shown in Fig. 10, or in other forms such as a target area (not shown), a target volume; a target object [i.e., scanning surfaces of one or more objects of interest] and/or a target point), wherein the mobile computing device is configured to receive user-input defining the three-dimensional exploration map (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 6, and [0122], discloses at step 600, the aerial vehicle 210 receives flight instructions data from the user processing system 220 [i.e., the mobile computing device is configured to receive user-input defining the three-dimensional exploration map]), wherein the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 6, and [0122], discloses in at least Fig. 10 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), and [0227] discloses the user defined exploration target is in the form of a target plane “F” [i.e., the one or more objects of interest are situated in the exploration map] as shown in Fig. 10, or in other forms such as a target area (not shown), a target volume; a target object and/or a target point), and to provide the exploration map or exploration-map information, particularly comprising coordinates, to the UAV (Kendoul, in at least Figs. 2, 7A-7B, and [0118 & 0138], discloses the aerial vehicle 210 will transmit map data to the user processing system 220 and the user processing system 220 will transmit flight instructions data [i.e., to provide the exploration map or exploration-map information] to the aerial vehicle 210. The processing device 401 identifies one or more manoeuvres at step 745 based on the selected flight plan and taking into account the occupancy grid, the configuration data and depth map. Having determined the manoeuvres, the processing device 401 generates control instructions at step 750, taking into account the calibration data so that instructions are translated into the coordinate frame of the vehicle [i.e., to provide the exploration map or exploration-map information, particularly comprising coordinates, to the UAV]).
In regard to claim 15
, Kendoul discloses a computer program product comprising program code stored in a non-transitory machine-readable medium and having computer-executable instructions for performing, the method according to claim 1 (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 5, and [0116], discloses the microprocessor 500 executes instructions in the form of applications software stored in the memory 501 to perform required processes, such as wirelessly communicating with the aerial vehicle 210 [i.e., a computer program product comprising program code stored in a non-transitory machine-readable medium and having computer-executable instructions for performing, the method according to claim 1] via the communications interface 504).
In regard to claim 16
, Kendoul discloses a computer program product comprising program code stored in a non-transitory machine-readable medium and having computer-executable instructions for performing, the method according to claim 12 (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 5, and [0116], discloses the microprocessor 500 executes instructions in the form of applications software stored in the memory 501 to perform required processes, such as wirelessly communicating with the aerial vehicle 210 [i.e., a computer program product comprising program code stored in a non-transitory machine-readable medium and having computer-executable instructions for performing, the method according to claim 12] via the communications interface 504).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claim(s) 3
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendoul et al. (US-20210278834-A1)in view of Iandola et al. (US-20180188733-A1).
In regard to claim 3
, Kendoul discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the field of view depends on a position and orientation of the UAV and is limited by:
a position and orientation of the laser scanner module relative to the UAV (Kendoul, in at least Fig. 10 (reproduced and annotated below for applicant’s convenience), and [0113], discloses the control board is also typically coupled to a motor for controlling movement of the Lidar sensor, to thereby perform scanning over a field of view. Examiner notes, as illustrated by Fig. 10, the field of view is imitated by the position and orientation of the Lidar sensor), and
Annotated Fig. 10 of Kendoul – Field of view
Kendoul is silent on a pre-defined radius that is smaller than a maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module, wherein
the field of view is also limited by a position and orientation of the laser scanner module relative to other features of the UAV, particularly wherein the other features at least comprise rotors and/or wings of the UAV; and/or
the maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module is between 15 and 150 metres, particularly between 40 and 80 metres.
However, Iandola teaches a pre-defined radius that is smaller than a maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module (Iandola, in at least [0040], teaches a LIDAR sensor specifies a minimum usable return range of 0.9 meters [i.e., pre-defined radius that is smaller than a maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module] and a maximum usable return range of 120 meters [i.e., a maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module]. Examiner notes, any scanning range that is less than the maximum scanning range of the LiDAR system, including the minimum scanning rage of the LiDAR system, limits the field of view), wherein
the field of view is also limited by a position and orientation of the laser scanner module relative to other features of the UAV, particularly wherein the other features at least comprise rotors and/or wings of the UAV; and/or
the maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module is between 15 and 150 metres, particularly between 40 and 80 metres (Iandola, in at least [0040], teaches a LIDAR sensor specifies a minimum usable return range of 0.9 meters and a maximum usable return range of 120 meters [i.e., the maximum scanning range of the laser scanner module is between 15 and 150 metres]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Kendoul in view of Iandola with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – light detection and ranging– and the combination would provide for observing more sensor readings, which enables it to generate more accurate predictions (Iandola, see at least [0062]). Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a range between the minimum and maximum range of the LiDAR system, since Applicant(s) has/have not disclosed that the chosen range, between 40 and 80 meters, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with other ranges between the minimum and maximum range of the LiDAR system.
21. Claim(s) 4
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendoul et al. (US-20210278834-A1).
In regard to claim 4
, Kendoul discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein updating the exploration map is performed in time intervals that are selected depending on at least one of:
a scanning speed of the laser scanner unit,
a computing speed of the computing unit, and
a current speed of the mobile robot,
wherein the time intervals are between 100ms and 1s (Kendoul, in at least [0164], discloses the aerial vehicle 210 transmits further map data that includes any updates to the map data, or selectively limit the further map data to only include updates to the map data in a predetermined time window [i.e., wherein updating the exploration map is performed in time intervals], updates to the map data within a predetermined range of the aerial vehicle, or updates to the map data within a predetermined range of waypoints).
While Kendoul discloses updating to the map data in a predetermined time window (Kendoul, see at least [0164]), Kendoul is silent on a scanning speed of the laser scanner unit,
a computing speed of the computing unit, and
a current speed of the mobile robot,
wherein the time intervals are between 100ms and 1s.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the scanning speed of the LiDAR, or any other related properties of the UAV, for updating the map and use a “time intervals […] between 100ms and 1s,” since Applicant(s) has/have not disclosed that time intervals between 100ms and 1s solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with other time intervals.
Claim Objections
22. In regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 or 103 rejection(s) noted above, claim(s) 5-10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections and/or the claim rejection(s) under 35 USC §112(b), set forth in this Office Action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
23. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang (US-20250383216-A1) teaches a grid map construction method which is applied to a robot.
Henry et al. (US-20210263515-A1) teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) which employs one or more image sensors to capture images of a scan target and uses distance information from the images for determining respective locations in three-dimensional (3D) space of a plurality of points of a 3D model representative of a surface of the scan target.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/Tarek Elarabi, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661