DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/256738, filed on September 6, 2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on November 19, 2024 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because too many words, too many paragraphs. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16 recites “an optical apparatus comprising the zoom optical system according to claim 9” however the zoom optical system of claim 9 is already an optical apparatus. Claim 16 fails to further limit claim 9.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11, 13-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Iwama (US 2009/0040622; cited by Applicant).
As to claims 9, 17, Iwama teaches a zoom optical system/method comprising, in order from an object (Iwama Fig. 1)
a first lens group having positive refractive power (Iwama Fig. 1 - L1);
a second lens group having negative refractive power (Iwama Fig. 1 - L2);
a third lens group having positive refractive power (Iwama Fig. 1 - L3);
wherein the first lens group moves toward the object (Iwama Fig. 1 - movement arrow) and air distances between the first to third lens groups are varied upon zooming from a wide angle end state to a telephoto end state (Iwama Fig. 1 - movement arrows);
the third lens group comprises a positive lens disposed closest to the object (Iwama Fig. 1 - lens of R9, R10);
and satisfying:
4.40 < f1/(-f2) < 8.00 (Iwama para. [0180]; Table 1 - as calculated f1 ≈ 43.6; f2 ≈ -9.6);
2.00 < ft/fw < 10.00 (Iwama para. [0180] - fw = 6.58; ft = 31.89);
3.60 < f1/f3 < 8.00 (Iwama para. [0180], Table 1 - as calculated f1 ≈ 43.6; f3 ≈ 10.6);
0.73 < (-f2)/f3 < 2.00 (Iwama Table 1 - (-f2)/f3 = 0.91).
As to claim 10, Iwama teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Iwama further teaches satisfying 0.77 < fw/f3 < 1.05 (Iwama para. [0147] - teaching 1.0 < f3/fw < 2.5 which is 0.4 < fw/f3 < 1.0 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03)).
As to claim 11, Iwama teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Iwama further teaches satisfying 0.14 < fw/f1 < 0.26 (Iwama para. [0180] - fw = 6.58; as calculated f1 ≈ 43.6).
As to claim 13, Iwama teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Iwama further teaches a lens group disposed closest to an image has positive refractive power (Iwama Fig. 1 - L4).
As to claim 14, Iwama teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Iwama further teaches the first lens group comprises a cemented lens consisting of a negative lens and a positive lens in order from the object (Iwama Fig. 1 - lenses of R1, R2, R3).
As to claim 16, Iwama teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Iwama further teaches an optical apparatus (Iwama Fig. 1; Fig. 9)
Claims 9, 12-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Nanba (US 2009/0231726; cited by Applicant).
As to claims 9, 17, Nanba teaches a zoom optical system/method comprising, in order from an object (Nanba Fig. 13A)
a first lens group having positive refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L1);
a second lens group having negative refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L2);
a third lens group having positive refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L3);
wherein the first lens group moves toward the object (Nanba Fig. 13A-C - movement arrow) and air distances between the first to third lens groups are varied upon zooming from a wide angle end state to a telephoto end state (Iwama Fig. 13A-C - movement arrows);
the third lens group comprises a positive lens disposed closest to the object (Nanba Fig. 13A; para. [0134] - lens of r13, r14);
and satisfying:
4.40 < f1/(-f2) < 8.00 (Nanba para. [0134] - f1 = 63.81; f2 = -8.77);
2.00 < ft/fw < 10.00 (Nanba para. [0134] - fw = 6.36; ft = 29.87);
3.60 < f1/f3 < 8.00 (Nanba para. [0134] - f1 = 63.81; f3 = 12.98);
0.73 < (-f2)/f3 < 2.00 (Nanba para. [0061], [0071] - teaching 1.0 < |f2|/fw < 1.7; 1.5 < f3/fw < 2.7, and corresponds to 0.37 < |f2|/f3 < 1.13 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03)).
As to claim 12, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches the second lens group comprises, in order from an object, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, a negative lens (Nanba Fig. 13A; para. [0134] - lenses of r4-r11).
As to claim 13, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches a lens group closest to an image has positive refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L4).
As to claim 14, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches the first lens group comprises a cemented lens consisting of a negative lens and a positive lens in order from the object (Nanba Fig. 13A - L1; para. [134] - lenses of r1-r3).
As to claim 16, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches an optical apparatus (Nanba Fig. 13A; Fig. 17).
Claims 9, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Take (US 2009/0147376; cited by Applicant).
As to claims 9, 17, Take teaches a zoom optical system/method comprising, in order from an object (Take Fig. 2)
a first lens group having positive refractive power (Take Fig. 2 - G1);
a second lens group having negative refractive power (Take Fig. 2 - G2);
a third lens group having positive refractive power (Take Fig. 2 - G3);
wherein the first lens group moves toward the object (Take Fig. 1 - G1) and air distances between the first to third lens groups are varied upon zooming from a wide angle end state to a telephoto end state (Take Fig. 1 - G2, G3);
the third lens group comprises a positive lens disposed closest to the object (Take Fig. 2 - L31);
and satisfying:
4.40 < f1/(-f2) < 8.00 (Take Table 3 - f1/(-f2) = 4.7904);
2.00 < ft/fw < 10.00 (Take Table 2 - fw = 30.0001; ft = 107.0904);
3.60 < f1/f3 < 8.00 (Take Table 3 - f1/f3 = 4.1004);
0.73 < (-f2)/f3 < 2.00 (Take Table 3 - f2 = -12.6602; f3 = 14.7906).
As to claim 12, Take teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Take further teaches the second lens group comprises, in order from an object, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, a negative lens (Take Fig. 2 - L21, L22, L23, L24).
As to claim 13, Take teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Take further teaches a lens group disposed closest to an image has positive refractive power (Take Fig. 2 - G3).
As to claim 14, Take teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Take further teaches the first lens group comprises a cemented lens consisting of a negative lens and a positive lens in order from the object (Take Fig. 2 - L11, L12).
As to claim 15, Take teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Take further teaches and Take further teaches a lens disposed closest to an image is a meniscus lens having a convex lens surface facing the image (Take Fig. 2 - L37).
As to claim 16, Take teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Take further teaches an optical apparatus (Take Fig. 2; Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwama (cited above).
As to claim 10, Iwama teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Iwama further teaches satisfying 0.77 < fw/f3 < 1.05 (Iwama para. [0147] - teaching 1.0 < f3/fw < 2.5 which is 0.4 < fw/f3 < 1.0 which is an overlapping range and thus prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to satisfy 0.77 < fw/f3 < 1.05, since, as taught by Iwama, satisfying such features allows for maintaining the required zooming aberration variation and spherical power correction (Iwama para. [0154], [0155]).
Claims 9, 12-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanba (cited above).
As to claims 9, 17, Nanba teaches a zoom optical system/method comprising, in order from an object (Nanba Fig. 13A)
a first lens group having positive refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L1);
a second lens group having negative refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L2);
a third lens group having positive refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L3);
wherein the first lens group moves toward the object (Nanba Fig. 13A-C - movement arrow) and air distances between the first to third lens groups are varied upon zooming from a wide angle end state to a telephoto end state (Iwama Fig. 13A-C - movement arrows);
the third lens group comprises a positive lens disposed closest to the object (Nanba Fig. 13A; para. [0134] - lens of r13, r14);
and satisfying:
4.40 < f1/(-f2) < 8.00 (Nanba para. [0134] - f1 = 63.81; f2 = -8.77);
2.00 < ft/fw < 10.00 (Nanba para. [0134] - fw = 6.36; ft = 29.87);
3.60 < f1/f3 < 8.00 (Nanba para. [0134] - f1 = 63.81; f3 = 12.98);
0.73 < (-f2)/f3 < 2.00 (Nanba para. [0061], [0071] - teaching 1.0 < |f2|/fw < 1.7; 1.5 < f3/fw < 2.7, and corresponds to 0.37 < |f2|/f3 < 1.13 which is an overlapping range and thus prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to satisfy 0.73 < (-f2)/f3 < 2.00 since, as taught by Nanba, such values allow for controlling image taking angle (Nanba para. [0064]) and the total length (Nanba para. [0072]).
As to claim 12, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches the second lens group comprises, in order from an object, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, a negative lens (Nanba Fig. 13A; para. [0134] - lenses of r4-r11).
As to claim 13, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches a lens group closest to an image has positive refractive power (Nanba Fig. 13A - L4).
As to claim 14, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches the first lens group comprises a cemented lens consisting of a negative lens and a positive lens in order from the object (Nanba Fig. 13A - L1; para. [134] - lenses of r1-r3).
As to claim 16, Nanba teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Nanba further teaches an optical apparatus (Nanba Fig. 13A; Fig. 17).
Double Patenting
Claims 9-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-29 of U.S. Patent No. 10,466,454 (herein US 454). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant patent application (claims 9-17) and the claims of US 454 each cover in scope the specific zoom lenses of embodiments 2-6.
The scope and content of the claims of US 454 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 9-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,428,911 (herein US 911). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant patent application (claims 9-17) and the claims of US 911 each cover in scope the specific zoom lenses of embodiments 2, 6, 7.
The scope and content of the claims of US 911 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 9-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,355 (herein US 355). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant patent application (claims 9-17) and the claims of US 355 each cover in scope the specific zoom lenses of embodiments 1, 2.
The scope and content of the claims of US 355 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Conclusion
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 10, 2026