DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 5 and 14 recite “the sixth feeding portion” and “the seventh feeding portion” instead of “the sixth radiating portion” and “the seventh radiating portion”. Accordingly, the Application has been examined as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689).
Regarding claim 1:
Yang et al. disclose (in Figs. 1A, 1B and 3) an antenna assembly (300) comprising: one or more antenna modules (121-124) each comprising a substrate (110); a first antenna (121); a second antenna (122); a third antenna (123); and a fourth antenna (124), wherein: the substrate (110) provides a first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) providing a first clearance zone (along 111), a second clearance zone (along 112), a third clearance zone (along 113), and a ground zone (115); the first antenna (121), the second antenna (122), the third antenna (123), and the fourth antenna (124) are arranged on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110); the first antenna (121), the second antenna (122), the third antenna (123), and the fourth antenna (124) are electrically connected to the ground zone (115); a projection of the first antenna (121) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the first clearance zone (along 111), a projection of the second antenna (122) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the second clearance zone (along 112), a projection of the third antenna (123) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the third clearance zone (along 113), and a projection of the fourth antenna (124) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the ground zone (115).
Yang et al. do not explicitly an operating frequency band of the first antenna is in a first frequency band; an operating frequency band of the second antenna is in a second frequency band; an operating frequency band of the third antenna is in a third frequency band; an operating frequency band of the fourth antenna is in a fourth frequency band.
Yang et al., however, disclose the antenna system covers a first frequency band, a second frequency band, a third frequency band, a fourth frequency band, and a fifth frequency band (Para. 0027, Lines 1-3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first frequency band, a second frequency band, a third frequency band, a fourth frequency band, and a fifth frequency band taught by Yang et al. by selectively and experimentally sizing the radiating elements such that an operating frequency band of the first antenna is in a first frequency band; an operating frequency band of the second antenna is in a second frequency band; an operating frequency band of the third antenna is in a third frequency band; an operating frequency band of the fourth antenna is in a fourth frequency band for the benefit of optimizing the isolation, the operational bandwidth, and the impedance matching of the antenna system (Para. 0029, Lines 1-27).
Regarding claim 3:
Yang et al. disclose the first antenna (121) comprises a first feeding portion (FP), a first ground portion (along 115), a first radiating portion (130), and a second radiating portion (150), the first feeding portion (FP) and the first ground portion (along 115) are electrically connected to the ground zone (115), a first end of the first radiating portion (130) is electrically connected to the first feeding portion (FP) and the first ground portion (along 115), the second radiating portion (150) is electrically connected to the first end (141) of the first radiating portion (130), each of the first radiating portion (130) and the second radiating portion (150) is L-shaped (See Figs. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 4:
Yang et al. disclose the second antenna (122) comprises a second feeding portion (134 coupled to FP), a second ground portion (along 115), a third radiating portion (140), a fourth radiating portion (160), and a fifth radiating portion (170), the second feeding portion (See Fig. 3) and the second ground portion (along 115) are electrically connected to the ground zone (115), a first end of the third radiating portion is electrically connected to the second feeding portion (141), a first end of the fourth radiating portion (160) is electrically connected to the second feeding portion (134 coupled to FP), a first end of the fifth radiating portion (170) is electrically connected (via 160) to the second feeding portion (134 coupled to FP), each of the third radiating portion (140), the fourth radiating portion (160), and the fifth radiating portion (170) is L-shaped (See Figs.).
Regarding claim 7:
Yang et al. disclose the first surface is rectangle shaped (See Fig. 3), the first clearance zone (along 111) is arranged in a first side zone of the first surface (118 along 111), the second clearance zone (along 112) is arranged in a second side zone of the first surface (118 along 112), the third clearance zone (along 113) is arranged in a third side zone of the first surface (118 along 113), the ground zone (115) is arranged in a fourth side zone of the first surface (See Fig.), the first side zone (118 along 111) and the third side zone (118 along 113) are on opposite sides (diagonally) of a rectangle defined by the first surface (See Fig.), the second side zone (118 along 112) and the fourth side zone (118 along 114) are on opposite sides (diagonally) of the rectangle defined by the first surface (See Fig.).
Claims 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230094098).
Regarding claim 2:
Yang et al. disclose the first frequency band comprises 1710 Mhz to 2700 Mhz (defined as the second and third frequency bands) and 3300 Mhz to 3800 Mhz (defined as the fourth band), the second frequency band comprises 698 Mhz to 960 Mhz (defined as the first band), 1710 Mhz to 2700 Mhz (defined as the second and third frequency bands), and 3300 Mhz to 3800 Mhz (defined as the fourth band), the third frequency band comprises 2400 Mhz to 2500 Mhz (defined as the third frequency band; Para. 0027, Lines 1-8).
Yang et al. are silent on that the third frequency band comprises 5150 to 7125 Mhz and a center frequency point of the fourth frequency band comprises 1176.45 Mhz and 1575.42 Mhz.
Kim et al. disclose that operating bandwidths of the first antenna and the second antenna may be set to 699 to 7125 MHz. The first antenna ANT1 and the second antenna ANT2 can operate in any operating band of LB/MB/HB/5G band (Para. 0174, Lines 5-10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the antenna for operation at specified frequency, since antennas are always frequency sized and optimized to wavelength within the RF spectrum for the benefit of optimally adjusting to improve radiation efficiency and bandwidth to minimize the return loss (Para. 0195, Lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 8:
Yang et al. are silent on that the one or more antenna modules comprises a first antenna module and a second antenna module, the substrate of the first antenna module and the substrate of the second antenna module are integrally formed, a first interval is formed between the ground zone on the substrate of the first antenna module and the ground zone on the substrate of the second antenna module.
Kim et al. disclose (in Fig. 6) the one or more antenna modules (1100) comprises a first antenna module (1100-1) and a second antenna module (1100-2), the substrate (1010) of the first antenna module (1100-1) and the substrate of the second antenna module (1100-2) are integrally formed (See Fig.), a first interval (G) is formed between the ground zone (1150a) on the substrate of the first antenna module (1100-1) and the ground zone (1150b) on the substrate of the second antenna module (1100-2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna module comprising comprises a first antenna module and a second antenna module, the substrate of the first antenna module and the substrate of the second antenna module are integrally formed, a first interval is formed between the ground zone on the substrate of the first antenna module and the ground zone on the substrate of the second antenna module as taught by Kim et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of minimizing interference between antennas while providing Multiple-input/Multi-output (MIMO) by arranging a plurality of transparent antennas in a limited space of glass of a vehicle (Para. 0016, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 9:
Yang et al. disclose the clearance zone is one or more of the first clearance zone (along 111), the second clearance zone (along 112), and the third clearance zone (along 113).
Yang et al. are silent on that the first antenna module and the second antenna module are distributed in a central symmetry mode, one side of the first antenna module and one side of the second antenna module are located in a first line, and the first antenna module and the second antenna module are symmetrically arranged with the first line as an axis, a zone within the first interval is a clearance zone.
Kim et al. disclose (in Fig. 6) the first antenna module (1100-1) and the second antenna module (1100-2) are distributed in a central symmetry mode (Para. 0237, Lines 1-3), one side (S1) of the first antenna module (1100-1) and one side (S3) of the second antenna module (1100-2) are located in a first line (along G), and the first antenna module (1100-1) and the second antenna module (1100-2) are symmetrically arranged with the first line (along G) as an axis, a zone within the first interval (G) is a clearance zone (See Fig.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first antenna module and the second antenna module are distributed in a central symmetry mode, one side of the first antenna module and one side of the second antenna module are located in a first line, and the first antenna module and the second antenna module are symmetrically arranged with the first line as an axis, a zone within the first interval is a clearance zone as taught by Kim et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of minimizing interference between antennas while providing Multiple-input/Multi-output (MIMO) by arranging a plurality of transparent antennas in a limited space of glass of a vehicle (Para. 0016, Lines 1-4).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689) in view of DENG et al. (US 20220320724).
Regarding claim 5:
Yang et al. are silent on that the third antenna comprises a third feeding portion, a third ground portion, a sixth radiating portion, and a seventh radiating portion, the third feeding portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, a first end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a second end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, the third ground portion is L-shaped; a first end of the sixth feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a first end of the seventh feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion.
DENG et al. disclose (in Fig. 4) the third antenna (22) comprises a third feeding portion (223), a third ground portion (222), a sixth radiating portion (225), and a seventh radiating portion (224), the third feeding portion (223) is electrically connected to the ground zone (54), a first end of the third ground portion (222) is electrically connected to the third feeding portion (223), a second end of the third ground portion (222) is electrically connected to the ground zone (54), the third ground portion (222) is L-shaped (See Fig.); a first end of the sixth [feeding] radiating portion (225) is electrically connected to the third feeding portion (223), a first end of the seventh [feeding] radiating portion (224) is electrically connected to the third feeding portion (223).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the third antenna comprises a third feeding portion, a third ground portion, a sixth radiating portion, and a seventh radiating portion, the third feeding portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, a first end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a second end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, the third ground portion is L-shaped; a first end of the sixth feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a first end of the seventh feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion as taught by DENG et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of selecting the antenna assembly according to the installation space, radiation performance, and radiation direction of the antenna assembly (Para. 0062, Lines 5-6).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689) in view of Kim et al. (US 20190089419).
Regarding claim 6:
Yang et al. are silent the fourth antenna is a ceramic antenna; the fourth antenna is fixed in the ground zone.
Kim et al. disclose a fourth antenna (300) that is a ceramic antenna; the fourth antenna is fixed in the ground zone (Para. 0024, Lines 1-4; Para. 0106, Lines 1-9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fourth antenna as a ceramic antenna as taught by Kim et al. into the device of Yang et al. since GNSS antennas are typically made of ceramic because the high permittivity material enables a small, low-profile patch to effectively receive weak satellite signals thereby for improving transmission speed (Para. 0008, Lines 1-5).
Claims 10-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230094098).
Regarding claim 10:
Yang et al. disclose (in Figs. 1A, 1B and 3) an antenna assembly (300) comprising: one or more antenna modules (121-124) each comprising a substrate (110); a first antenna (121); a second antenna (122); a third antenna (123); and a fourth antenna (124), wherein: the substrate (110) provides a first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) providing a first clearance zone (along 111), a second clearance zone (along 112), a third clearance zone (along 113), and a ground zone (115); the first antenna (121), the second antenna (122), the third antenna (123), and the fourth antenna (124) are arranged on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110); the first antenna (121), the second antenna (122), the third antenna (123), and the fourth antenna (124) are electrically connected to the ground zone (115); a projection of the first antenna (121) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the first clearance zone (along 111), a projection of the second antenna (122) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the second clearance zone (along 112), a projection of the third antenna (123) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the third clearance zone (along 113), and a projection of the fourth antenna (124) on the first surface (defined by the top surface of 110) falls into the ground zone (115).
Yang et al. do not explicitly a vehicle and an operating frequency band of the first antenna is in a first frequency band; an operating frequency band of the second antenna is in a second frequency band; an operating frequency band of the third antenna is in a third frequency band; an operating frequency band of the fourth antenna is in a fourth frequency band.
Yang et al., however, disclose the antenna system covers a first frequency band, a second frequency band, a third frequency band, a fourth frequency band, and a fifth frequency band (Para. 0027, Lines 1-3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first frequency band, a second frequency band, a third frequency band, a fourth frequency band, and a fifth frequency band taught by Yang et al. by selectively and experimentally sizing the radiating elements such that an operating frequency band of the first antenna is in a first frequency band; an operating frequency band of the second antenna is in a second frequency band; an operating frequency band of the third antenna is in a third frequency band; an operating frequency band of the fourth antenna is in a fourth frequency band for the benefit of optimizing the isolation, the operational bandwidth, and the impedance matching of the antenna system (Para. 0029, Lines 1-27).
Yang et al. do not explicitly a vehicle utilizing the antenna assembly.
Kim et al. disclose (in Figs. 1A, 1B, 3A, 3B and 3C) a vehicle (500) comprising the antenna assembly (1000).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna assembly into the vehicle body as taught by Kim et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of perform wireless communication services with other vehicles or nearby objects, infrastructures, or a base station (Para. 0003, Lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 11:
Yang et al. disclose the first frequency band comprises 1710 Mhz to 2700 Mhz (defined as the second and third frequency bands) and 3300 Mhz to 3800 Mhz (defined as the fourth band), the second frequency band comprises 698 Mhz to 960 Mhz (defined as the first band), 1710 Mhz to 2700 Mhz (defined as the second and third frequency bands), and 3300 Mhz to 3800 Mhz (defined as the fourth band), the third frequency band comprises 2400 Mhz to 2500 Mhz (defined as the third frequency band; Para. 0027, Lines 1-8).
Yang et al. are silent on that 5150 to 7125 Mhz, a center frequency point of the fourth frequency band comprises 1176.45 Mhz and 1575.42 Mhz.
Kim et al. disclose that operating bandwidths of the first antenna and the second antenna may be set to 699 to 7125 MHz. The first antenna ANT1 and the second antenna ANT2 can operate in any operating band of LB/MB/HB/5G band (Para. 0174, Lines 5-10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the antenna for operation at specified frequency, since antennas are always frequency sized and optimized to wavelength within the RF spectrum for the benefit of optimally adjusting to improve radiation efficiency and bandwidth to minimize the return loss (Para. 0195, Lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 12:
Yang et al. disclose the first antenna (121) comprises a first feeding portion (FP), a first ground portion (along 115), a first radiating portion (130), and a second radiating portion (150), the first feeding portion (FP) and the first ground portion (along 115) are electrically connected to the ground zone (115), a first end of the first radiating portion (130) is electrically connected to the first feeding portion (FP) and the first ground portion (along 115), the second radiating portion (150) is electrically connected to the first end (141) of the first radiating portion (130), each of the first radiating portion (130) and the second radiating portion (150) is L-shaped (See Figs. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 13:
Yang et al. disclose the second antenna (122) comprises a second feeding portion (134 coupled to FP), a second ground portion (along 115), a third radiating portion (140), a fourth radiating portion (160), and a fifth radiating portion (170), the second feeding portion (See Fig. 3) and the second ground portion (along 115) are electrically connected to the ground zone (115), a first end of the third radiating portion is electrically connected to the second feeding portion (141), a first end of the fourth radiating portion (160) is electrically connected to the second feeding portion (134 coupled to FP), a first end of the fifth radiating portion (170) is electrically connected (via 160) to the second feeding portion (134 coupled to FP), each of the third radiating portion (140), the fourth radiating portion (160), and the fifth radiating portion (170) is L-shaped (See Figs.).
Regarding claim 16:
Yang et al. disclose the first surface is rectangle shaped (See Fig. 3), the first clearance zone (along 111) is arranged in a first side zone of the first surface (118 along 111), the second clearance zone (along 112) is arranged in a second side zone of the first surface (118 along 112), the third clearance zone (along 113) is arranged in a third side zone of the first surface (118 along 113), the ground zone (115) is arranged in a fourth side zone of the first surface (See Fig.), the first side zone (118 along 111) and the third side zone (118 along 113) are on opposite sides (diagonally) of a rectangle defined by the first surface (See Fig.), the second side zone (118 along 112) and the fourth side zone (118 along 114) are on opposite sides (diagonally) of the rectangle defined by the first surface (See Fig.).
Regarding claim 17:
Yang et al. are silent on that the one or more antenna modules comprises a first antenna module and a second antenna module, the substrate of the first antenna module and the substrate of the second antenna module are integrally formed, a first interval is formed between the ground zone on the substrate of the first antenna module and the ground zone on the substrate of the second antenna module.
Kim et al. disclose (in Fig. 6) the one or more antenna modules (1100) comprises a first antenna module (1100-1) and a second antenna module (1100-2), the substrate (1010) of the first antenna module (1100-1) and the substrate of the second antenna module (1100-2) are integrally formed (See Fig.), a first interval (G) is formed between the ground zone (1150a) on the substrate of the first antenna module (1100-1) and the ground zone (1150b) on the substrate of the second antenna module (1100-2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna module comprising comprises a first antenna module and a second antenna module, the substrate of the first antenna module and the substrate of the second antenna module are integrally formed, a first interval is formed between the ground zone on the substrate of the first antenna module and the ground zone on the substrate of the second antenna module as taught by Kim et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of minimizing interference between antennas while providing Multiple-input/Multi-output (MIMO) by arranging a plurality of transparent antennas in a limited space of glass of a vehicle (Para. 0016, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 18:
Yang et al. disclose the clearance zone is one or more of the first clearance zone (along 111), the second clearance zone (along 112), and the third clearance zone (along 113).
Yang et al. are silent on that the first antenna module and the second antenna module are distributed in a central symmetry mode, one side of the first antenna module and one side of the second antenna module are located in a first line, and the first antenna module and the second antenna module are symmetrically arranged with the first line as an axis, a zone within the first interval is a clearance zone.
Kim et al. disclose (in Fig. 6) the first antenna module (1100-1) and the second antenna module (1100-2) are distributed in a central symmetry mode (Para. 0237, Lines 1-3), one side (S1) of the first antenna module (1100-1) and one side (S3) of the second antenna module (1100-2) are located in a first line (along G), and the first antenna module (1100-1) and the second antenna module (1100-2) are symmetrically arranged with the first line (along G) as an axis, a zone within the first interval (G) is a clearance zone (See Fig.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first antenna module and the second antenna module are distributed in a central symmetry mode, one side of the first antenna module and one side of the second antenna module are located in a first line, and the first antenna module and the second antenna module are symmetrically arranged with the first line as an axis, a zone within the first interval is a clearance zone as taught by Kim et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of minimizing interference between antennas while providing Multiple-input/Multi-output (MIMO) by arranging a plurality of transparent antennas in a limited space of glass of a vehicle (Para. 0016, Lines 1-4).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230094098) as applied to claim 10 and further in view of DENG et al. (US 20220320724).
Regarding claim 14:
Yang et al. are silent on that the third antenna comprises a third feeding portion, a third ground portion, a sixth radiating portion, and a seventh radiating portion, the third feeding portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, a first end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a second end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, the third ground portion is L-shaped; a first end of the sixth feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a first end of the seventh feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion.
DENG et al. disclose (in Fig. 4) the third antenna (22) comprises a third feeding portion (223), a third ground portion (222), a sixth radiating portion (225), and a seventh radiating portion (224), the third feeding portion (223) is electrically connected to the ground zone (54), a first end of the third ground portion (222) is electrically connected to the third feeding portion (223), a second end of the third ground portion (222) is electrically connected to the ground zone (54), the third ground portion (222) is L-shaped (See Fig.); a first end of the sixth [feeding] radiating portion (225) is electrically connected to the third feeding portion (223), a first end of the seventh [feeding] radiating portion (224) is electrically connected to the third feeding portion (223).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the third antenna comprises a third feeding portion, a third ground portion, a sixth radiating portion, and a seventh radiating portion, the third feeding portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, a first end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a second end of the third ground portion is electrically connected to the ground zone, the third ground portion is L-shaped; a first end of the sixth feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion, a first end of the seventh feeding portion is electrically connected to the third feeding portion as taught by DENG et al. into the device of Yang et al. for the benefit of selecting the antenna assembly according to the installation space, radiation performance, and radiation direction of the antenna assembly (Para. 0062, Lines 5-6).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20230223689) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230094098) as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20190089419).
Regarding claim 15:
Yang as modified are silent the fourth antenna is a ceramic antenna; the fourth antenna is fixed in the ground zone.
Kim et al. disclose a fourth antenna (300) that is a ceramic antenna; the fourth antenna is fixed in the ground zone (Para. 0024, Lines 1-4; Para. 0106, Lines 1-9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fourth antenna as a ceramic antenna as taught by Kim et al. into the modified device of Yang since GNSS antennas are typically made of ceramic because the high permittivity material enables a small, low-profile patch to effectively receive weak satellite signals thereby for improving transmission speed (Para. 0008, Lines 1-5).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845