DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 contains the limitation “the respective ridge” which does not have clear antecedent basis. For the purpose of this Office Action, “the respective ridge” will be treated as if it reads “one of the ridges”.
Claim 9 contains the limitation “a second passivation layer” and it is unclear if a second passivation layer also requires a first passivation layer. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 10 contains the limitation “the second passivation layer” which does not have antecedent basis in claim 1, from which claim 10 depends. Claim 9 sets forth a second passivation layer. For the purpose of this Office Action, claim 10 will be treated as being dependent on claim 9 in order to provide proper antecedent basis for all of the claim limitations.
Claim 14 line 10 contains the limitation “the cell string” which does not have proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation “the cell string” will be treated as if it reads “the at least one cell string”.
Claims 15-20 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 18 contains the limitation “the respective ridge” which does not have clear antecedent basis. For the purpose of this Office Action, “the respective ridge” will be treated as if it reads “one of the ridges”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 113921625A, see English equivalent US 2024/0395960 for mapping).
Regarding claim 1, a solar cell in Figures 1 and 14, comprising:
a substrate (10), having a first surface (back surface) and a second surface (front surface) opposite to the first surface ([53]);
a plurality of first doped portions (11), on the first surface ([53]); and
a plurality of second doped portions (122) on the first surface ([53]), wherein the plurality of second doped portions and the plurality of first doped portions are alternatingly distributed on the first surface along a first direction (first and second doped portions are alternating in the horizontal direction shown in Figure 14), and doping elements in the plurality of second doped portions and doping elements in the plurality of first doped portions are of different types ([53], the doping regions 11 and 122 have opposite conductivity types);
wherein a plurality of isolation trenches (103) are each formed between a respective first doped portion (11) of the plurality of first doped portions and an adjacent second doped portion (122) (Figures 1 and 14 and [53]), wherein the plurality of isolation trenches (103) each have opposing first sidewall and second sidewall that extend along a second direction (vertical direction in Figure 14), at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall has a corrugated structure that undulates while extending along the second direction, and the second direction intersects with the first direction (As shown in Figure 14, the first and second sidewall of the regions 103 have a continuous up and down shape with alternating grooves and ridges which reads on “a corrugated structure that undulates”.).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the corrugated structure has a maximum width in the first direction that is less than or equal to 15μm ([56], the width of the isolation trench region 103 can be 10 μm which would result in the maximum width of the corrugated structure being 10 μm).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the corrugated structure includes grooves and ridges alternating along the second direction (Figure 14); and a tangent line of the respective ridge extending along a direction perpendicular to the second direction includes an angle of 45° to 90° with the first direction (ridges have a 90° tangent line to the first direction, Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that each of the plurality of isolation trenches has a bottom surface, the bottom surface includes a first region, a second region, and a third region disposed sequentially along the first direction; wherein in a thickness direction of the substrate, a second distance is less than a first distance and a second distance is less than a third distance; wherein the first distance is a distance between the bottom surface of each of the plurality of isolation trenches corresponding to the first region and the second surface (peaks), the second distance is a distance between the bottom surface of each of the plurality of isolation trenches corresponding to the second region and the second surface (valleys), and the third distance is a distance between the bottom surface of each of the plurality of isolation trenches corresponding to the third region and the second surface (peaks) (As shown in Figure 2 and [72], the bottom surface of the isolation trench 103 can have peaks and valleys which read on the required first, second and third distances to the second/front surface).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the first sidewall and the second sidewall each have the corrugated structure extending along the second direction (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that a bottom of each of the plurality of first doped portions (11) facing the substrate is higher than a top of any of the plurality of second doped portions (122) facing away from the substrate (Figures 1 and 10, see lower height of region 122).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses a second passivation layer (13) over the plurality of first doped portions (11) and the plurality of second doped portions (122) and covering the first side wall, the second side wall and a bottom surface of the isolation trench (103) ([77] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses a first electrode (20) penetrating through the second passivation layer (13) and electrically connected to the plurality of first doped portions (11) (Figure 1 and [53]); and a second electrode (21) penetrating through the second passivation layer (13) and electrically connected to the plurality of second doped portions (122) (Figure 1 and [53]).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses a first passivation layer (18) located on the second surface (front surface) ([80]-[81]).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the first surface (back surface) of the substrate is a polished surface (Figure 1, [13]-[14] and [73]).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the second surface (front surface) of the substrate has a textured structure (Figure 1 and [80]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113921625A, see English equivalent US 2024/0395960 for mapping), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Huang et al. (TW 201440236A, see English machine translation provided for mapping).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not disclose that at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall transitions to a top surface of the respective first doped portion or a top surface of the adjacent second doped portion via a rounded corner.
Huang discloses a back contact solar cell in Figure 4 comprising a first doped portion (21) with a first sidewall and a second doped portion (22) with a second sidewall, wherein at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall transitions to a top surface of the respective first doped portion or a top surface of the adjacent second doped portion via a rounded corner (first and second connecting portions 211, 221 have an arc-shape as discussed on Page 4, 5th and 6th Paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Li such that at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall transitions to a top surface of the respective first doped portion or a top surface of the adjacent second doped portion via a rounded corner, as taught by Huang, because the rounded corner of the first and second doped portions avoids charge concentration and electric field concentration during operation of the solar
cell, decreases damage and improves the service life and efficiency of the solar cell, and allows the quality and passivation effect of the passivation layer to be improved (Huang, Page 3, 4th paragraph and Page 8, 1st and 2nd paragraphs).
Regarding claim 4, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not disclose that a ratio of a height of the rounded corner along a thickness direction of the substrate to a height of the first sidewall along the thickness direction of the substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 3:20. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Li such that a ratio of a height of the rounded corner along a thickness direction of the substrate to a height of the first sidewall along the thickness direction of the substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 3:20, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not disclose a photovoltaic module, comprising: at least one cell string, formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells as set forth above; at least one encapsulation layer, each configured for covering a surface of the at least one cell string; and at least one cover plate, each configured for covering a surface of the at least one encapsulation layer facing away from the at least one cell string, wherein the at least one encapsulation layer includes a first encapsulation layer and a second encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer covers one of a front surface and a back surface of the at least one cell string, and the second encapsulation layer covers the other.
Huang discloses a photovoltaic module in Figure 3, comprising:
at least one cell string, formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells (13) (Page 3, 5th and 6th paragraph);
at least one encapsulation layer (package material 14), each configured for covering a surface of the at least one cell string (Page 3, 5th and 6th paragraph); and
at least one cover plate (first and second plate 11, 12), each configured for covering a surface of the at least one encapsulation layer (14) facing away from the at least one cell string, wherein the at least one encapsulation layer (14) includes a first encapsulation layer and a second encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer covers one of a front surface and a back surface of the at least one cell string, and the second encapsulation layer covers the other (encapsulant covers front and back of cell string) (Page 3, 5th and 6th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Li to include a photovoltaic module, comprising: at least one cell string, formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells of Li; at least one encapsulation layer, each configured for covering a surface of the at least one cell string; and at least one cover plate, each configured for covering a surface of the at least one encapsulation layer facing away from the at least one cell string, wherein the at least one encapsulation layer includes a first encapsulation layer and a second encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer covers one of a front surface and a back surface of the at least one cell string, and the second encapsulation layer covers the other, as taught by Huang, in order to protect the solar cell and improve the output capacity and lifetime of the device.
Regarding claim 15, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the maximum width of the corrugated structure in the first direction that is less than or equal to 15μm ([56], the width of the isolation trench region 103 can be 10 μm which would result in the maximum width of the corrugated structure being 10 μm).
Regarding claim 16, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not disclose that at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall transitions to a top surface of the respective first doped portion or a top surface of the adjacent second doped portion via a rounded corner.
Huang discloses a back contact solar cell in Figure 4 comprising a first doped portion (21) with a first sidewall and a second doped portion (22) with a second sidewall, wherein at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall transitions to a top surface of the respective first doped portion or a top surface of the adjacent second doped portion via a rounded corner (first and second connecting portions 211, 221 have an arc-shape as discussed on Page 4, 5th and 6th Paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Li such that at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall transitions to a top surface of the respective first doped portion or a top surface of the adjacent second doped portion via a rounded corner, as taught by Huang, because the rounded corner of the first and second doped portions avoids charge concentration and electric field concentration during operation of the solar
cell, decreases damage and improves the service life and efficiency of the solar cell, and allows the quality and passivation effect of the passivation layer to be improved (Huang, Page 3, 4th paragraph and Page 8, 1st and 2nd paragraphs).
Regarding claim 17, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li does not disclose that a ratio of a height of the rounded corner along a thickness direction of the substrate to a height of the first sidewall along the thickness direction of the substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 3:20. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Li such that a ratio of a height of the rounded corner along a thickness direction of the substrate to a height of the first sidewall along the thickness direction of the substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 3:20, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 18, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the corrugated structure includes grooves and ridges alternating along the second direction (Figure 14); and a tangent line of the respective ridge extending along a direction perpendicular to the second direction includes an angle of 45° to 90° with the first direction (ridges have a 90° tangent line to the first direction, Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 19, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that each of the plurality of isolation trenches has a bottom surface, the bottom surface includes a first region, a second region, and a third region disposed sequentially along the first direction; wherein in a thickness direction of the substrate, a second distance is less than a first distance and a second distance is less than a third distance; wherein the first distance is a distance between the bottom surface of each of the plurality of isolation trenches corresponding to the first region and the second surface (peaks), the second distance is a distance between the bottom surface of each of the plurality of isolation trenches corresponding to the second region and the second surface (valleys), and the third distance is a distance between the bottom surface of each of the plurality of isolation trenches corresponding to the third region and the second surface (peaks) (As shown in Figure 2 and [72], the bottom surface of the isolation trench 103 can have peaks and valleys which read on the required first, second and third distances to the second/front surface).
Regarding claim 20, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li additionally discloses that the first sidewall and the second sidewall each have the corrugated structure extending along the second direction (Figure 14).
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728