This action is in response to the correspondence filed 11/19/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to claim 1, the claim recites receiving sensor data from one or more sensors coupled to one or more electronic networks; detecting, from the sensor data, a plurality of anomalous relationships between two or more entities of the plurality of entities, or between at least one entity of the plurality of entities and an external entity that is not a part of the one or more electronic networks, or between the one or more electronic networks as a whole and the external entity; and determining, based on the plurality of anomalous relationships, that the one or more electronic networks are being subjected to one or more attack campaigns.
The limitation of “receiving sensor data from one or more sensors,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mere data gathering. The “sensors” performing conventional operations of collecting data are well-known, routine, and conventional that do not amount to significantly more.
The limitation of “detecting, from the sensor data, a plurality of anomalous relationships,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “sensors” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “sensors” language, “detecting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally and/or visually examining data. Similarly, the limitation of “determining, based on the plurality of anomalous relationships, that the one or more electronic networks are being subjected to one or more attack campaigns,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “sensors” as “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally inferring based on the observed data.
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls in the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim does not recite any additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, the “sensors” perform operations of collecting data which is a well-known, routine, and conventional operation that does not amount to significantly more. Accordingly, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application as the elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
As to claims 2-20, the claims do not cure the deficiency of claim 1 and are rejected under 35 USC § 101 for their dependency upon claim 1 while not integrating the abstract idea into practical application or include elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220394082 A1 to Keren et al. (hereinafter Keren) in view of US 20230275912 A1 to Shahul Hameed et al. (hereinafter Shahul Hameed).
As to claim 1, Keren teaches a method comprising: a. receiving sensor data from one or more sensors coupled to one or more electronic networks (paragraphs 33, 39 and 40, collection of network object data corresponding to one or more network objects), the one or more electronic networks comprising a plurality of entities (paragraphs 26 and 39, one or more network objects, the objects being virtual entities or instances of systems, devices, or components, including virtual systems, devices, or components, or any combination thereof);b. detecting, from the sensor data, a plurality of anomalous relationships between two or more entities of the plurality of entities, or between at least one entity of the plurality of entities and an external entity that is not a part of the one or more electronic networks, or between the one or more electronic networks as a whole and the external entity (paragraphs 42-45, relationships between network objects are determined, wherein determination of network object relationships at S230 may include analysis of such determined relationships to identify impermissible relationships); and
Keren does not explicitly teach c. determining, based on the plurality of anomalous relationships, that the one or more electronic networks are being subjected to one or more attack campaigns.
However, Shahul Hameed teaches determining, based on the plurality of anomalous relationships, that the one or more electronic networks are being subjected to one or more attack campaigns (paragraphs 8, 26 and 29, leveraging useful network relations to detect more subtle IoC, identifying relationships between entities, identifying one or more IoCs among the entities discovering new modes of attack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Keren with the graph-based analysis of security incidents taught by Shahul Hameed in order to enable the efficient detection of attacks associated with additional modes of attack (“attack vectors”) with high precision and recall, which in turn helps plug vulnerabilities otherwise left open and risk-mitigating actions, therefore optimizing the overall security and efficiency of the system (paragraphs 8 and 29).
As to claim 2, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising reporting an alert that one or more electronic networks are being subjected to an attack campaign or storing the alert in an analytics module or a data aggregation module (paragraph 12, issue security alerts triggered in course of a security incident, [attack]).
As to claim 3, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein (c) comprises: i. constructing an indicator network from the plurality of anomalous relationships (paragraph 27, generated graph from extracted node and edge data); ii. evaluating or aggregating indicator network graph features from the indicator network (paragraph 28, performing clustering and ranking of the clusters); and iii. determining, by comparing the indicator network graph features with one or more baseline graph features of a baseline graph of the one or more electronic networks, that one or more of the indicator network graph features are not indicative of normal electronic network behavior (paragraph 12, benign stored for subsequent analysis in the data repositories which are used for comparison to detect IoCs).
As to claim 4, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising reporting an alert that the one or more of the indicator network graph features are not indicative of normal electronic network behavior or storing the alert in an analytics module or a data aggregation module (paragraph 12, benign stored for subsequent analysis in the data repositories).
As to claim 5, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein the alert comprises a time-series plot showing the occurrence of one or more of the indicator network graph features over time, an indicator showing departures of the one or more indicator network graph features from the one or more baseline graph features, or annotated information about how to interpret the occurrence of the one or more indicator network graph features (paragraph 12, Time-stamped data records of the security alerts 132 and/or of other monitored network activity).
As to claim 6, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein the indicator network comprises a plurality of indicator network subgraphs, each indicator network subgraph associated with an anomalous relationship between two or more entities of the plurality of entities, or between at least one entity of the plurality of entities and an external entity that is not a part of the one or more electronic networks, or between the one or more electronic networks as a whole and the external entity (paragraph 28, clustering into groups read as subgraphs and clustering is based on the feature vectors assigned to the nodes and/or edges).
As to claim 7, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein the indicator network graph features comprise paths, motifs, topological structures, cliques, graph embeddings, or connected components associated with the indicator network, or wherein the indicator network graph features are identified using one or more graph neural networks (Fig. 2 and paragraph 18, nodes representing machines, processes, IP addresses, and domains, and four edge types reflecting the relationships machines and the process they spawn, processes and the domains to which they connect, domains and the IP addresses to which they resolve, and optionally directly the processes and the IP addresses to which they connect).
As to claim 8, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein (ii) or (iii) comprises counting motifs or paths on the indicator network or the baseline graph (paragraph 19, the number of security alerts associated with each cluster, such as the number of nodes within each cluster that represent security alerts in cases where alerts constitute one type of node, or otherwise the number of security alerts that show up as attributes of nodes (e.g., of machines or processes triggering them) within the cluster).
As to claim 9, Keren teaches wherein (c) further comprises: iv. combining anomalous relationship graph features from the indicator network to thereby form an attack campaign graph (paragraph 44, updating the graph or graphs constructed at S220 to include the determined relationships).
As to claim 10, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein (iv) comprises combining the anomalous relationship graph features to reflect a temporal ordering of the anomalous relationship graph features (paragraph 28, ranking the clusters according to some metric of maliciousness, e.g., based on the number of security alerts associated with each cluster, the number of IoCs associated with each cluster, or a combination of both. An output generated from one or more highest-ranking clusters (i.e., clusters having the greatest associated number of security alerts or IoCs), e.g., an output listing of the nodes, or a subset of the nodes (e.g., the nodes with highest connectivity), within the highest-ranking cluster(s) is provided at 312).
As to claim 11, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising reporting the attack campaign graph (paragraph 25, a post-mortem report of an incident, as may be generated by security analysists using their threat-hunting experience and the security tools 130, or in some cases automatically by the tools).
As to claim 12, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising: d. ranking the one or more indicator network graph features or the one or more attack campaigns (paragraph 28, ranking the clusters according to some metric of maliciousness, e.g., based on the number of security alerts associated with each cluster, the number of IoCs associated with each cluster, or a combination of both. An output generated from one or more highest-ranking clusters (i.e., clusters having the greatest associated number of security alerts or IoCs), e.g., an output listing of the nodes, or a subset of the nodes (e.g., the nodes with highest connectivity), within the highest-ranking cluster(s) is provided at 312).
As to claim 13, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising displaying the ranking of the one or more indicator network graph features or the one or more attack campaigns (paragraph 7, a listing of the nodes within the highest-ranking cluster or clusters may be provided as output to a security analyst, or to a software tool, to facilitate further analysis and/or inform the selection and/or execution of risk-mitigating actions).
As to claim 14, Shahul Hameed teaches wherein (d) comprises ranking the one or more indicator network graph features or the one or more attack campaigns based on an age of each attack campaign, a stage of progression of each attack campaign, or a risk score associated with each attack campaign (paragraph 28, ranking based on the number of security alerts associated with each cluster, the number of IoCs associated with each cluster, or a combination of both).
As to claim 16, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising reporting the ranking of the one or more indicator network graph features or the one or more attack campaigns (paragraph 28, an output listing of the nodes, or a subset of the nodes (e.g., the nodes with highest connectivity), within the highest-ranking cluster(s) is provided at 312).
As to claim 17, Shahul Hameed teaches further comprising labeling the one or more attack campaigns as one or more known attack campaigns or one or more novel attack campaigns based on a comparison between the one or more attack campaigns and a database of known attack campaigns (paragraphs 7 and 29, previously unknown IoCs may be discovered among the listed nodes and detected IoCs may include already known IoCs as well as new, previously undiscovered IoCs).
As to claim 18, Keren teaches further comprising permitting a user or analyst of the one or more electronic networks to label the one or more attack campaigns (paragraph 44, updated at S230 by associating one or more data labels, tags, or other, like, features with a graph entry for a network object determined to have a relationship with another object. The association of data labels and tags may further include the association of labels or tags describing various aspects of the determined relationship or connection including, as examples and without limitation, connection source and destination, connection type, connection direction, connection status, connection protocol, and the like, as well as any combination thereof).
As to claim 19, Keren teaches wherein the one or more electronic networks comprise a single electronic network and wherein the single electronic network comprises the two or more entities (FIG. 1, environment including cloud platform including objects and apps).
As to claim 20, Keren teaches wherein the one or more electronic networks comprise at least a first electronic network and a second electronic network, wherein the first electronic network comprises a first entity of the at least two entities, and wherein the second electronic network comprises a second entity of the at least two entities (FIG. 1, environment including cloud platforms including a platform of both objects and apps and a platform of apps).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dependent claim 15 is allowable over the prior art of record, including Keren and Shahul Hameed cited by the Examiner, taken individually or in combination, because the prior art of record fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest or render obvious wherein (d) comprises, for each attack campaign, determining a weighted mixture of the age of each attack campaign, the stage of progression of each attack campaign, and the risk score associated with each attack campaign, and ranking each attacked campaign based on each weighted mixture, in view of the other limitations of independent claim 1, as to claims 15.
Conclusion
MALCOLM . CRIBBS
Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/MALCOLM CRIBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497