DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is directed to the “F-type” however line 10 reverts to the “E-type” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 9 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 6. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-11 recites the limitation "the car seat adapter". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 introduces “compatible car seat adapter”, examiner suggests correcting the limitation of claims 3-11 to match the “compatible car seat adapter” as is recited in claim
Claims 5 and 7 recites the limitation "left and right rotary shafts" in liens 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma (US 20240227907)..
In regards to claim 1, Ma discloses a compatible car seat adapter for wagons (see fig. 1, 6, 10, 18-30, extension device 6), comprising: a frame (see fig. 6, frame 60) having a quadrangular frame structure (with two U shape rods 61, 62) with rounded corners (see rounded corners in 6), symmetrically couplable to upper left and right ends of an infant wagon (wagon 1, the adapter couplable with 663 on both center frame 66, 65 on the left and right sides of the wagon frame 1 to the rods 56 with the seat 5, see fig. 10-15); and a coupling structure (see fig. 10, 616, 681, 682, 671, 670, 675) compatible with an infant car seat (car seat 4, see fig. 18-30) and configured to stably support the infant car seat coupled to the infant wagon (1)(see para. 127-138).
In regards to claim 2, Ma discloses, wherein the frame (60, see fig. 6-13) comprises:
a front main stationary frame (62) configured to support a rear lower periphery of the infant car seat (4) couplable in a reverse direction (see support/coupling member 68 for the lower periphery of the seat fig. 10);
a rear main rotating frame (61) configured to support a front lower periphery of the infant car seat (4) couplable in the reverse direction (see support/coupling member 616 for the lower periphery of the seat fig. 11);
a center coupling frame (66, 65) having a left-right symmetrical structure (first and, second half shells, 611, 621 see fig.7-9, par. 0100-102), one side (611) of a front of the center coupling frame (66, 65) being fixed and coupled to each of left and right inner surfaces (625) of the front main stationary frame (62) (see para. 0113, 0101, first half shell 611 fixed to the second rod 62), and one side (621) of a rear of the center coupling frame (see fig. 6, left side of 66, 65) being rotatably coupled to each of left and right inner surfaces of the rear main rotating frame (see para. 0102, second half shell 621 fixed with the rods 61, rotatable connected with the shell 611); and
a lower end fastening frame (663, and 5) comprising lower end support frames (5) formed at a front and a rear of a lower end of an outer surface of the front main stationary frame (62) so as to have a left-right symmetrical structure (ss fig. 13), and a fastener (52) formed at one side (outer side see fig. 14)of a lower end of each of the lower end support frames (5) so as to couple the lower end fastening frame (663,5) to each of left and right sides of an upper end frame (56) of the infant wagon (1)(see fig. 13).
In regards to claim 3, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) further comprises a connection bracket (669) configured to be vertically fitted into and coupled to an upper end (662) of the center coupling frame (66) having the left-right symmetrical structure in a state in which the connection bracket has a left-right symmetrical structure (see fig. 17).
In regards to claim 5, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) has a B-type coupling structure configured such that a rotation switch (613, see fig. 7, para. 0100) formed at each of the left and right rotary shafts (see fig. 7-9) of the rear main rotating frame (61) is pressed to rotate the rear main rotating frame in a downward direction (drives the locking member toward an unlocked state to allow rotation of the main rotating frame attached to the second half shell rotating relative to the first half shell), and the B-type infant car seat (4) is configured to be located inside the front main stationary frame and the center coupling frame (see fig. 23-24), and a lower end fitting coupling portion (41) formed at each of the left and right sides of the infant car seat (4) in the downward direction is configured to be inserted into a bracket insertion recess (670) formed in an inner surface of the center coupling frame (66, see fig. 17) , whereby the B-type infant car seat (4) is couplable to the infant wagon (1)(see para. 0132).
NOTE: Applicants’ designation of various infant carrier and its coupling structures as “A-type”, “B-Type”, “C-Type”, etc., is not afforded patentable weight apart from the structural limitations that define each interface. The prior art need not employ the same terminology. Rather, the issues is whether the prior art teaches a coupling structure having the recited structural and functional characteristics. The examiner finds that the reference discloses an adapter configured to engage compatible infant carriers through corresponding engagement structures. Accordingly, the claimed coupling structure is met to the extend defined by its recited structural limitations, notwithstanding the absence of the applicant’s nomenclature (this note is carried for the rest of claims 3-11).
In regards to claim 7, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) has a D-type coupling structure configured such that a rotation switch (613, see fig. 7, para. 0100) formed at each of the left and right rotary shafts (see fig. 7-9) of the rear main rotating frame (61) is pressed to rotate the rear main rotating frame in a downward direction (drives the locking member toward an unlocked state to allow rotation of the main rotating frame attached to the second half shell rotating relative to the first half shell), and the D-type infant car seat (4) is configured to be located inside the front main stationary frame and the center coupling frame (see fig. 23-24), and a lower end fitting coupling portion (41) formed at each of the left and right sides of the infant car seat (4) in the downward direction is configured to be inserted into a bracket insertion recess (670) formed in an inner surface of the center coupling frame (66, see fig. 17) , whereby the D-type infant car seat (4) is couplable to the infant wagon (1)(see para. 0132).
In regards to claim 11, Ma discloses wherein the front of the car seat adapter (6) is couplable to an upper end of the infant wagon (1) in a rearward direction, and
wherein the car seat adapter (6) has an H-type coupling structure configured such that an H-type infant car seat (4) is located inside the front main stationary frame (62), the rear main rotating frame (61), and the center coupling frame (66, 65), a fastening protrusion (42, see fig. 25) formed at one side of the lower end of each of left and right surfaces of the C-type infant car seat (4) is fitted into and coupled to a C-type fastening recess of a connection bracket (see hole 671 on bracket 669), whereby primary coupling is achieved (see fig. 26), and
one side of a front center of the front main stationary frame (side 624 of frame 62) is inserted into a front lower end recess of the H-type infant car seat (recess 43, see fig. 27) , and a lower end fastening protrusion (44 see fig. 30) formed at one side of each of left and right sides of the front lower end recess (43) is inserted into a H-type ring coupling groove (681) formed left-right symmetrically at a front of the front main stationary frame (front center 624), whereby secondary coupling is achieved, and the H-type infant car seat (4)is couplable to the infant wagon (1, see fig. 29, 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US 20240227907) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Sclare (US 9637153).
In regards to claim 4, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) has an A-type coupling structure configured such that the infant car seat (4) is seated inside the front main stationary frame, the rear main rotating frame, and the center coupling frame, whereby primary coupling is achieved (see fig. 18-30), and Ma discloses a strap (182) configured to be tightened through adjustment Velcro formed at one side of each of the straps (each strap one on the left and one on the right side) therefore the A type car seat is couplable to the infant wagon. However, Ma fails to explicitly disclose a female buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame and a male buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle of an A-type infant car seat, and the secondary coupling is an adjustment buckle on the side of the straps.
Sclare teaches a similar car seat adapter (50) with a coupling structure such that the infant car seat (30) is seated inside of the frame (62)(see fig.2 ). Sclare teaches a female buckle (coupling 56) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame (see fig. 2 on the left side coupled to the main frame 62 at least indirectly through the central portion 52) and a male buckle (coupling on the other strap, the male member of a buckle, see col. 9 lines 3-26) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame (52) are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle (38) of an A-type infant car seat (carrier 30)(see col. 9 lines 9-11), and the secondary coupling is an adjustment buckle on the side of the straps (114)(see col. 9 lines 6-12, a length adjustment assembly included in the coupling and acts as a secondary coupling).Both straps of Ma and Sclare are known equivalents for securing a carrier into a car seat adapter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified Ma with the substitution of Sclare coupling structures including the strap as Sclare teaches for the predictable results of securement of the carrier around the arm with a reasonable expectation of success. Examiner further notes, changing the fastening by Velcro to fastening by buckle is merely a substitution of a generally known (Sclare) coupling form.
In regards to claim 6, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter has a C-type coupling structure configured such that a C-type infant car seat is located inside the front main stationary frame (62), the rear main rotating frame (61), and the center coupling frame (66,65), and a fastening protrusion (42, see fig. 25) formed at one side of the lower end of each of left and right surfaces of the C-type infant car seat (4) is fitted into and coupled to a C-type fastening recess of a connection bracket (see hole 671 on bracket 669), whereby primary coupling is achieved (see fig. 26). Ma discloses a strap (182) configured to be tightened through length adjustment Velcro formed at one side of each of the straps (each strap one on the left and one on the right side) for secondary coupling. Ma fails to teach a female buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame and a male buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle of the C-type infant car seat, whereby secondary coupling is achieved, and the C-type infant car seat is couplable to the infant wagon.
However, Sclare teaches a similar car seat adapter (50) with a coupling structure such that the infant car seat (30) is seated inside of the frame (62)(see fig.2 ). Additionally Sclare teaches a female buckle (coupling 56) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame (see fig. 2 on the left side coupled to the main frame 62 at least indirectly through the central portion 52) and a male buckle (coupling on the other strap, the male member of a buckle, see col. 9 lines 3-26) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame (52) are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle (38) of an infant car seat (carrier 30)(see col. 9 lines 9-11), and the secondary coupling is an adjustment buckle on the side of the straps (114)(see col. 9 lines 6-12, a length adjustment assembly included in the coupling and acts as a secondary coupling).Both straps of Ma and Sclare are known equivalents for securing a carrier into a car seat adapter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified Ma with the substitution of Sclare coupling structures including the strap with female and male buckle members as Sclare teaches for the predictable results of secondary securement of the carrier around the arm with a reasonable expectation of success. Examiner further notes, changing the fastening by Velcro to fastening by buckle is merely a substitution of a generally known (Sclare) coupling form.
In regards to claim 8, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) has an E-type coupling structure configured such that an E-type infant car seat (4) is located inside the front main stationary frame (62), the rear main rotating frame (61), and the center coupling frame (66, 65), one side of a front center of the front main stationary frame (see fig. 10, one side of a front center 624 of the frame 62) is inserted into a rear lower end recess (43) of the E-type infant car seat (4, see fig. 26-27), and a lower end fastening protrusion (44) formed at one side of a center of the rear lower end recess (43) is inserted into a front fastening recess (681) of a front clip (68) formed at the front center of the front main stationary frame (front center 624, see fig. 7 and 27), whereby primary coupling is achieved (see fig. 29, 30).
Ma discloses a strap (182) configured to be tightened through length adjustment Velcro formed at one side of each of the straps (each strap one on the left and one on the right side) for secondary coupling. Ma fails to teach a female buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame and a male buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle of the E-type infant car seat, whereby secondary coupling is achieved, and the E-type infant car seat is couplable to the infant wagon.
However, Sclare teaches a similar car seat adapter (50) with a coupling structure such that the infant car seat (30) is seated inside of the frame (62)(see fig.2 ). Additionally Sclare teaches a female buckle (coupling 56) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame (see fig. 2 on the left side coupled to the main frame 62 at least indirectly through the central portion 52) and a male buckle (coupling on the other strap, the male member of a buckle, see col. 9 lines 3-26) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame (52) are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle (38) of an infant car seat (carrier 30)(see col. 9 lines 9-11), and the secondary coupling is an adjustment buckle on the side of the straps (114)(see col. 9 lines 6-12, a length adjustment assembly included in the coupling and acts as a secondary coupling).Both straps of Ma and Sclare are known equivalents for securing a carrier into a car seat adapter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified Ma with the substitution of Sclare coupling structures including the strap with female and male buckle members as Sclare teaches for the predictable results of secondary securement of the carrier around the arm with a reasonable expectation of success. Examiner further notes, changing the fastening by Velcro to fastening by buckle is merely a substitution of a generally known (Sclare) coupling form.
In regards to claim 9, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) has an F-type coupling structure configured such that an F-type infant car seat (4) is located inside the front main stationary frame (62), the rear main rotating frame (61), and the center coupling frame (66, 65), and a fastening protrusion (42, see fig. 25) formed at one side of the lower end of each of left and right surfaces of the F-type infant car seat (4) is fitted into and coupled to a F-type fastening recess of a connection bracket (see hole 671 on bracket 669), whereby primary coupling is achieved (see fig. 26).
Ma discloses a strap (182) configured to be tightened through length adjustment Velcro formed at one side of each of the straps (each strap one on the left and one on the right side) for secondary coupling. Ma fails to teach a female buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame and a male buckle connected to a strap coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle of the F-type infant car seat, whereby secondary coupling is achieved, and the F-type infant car seat is couplable to the infant wagon.
However, Sclare teaches a similar car seat adapter (50) with a coupling structure such that the infant car seat (30) is seated inside of the frame (62)(see fig.2 ). Additionally Sclare teaches a female buckle (coupling 56) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right front peripheries of the front main stationary frame (see fig. 2 on the left side coupled to the main frame 62 at least indirectly through the central portion 52) and a male buckle (coupling on the other strap, the male member of a buckle, see col. 9 lines 3-26) connected to a strap (114) coupled to each of left and right rear peripheries of the center coupling frame (52) are configured to be fastened to each other at each of left and right sides of a center handle (38) of an infant car seat (carrier 30)(see col. 9 lines 9-11), and the secondary coupling is an adjustment buckle on the side of the straps (114)(see col. 9 lines 6-12, a length adjustment assembly included in the coupling and acts as a secondary coupling).Both straps of Ma and Sclare are known equivalents for securing a carrier into a car seat adapter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified Ma with the substitution of Sclare coupling structures including the strap with female and male buckle members as Sclare teaches for the predictable results of secondary securement of the carrier around the arm with a reasonable expectation of success. Examiner further notes, changing the fastening by Velcro to fastening by buckle is merely a substitution of a generally known (Sclare) coupling form.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US 20240227907) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Bowman (WO 2018067450 A1).
In regards to claim 10, Ma discloses wherein the car seat adapter (6) has a G-type coupling structure (see fig. 7, 28) configured such that a lower end of the connection bracket (669) is inserted into and coupled to a bracket insertion recess (662) of the center coupling frame (66, 65), a G-type infant car seat (4) is located inside the front main stationary frame (62), the rear main rotating frame (61), and the center coupling frame (66, 65). Ma fails to disclose an upper end of the connection bracket (669) is fitted into and coupled to an upper end insertion recess formed in a lower end of each of left and right side surfaces of the G-type infant car seat in an upward direction, whereby the G-type infant car seat is couplable to the infant wagon.
However, Bowman teaches similar wagon (see fig. 47-49, para. 0132-0135) with adapter for installing a child seat (10162) to that of Ma’s, wherein the car seat adapter (10160) has a coupling structure (10170, 10180) configured such that a lower end of a connection bracket (10180) is inserted into (into 10170) and coupled to a center coupling frame (frame member 10190) where the infant car seat (10162) is located inside the adapter frame, and an upper end of the connection bracket (10182) is fitted into and coupled to an upper end insertion recess (10164) formed in a lower end of each of left and right side surfaces of the infant car seat (10162) in an upward direction, whereby the infant car seat is couplable to the infant wagon (see fig. 49). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Ma to include the coupling structure Bowman teaches so as to accommodate a common type of child carrier with insertion recesses before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success. one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known coupling structure for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable since both are known elements for coupling infant carriers to wagons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See pto-892 for a list of relevant prior art that teach wagons with infant carrier seat adapters.
CAITLIN ANNE MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/C.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614