DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-20 are canceled and claims 21-40 are added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 37-40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 37, lines 1-2, recites “determining that the that the accessory device”. Examiner suggest ““determining that the accessory device”.
Claims 38-40 depend directly or indirectly from an objected claim, therefore are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 35 recites “the accessory device comprising: an enclosure; and a processing system at least partially within the enclosure and configured to: while a selectable user interface element is displayed at the first portion of the display of the computing device: in accordance with a determination that the accessory device is coupled to the computing device: cause the computing device to cease display of the selectable user interface element at the first portion of the display of the computing device; and cause the computing device to display the selectable user interface element at a second portion of the display of the computing device, the second portion of the display of the computing device not obscured by the accessory device”.
Based on applicants’ disclosure “The tablet computing device 210 (e.g., a processing unit of the tablet computing device) may be capable of determining that it is in a state in which a portion of the touchscreen display 214 is covered…In response to determining that the tablet computing device 210 is in a state (e.g., the second installation mode), in which the coupling mechanism 230 covers a portion of the touchscreen display 214, the processing unit may cause the touchscreen display 214 to alter the graphical output. As shown in FIG. 2B, altering the graphical output may include moving one or more user interface elements 240a-i to different locations. Moving a user interface element may include removing a user interface element from one location on the touchscreen display 214 and displaying the user interface element at a different location on the touchscreen display” (see para. [0055]-[0056]). In addition, applicant specification further discloses “the processing unit of the tablet computing device 310 determining that the tablet computing device is in a state (e.g., the second installation mode) in which the coupling mechanism 330 covers a portion of the touchscreen display 314, the processing unit may alter the graphical outputs provided by the touchscreen display 314 and the auxiliary display 338” (para. [0062]).
Although the accessory device also includes a processing unit, the processing unit of the accessory device controls a wall to retract or extend (see para. [0078]). However, the processing unit of the accessory device does not control the display of the computing device (tablet). Therefore, claim 35 and its dependent claims 36-40 fail to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 35-40 represent a departure from the disclosure and the claims as originally filed and thus is considered to lack adequate written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 28-30 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Klein et al. (US 20210096741 A1, hereinafter referenced as Klein).
Regarding Claim 21, Klein teaches an electronic device (see Figs. 6A-6B, hinged device 102, para. [0034]-[0035]), comprising:
a display (see Fig. 1A, Fig. 6A, first display region 106A, second display region 106B, para. [0028], para. [0030]. As shown in FIG. 1A, a hinged device 102 can be configured in multiple postures by varying the angle of the hinge 104 that connects two display devices 104A and 104B (which might be referred to herein as “displays”));
a processing system coupled to the display and configured to (see para. [0038], para. [0061]-[0062], para. [0093]. The architecture illustrated in FIG. 8 can be utilized to implement a foldable device, such as the hinged devices 102. The computer 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 includes a central processing unit 802 (“CPU”)):
display, via the display, a display area (see Fig. 6A, first display region 106A and second display region 106B) including a first user interface item at a first location of the display area (see Fig. 6A. As depicted in annotated figure 6A below, UI window 502B is display at a first location of the display area) and a second user interface item at a second location of the display area (see Fig. 6A. As depicted in annotated figure 6A below, UI window 502A is display at a second location of the display area);
detect that an accessory device is coupled to the electronic device (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A); and
in response to detecting that the accessory device is coupled to the electronic device: display the first user interface item at a third location of the display area different than the first location of the display area and cease to display the first user interface item at the first location of the display area (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb below, the UI window 502B is moved to a third location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B); and
display the second user interface item at a fourth location of the display area different than the second location of the display area and cease to display the second user interface item at the second location of the display area (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb below, the UI window 502A is moved to a fourth location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B).
Regarding Claim 22, Klein teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
Klein further teaches wherein: displaying the first user interface item at the third location of the display area includes resizing the first user interface item (see annotated Fig. 6B above, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A); and
displaying the second user interface item at the fourth location of the display area includes resizing the second user interface item (see annotated Fig. 6B above, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A).
Regarding Claim 28, Klein teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
Klein further teaches wherein the display is a touch-sensitive display (see para. [0026]. The display screens of foldable computing devices can be touch sensitive, thereby enabling such devices to recognize touch or stylus input, presses, swipes, and other types of gestures, some of which are described below).
Regarding Claim 29, Klein teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
Klein further teaches wherein the first user interface item and the second user interface item are one or more of menu elements, icons, time and date elements, application windows, and selectable user interface items (see Figs. 6A-6B, para. [0051]. UI windows 502A and 502B are application UI. A UI window 502A generated by an application (or another component) is shown in the second display region 106B. A UI window 502B generated by the same or different application or component is shown in the first display region 106A).
Regarding Claim 30, Klein teaches a computer implemented method (see para. [0011], Fig. 7. a computer-implemented method), comprising:
displaying, via a display of an device (see Fig. 1A, Fig. 6A, first display region 106A, second display region 106B, para. [0028], para. [0030]. As shown in FIG. 1A, a hinged device 102 can be configured in multiple postures by varying the angle of the hinge 104 that connects two display devices 104A and 104B (which might be referred to herein as “displays”)), a display area (see Fig. 6A, first display region 106A and second display region 106B)) including a first user interface item at a first location of the display area (see Fig. 6A. As depicted in annotated figure 6A below, UI window 502B is display at a first location of the display area) and a second user interface item at a second location of the display area (see Fig. 6A. As depicted in annotated figure 6A below, UI window 502A is display at a second location of the display area);
detecting that an accessory is coupled to the device such that a first portion of the display area is obscured by the accessory (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A);
in response to detecting that the accessory is coupled to the device, displaying, in a second portion of the display area that is not obscured by the accessory: the first user interface item at a third location of the display area within the second portion of the display area and ceasing to display the first user interface item at the first location of the display area (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb below, the UI window 502B is moved to a third location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B); and
the second user interface item at a fourth location of the display area within the second portion of the display area and ceasing to display the second user interface item at the second location of the display area (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb below, the UI window 502A is moved to a fourth location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B).
Regarding Claim 32, Klein teaches the computer implemented method of claim 30,
Klein further teaches wherein: while the accessory is coupled to the device, the first user interface item is displayed at the third location (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb above, the UI window 502B is moved to a third location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B), and the second user interface item is displayed at the fourth location (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb above, the UI window 502A is moved to a fourth location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B):
the first user interface item is visible at the third location of the display area (see annotated Fig. 6 above. As depicted in annotated figure 6 the UI window 502B is visible at the third location of the display area) and the second user interface item is visible at the fourth location of the display area (see annotated Fig. 6 above. As depicted in annotated figure 6 the UI window 502A is visible at the fourth location of the display area) .
Regarding Claim 33, Klein teaches the computer implemented method of claim 30,
Klein further teaches in response to detecting that the accessory is coupled to the device, resizing the display area displayed via the display (see annotated Fig. 6B above, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 20210096741 A1) in view of Locker et al. (US 20100039764 A1, hereinafter referenced as Locker).
Regarding Claim 23, Klein teaches the electronic device of claim 22.
Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein: resizing the first user interface item includes reducing a size of the first user interface item, and resizing the second user interface item includes reducing a size of the second user interface item.
However, Locker teaches wherein: resizing the first user interface item includes reducing a size of the first user interface item, and resizing the second user interface item includes reducing a size of the second user interface item (see Fig. 8, para. [0051]-[0052]. Displayed items 380 appear on display screen 360 depending on the amount of visible display area that appears. At step 820 keyboard unit 830 is attached to display screen unit 805. The units are attachable by the user. Attachment of screen unit 805 to keyboard unit 830 results in combined handheld unit 800. Sensors are included on one or more of the units in order to determine the size of the visible screen area. This determined size is used to render displayed items 380 so that the displayed items appear on the visible display area rather than being hidden beneath the keyboard unit. The user can slide the keyboard up and down in order to increase or decrease the visible display area and the display unit adjusts the size of the rendered displayed items 380 in order for the displayed items to fit in the visible display area. As depicted in annotated figure 8 below the display items (380) are reduced in size).
Klein and Locker are related to display devices and keyboards, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device interface disclosed by Klein with Locker’s teachings of reducing the size of the first and second user interface item, since the user can slide the keyboard up and down in order to increase or decrease the visible display area and the display unit adjusts the size of the rendered displayed items in order for the displayed items to fit in the visible display area (Locker, para. [0053]).
Regarding Claim 34, Klein teaches the computer implemented method of claim 33.
Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein resizing the display area includes reducing a size of the display area.
wherein resizing the display area includes reducing a size of the display area (see Fig. 8, para. [0051]-[0052]. Displayed items 380 appear on display screen 360 depending on the amount of visible display area that appears. At step 820 keyboard unit 830 is attached to display screen unit 805. The units are attachable by the user. Attachment of screen unit 805 to keyboard unit 830 results in combined handheld unit 800. Sensors are included on one or more of the units in order to determine the size of the visible screen area. This determined size is used to render displayed items 380 so that the displayed items appear on the visible display area rather than being hidden beneath the keyboard unit. The user can slide the keyboard up and down in order to increase or decrease the visible display area and the display unit adjusts the size of the rendered displayed items 380 in order for the displayed items to fit in the visible display area. As depicted in annotated figure 8 below the display items (380) as well as the display area (visible screen) are reduced in size).
Klein and Locker are related to display devices and keyboards, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying method disclosed by Klein with Locker’s teachings of reducing the size of the display area, since the user can slide the keyboard up and down in order to increase or decrease the visible display area and the display unit adjusts the size of the rendered displayed items in order for the displayed items to fit in the visible display area (Locker, para. [0053]).
Regarding Claim 35, Klein teaches an accessory device for use with a computing device, the accessory device configured to be positioned such that a first portion of a display of the computing device is obscured when the accessory device is coupled to the computing device (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A)), the accessory device comprising:
an enclosure (see Fig. 6B, hardware keyboard 302A. Inherently the hardware keyboard has an enclosure); and
a processing system (see para. [0038], para. [0061]-[0062], para. [0093]. The architecture illustrated in FIG. 8 can be utilized to implement a foldable device, such as the hinged devices 102. The computer 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 includes a central processing unit 802 (“CPU”)) configured to:
while a selectable user interface element is displayed at the first portion of the display of the computing device (see Fig. 6A. As depicted in annotated figure 6A below, UI window 502B is display at a first location of the display area):
in accordance with a determination that the accessory device is coupled to the computing device (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A):
cause the computing device to cease display of the selectable user interface element at the first portion of the display of the computing device; and cause the computing device to display the selectable user interface element at a second portion of the display of the computing device, the second portion of the display of the computing device not obscured by the accessory device (see Fig. 6B, para. [0052]-[0053]. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A. When two windows are snapped, each window is placed against an edge of the display region (e.g. the left edge in the case of the UI window 502A and the right edge in the case of the UI window 502B) and maximized such that the windows 502A and 502B together fill up the available space of the display region 106A. As depicted in annotated figure Bb below, the UI window 502B is moved to a third location when the keyboard 302A is placed on the second display region 106B).
Klein does not explicitly disclose the processing system is at least partially within the enclosure.
However, Locker teaches the processing system is at least partially within the enclosure (see Figs. 3-5, para. [0040]. Computer components (e.g., processor, memory, nonvolatile storage, etc.) are incorporated in slate computing unit 350, while in another embodiment these computer components are incorporated in keyboard unit 300).
Klein and Locker are related to display devices and keyboards, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the accessory device disclosed by Klein with Locker’s teachings, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of options of placing the process system known in the art that would have yield the same predictable result of controlling the display.
Regarding Claim 36, Klein and Locker teach the accessory device of claim 35.
Klein further teaches wherein the processing system (see para. [0038], para. [0061]-[0062], para. [0093]. The architecture illustrated in FIG. 8 can be utilized to implement a foldable device, such as the hinged devices 102. The computer 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 includes a central processing unit 802 (“CPU”)) is further configured to determine that the accessory device is coupled to the computing device (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A).
Regarding Claim 37, Klein and Locker teach the accessory device of claim 36.
Klein further teaches wherein determining that the that the accessory device is coupled to the computing device includes determining that the accessory device is operably coupled to the computing device (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A)).
Regarding Claim 38, Klein and Locker teach the accessory device of claim 37.
Klein further teaches wherein operably coupling the accessory device to the computing device includes one or more of electrically coupling the accessory device to the computing device and coupling the accessory device to the computing device such that the accessory device and the computing device are in communication (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A)).
Regarding Claim 39, Klein and Locker teach the accessory device of claim 38.
Klein further teaches wherein coupling the accessory device to the computing device such that the accessory device and the computing device are in communication includes one or more of coupling the accessory device to the computing device via a physical connection and coupling the accessory device to the computing device via a wireless connection (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042] para. [0052]-[0054]. The device 102 enters productivity mode when a hardware keyboard 302A is placed on top of the second display region 106B (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B), thereby occluding a portion of the second display region as shown in FIG. 3B. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102. Additionally, the device 102 can detect the presence and location of the hardware keyboard 302A on the second display region 106B using capacitive sensors, Hall effect sensors, or other touch technologies. If a hardware keyboard 302A is placed over the second display region 106B (as shown in FIG. 6B), the foldable computing device 102 can move the UI window 502A from the second display region 106B to the first display region 106A)).
Regarding Claim 40, Klein and Locker teach the accessory device of claim 39.
Klein further teaches wherein the wireless connection includes one of a Bluetooth connection and a WiFi connection (see Fig. 6B, para. [0042]. The hardware keyboard 302A can utilize BLUETOOTH or another suitable technology to communicate with the device 102).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 20210096741 A1) in view of Lyles et al. (US 20180210515 A1, hereinafter referenced as Lyles).
Regarding Claim 24, Klein teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
Klein does not explicitly disclose a coupling mechanism configured to physically couple the accessory device to the electronic device.
However, Lyles teaches a coupling mechanism configured to physically couple the accessory device to the electronic device (see para. [0013], para. [0026]. Referring now to FIG. 3, a side blown up view depicts a portable information handling system 10 having a foldable display 14 and peripheral keyboard 18 removably mounted with magnetic attraction. Mounting magnets 46 rest on display mounting surface 44 and keyboard 18 to bias keyboard 18 into a desired location on display 14).
Klein and Lyles are related to display devices with keyboards, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Klein with Lyles teachings, since it would have aided in placing the accessory into position, preventing it from moving and securing the accessory in place.
Regarding Claim 25, Klein and Lyles teach the electronic device of claim 24.
Lyles further teaches wherein the coupling mechanism comprises a first magnetic element configured to magnetically couple to a second magnetic element of the accessory device (see para. [0013], para. [0026]. Referring now to FIG. 3, a side blown up view depicts a portable information handling system 10 having a foldable display 14 and peripheral keyboard 18 removably mounted with magnetic attraction. Mounting magnets 46 rest on display mounting surface 44 and keyboard 18 to bias keyboard 18 into a desired location on display 14. Mounting magnets 46 rest on display mounting surface 44 and keyboard 18 to bias keyboard 18 into a desired location on display 14. In the example embodiment, opposing magnet polarities are used to bias keyboard 18 into position).
Klein and Lyles are related to display devices with keyboards, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Klein with Lyles teachings, since it would have aided in placing the accessory into position, preventing it from moving and securing the accessory in place.
Regarding Claim 26, Klein and Lyles teach the electronic device of claim 25.
Lyles further teaches wherein the coupling mechanism is configured to retain the electronic device in a first orientation (see para. [0013], para. [0026]. Mounting magnets 46 rest on display mounting surface 44 and keyboard 18 to bias keyboard 18 into a desired location on display 14. Mounting magnets 46 rest on display mounting surface 44 and keyboard 18 to bias keyboard 18 into a desired location on display 14. In the example embodiment, opposing magnet polarities are used to bias keyboard 18 into position).
Klein and Lyles are related to display devices with keyboards, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Klein with Lyles teachings, since it would have aided in placing the accessory into position, preventing it from moving and securing the accessory in place.
Claims 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 20210096741 A1).
Regarding Claim 27, Klein teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
Klein further teaches wherein the electronic device is a tablet computer (see para. [0076]. In light of the above, it should be appreciated that many types of physical transformations take place in the computer 800 in order to store and execute the software components presented herein. It also should be appreciated that the architecture shown in FIG. 8 for the computer 800, or a similar architecture, can be utilized to implement other types of computing devices, including hand-held computers, video game devices, embedded computer systems, mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets, and AR/VR devices, and other types of computing devices known to those skilled in the art).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device as disclosed by an embodiment of Klein with Klein’s teachings of implementing the architecture for the computer in a tablet device, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of electronic devices know in the art that would have yield the same predictable result of changing locations of user interfaces based on coupling a keyboard accessory.
Claims 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 20210096741 A1) in view of Sun et al. (US 20200019367 A1, hereinafter referenced as Sun).
Regarding Claim 31, Klein teaches the computer implemented method of claim 30.
Klein does not explicitly disclose displaying, via the display, a third user interface item at a fifth location of the display area; in response to detecting that the accessory is coupled to the device, continuing to display the third user interface item at the fifth location of the display area
However, Sun teaches displaying, via the display, a third user interface item at a fifth location of the display area (see annotated Fig. 6A, para. [0188]-[0189] application affordance 5051- Messages. As depicted in annotated figure 6 below a fifth user interface item (Messages) is display at a fifth location of display 5012);
in response to detecting that the accessory is coupled to the device, continuing to display the third user interface item at the fifth location of the display area (see annotated Fig. 6B below, para. [0191]. FIG. 6B illustrates electronic device 5004 (smartphone) placed over a region of display 5012 (laptop computer's display). Contact sensors of at least one electronic device of the two electronic devices that are placed over each other (e.g., electronic devices 5002 and 5004) detect whether contact has been made between one electronic device and the display of the other electronic device. As depicted in annotated figure 6B below the fifth user interface item (Messages) still is display at a fifth location of display 5012).
Klein and Sun are related to display devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device interface disclose by Klein to include additional user interface elements as disclosed by Sun, since it would obvious to try from a finite number of options known in the art that would have yield the same predictable result. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that user interfaces not occluded by the accessory device could continue to be display after coupling the accessory device, since those interfaces are not required to be moved to a different area of the display to be seen by the user.
Conclusion
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 2/9/26