DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/20/24 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. JP 2023087018 is not seen in the file and no publication date or applicant was listed in the IDS which must be supplied when filed.
The information disclosure statement filed 3/24/25, the machine translations in the NPL are crossed through because the translations have been checked already in the Foreign Patents Documents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO INC EP 3273186 A1.
Regarding claim 1, SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO discloses an electronically controlled regulator comprising, inside a body 30 formed with an introduction port 15 and a discharge port 12 (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0035]), a pressure regulating valve including:
a valve shaft in which a valve body 17 is coaxially provided and capable of reciprocating in an axial direction;
a valve seat 16 having a seat face with which the valve body can be brought into close contact on a high-pressure fluid chamber side following the introduction port (see Fig. 1);
a discharge pressure regulating unit that adjusts a pressure of a fluid by changing a distance between the valve body and the valve seat while driving an electronically controlled electric motor to reciprocate the valve shaft by a valve shaft moving structure including a feed screw provided between an outer peripheral surface of the valve shaft and an inner peripheral surface of a rotor, in which the electronically controlled regulator discharges a high-pressure fluid introduced from the introduction port into the high-pressure fluid chamber from the discharge port as a pressure-reducing fluid having a set pressure on a discharge pressure chamber side while depressurizing and adjusting the high-pressure fluid by the pressure regulating valve (see claim 1 and paragraphs [0036], [0037]),
a cylindrical space is formed in the discharge pressure chamber and a piston that receives fluid pressure in the discharge pressure chamber is slidably disposed in the cylindrical space together with the valve shaft in a state where the piston is fixed to an outer peripheral side of the valve shaft (see Fig. 1);
a spring 7 that constantly biases the valve shaft in a valve closing direction while bringing a distal end side into contact with the piston is disposed in the cylindrical space (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0069]);
a fluid pressure received by the piston is converted into a pressure load in a direction of pressing the valve body against the seat face at the time of closing the valve when the electric motor is stopped (see difference of diameters "X" and "Y" in Fig.1 and paragraph [0060]); and
occurrence of a positional deviation of the valve shaft due to a backlash provided in a meshing portion of the feed screw is avoided by a biasing force of the spring at the time of pressure regulation (see "backlash" in paragraph [0067] and Figs. 2 and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO INC EP 3273186 A1 in view of Moser US 2022/0214090.
Regarding claim 2, SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO lacks that the electric motor is an AC servomotor or a DC brushless motor and discloses the valve shaft moving structure is the feed screw but lacks the shape being trapezoidal of the following; formed by a combination of a trapezoidal male screw formed on the outer peripheral surface of a columnar motion shaft coaxially attached to the valve shaft and a trapezoidal female screw formed on the inner peripheral surface of the rotor and meshing with the trapezoidal male screw, and the trapezoidal female screw rotates around the trapezoidal male screw by driving of the electric motor to move the valve shaft while operating the trapezoidal male screw in the axial direction without rotating the trapezoidal male screw. Moser discloses using either a stepping motor (used by SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO) and a DC brushless motor [0007] and that the screws may be any shape including trapezoidal [0011]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a DC brushless motor as disclosed by Moser in place of the stepping motor of SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO as Moser teaches that either motor may be used or as a simple substitution of different motors and It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use trapezoidal screws shape as disclosed by Moser as the screws shape of SAGINOMIYA SEISAKUSHO as Moser teaches that any screw shape may be used including trapezoidal or as a simple substitution of different screws shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of the claims 3-4 is an electronically controlled regulator having the combination of the valve shaft is a cylindrical member in which an annular valve body is coaxially provided and has a passage through which a fluid can pass with a discharge pressure of the fluid is adjusted by operating the valve body on a distal end side by the discharge pressure regulating unit so as to change the distance between the valve body and the seat face in combination with the rest of the device as cited in claims 1 or 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arai discloses trapezoidal shape screws. Kellogg discloses a DC brushless motor. Akita, Harada, Naganuma disclose electric motors driving valve shafts.
/John Bastianelli/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
571-272-4921