DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 25 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 February 2026.
The applicant's request for rejoinder of the non-elected method claim if/when the product claims are found allowable is noted. It is noted that withdrawn claim 16 contains multiple references to claim 1 (which is improper for the reasons set forth below) and phrases such as "the first film" and "the second film" that lack antecedent basis.
In order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims and must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because 35 U.S.C. 112(d) requires that claims in dependent form "shall containing a reference to a claim previously set forth" (emphasis added) while claim 15 contains multiple references to claim 1. This objection may be overcome by deleting "according to claim 1" on lines 3 and 5 of the claim and inserting the phrase --wherein the first and second films are each according to claim 1-- at the end of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Suzuki (JP 2021-160148) as evidenced by MatWeb Vectran™ data sheet.
Suzuki is directed to a resin film comprising a liquid crystal layer sandwiched between adhesive layers and a metal clad laminate used to form a circuit board comprising the resin film (paragraphs 0006-0007). The resin film has a dielectric loss tangent of 0.005 or less at 10 GHz (paragraph 0009). The adhesive layers have a storage modulus of 1800 MPa or less at 50 oC and 800 MPa or less at 180 to 260 oC (paragraph 0008). Preferably, the liquid crystal is Vectran™ manufactured by Kuraray (paragraph 0031). The adhesive layers are preferably polyimide layers containing polyimide as the main component (paragraph 0035). The adhesive may be reacted with a crosslinking agent having a functional group to improve heat resistance (paragraph 0084).
The liquid crystal layer corresponds to layer A of the claims; one adhesive layer corresponds to layer B of the claims; the other adhesive layer corresponds to layer C of claims 10-12.
While Suzuki is silent regarding the ratio of elastic modulus at 160 oC of the adhesive layer to the elastic modulus at 160 oC of liquid crystal layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the resin film of Suzuki to inherently possess a ratio that would satisfy the limitations of claim 1 and 3 for the following reasons. According to the MatWeb data sheet, Vectran™ from Kuraray - taught by Suzuki as a preferred liquid crystal for the resin film - has a tensile modulus of 75 GPa. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the ratio of the modulus of the adhesive layer to that of the liquid crystal to be about 1800 MPa:75 GPa, i.e., about 0.02. While the MatWeb does not report the temperature at which the Vectran™ modulus was determined, of one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect this value to change by more than about a factor of 2 based on the difference in the adhesive's modulus at 50 oC compared to that at 180 to 260 oC. Since this value is about 4 orders of magnitude greater than the lower limit of claim 1 and an order of magnitude less than the upper limit of claim 3, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the resin film of Suzuki to intrinsically satisfy the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the circuit board comprises wiring layers disposed on either side of an intermediate layer formed from the resin film (see claim 10). One wiring layer reads on the metal layer while the other wiring layer reads on the metal wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2021-160148) as evidenced by MatWeb Vectran™ data sheet.
Suzuki teaches or suggests all the limitations of claims 4, 6, and 11, as outlined above, except for illustrating embodiment wherein the adhesive layers have thicknesses of 15 mm or less or a liquid crystal having a melting point of 315 oC or higher. However, Suzuki does teach that (i) the adhesive layers may have thicknesses of 1 to 100 mm (paragraph 0097) and (ii) the liquid crystal preferably has a melting point of 300 oC or higher (paragraph 0026).
Since the ranges of thicknesses for the adhesive layer and melting point for the liquid crystal overlaps the range recited in claims 4, 6, and 11, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2021-160148), as evidenced by MatWeb Vectran™ data sheet, and further in view of Imamura et al. (US 2022/0041932).
Suzuki teaches or suggests all the limitations of claims 7 and 8, as outlined above, except for the inclusion of 5 to 30 mass% of a polyolefin in the liquid crystal layer. However, Suzuki does teach that the liquid crystal layer may contain as little as 70 wt% liquid crystal (paragraph 0024).
Imamura is directed to a low dielectric resin composition suitable for use in a printed wiring board (paragraph 0009). The composition comprises a liquid crystal polymer and a graft-modified polyolefin (paragraph 0011). The composition has good melt processibility when compared to a composition containing only the liquid crystal polymer (paragraphs 0007 and 0009). In the embodiments of Examples 1-8, 11, and 12, the composition contains 70 to 95 mass% liquid crystal polymer and 5 to 30 mass% polyolefin (Tables 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add 5 to 30 mass% of a graft-modified polyolefin to the liquid crystal layer of Suzuki to improve processibility.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2021-160148), as evidenced by MatWeb Vectran™ data sheet, and further in view of AdvancedPCB, The Benefits of Multilayer PCBs.
Suzuki teaches or suggests all the limitations of claim 15, as outlined above, except for a circuit board having multiple resin films/metal layers with metal wire embedded in the film resin films.
AdvancedPCB teach that multilayer printed circuit boards are known in which multiple circuit boards are laminated and glued together with connections taking place between the layers through plating through holes (page 2). Because of the layered design, the boards are smaller and weigh less than other boards while still having the same level of functionality (page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the resin film of Suzuki in fabricating multilayer printed circuit boards for applications in which reduced size and/or weight is desired, with the plated through holes corresponding to the embedded wires.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,076.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the limitations of dependent claims, such as claim 5, with the independent claim to yield a film exhibiting the benefits conveyed by the limitations of the dependent claims.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,076 in view of Imamura et al. (US 2022/0041932).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,076 recite all the limitations of claims 7 and 8 except for the inclusion of 5 to 30 mass% of a polyolefin in the liquid crystal of layer A.
Imamura is directed to a low dielectric resin composition suitable for use in a printed wiring board (paragraph 0009). The composition comprises a liquid crystal polymer and a graft-modified polyolefin (paragraph 0011). The composition has good melt processibility when compared to a composition containing only the liquid crystal polymer (paragraphs 0007 and 0009). In the embodiments of Examples 1-8, 11, and 12, the composition contains 70 to 95 mass% liquid crystal polymer and 5 to 30 mass% polyolefin (Tables 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add 5 to 30 mass% of a graft-modified polyolefin to the liquid crystal layer recited in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,076 to improve processibility.
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,259.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the limitations of dependent claims, such as claim 2, with the independent claim to yield a film exhibiting the benefits conveyed by the limitations of the dependent claims.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,259 in view of Imamura et al. (US 2022/0041932).
Claims 1-3, 5, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,259 recite all the limitations of claims 7 and 8 except for the inclusion of 5 to 30 mass% of a polyolefin in the liquid crystal of layer A.
Imamura is directed to a low dielectric resin composition suitable for use in a printed wiring board (paragraph 0009). The composition comprises a liquid crystal polymer and a graft-modified polyolefin (paragraph 0011). The composition has good melt processibility when compared to a composition containing only the liquid crystal polymer (paragraphs 0007 and 0009). In the embodiments of Examples 1-8, 11, and 12, the composition contains 70 to 95 mass% liquid crystal polymer and 5 to 30 mass% polyolefin (Tables 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add 5 to 30 mass% of a graft-modified polyolefin to the liquid crystal layer recited in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,259 to improve processibility.
Conclusion
/RAMSEY ZACHARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787