CTNF 18/953,086 CTNF 99869 DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the application filed 11/20/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and have been examined. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by O’Leary et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0109787, hereinafter “O’Leary”) . Regarding Claim 1 , O’Leary teaches A communication terminal (see O’Leary Paragraph [0082], exemplary devices for performing the techniques for managing a live video communication session and/or managing digital content) , comprising: circuitry (see O’Leary Paragraph [0095], The various components shown in FIG. 1A are implemented in hardware, software, or a combination of both hardware and software, including one or more signal processing and/or application-specific integrated circuits) configured to: receive, from another communication terminal, a wide-field-of-view image (see O’Leary Paragraph [0250], With reference to FIG. 6A, device 600-1 corresponds to user 622 (e.g., “John”), who is a participant of the live video communication session in some embodiments. Device 600-1 includes a display (e.g., touch-sensitive display) 601 and a camera 602 (e.g., front-facing camera) having a field of view 620. In some embodiments, camera 602 is configured to capture image data and/or depth data of a physical environment within field-of-view 620. Field-of-view 620 is sometimes referred to herein as the available field-of-view, entire field-of-view, or the camera field-of-view. In some embodiments, camera 602 is a wide angle camera (e.g., a camera that includes a wide angle lens or a lens that has a relatively short focal length and wide field-of-view, Paragraph [0251], With reference to FIG. 6A, device 600-2 corresponds to user 623 (e.g., “Jane”), who is a participant of the live video communication session in some embodiments. Device 600-2 includes a display (e.g., touch-sensitive display) 683 and a camera 682 (e.g., front-facing camera) having a field-of-view 688. In some embodiments, camera 682 is configured to capture image data and/or depth data of a physical environment within field-of-view 688. Field-of-view 688 is sometimes referred to herein as the available field-of-view, entire field-of-view, or the camera field-of-view. In some embodiments, camera 682 is a wide angle camera (e.g., a camera that includes a wide angle lens or a lens that has a relatively short focal length and wide field-of-view), Paragraph [0254], Generally, during operation, devices 600-1, 600-2 capture image data, which is in turn exchanged between devices 600-1, 600-2 and used by devices 600-1, 600-2 to display various representations of content during the live video communication session, and Paragraph [0377], the computer system (e.g., 600-1 and/or 600-2) receives, during the live video communication session, image data captured by a camera (e.g., 602) (e.g., a wide angle camera) of the one or more cameras. The computer system displays, via the display generation component, the representation of the at least a portion of the field-of-view (e.g., 622-1 and/or 622-2) (e.g., the first representation) based on the image data captured by the camera. The computer system displays, via the display generation component, the representation of the surface (e.g., 624-1 and/or 624-2) (e.g., the second representation) based on the image data captured by the camera (e.g., the representation of at least a portion of the field-of view of the one or more cameras and the representation of the surface are based on image data captured by a single (e.g. only one) camera of the one or more cameras). Displaying the representation of the at least a portion of the field-of-view and the representation of the surface captured from the same camera enhances the video communication session experience by displaying content captured by the same camera at different perspectives without requiring input from the user, which reduces the number of inputs (and/or devices) needed to perform an operation) ; display a particular area image corresponding to a particular area of the wide-field-of-view image (see O’Leary Paragraph [0250], With reference to FIG. 6A, device 600-1 corresponds to user 622 (e.g., “John”), who is a participant of the live video communication session in some embodiments. Device 600-1 includes a display (e.g., touch-sensitive display) 601 and a camera 602 (e.g., front-facing camera) having a field of view 620. In some embodiments, camera 602 is configured to capture image data and/or depth data of a physical environment within field-of-view 620. Field-of-view 620 is sometimes referred to herein as the available field-of-view, entire field-of-view, or the camera field-of-view. In some embodiments, camera 602 is a wide angle camera (e.g., a camera that includes a wide angle lens or a lens that has a relatively short focal length and wide field-of-view, Paragraph [0251], With reference to FIG. 6A, device 600-2 corresponds to user 623 (e.g., “Jane”), who is a participant of the live video communication session in some embodiments. Device 600-2 includes a display (e.g., touch-sensitive display) 683 and a camera 682 (e.g., front-facing camera) having a field-of-view 688. In some embodiments, camera 682 is configured to capture image data and/or depth data of a physical environment within field-of-view 688. Field-of-view 688 is sometimes referred to herein as the available field-of-view, entire field-of-view, or the camera field-of-view. In some embodiments, camera 682 is a wide angle camera (e.g., a camera that includes a wide angle lens or a lens that has a relatively short focal length and wide field-of-view), Paragraph [0254], Generally, during operation, devices 600-1, 600-2 capture image data, which is in turn exchanged between devices 600-1, 600-2 and used by devices 600-1, 600-2 to display various representations of content during the live video communication session, and Paragraph [0377], the computer system (e.g., 600-1 and/or 600-2) receives, during the live video communication session, image data captured by a camera (e.g., 602) (e.g., a wide angle camera) of the one or more cameras. The computer system displays, via the display generation component, the representation of the at least a portion of the field-of-view (e.g., 622-1 and/or 622-2) (e.g., the first representation) based on the image data captured by the camera. The computer system displays, via the display generation component, the representation of the surface (e.g., 624-1 and/or 624-2) (e.g., the second representation) based on the image data captured by the camera (e.g., the representation of at least a portion of the field-of view of the one or more cameras and the representation of the surface are based on image data captured by a single (e.g. only one) camera of the one or more cameras). Displaying the representation of the at least a portion of the field-of-view and the representation of the surface captured from the same camera enhances the video communication session experience by displaying content captured by the same camera at different perspectives without requiring input from the user, which reduces the number of inputs (and/or devices) needed to perform an operation) ; and display an icon, corresponding to a non-verbal communication of a person, at a position in the particular area image in a case that the non-verbal communication is detected in an area of the wide-field-of-view image outside of the particular area (see O’Leary Paragraph [0269], In some embodiments, the set of criteria includes a requirement that a gesture be performed for at least a threshold amount of time. For example, with reference to FIG. 6E, in response to detecting a gesture, device 600-1 overlays graphical object 626 on representation 622-1 indicating that device 600-1 has detected that the user is currently performing a gesture, such as 612d. As shown, in some embodiments, device 600-1 enlarges representation 622-1 to assist user 622 in better viewing the detected gesture and/or graphical object 626, Paragraph [0271], In some examples, graphical object 626 indicates the type of gesture currently detected by device 600-1. In some examples, graphical object 626 is an outline of a hand performing the detected type of gesture and/or an image of the detected type of gesture. Graphical object 626 can, for instance, include a hand performing a pointing gesture in response to device 600-1 detecting that user 622 is performing a pointing gesture, Paragraph [0385], In some embodiments, the one or more user inputs include a gesture (e.g., 612d) (e.g., a body gesture, a hand gesture, a head gesture, an arm gesture, and/or an eye gesture) in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., a gesture performed in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is directed to the physical position surface), Paragraph [0410], While displaying the live video communication interface, the computer system obtains (804), via the one or more cameras, image data for the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, the image data including a first gesture (e.g., 656b) (e.g., a hand gesture). In some embodiments, the gesture is not displayed in the representation of the first scene (e.g., because the gesture is detected in a portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is not currently being displayed)) . Regarding Claim 2 , O’Leary teaches The communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to analyze the wide-field-of-view image to detect whether the non-verbal communication is included in the area outside of the particular area (see O’Leary Paragraph [0385], In some embodiments, the one or more user inputs include a gesture (e.g., 612d) (e.g., a body gesture, a hand gesture, a head gesture, an arm gesture, and/or an eye gesture) in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., a gesture performed in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is directed to the physical position surface), Paragraph [0410], While displaying the live video communication interface, the computer system obtains (804), via the one or more cameras, image data for the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, the image data including a first gesture (e.g., 656b) (e.g., a hand gesture). In some embodiments, the gesture is not displayed in the representation of the first scene (e.g., because the gesture is detected in a portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is not currently being displayed)) . Regarding Claim 4 , O’Leary teaches The communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the non-verbal communication includes any of a facial expression, a complexion, a gaze, a gesture, a hand gesture, and a body posture regarding the person (see O’Leary Paragraph [0269], In some embodiments, the set of criteria includes a requirement that a gesture be performed for at least a threshold amount of time. For example, with reference to FIG. 6E, in response to detecting a gesture, device 600-1 overlays graphical object 626 on representation 622-1 indicating that device 600-1 has detected that the user is currently performing a gesture, such as 612d. As shown, in some embodiments, device 600-1 enlarges representation 622-1 to assist user 622 in better viewing the detected gesture and/or graphical object 626, Paragraph [0271], In some examples, graphical object 626 indicates the type of gesture currently detected by device 600-1. In some examples, graphical object 626 is an outline of a hand performing the detected type of gesture and/or an image of the detected type of gesture. Graphical object 626 can, for instance, include a hand performing a pointing gesture in response to device 600-1 detecting that user 622 is performing a pointing gesture, Paragraph [0385], In some embodiments, the one or more user inputs include a gesture (e.g., 612d) (e.g., a body gesture, a hand gesture, a head gesture, an arm gesture, and/or an eye gesture) in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., a gesture performed in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is directed to the physical position surface)) . Regarding Claim 7 , O’Leary teaches The communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to detect the non-verbal communication of the person included in the area outside of the particular area of the wide-field-of-view image (see O’Leary Paragraph [0269], In some embodiments, the set of criteria includes a requirement that a gesture be performed for at least a threshold amount of time. For example, with reference to FIG. 6E, in response to detecting a gesture, device 600-1 overlays graphical object 626 on representation 622-1 indicating that device 600-1 has detected that the user is currently performing a gesture, such as 612d. As shown, in some embodiments, device 600-1 enlarges representation 622-1 to assist user 622 in better viewing the detected gesture and/or graphical object 626, Paragraph [0271], In some examples, graphical object 626 indicates the type of gesture currently detected by device 600-1. In some examples, graphical object 626 is an outline of a hand performing the detected type of gesture and/or an image of the detected type of gesture. Graphical object 626 can, for instance, include a hand performing a pointing gesture in response to device 600-1 detecting that user 622 is performing a pointing gesture, Paragraph [0385], In some embodiments, the one or more user inputs include a gesture (e.g., 612d) (e.g., a body gesture, a hand gesture, a head gesture, an arm gesture, and/or an eye gesture) in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., a gesture performed in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is directed to the physical position surface), Paragraph [0410], While displaying the live video communication interface, the computer system obtains (804), via the one or more cameras, image data for the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, the image data including a first gesture (e.g., 656b) (e.g., a hand gesture). In some embodiments, the gesture is not displayed in the representation of the first scene (e.g., because the gesture is detected in a portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is not currently being displayed)) ; and display the icon corresponding to the detected non-verbal communication at the position in the particular area (see O’Leary Paragraph [0269], In some embodiments, the set of criteria includes a requirement that a gesture be performed for at least a threshold amount of time. For example, with reference to FIG. 6E, in response to detecting a gesture, device 600-1 overlays graphical object 626 on representation 622-1 indicating that device 600-1 has detected that the user is currently performing a gesture, such as 612d. As shown, in some embodiments, device 600-1 enlarges representation 622-1 to assist user 622 in better viewing the detected gesture and/or graphical object 626, Paragraph [0271], In some examples, graphical object 626 indicates the type of gesture currently detected by device 600-1. In some examples, graphical object 626 is an outline of a hand performing the detected type of gesture and/or an image of the detected type of gesture. Graphical object 626 can, for instance, include a hand performing a pointing gesture in response to device 600-1 detecting that user 622 is performing a pointing gesture, Paragraph [0385], In some embodiments, the one or more user inputs include a gesture (e.g., 612d) (e.g., a body gesture, a hand gesture, a head gesture, an arm gesture, and/or an eye gesture) in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., a gesture performed in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is directed to the physical position surface), Paragraph [0410], While displaying the live video communication interface, the computer system obtains (804), via the one or more cameras, image data for the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, the image data including a first gesture (e.g., 656b) (e.g., a hand gesture). In some embodiments, the gesture is not displayed in the representation of the first scene (e.g., because the gesture is detected in a portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras that is not currently being displayed)) . Regarding Claim 9 , O’Leary teaches The communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the communication terminal receives the wide-field-of-view image from an image capturing device (see O’Leary Paragraph [0250], With reference to FIG. 6A, device 600-1 corresponds to user 622 (e.g., “John”), who is a participant of the live video communication session in some embodiments. Device 600-1 includes a display (e.g., touch-sensitive display) 601 and a camera 602 (e.g., front-facing camera) having a field of view 620. In some embodiments, camera 602 is configured to capture image data and/or depth data of a physical environment within field-of-view 620. Field-of-view 620 is sometimes referred to herein as the available field-of-view, entire field-of-view, or the camera field-of-view. In some embodiments, camera 602 is a wide angle camera (e.g., a camera that includes a wide angle lens or a lens that has a relatively short focal length and wide field-of-view, Paragraph [0251], With reference to FIG. 6A, device 600-2 corresponds to user 623 (e.g., “Jane”), who is a participant of the live video communication session in some embodiments. Device 600-2 includes a display (e.g., touch-sensitive display) 683 and a camera 682 (e.g., front-facing camera) having a field-of-view 688. In some embodiments, camera 682 is configured to capture image data and/or depth data of a physical environment within field-of-view 688. Field-of-view 688 is sometimes referred to herein as the available field-of-view, entire field-of-view, or the camera field-of-view. In some embodiments, camera 682 is a wide angle camera (e.g., a camera that includes a wide angle lens or a lens that has a relatively short focal length and wide field-of-view), Paragraph [0254], Generally, during operation, devices 600-1, 600-2 capture image data, which is in turn exchanged between devices 600-1, 600-2 and used by devices 600-1, 600-2 to display various representations of content during the live video communication session, and Paragraph [0377], the computer system (e.g., 600-1 and/or 600-2) receives, during the live video communication session, image data captured by a camera (e.g., 602) (e.g., a wide angle camera) of the one or more cameras. The computer system displays, via the display generation component, the representation of the at least a portion of the field-of-view (e.g., 622-1 and/or 622-2) (e.g., the first representation) based on the image data captured by the camera. The computer system displays, via the display generation component, the representation of the surface (e.g., 624-1 and/or 624-2) (e.g., the second representation) based on the image data captured by the camera (e.g., the representation of at least a portion of the field-of view of the one or more cameras and the representation of the surface are based on image data captured by a single (e.g. only one) camera of the one or more cameras). Displaying the representation of the at least a portion of the field-of-view and the representation of the surface captured from the same camera enhances the video communication session experience by displaying content captured by the same camera at different perspectives without requiring input from the user, which reduces the number of inputs (and/or devices) needed to perform an operation) . Regarding Claims 12, 13, 15 and 18 , they are rejected similarly as Claims 1, 2, 4 and 7, respectively. The method can be found in O’Leary (Paragraph [0006], method). Regarding Claim 20 , it is rejected similarly as Claim 1. The non-transitory computer readable medium can be found in O’Leary (Paragraph [0007], non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Leary et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0109787, hereinafter “O’Leary”) in view of Schwarz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0373672, hereinafter “Schwarz”) . Regarding Claim 3 , O’Leary teaches all the limitations of claim 2, but does not expressively teach The communication terminal of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to communicate with a database in response to detection of the non-verbal communication in the area outside of the particular area, and receive data indicating the icon corresponding to the non-verbal communication from the database. However, Schwarz teaches The communication terminal of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to communicate with a database in response to detection of the non-verbal communication (see Schwarz Paragraph [0016], Accordingly, examples are disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures based on articulated hand tracking data, and in response presenting emojis that corresponding to the recognized hand gestures. Articulated hand tracking data includes positional and rotational data for a plurality of joints of a user's hand, which allows the accurate detection of a wide range of hand gestures that may be mapped to a wide variety of emojis. Examples are also disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures performed by multiple users and the sharing of emojis among those users. Further, examples are disclosed that relate to associating emojis with objects, including physical objects and virtual objects presented in a shared virtual space and Paragraph [0056], While not shown in FIG. 7, on-board computer 704 may include a logic subsystem and a storage subsystem holding instructions executable by the logic subsystem to perform any suitable computing functions. For example, the storage subsystem may include instructions executable to implement one or more of image data acquisition, gesture recognition, emoji identification, emoji presentation, and instruction transmission) , and receive data indicating the icon corresponding to the non-verbal communication from the database (see Schwarz Paragraph [0016], Accordingly, examples are disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures based on articulated hand tracking data, and in response presenting emojis that corresponding to the recognized hand gestures. Articulated hand tracking data includes positional and rotational data for a plurality of joints of a user's hand, which allows the accurate detection of a wide range of hand gestures that may be mapped to a wide variety of emojis. Examples are also disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures performed by multiple users and the sharing of emojis among those users. Further, examples are disclosed that relate to associating emojis with objects, including physical objects and virtual objects presented in a shared virtual space and Paragraph [0056], While not shown in FIG. 7, on-board computer 704 may include a logic subsystem and a storage subsystem holding instructions executable by the logic subsystem to perform any suitable computing functions. For example, the storage subsystem may include instructions executable to implement one or more of image data acquisition, gesture recognition, emoji identification, emoji presentation, and instruction transmission) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a communication terminal that receives data from another terminal and displays a selected area of a wide-field-of-view image, including icons that indicate detected non-verbal communications from people located outside the displayed area (as taught in O’Leary), with circuitry configured to communicate with a database upon detecting non-verbal communication and receive data identifying an icon corresponding to the detected non-verbal communication (as taught in Schwarz), the motivation being to expand a non-verbal communication library by supporting a larger variety of gestures, expressions, or signals thus creating a virtual environment that provides enhanced situational awareness and improves accessibility by providing a universal recognition in communication (see Schwarz Paragraphs [0014], [0015] and [0016]). Regarding Claim 5 , O’Leary in view of Schwarz teaches The communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the position is in the particular area and at a position along a line directed toward a part of the person's body (see Schwarz Paragraph [0023], As described above, HMD devices 200 and 204 share a coordinate system established for the shared virtual space in which they participate, as represented by coordinate axes 228. The shared coordinate system provides a reference frame in which emojis and representations of remote users may be exchanged in a spatially consistent manner. Users 202 and 206 thus may experience a sense of presence in a shared virtual experience, even though HMD devices 200 and 204 occupy different physical environments, Paragraph [0032], The instruction 322 instructs the other display device(s) to present the emoji. In some examples, the instruction may be accompanied by image data (e.g. a graphical icon or animation to be displayed during presentation of the emoji), audio data (e.g. to be played back during presentation of the emoji), location data specifying a location at which to display the emoji in a shared coordinate space, an identification of a target (e.g. user, display device, hand, physical object, virtual object) to be associated with the emoji, and/or other data, Paragraph [0062], At 824, method 800 includes sending the instruction to the one or more other display devices sharing the coordinate system to present the emoji. The one or more other display devices may include an HMD device, a mobile computing device (e.g. smartphone, laptop), a television, a monitor, and/or any other suitable display device. The instruction may specify 826 an object with which to associate the emoji when presenting the emoji. The object may comprise 828 a second display device, a physical object, the hand, or a virtual object. The instruction may instruct 830 the one or more other display devices to present the emoji with a multichannel audio signal that acoustically encodes a spatial origin of the emoji. The instruction further may specify a location in a shared coordinate system at which to display the emoji, Paragraph [0038], As yet another example of a target with which to associate an emoji, FIG. 5 shows a physical display 514 presenting an image 516. An emoji, such as a like emoji, may be associated with image 516 based on gaze direction 502 intersecting the displayed location of the image) . Regarding Claim 6 , O’Leary in view of Schwarz teaches The communication terminal of claim 5, wherein the part is between the person's eyes or the person's nose (see Schwarz Paragraph [0023], As described above, HMD devices 200 and 204 share a coordinate system established for the shared virtual space in which they participate, as represented by coordinate axes 228. The shared coordinate system provides a reference frame in which emojis and representations of remote users may be exchanged in a spatially consistent manner. Users 202 and 206 thus may experience a sense of presence in a shared virtual experience, even though HMD devices 200 and 204 occupy different physical environments, Paragraph [0032], The instruction 322 instructs the other display device(s) to present the emoji. In some examples, the instruction may be accompanied by image data (e.g. a graphical icon or animation to be displayed during presentation of the emoji), audio data (e.g. to be played back during presentation of the emoji), location data specifying a location at which to display the emoji in a shared coordinate space, an identification of a target (e.g. user, display device, hand, physical object, virtual object) to be associated with the emoji, and/or other data, Paragraph [0062], At 824, method 800 includes sending the instruction to the one or more other display devices sharing the coordinate system to present the emoji. The one or more other display devices may include an HMD device, a mobile computing device (e.g. smartphone, laptop), a television, a monitor, and/or any other suitable display device. The instruction may specify 826 an object with which to associate the emoji when presenting the emoji. The object may comprise 828 a second display device, a physical object, the hand, or a virtual object. The instruction may instruct 830 the one or more other display devices to present the emoji with a multichannel audio signal that acoustically encodes a spatial origin of the emoji. The instruction further may specify a location in a shared coordinate system at which to display the emoji, Paragraph [0038], As yet another example of a target with which to associate an emoji, FIG. 5 shows a physical display 514 presenting an image 516. An emoji, such as a like emoji, may be associated with image 516 based on gaze direction 502 intersecting the displayed location of the image) . Regarding Claim 8 , O’Leary in view of Schwarz teaches The communication terminal of claim 7, further comprising: a memory storing a content of the non-verbal communication in association with the icon (see Schwarz Paragraph [0016], Accordingly, examples are disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures based on articulated hand tracking data, and in response presenting emojis that corresponding to the recognized hand gestures. Articulated hand tracking data includes positional and rotational data for a plurality of joints of a user's hand, which allows the accurate detection of a wide range of hand gestures that may be mapped to a wide variety of emojis. Examples are also disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures performed by multiple users and the sharing of emojis among those users. Further, examples are disclosed that relate to associating emojis with objects, including physical objects and virtual objects presented in a shared virtual space and Paragraph [0056], While not shown in FIG. 7, on-board computer 704 may include a logic subsystem and a storage subsystem holding instructions executable by the logic subsystem to perform any suitable computing functions. For example, the storage subsystem may include instructions executable to implement one or more of image data acquisition, gesture recognition, emoji identification, emoji presentation, and instruction transmission) , wherein the circuitry displays the icon corresponding to the non-verbal communication stored in the memory at the position in the particular area (see Schwarz Paragraph [0016], Accordingly, examples are disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures based on articulated hand tracking data, and in response presenting emojis that corresponding to the recognized hand gestures. Articulated hand tracking data includes positional and rotational data for a plurality of joints of a user's hand, which allows the accurate detection of a wide range of hand gestures that may be mapped to a wide variety of emojis. Examples are also disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures performed by multiple users and the sharing of emojis among those users. Further, examples are disclosed that relate to associating emojis with objects, including physical objects and virtual objects presented in a shared virtual space, Paragraph [0056], While not shown in FIG. 7, on-board computer 704 may include a logic subsystem and a storage subsystem holding instructions executable by the logic subsystem to perform any suitable computing functions. For example, the storage subsystem may include instructions executable to implement one or more of image data acquisition, gesture recognition, emoji identification, emoji presentation, and instruction transmission, Figure 1 and Paragraph [0018], As described in further detail below, HMD device 102 may include a sensor subsystem (e.g. including an image sensor) for detecting the pose of hands and formulating hand tracking data representing the poses of detected hands. HMD device 102 then presents emoji 114 via display 104, which includes the display of a graphical icon representing a hand making a thumbs-up gesture, and Paragraph [0019], Another user 116 occupying physical environment 108 participates in shared virtual space 100 via an HMD device 118. HMD device 118 includes a display 120 on which a mixed reality experience is presented, including a view of user 102. In addition to presenting emoji 114 on display 104, HMD device 102 sends an instruction to HMD device 118 to present the emoji, and may specify a location in shared virtual space 100 at which to display the emoji. Any suitable channel may be used to send the instruction, such as a direct communication channel (e.g. Bluetooth, WiFi, optical, or acoustic channel) between HMD devices 102 and 118, or an indirect network connection. In response to receiving the instruction, HMD device 118 presents emoji 114, potentially at a specified location, on display 120. In this example, emoji 114 is shown on display 120 in proximity to right hand 112 of user 102) . Regarding Claim 10 , O’Leary in view of Schwarz teaches The communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to display a plurality of icons, each icon of the plurality of icons corresponding to a respective non-verbal communication of a plurality of non-verbal communications, and each non-verbal communication of the plurality of non-verbal communications being of a respective person in the area of the wide-field-of-view image outside of the particular area (see Schwarz Paragraph [0016], Examples are also disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures performed by multiple users and the sharing of emojis among those users, Paragraph [0020], The shared coordinate system provides a shared reference frame with which multiple devices can share commonly displayed virtual content, including but not limited to emojis as described herein, such that the virtual content may be perceived by multiple users from different perspectives with the same spatial properties (e.g. position and rotation) relative to the shared coordinate system, Paragraph [0027], The term “gesture recognition” as used herein may refer to recognizing a gesture based on a single hand pose or multiple hand poses. Any suitable method of gesture recognition may be utilized, Paragraph [0034], In some examples, a display device may present an emoji based on recognizing a hand gesture performed by multiple users. FIGS. 4A-4B show an example hand gesture performed by two users in the form of a high-five gesture) . Regarding Claim 11 , O’Leary in view of Schwarz teaches The communication terminal of claim 10, wherein the plurality of icons are displayed at different positions in the particular area (see Schwarz Paragraph [0016], Examples are also disclosed that relate to recognizing hand gestures performed by multiple users and the sharing of emojis among those users, Paragraph [0020], The shared coordinate system provides a shared reference frame with which multiple devices can share commonly displayed virtual content, including but not limited to emojis as described herein, such that the virtual content may be perceived by multiple users from different perspectives with the same spatial properties (e.g. position and rotation) relative to the shared coordinate system, Paragraph [0027], The term “gesture recognition” as used herein may refer to recognizing a gesture based on a single hand pose or multiple hand poses. Any suitable method of gesture recognition may be utilized, Paragraph [0034], In some examples, a display device may present an emoji based on recognizing a hand gesture performed by multiple users. FIGS. 4A-4B show an example hand gesture performed by two users in the form of a high-five gesture, Paragraph [0032], The instruction 322 instructs the other display device(s) to present the emoji. In some examples, the instruction may be accompanied by image data (e.g. a graphical icon or animation to be displayed during presentation of the emoji), audio data (e.g. to be played back during presentation of the emoji), location data specifying a location at which to display the emoji in a shared coordinate space, an identification of a target (e.g. user, display device, hand, physical object, virtual object) to be associated with the emoji, and/or other data, Paragraph [0062], At 824, method 800 includes sending the instruction to the one or more other display devices sharing the coordinate system to present the emoji. The one or more other display devices may include an HMD device, a mobile computing device (e.g. smartphone, laptop), a television, a monitor, and/or any other suitable display device. The instruction may specify 826 an object with which to associate the emoji when presenting the emoji. The object may comprise 828 a second display device, a physical object, the hand, or a virtual object. The instruction may instruct 830 the one or more other display devices to present the emoji with a multichannel audio signal that acoustically encodes a spatial origin of the emoji. The instruction further may specify a location in a shared coordinate system at which to display the emoji) . Regarding Claims 14, 16, 17 and 19 , they are rejected similarly as Claims 3, 5, 6 and 8, respectively. The method can be found in O’Leary (Paragraph [0006], method) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARISSA A JONES whose telephone number is (703)756-1677. The examiner can normally be reached Telework M-F 6:30 AM - 4:00 PM CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Duc Nguyen can be reached at 5712727503. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CARISSA A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691 /DUC NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 2 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 3 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 4 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 5 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 6 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 7 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 8 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 9 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 10 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 11 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 12 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 13 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 14 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 15 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 16 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 17 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 18 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 19 Art Unit: 2691 Application/Control Number: 18/953,086 Page 20 Art Unit: 2691