DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Applicants' file on 11/20/24. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-17 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Cheng et al (US Pub. No: 2017/0215260) in view of Nakagawa et al (US Pub. No: 2016/0330815).
With respect to claim 1, Cheng et al disclose a lighting module circuit comprising: a light-emitting unit including a plurality of light-emitting devices(13) connected in series; and a composite frequency circuit (a first processing unit(14)with DRAM(10) on left side and a second processing unit with DRAM(10) on right side) for each the processing unit 14 of DRAM 10 can control a frequency, a color, a delay time and a flashing mode of light emitted from the light-emitting unit 13, paragraph [18]) having at least one input terminal for receiving control information(figure 3, each the processing unit for receiving control signal from an applicant program(21) and a mobile electronic device(20) such as smart cell phone or a tablet computer phone, paragraph [18]) having a first output terminal(a first output terminal of the processing unit(14) of the left side) for outputting a first output signal with a first frequency, and a second output terminal (a second output terminal of the processing unit(14) of right side) for outputting a second output signal with a second frequency and the second output terminal of the composite frequency circuit(the second output of the second of the processing unit(14) with DRAM(10) on the right side) and the first output terminal of the composite frequency circuit(the first processing unit(14)with DRAM(10) on the left side) is coupled to one of the plurality of light-emitting devices(13) of the light-emitting unit(the left and the right of the lighting unit unit(13)). Also see paragraphs [19-20].
Cheng et al disclose do not explicitly disclose that, wherein the light-emitting unit is coupled between a power supply terminal for receiving a power supply signal and the second output terminal of the composite frequency circuit and outputting a first output signal with a first flicker frequency, and outputting a second output signal with a second flicker frequency different from the first flicker frequency.
Nakagawa et al disclose in figures 1-3 that, wherein the light-emitting unit(10b) is coupled between a power supply terminal (power supply circuit (22)) for receiving a power supply signal (paragraph [30]) and a composite flicker frequency circuit (a first controller (20) and a second controller(20a) as shown in figures 6-8) for a first flicker frequency and a second flicker frequency and wherein the second flicker frequency different from the first flicker frequency. See paragraphs [18,44]and abstract of Nakagawa et al.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nakagawa et al into the mobile device of Cheng et al to provide different flicker frequency and sufficiently illuminating specific regions.
With respect to claim 2, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, disclose wherein the composite flicker frequency circuit comprises: a first flicker frequency controller for outputting the first output signal through the first output terminal; and a second flicker frequency controller for outputting the second output signal through the second output terminal. See paragraphs [18,44]and abstract of Nakagawa et al.
With respect to claims 3 and 5, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, disclose the first flicker frequency and the second flicker frequency and wherein the second flicker frequency different from the first flicker frequency. See paragraphs [18,44]and abstract of Nakagawa et al.
Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, do not explicitly disclose wherein the second flicker frequency is lower than the first flicker frequency and wherein the first flicker frequency is lower than the second flicker frequency.
The limitations are not of patentable merits since they are directed to a manner of operating the control device which do not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
With respect to claims 4 and 16, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, do not disclose wherein the second flicker frequency is 40 Hz and the first flicker frequency is greater than 40 Hz.
However, Nakagawa et al disclose that, it is necessary to set the flicker frequencies f1, f2 of the light sources 10a, 10b to be not greater than the critical flicker frequency (CFF, about 60 Hz), which is the frequency limit below which an observer can perceive flicker.
Therefore, setting/selecting 40 Hz for the second flicker frequency and the first flicker frequency is greater than 40 Hz are based upon the design constraints imposed by two controllers in which 40 Hz and greater than 40 Hz designed to be used in. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected 40 Hz and greater than 40 Hz for a desired application or environment of use would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, do not disclose wherein the first flicker frequency is 40 Hz and the second flicker frequency is greater than 40 Hz.
However, Nakagawa et al disclose that, it is necessary to set the flicker frequencies f1, f2 of the light sources 10a, 10b to be not greater than the critical flicker frequency (CFF, about 60 Hz), which is the frequency limit below which an observer can perceive flicker.
Therefore, setting/selecting 40 Hz for the first flicker frequency and setting/selecting for the second flicker frequency is greater than 40 Hz are based upon the design constraints imposed by two controllers in which 40 Hz and greater than 40 Hz designed to be used in. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected 40 Hz and greater than 40 Hz for a desired application or environment of use would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claim 7, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, do not disclose wherein the composite flicker frequency circuit outputs a first current signal varying with the first flicker frequency as the first output signal and a second current signal varying with the second flicker frequency as the second output signal.
However, Nakagawa et al disclose that, moreover, it is desirable to adjust the intensity of flickering light perceived in the overlapping region according to the point of use or the purpose of use by suitably controlling the luminance and the degree of modulation of each light source as shown in paragraph [41].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nakagawa et al into the mobile device of Cheng et al to vary/adjust different flicker frequency for illuminating specific regions.
With respect to claim 8, Cheng et al as modified as claims 1 and 7 above, disclose wherein the one of the plurality of light-emitting devices which is coupled to the first output terminal of the second flicker frequency controller is an intermediate one of the plurality of light-emitting devices such that a first portion of the light-emitting devices emits light varying in intensity and frequency based on composite flickering frequencies including the first flicker frequency and the second flicker frequency, and a second portion of the light-emitting devices emits light varying in intensity and frequency based on a single flickering frequency of the second flicker frequency.
With respect to claim 10, Cheng et al as modified as claims 1 and 7 above, disclose wherein the composite flicker frequency circuit controls the light-emitting devices to emit lights at the first and second flickering frequencies with respective intensities for illumination.
With respect to claim 11, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, disclose wherein further comprising: a communication circuit (Bluetooth receiver or an infrared receiver) of the DRAM 10 through wireless or remote communications, paragraph [19]) for communication with a remote device and being coupled to the composite flicker frequency circuit to output the control information for operation of the light-emitting unit (13) based on information obtained from the remote device.
With respect to claim 12, Cheng et al disclose a lighting module circuit comprising: a light-emitting unit including a plurality of light-emitting devices (figure 3, a plurality of light emitting unit (13)) connected in series; a first frequency controller (14,10 on left side, paragraph [18] for each the processing unit 14 of DRAM 10 can control a frequency, a color, a delay time and a flashing mode of light emitted from the light-emitting unit 13) having a first output terminal for outputting a first output signal having a first frequency; a second frequency controller (14,10 on right side, paragraph [18]) having a second output terminal for outputting a second output signal having a second frequency, and the first output terminal of the first frequency controller(14,10 on right left side of figure 3) is coupled to one of the plurality of light-emitting devices of the light-emitting unit(plurality of light emitting units(13)); and a communication circuit(Bluetooth receiver or an infrared receiver) of the DRAM 10 through wireless or remote communications, paragraph [19]) for communication with a remote device and being coupled to the first frequency controller (14,10 the left side, figure 3)and the second frequency controller(14,10, the right side, figure 3) for operation of the light-emitting unit (13) based on information obtained from the remote device(Bluetooth receiver or an infrared receiver) of the DRAM 10 through wireless or remote communications, paragraph [19]), the first frequency controller (14,10 on the left side)having a first output terminal for outputting a first output signal having a first frequency; a second frequency controller (14,10 on the right side)having a second output terminal for outputting a second output signal having a second frequency. Paragraphs [18-20].
Cheng et al disclose do not explicitly disclose that, wherein the light-emitting unit is coupled between a power supply terminal for receiving a power supply signal and the second output terminal of the composite frequency circuit and outputting a first output signal with a first flicker frequency, and outputting a second output signal with a second flicker frequency different from the first flicker frequency.
Nakagawa et al disclose in figures 1-3 that, wherein the light-emitting unit(10b) is coupled between a power supply terminal (power supply circuit (22)) for receiving a power supply signal (paragraph [30]) and a composite flicker frequency circuit (a first controller (20) and a second controller(20a) as shown in figures 6-8) for a first flicker frequency and a second flicker frequency and wherein the second flicker frequency different from the first flicker frequency. See paragraphs [18,44]and abstract of Nakagawa et al.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nakagawa et al into the mobile device of Cheng et al to provide different flicker frequency and sufficiently illuminating specific regions.
With respect to claims 13 and 15, Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, disclose the first flicker frequency and the second flicker frequency and wherein the second flicker frequency different from the first flicker frequency. See paragraphs [18,44]and abstract of Nakagawa et al.
Cheng et al as modified as claim 1 above, do not explicitly disclose wherein the second flicker frequency is lower than the first flicker frequency and wherein the first flicker frequency is lower than the second flicker frequency.
The limitations are not of patentable merits since they are directed to a manner of operating the control device which do not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 17, Cheng et al as modified as claim 12 above, disclose wherein the first flicker frequency controller and the second flicker frequency controller control the light- emitting devices to emit lights at the first and second flickering frequencies with respective intensities for illumination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844