DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by EP 3 851 674 A1 to Paul Knecht (Knecht).
In Reference to Claim 1
Knecht discloses:
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Diaphragm
Core)][AltContent: textbox (Clamping Surface)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Diaphragm Core)]
[AltContent: textbox (Clamping connection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
A metering pump comprising
(i) a diaphragm return device comprising tie rod (116) and
(ii) a diaphragm assembly comprising a mechanically driven elastic diaphragm (first membrane 42) having a flexible region between the clamping surface (see annotated Fig.3 above), which serves to seal the delivery chamber, at the periphery of the diaphragm and a diaphragm core (highlighted in annotated Fig.3 above) which serves for force transmission, pressure generation and for connection to the tie rod, characterized in that the diaphragm assembly and the tie rod 116 are connected by a hook coupling, or a plug-in coupling, or a clamping connection, see Annotated Fig.9 above discloses the connection is achieved by a coupling of parts [112, 130].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the diaphragm core is provided, in the direction of the tie rod 116, with a preferably cylindrical connection piece (120) which preferably bears two oppositely positioned tabs (5) at the end, the tie rod (3) is provided on the end side with an axial turned-out portion (6) for receiving the connection piece tabs (5), and the tie rod (3) is equipped with a coupling sleeve (7) which has a radial transverse-groove opening (8), wherein the opening serves for the plugging therethrough, and then rotation, of the connection piece tabs.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 2;
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein the diaphragm core is provided, in the direction of the tie rod, with a preferably cylindrical coupling member, wherein the coupling member has a groove, the tie rod is provided on the end side with a first-axial-opening for receiving the coupling member, and the tie rod has a second-radial-opening which is used for the fixing of the coupling member.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 9; and
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein the diaphragm core (2) is provided, in the direction of the tie rod (3), with a preferably cylindrical coupling member (12), the tie rod (3) is provided on the end side with a first-axial-opening (14) for receiving the coupling member (12), the tie rod has a transverse groove (25), and, for the fixing of the coupling member, a resiliently mounted ball (24) is introduced, preferably screwed, into a radial transverse bore (23) of the coupling member.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 13.
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein the diaphragm core is provided, in the direction of the tie rod, with a clamping connection piece which is able to be screwed in, a clamping groove is worked into the tie rod, and the end side of the tie rod is provided with a clamping connection which has a first clamping hub and optionally a second clamping hub, wherein the first clamping hub is worked into the tie rod itself, and the optional second clamping hub forms a separate part which is preferably fastened by screw fastening. as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 115. as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 15.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument:
“claim 1 recites “the diaphragm assembly and the tie rod are connected by a hook coupling or plug in coupling or a clamping connection… Knect fails to teach at least this element of claim 1.”
Examiner Response:
As shown in the annotated fig.1 discloses the diaphragm assembly with the tie rod.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746