DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the capacitor connected in parallel to an input-side switch of the N-path filter of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sandberg (US 3,081,434).
In regard to Claim 1:
Sandberg discloses, in Figure 1, an N-path filter comprising:
a first input-output terminal (10) and a second input-output terminal (21); and
N-number signal paths (X1(t) – Xn(t)) connected in parallel to each other (X1(t), X2(t), Xn(t) are in parallel) between the first input-output terminal (10) and the second input-output terminal (21), N being an integer not less than three (N = 3; X1(t), X2(t), Xn(t));
wherein each of the N-number signal paths (X1(t) – Xn(t)) includes:
a first modulator (11-13) connected to the first input-output terminal (10) to modulate an input signal (h1(t)) supplied from the first input-output terminal (10) or the second input-output terminal;
a second modulator (17-19) connected to the second input-output terminal (21) to modulate the input signal (h1(t)) in the same phase as that of the first modulator (Column 2: lines 30-35); and
a base filter (14-16) connected between the first modulator (11-13 respectively) and the second modulator (17-19 respectively);
the first modulator (11-13) and the second modulator (17-19) are operable to modulate the input signal (h1(t)) in a phase of one period defined by different phases of the different N-number signal paths (Column 2: lines 35-42); and
the base filter (14-16) includes a band pass filter including only passive elements (Column 5: lines 10-38).
In regard to Claim 9
Sandberg discloses, in Figure 1, the N-path filter according to Claim 1, wherein the base filter includes an inductor and a capacitor (Column 1: lines 36-45).
In regard to Claim 15:
Sandberg discloses, in Figure 1, the N-path filter according to Claim 1, wherein the base filter (14-16) is a band pass filter (Column 5: lines 10-38) including no series inductor connected to an input-side switch of the N-path (there is no inductor connected to the input side switch of the N-path).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandberg (US 3,081,434), in view of Ichihara (US 5,491,453).
In regard to Claim 2:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein the first modulator includes a first switch to switch between connection and non-connection between the first input-output terminal and the base filter in response to a driving signal; and the second modulator includes a second switch to switch between connection and non-connection between the second input-output terminal and the base filter at the same timing as that of the first switch in response to the driving signal.
Ichihara discloses, in Figure 3, wherein the first modulator includes a first switch (14-1) to switch between connection and non-connection between the first input-output terminal (11) and the base filter (13-1) in response to a driving signal (S1); and the second modulator includes a second switch (15-1) to switch between connection and non-connection between the second input-output terminal (12) and the base filter (13-1) at the same timing as that of the first switch (14-1) in response to the driving signal (S1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the switches taught by Ichihara with the modulators taught by Sandberg, in order to detect a plurality of tone signals, such as SAT signals which are used for the mobile radio telephone system of the AMPS type and which have extremely small frequency differences (Ishihara Column 10: lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandberg (US 3,081,434), in view of Nagulu et al. (US 11,349,186).
In regard to Claim 11:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein the base filter is an acoustic wave filter.
Nagulu discloses wherein the base filter is an acoustic wave filter (Column 8: lines 47-53).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the acoustic wave filter taught by Nagulu with the base filter taught by Sandberg, in order to reduce the clock frequency and design even higher linearity circulators through the use of high voltage technologies and high linearity switch design techniques (Nagulu Column 8: lines 53-57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 10, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paganelli (US 2014/0043177) discloses an apparatus for converting a continuous-time, continuously variable signal into a sampled and quantized signal, which includes an input line for accepting an input signal, multiple processing branches coupled to the input line, and an adder coupled to outputs of the plurality of processing branches. Each of the processing branches includes a sampling/quantization circuit and a digital bandpass interpolation filter having an input coupled to an output of the sampling/quantization circuit. The digital bandpass interpolation filters in different ones of the processing branches have frequency responses that are centered at different frequencies. The digital bandpass interpolation filter in at least one of the processing branches includes: (i) a quadrature downconverter, (ii) a first lowpass filter and a second lowpass filter, (iii) a first interpolator and a second interpolator, each having an input for inputting a variable interpolant value, and (iv) a quadrature upconverter.
Ross et al. (US 2018/0278441) discloses a multipath filter that includes multiple filter paths or circuit branches that are electrically connected in parallel with one another between an input terminal and an output terminal. The input terminal receives an input signal, and each filter circuit branch includes a double-in double-switched (DIDS) downconverter that downconverts the input signal with two different clock signal phases to generate a downconverted signal. Each filter circuit branch further includes a filter network that generates a filtered signal by filtering the downconverted signal and an upconverter that upconverts the filtered signal to generate a branch output signal. Additionally, the branch output signals from the filter circuit branches are combined to generate an output signal at the output terminal.
Rogers et al. (US 10,484,211) discloses a multipath bandpass filter that includes multiple filter circuit branches or paths that are electrically connected in parallel with one another between an input terminal and an output terminal. The input terminal receives an input signal, and each filter circuit branch includes a downconverter that downconverts the input signal to generate a downconverted signal, a filter network that generates a filtered signal by filtering the downconverted signal, and an upconverter that upconverts the filtered signal to generate a branch output signal. The filter network includes at least one low pass filter and at least one notch filter to provide a passband with in-band notches. The branch output signals from the filter circuit branches are combined to generate an output signal at the output terminal.
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896