DETAILED ACTION
Restriction Response to Applicant's Argument
Applicant's argument filed on 08/24/2026 is found to be persuasive. As such, the restriction mailed on 06/23/2026 is hereby withdrawn. All claims are being examined at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweitzer, III (US Publication No. 20090125158).
Regarding claim 1, Schweitzer teaches a method (i.e., method 700; fig. 7A) performed by protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A) of an electrical power system (i.e., electrical power system 100; fig. 1), the method comprising: receiving synchrophasor measurements (receive synchrophasor measurements from PMCU_401-PMCU_416; fig. 4) (i.e., receiving synchrophasor measurements; para. [0035]) that comprise time-synchronized measurements (time-synchronized measurements; para. [0110]) (fig. 4) of current or voltage at respective nodes (i.e., current or voltage at respective nodes; fig. 9) in the electrical power system (e.g., FIG. 9 depicts exemplary data structures 900 as processed by a topology processor (e.g., topology processor 570 of FIG. 5). A data structure 903 may represent a current branch-to-node data structure corresponding to the SEPSN depicted in FIG. 6; para. [0165]); based on the synchrophasor measurements, calculating (i.e., to calculate, for example, current and/or voltage phasors; para. [0037]) a measurement differential (i.e., measurement differential; para. [0180]) of each of one or more protection zones (i.e., protection branches; fig. 2B) defined according to a tabular data structure (i.e., tabular data structure 210; fig. 2B) that indicates which nodes in the electrical power system are inter-connected (i.e., merged; para. [0151]) and/or which nodes bound and/or belong to which protection zone (e.g., The current group(s) may be formed from a current node vector. In a current node vector, nodes may be grouped by whether they have been "merged" with one or more other nodes in the array; [0151]); and for each of the one or more protection zones, controlling protection of the protection zone against faults (i.e., against faults/inconsistencies; para. [0191]) (e.g., The alarm may identify the branch, phase, and/or the one or more measurements that produced the inconsistency. The flow may continue to step 1280; para. [0193]), based on the measurement differential calculated for that protection zone (e.g., At step 1270, a consistency alarm may be set indicating that one or more current measurements and/or phases of a current measurement fail to satisfy the consistency check of step 1260; para. [0193]) (fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 2, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein the tabular data structure indicates (i.e., indicates via node identifier True or False to show interconnection/merging status; para. [0131]) which nodes in the electrical power system are inter-connected (i.e. merged; fig. 6) (e.g., In the FIG. 6 example, the dynamic topology data 572 associated with the SEPSN 600 may indicate that branch 10 (BR6.10) has closed. Referring back to FIG. 2B, this may be indicated in the input data 210 structure as setting element 254 to TRUE and/or element 255 close status quality indicator to FALSE for the branch; para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 3, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 2; wherein, for at least a portion (910) (fig. 9) of the tabular data structure (900), a value (G.1) in the tabular data structure that is in a row of values (G.1A-G.1C) for a first node (N6.1) and that is in a column of values (G.1-G.11) for a second node (N6.11) indicates whether or not the first node is inter-connected with the second node (implicit, as seen in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein, for each of the one or more protection zones, calculating a measurement differential of the protection zone (i.e., the consistency check may comprise calculating a difference between each phase-voltage measurement of a particular node and/or node group to the median phase-voltage measurement calculated at step 1530; para. [0237]) comprises calculating the measurement differential as a sum of synchrophasor measurements for nodes (i.e., since method 1300 may operate under the axiom that the sum of currents reaching a node should be substantially zero (0) per Kirchhoff's Current Law (KCL); para. [0199]) that, according to the tabular data structure, are inter-connected and/or bound and/or belong to the protection zone (e.g., At step 1340, the scaled current measurements reaching the node may be summed and compared to a KCL threshold value per Equation 1.5; para. [0200]).
Regarding claim 5, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; further comprising processing the tabular data structure to determine (i.e., the nodes comprising the group can be determined by traversing node vector G.1B two (2) times; fig. 6), from the tabular data structure, which nodes in the electrical power system bound and/or belong to which protection zone (e.g., A voltage node vector may be generated using data structures substantially equivalent to data structures 903, 905, 910, and 940 depicted in FIG. 9; para. [0172]).
Regarding claim 6, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein said controlling comprises detecting occurrence or absence of a fault (fault/unbalanced events) (fig. 14) in a protection zone (branch(s)) based on whether or not the measurement differential calculated for the protection zone exceeds a threshold (i.e., If any of the phases exceeds its respective unbalance threshold, the flow may continue at step 1465; otherwise, the flow may continue to step 1470; para. [0223]).
Regarding claim 7, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein the tabular data structure further indicates (sending an alarm; para. [0229]), for each of the one or more protection zones (branches; para. [0229]) (fig. 4), one or more fault interrupting nodes (B1-B11 for nodes N1-N10; fig. 2A) that are: to be tripped upon occurrence of a fault (consistency, KCL, unbalance, etc.; para. [0229]) in the protection zone; and/or within, or at a boundary of, the protection zone (i.e., a local PMCU may use the alarm data to invoke one or more protective functions including, but not limited to: sending an alarm, tripping one or more circuit breakers, changing the configuration of one or more switches, removing and/or adding one or more loads, or the like; para. [0229]).
Regarding claim 8, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 7; wherein said controlling comprises, based on detecting a fault (consistency, KCL, unbalance, etc.; para. [0229]) in a protection zone (branches; para. [0229]) (fig. 4), triggering the tripping of the one or more fault interrupting nodes indicated by the tabular data structure for the protection zone (e.g., a local PMCU may use the alarm data to invoke one or more protective functions including, but not limited to: sending an alarm, tripping one or more circuit breakers, changing the configuration of one or more switches, removing and/or adding one or more loads, or the like; para. [0229]).
Regarding claim 9, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 8; wherein said triggering is performed also based on the detected fault remaining uncleared after a maximum duration of time allowable (maximum duration of time allowable to satisfy unbalance threshold; fig. 14) for a primary fault (fault/unbalanced events) (fig. 14) clearance node to clear the fault (e.g., At step 1465, a current unbalance alarm may be set on the current measurement. The alarm of step 1465 may be set for all phases of a multi-phase current (e.g., three (3)-phase current) and/or only the phases that fail to satisfy the unbalance threshold of steps 1450. The flow may then continue to step 1470; para. [0224]).
Regarding claim 10, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein the tabular data structure (900) (fig. 9) indicates which nodes bound and/or belong to which protection zone (implicit, as seen in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 10; wherein, for at least a portion (910) (fig. 9) of the tabular data structure (900), the tabular data structure includes rows for protection zones (branches) and columns for nodes, wherein a value (G.1) that is in a row of values (G.1A-G.1C) for a protection zone (branch) and that is in a column of values (G.1-G.11) for a node (N6.1) indicates whether or not the node bounds and/or belongs to the protection zone (implicit, as seen in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 12, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein said receiving, calculating, and controlling is performed for each of multiple power cycles (i.e., loops; para. [0143]) (e.g., At step 730, method 700 may loop through every branch defined in the current topology branch-to-node data array obtained at step 720. At step 740, the merged status of a branch may be determined; para. [0143]).
Regarding claim 13, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; further comprising configuring the tabular data structure based on input received from a user (i.e., that may be input by the user; para. [0037]) (fig. 1) of the protection control equipment indicating which nodes in the electrical power system are inter-connected (merged) and/or which nodes bound and/or belong to which protection zones (branches) (e.g., The DP 160 may comprise configuration data including one or more user-defined thresholds. These user-defined thresholds may be used in one or more monitoring functions of the DP 160. For example, the DP 160 may receive phase measurements and dynamic topology data from PMUs 150, 152, and 154. The DP 160 may use this data to evaluate and/or monitor the state of the SEPSN 100; para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein the synchrophasor measurements are current synchrophasor measurements (FIG. 7A is a flow diagram of a method for processing merged branches in a current branch-to-node data structure; para. [0012]) that comprise time-synchronized measurements (time-synchronized measurements; para. [0110]) (fig. 4) of current at respective nodes in the electrical power system (e.g., The PMCU_401-416 may provide measurement data and/or network topology data to the DP 420. This data may comprise timestamp information according to the 118 standard, or some other time alignment technique. The messages transmitted by the PCMU_401-416 may comprise time stamping information (e.g., may comprise synchrophasors transmitted according to the 118 standard); para. [0111]) (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Schweitzer teaches the method of claim 1; wherein the tabular data structure includes a table (table 903-905) (fig. 9) or matrix.
Regarding claim 16, Schweitzer teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (data storage module 454) (fig. 4) on which is stored instructions (implicit, as seen in fig. 4) that, when executed by one or more processors (420) of protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 17, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 18, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 19, Schweitzer teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16; the protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 20, Schweitzer teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16; the protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Regarding claim 21, Schweitzer teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16; the protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 6. {See rejection of claim 6}
Regarding claim 22, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 7. {See rejection of claim 7}
Regarding claim 23, Schweitzer teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22; the protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 8. {See rejection of claim 8}
Regarding claim 24, Schweitzer teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 23; the protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A), the one or more fault interrupting nodes (B1-B11 for nodes N1-N10; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 9. {See rejection of claim 9}
Regarding claim 25, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 10. {See rejection of claim 10}
Regarding claim 26, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 11. {See rejection of claim 11}
Regarding claim 27, Schweitzer teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16; the protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 12. {See rejection of claim 12}
Regarding claim 28, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 13. {See rejection of claim 13}
Regarding claim 29, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 14. {See rejection of claim 14}
Regarding claim 30, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 15. {See rejection of claim 15}
Regarding claim 31, Schweitzer teaches protection control equipment (protection control equipment IEDs; fig. 2A) of an electrical power system (i.e., electrical power system 100; fig. 1), the protection control equipment comprising: processing circuitry (processing circuitry 420; fig. 4) configured to: receive synchrophasor measurements (receive synchrophasor measurements from PMCU_401-PMCU_416; fig. 4), that indicates (i.e., indicates via node identifier True or False to show interconnection status/merging; para. [0131]) which nodes in the electrical power system are inter-connected (i.e. merged; fig. 6) and/or which nodes bound and/or belong to which protection zone (e.g., In the FIG. 6 example, the dynamic topology data 572 associated with the SEPSN 600 may indicate that branch 10 (BR6.10) has closed. Referring back to FIG. 2B, this may be indicated in the input data 210 structure as setting element 254 to TRUE and/or element 255 close status quality indicator to FALSE for the branch; para. [0132]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 31 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838