Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finan et al. (US 20200079164 A1) in view of Haug (EP 1593552 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Finan teaches a method for a camera monitor system (CMS), comprising: utilizing a camera mounted to a tractor to record an image of a trailer that is coupled to the tractor (Finan, Fig. 1, Cameras 104, 106; Para. 15, The vehicle 102 comprises a front facing image capturing device 106 and a rear facing image capturing device 104; Para. 17, The rear facing image capturing device 104 may also be mounted in any desired location on the vehicle for capturing an image looking in a generally backward direction from the vehicle 102); comparing an attribute of the trailer in the image to a reference attribute corresponding to a reference image (Finan, Para. 5, detecting an image of a trailer and comparing the image with predetermined reference images, a respective trailer inclination angle being assigned to the predetermined reference images. An inclination angle between a tractor and the trailer is automatically determined dependent upon the comparison of the detected image with the reference images and the reference image inclination angle; Para. 25, the processor 110 is programmed to process the digital image data representative of the image frames captured by the capturing devices 104, 106 and typically stored in a common memory 120 to determine respective distances of the rear facing image capturing device 104 and the front facing image capturing device 106 from a surface on which the vehicle lies); and based on the attribute and the reference attribute differing by more than a predefined threshold, determining that an area of the trailer is unevenly loaded (Finan, Para. 31, the processor 110 is configured to output a value indicative of the state of the towed trailer 200 responsive to one or both of: the distance of the rear image capturing device 104 being outside a first threshold, and the distance of the front image capturing device 106 being outside a second threshold. Thus, if the “z” coordinates change to outside a predefined threshold then it is determined that the trailer 200 has been overloaded or that the balance of weight from front to back is not proportionally correct and, therefore, the load weight is distributed incorrectly), and providing a notification to an occupant of the commercial vehicle in response thereto (Finan, Para. 32, The camera heights being determined during the monitoring of the rear and front view image capturing device provides a safe solution for the driver to know if the vehicle and trailer are safe to drive. The driver can then be alerted if the load has suddenly moved and perform a controlled manoeuvre to come to a stop and re-access the load being towed); wherein said comparing and providing a notification are performed by an electronic control unit of the CMS (Finan, Fig. 5, CPU 110; Para. 23, a processor 110 which is coupled to the rear 104 and front 106 image capturing devices is arranged to determine a weight distribution of the trailer 200 being towed by the vehicle. The processor 110 can comprise a processor normally tasked with parking assist and/or autonomous or semi-autonomous driving such as active cruise control or indeed any other vehicle function); and wherein said determining that an area of the trailer is unevenly loaded comprises determining whether the trailer is overloaded towards a front end of the trailer or a rear end of the trailer (Finan, Fig. 2-3; Para. 37-40, In FIGS. 2 and 3 the image capturing device distance from the ground will increase largely on the front and decrease largely on the back and vice-versa based on whether the trailer is overloaded at the front or rear).
Finan does not teach wherein the camera has a field of view that includes an area above a fifth wheel coupling of the tractor; and the attribute corresponds to a graphical indicator on a front side of the trailer.
However, the concept of using image patterns of a section as a graphical indicator captured by the camera device for angle information is well known in the art as also taught by Haug. Haug teaches this angle information can be determined particularly well by means of template correlation evaluation of significant points and / or lines and / or significant image patterns of a section captured by the camera device of the opposite wall of a vehicle of the team, in particular the wall opposite the towing vehicle. Thus, a pitch angle for known distance information can be determined simply by a vertical displacement of the line of the front trailer lower edge (Page 6, Para. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use image patterns being detected by a camera for angle determination (as taught by Haug) resulting in predictable result of determining load information based on the angle information.
In regard to claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 1 as stated above.
Response to Arguments
Response to amended claims is considered above in claim Rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 9-10 and 19-20, Haug (EP 1593552 A1) teaches this angle information can be determined particularly well by means of template correlation evaluation of significant points and / or lines and / or significant image patterns of a section captured by the camera device of the opposite wall of a vehicle of the team, in particular the wall opposite the towing vehicle. Thus, a pitch angle for known distance information can be determined simply by a vertical displacement of the line of the front trailer lower edge (Page 6, Para. 11) but does not teach claim limitations of claims 9-10 and 19-20. Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARMIN AKHTER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2689