DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The IDS filed 11/20/2024 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are “configuration information acquisition part,” “diagnostic rule holding part,” “diagnosis part,” “diagnostic result notification part,” “update part,” and “diagnostic rule editing reception part” in claims 1-18.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Here the specification appears to disclose the corresponding structure as processing modules executed by hardware and/or software. See paragraphs 37 and 38 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsubara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0026268), hereinafter referred to as Matsubara.
Regarding claim 1, Matsubara discloses a diagnosis apparatus, comprising: at least a processor; and a memory in circuit communication with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: a configuration information acquisition part that acquires configuration information that is configuration content of a target device (paragraph 45, acquires diagnosis target data); a diagnostic rule holding part that holds a diagnostic rule for diagnosing the configuration information (paragraph 46, rule-based diagnosis); a diagnosis part that diagnoses the target device on a basis of the diagnostic rule (paragraph 46, rule-based diagnosis); and a diagnostic result notification part that notifies a diagnosis result (paragraph 49, transmits diagnosis result), wherein the diagnostic rule holding part holds the diagnostic rule that diagnoses whether or not the configuration information is a secure configuration from a security perspective (paragraph 65, diagnoses as normal or abnormal).
Regarding claim 2, Matsubara discloses wherein the configuration information acquisition part acquires a recommendation configuration that is recommended from a security perspective, as default configuration content for a target device (paragraph 73, current criteria).
Regarding claim 3, Matsubara discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: an update part that updates a configuration of a target device on a basis of the diagnosis result and the diagnostic rule held in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 82, modification of control algorithm).
Regarding claim 4, Matsubara discloses wherein the diagnostic rule holding part holds the diagnostic rule including a list of checkpoints (paragraph 64, rule-based diagnosis criteria).
Regarding claim 5, Matsubara discloses wherein the update part updates the configuration of the target device in response to an update of the diagnostic rule held in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 79, rule-based criteria updated).
Regarding claim 6, Matsubara discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: a diagnostic rule editing reception part that edits the diagnostic rule in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 79, rule-based criteria updated).
Regarding claim 7, Matsubara discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: an update part that updates a configuration of a target device on a basis of the diagnosis result and the diagnostic rule held in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 82, modification of control algorithm).
Regarding claim 8, Matsubara discloses wherein the diagnostic rule holding part holds the diagnostic rule including a list of checkpoints (paragraph 64, rule-based diagnosis criteria).
Regarding claim 9, Matsubara discloses wherein the diagnostic rule holding part holds the diagnostic rule including a list of checkpoints (paragraph 64, rule-based diagnosis criteria).
Regarding claim 10, Matsubara discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: a diagnostic rule editing reception part that edits the diagnostic rule in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 79, rule-based criteria updated).
Regarding claim 11, Matsubara discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: a diagnostic rule editing reception part that edits the diagnostic rule in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 79, rule-based criteria updated).
Regarding claim 12, Matsubara discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement: a diagnostic rule editing reception part that edits the diagnostic rule in the diagnostic rule holding part (paragraph 79, rule-based criteria updated).
Regarding claim 13, Matsubara discloses a line exchanger comprising: the diagnosis apparatus (paragraph 25, controller).
Regarding claim 15, Matsubara discloses a line exchanger comprising: the diagnosis apparatus (paragraph 25, controller).
Regarding claim 16, Matsubara discloses a line exchanger comprising: the diagnosis apparatus (paragraph 25, controller).
Regarding claim 17, Matsubara discloses a line exchanger comprising: the diagnosis apparatus (paragraph 25, controller).
Regarding claim 18, Matsubara discloses a line exchanger comprising: the diagnosis apparatus (paragraph 25, controller).
Regarding claim 19, Matsubara discloses a diagnostic method executed by a computer, comprising: acquiring configuration information that is configuration content of a target device (paragraph 45, acquires diagnosis target data); acquiring a diagnostic rule for diagnosing the configuration information (paragraph 46, rule-based diagnosis), the diagnostic rule diagnosing whether or not the configuration information is a secure configuration from a security perspective (paragraph 65, diagnoses as normal or abnormal); diagnosing the target device on a basis of the diagnostic rule (paragraph 46, rule-based diagnosis); and notifying a diagnosis result (paragraph 49, transmits diagnosis result).
Regarding claim 20, Matsubara discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute processings comprising: acquiring configuration information that is configuration content of a target device (paragraph 45, acquires diagnosis target data); acquiring a diagnostic rule for diagnosing the configuration information (paragraph 46, rule-based diagnosis), the diagnostic rule diagnosing whether or not the configuration information is a secure configuration from a security perspective (paragraph 65, diagnoses as normal or abnormal); diagnosing the target device on a basis of the diagnostic rule (paragraph 46, rule-based diagnosis); and notifying a diagnosis result (paragraph 49, transmits diagnosis result).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubara in view of Khandelwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0413711), hereinafter referred to as Khandelwal.
Matsubara disclosed techniques for rule-based diagnosis for detecting abnormalities of a target device. In an analogous art, Khandelwal disclosed techniques for detecting malware on a target device. Both systems are directed toward device security via anomaly detection.
Regarding claim 14, Matsubara does not explicitly state wherein the diagnostic rule holding part comprised in the diagnosis apparatus holds a diagnostic rule regarding unauthorized extension registration. However, examining extensions in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Khandelwal. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Matsubara by adding the ability that the diagnostic rule holding part comprised in the diagnosis apparatus holds a diagnostic rule regarding unauthorized extension registration as provided by Khandelwal (see paragraph 128, scan uses malicious file extensions data structure). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that analyzing a target device in this way would assist in detecting attacks against the device’s control code (see Khandelwal, paragraph 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaluza et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0239682) disclosed techniques for detecting anomalies in configuration parameters.
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493