DETAILED ACTION
Filing Receipt and Priority
The filing receipt mailed 02/11/2025 states that the instant application is a continuation of 17/232,383, filed 04/16/2021, which is a continuation 15/343,570, filed 11/04/2016, which claims benefit of provisional applications 62/341,189, filed 05/25/2016, 62/296,143, filed 02/17/2026, and 62/250,575 filed 11/04/2015.
The provisional application 62/250,575 supports the instant claims. Therefore the effective filing date is 11/04/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted 11/20/2024 and 10/23/2026 have been considered.
Objection
Claims 17 states “effective amount eliminates is an amount that eliminates”.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “A method of treating acute myeloid leukemia in a human subject, comprising….”.
The term “human subject” is not defined within the specification or claim. The broadest reasonable interpretation is any and all human subjects, including those who do not have the condition. Without an explicit definition and because the claim also does not make the subject explicit, the claim is indefinite as one of ordinary skill does not know the metes and bounds of the claim.
This rejection can be overcome if applicant amends in the term “in need thereof” to describe “human subject” or if language stating that the “human subject” has acute myeloid leukemia is added.
As claims 2-20 are dependent on claim 1, they are also rejected.
Claim 20 states “The method of claim 1, wherein the treatment achieves a normal level of cell proliferation.” The term “normal level of cell proliferation” is indefinite because “normal” is not defined within the specification or claim and the specification does not teach how one of ordinary skill in the art would determine which levels of cell proliferation are normal or not normal. Essentially, “normal” is a relative term and the claim is indefinite.
Further, “cell proliferation” is indefinite because the type of cell is not specified. While the claim is dependent upon claim 1, which is drawn to a method of treating acute myeloid leukemia, the specification, regarding cell proliferation, only states it In regards to kinases (p. 2, l. 8), BTK pathways (p. 3, l. 4), and “abnormal cell proliferation” (p. 41, l. 23). Critically, the specification on p. 3 states “BTK plays important roles in the development, differentiation, activation and proliferation of B cells, as well as their antibody and cytokine generation.”
As the claim does not specify which cell type is returned to “normal” proliferation, the claim is indefinite as one of ordinary skill would not know the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodous (WO2012/170976, of the record) in view of Rushworth (Blood, 2014, Vol. 123, No 8).
Hodous on p. 170, l. 13-21 teaches compound A225, shown below, and its synthesis.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Compound A225 has the IUPAC name 1-(4-(((6-amino-5-(4-phenoxyphenyl)pyrimidin-4-yl)amino)methyl)-4-fluoropiperidin-1-yl)prop-2-en-1-one. This is the same compound as claimed in the method of instant claim 1.
Hodous on p. 235, Table 1 teaches compound A225’s efficacy as a BTK inhibitor, which is listed as “A” which is indicated as “<100nM” (p. 228, l. 27). Hodous on p. 24 l. 30-24 contemplates treatment of leukemia. Further, Hodous on p. 41, l. 27- p. 42, l. 35 contemplates cancers to be treated, including acute myeloid leukemia.
Regarding claim 3, Hodous on p. 23, l. 7- p. 24, l. 3 contemplates pharmaceutically acceptable salts.
Regarding claims 4-5, and 15, Hodous on p. 24, l. 22-26 contemplates a pharmaceutical composition designed for oral administration. Pharmaceutical carriers are discussed on p. 25, l. 5-8.
Regarding claims 6-13 and claims 18-19, Hodous on p. 30, l. 4-12 contemplates doses and dose concentrations per kilogram bodyweight.
Regarding claim 14, Hodous on p. 28, l. 7-19 contemplates pharmaceutical compositions and includes solid preparations including soft capsules (l. 18).
Regarding claim 16, Hodous on p. 30, l. 6-7 discusses single daily dosage. However, Hodous on the same page, l. 11-12 states “This dosage regimen may be adjusted to provide the optimal therapeutic response.” Therefore, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to modify the single daily dose to be administered twice daily. Additionally, this modification, even without the teaching of Hodous, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as modifying doses and dose forms are within the skillset of one of ordinary skill.
Regarding claim 17, Hodous on p. 3, l. 21-23 states “What is needed, therefore, are irreversible kinase inhibitors that covalently bind to their target polypeptide(s) without (substantially) binding to off-target polypeptides and, thereby, exerting undesirable off-target effects.” Hodous continues on the same page stating “The present invention provides a series of novel pyrimidine and pyridine kinase inhibitors. In some embodiments said kinase inhibitors are irreversible inhibitors of tyrosine kinases. In preferred embodiments, said irreversible kinase inhibitors inhibit BTK. While it is not intended that the compounds described by the present invention be limited to any specific mechanism of action, in some embodiments said irreversible kinase inhibitors exert a physiological effect by forming a covalent bond with Cys 481 in BTK.”
Regarding claim 20, in addition to the discussion of the indefinite rejection above, the effect of “achieves a normal level of cell proliferation” is a result of administering the compound A225. Essentially, the limitation is an intrinsic property of administering A225. Therefore, the claim is obvious in view of the teachings of Hodous.
Where Hodous contemplates acute myeloid leukemia, the art in Rushworth further affirms the decision for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the A225 compound to treat acute myeloid leukemia as Rushworth teaches that Bruton’s tyrosine kinase (BTK) is a therapeutic target in acute myeloid leukemia (title). Rushworth in sec. Introduction states “Tyrosine kinases (TK) are attractive druggable targets in cancer. In [acute myeloid leukemia], TK-activating mutations occur in 50% of patients. Furthermore TK-dependent cell survival pathways are dysregulated in most cases. Bruton’s TK (BTK) has been identified as functionally important in malignant hematopoietic cells.” Rushworth on p. 1231, Figure 2 gives data showing BTK inhibition in AML cells via administration of the compound ibrutinib. Rushworth on p. 1232, Figure 3 provides evidence that ibrutinib inhibits AML proliferation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to administer compound A225 to treat AML as Hodous teaches that compound A225 has efficacy as a BTK inhibitor and Rushworth teaches BTK inhibition affects AML cell proliferation.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to have taken the teachings of Hodous to arrive at the instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would further find it obvious to combine Hodous with Rushworth to arrive at the instant claims. One of ordinary skill would find motivation to make the combination as a Rushworth teaches BTK inhibition has a direct effect on AML cell proliferation.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent 9,073,947
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,073,947 in view of Hodous (cited above) and Rushworth (cited above).
U.S. Patent 9,580,449
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,580,449 in view of Hodous (cited above) and Rushworth (cited above).
U.S. Patent 10,413,562
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,413,562 in view of Hodous (cited above) and Rushworth (cited above).
The reference patents above are drawn to compounds which include the A225 compound taught by Hodous. Reference claim 6 of U.S. Patent ‘449 actually lists compound A225. Where the patented claims teach the genus, Hodous teaches the specific compound. Rushworth then teaches reasoning to apply the compound to treat AML.
U.S. Patent 11,491,153
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 10,413,562 in view of Hodous (cited above) and Rushworth (cited above).
The reference claims are drawn to a method of treating a myeloproliferative disorder, which includes acute myeloid leukemia. Compound A225 is included in the reference method 1, l. 4-6. Hodous and Rushworth teach administration of compound A225 to treat acute myeloid leukemia, which is a specific species within the genus of myeloproliferative disorders.
Examiner’s Comments
Additional discussion regarding inhibiting BTK to treat AML is found in Pillinger (Scientific Reports, 5:12949, 2015).
A non-statutory double patenting rejection was considered over U.S. Patent 10,016,448 in view of Hodous and Rushworth above. The rejection was not made as the claims of the reference patent ‘448 are drawn to a method of rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, and other inflammatory diseases (see reference claim) which would be drawn to a different patient population.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LUISALBERTO GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1624