DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2023018274. Note that the teachings of Kobayashi et al. are also used in replacement for the teachings of Mihaly et al. and Sethu et al. in additional claims, as discussed below, and thus the arguments pertaining to Mihaly et al. and Sethu et al. are moot.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant makes the following arguments:
Claim 1 is not merely directed to ordering data based on priority, but rather is limited to a particular apparatus with a user terminal and a transceiver.
Claims 2-4 further confirm that the claimed priority is not merely generic ranking of information, but rather are specific priority relationships tied to automated driving safety.
Claims 5-7 are directed to prioritizing specific information, not generic data organization.
Claim 8 is directed to an apparatus that processes automated driving information.
Claims 9-12 further limit claim 8 to specific categories of information.
Claims 13-15 are directed to priority-based transmission of specific information, not an abstract idea.
Ohashi merely teaches control arbitration within a vehicle system, whereas claim 8 relates to an HMI and a communication framework between system and occupant.
Ohashi merely stores application priority level information, rather than priority information of automated driving-related information.
Ohashi merely arbitrates application requests and outputs a motion request to an actuator, rather than processing a plurality of different types of information received from an automated driving system.
Iijima fails to overcome the deficiencies discussed above because Iijima’s operating information of machines is not the claimed automated driving-related information.
The application priority table of Ohashi is improperly mapped to the claimed information types, because Ohashi is concerned with priority levels of vehicle applications, rather than the claimed first, second, and third type automated driving-related information.
Regarding argument A: While the applicant argues that the prioritization is performed by a particular apparatus, the claim merely additionally recites a transceiver and a processor. These are generic computer components which are, respectively, used for the insignificant pre-solution activity of data gathering and for applying the abstract idea of prioritizing data on a computer.
[Examiner’s Note: Though the applicant has not made an argument regarding the rejection of claim 16 under 35 USC 101, it should be noted that the same response to argument given above applies to the rejection of claim 16.]
Regarding argument B: The type of information being prioritized is irrelevant to whether or not the prioritization of said information is an abstract process. The claims are directed merely towards defining the types of data being prioritized, and further defining priority levels for said types of data.
Regarding argument C: The type of information being prioritized is irrelevant to whether or not the prioritization of said information is an abstract process. The claims are directed merely towards defining the types of data being prioritized, and further defining priority levels for said types of data.
Regarding argument D: As discussed above, the additional elements are recited at so high a level of generality as to amount to no more than insignificant post-solution activity and instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.
Regarding argument E: The type of information being prioritized is irrelevant to whether or not the prioritization of said information is an abstract process. The claims are directed merely towards defining the types of data being prioritized, and further defining priority levels for said types of data.
Regarding argument F: The type of information being prioritized is irrelevant to whether or not the prioritization of said information is an abstract process. The claims are directed merely towards defining the types of data being prioritized, and further defining priority levels for said types of data.
Regarding argument G: The applicant’s statement that the claimed device of claim 8 relates to a human-machine interface is erroneous. While claim 1 recites the use of a user terminal, claim 8 merely recites a generic processor and communication with an “automated driving system”, with no indication of interface with a human occupant.
Regarding argument H: The broadest reasonable interpretation of “information” would be inclusive of automated driving functions requesting to perform particular operations such as those in Fig. 1 below.
Regarding argument I: As discussed above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “information” is inclusive of automated driving functions requesting to perform particular operations.
Regarding argument J: As discussed above, the automated driving-related information is taught by Ohashi. The teachings of Iijima are with respect to prioritizing the transmission order of such information based on optimizing a limited bandwidth.
Regarding argument K: As discussed above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “information” is inclusive of automated driving functions requesting to perform particular operations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an apparatus, an apparatus, and a method. (Step 1: Yes.) Apparatus claim 1 has been selected for further analysis.
The claim recites the following limitations (bolded text corresponds to the abstract idea):
An apparatus configured to transmit and/or receive and process automated driving related information, the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver; and
a processor configured to transmit and/or receive the automated driving related information with a user terminal through the transceiver and process the automated driving related information,
wherein the processor is configured to obtain information on a priority of the automated driving related information to be transmitted to the user terminal, and
wherein in a case in which the processor transmits a plurality of different types of automated driving related information, the processor is configured to transmit the plurality of the different types of the automated driving related information to the user terminal according to the obtained information on the priority.
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim involves a mental process of ordering a plurality of obtained data sets based on priority values associated with said data sets. This is a process which can be performed in the human mind; therefore, the claim falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. (Step 2A-Prong 1: Yes. The claim is abstract.)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application; limitations that are not indicative of integration include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h). The claim recites a transceiver, a processor, and a user terminal; these elements are recited at so high a level of generality as to amount to no more than instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components. The claim additionally recites transmission of a plurality of different types of automated driving related information; however, this is recited at so high a level of generality as to amount to no more than the insignificant post-solution activity of signal transmission. (Step 2A-Prong 2: No. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application.)
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are all recited at so high a level of generality as to be well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art. (Step 2B: No. The claims do not provide significantly more.) Therefore, claim 1 (and the similar claim 16) is not patent eligible.
Independent claim 8 recites many of the same elements as independent claim 1, replacing the user terminal with an automated driving system and the transmission step with a processing step. The former merely links the abstract idea with the field of use of autonomous vehicles, and the latter is itself abstract. Therefore, claim 8 is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-7 and 9-15 further define the abstract idea, and are thus abstract for the same reasons. The claims do not recite any additional elements; therefore, claims 2-7 and 9-15 are not patent eligible.
Claim 18 further defines the abstract idea, and additionally introduces a step of outputting information and receiving a user response. However, the user response is recited at so high a level of generality as to amount to no more than the insignificant post-solution activity of transmitting and receiving signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohashi et al. (US 20220219711).
Claim 8.
Ohashi et al. teaches:
An apparatus configured to transmit and/or receive and process automated driving related information
(Ohashi – Abstract) “The processor is configured to receive, from the applications, application requests and identifiers that identify the respective applications.”
a transceiver
(Ohashi – Abstract) “The processor is configured to receive… The processor is configured to output a request”
a processor configured to transmit and/or receive the automated driving related information to or from an automated driving system through the transceiver and process the received automated driving related information
(Ohashi – Abstract) “The processor is configured to receive, from the applications, application requests and identifiers that identify the respective applications.”
wherein the processor is configured to obtain information on a priority of the automated driving related information to be received from the automated driving system
(Ohashi – Abstract) “a memory configured to store information related to priority levels of a plurality of applications that implements driving assistance functions and a processor.”
wherein based on receiving or processing a plurality of different types of automated driving related information from the automated driving system, the processor is configured to process the plurality of the different types of the automated driving related information according to the obtained information on the priority
(Ohashi – Abstract) “information related to priority levels of a plurality of applications… The processor is configured to arbitrate a plurality of the application requests based on the information and the identifiers. The processor is configured to output a request to an actuator based on a result of arbitration of the application requests.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. in view of Iijima (US 20180270841) in view of Kobayashi et al.
Claim 1.
Ohashi et al. teaches:
An apparatus configured to transmit and/or receive and process automated driving related information
(Ohashi – Abstract) “The processor is configured to receive, from the applications, application requests and identifiers that identify the respective applications.”
a transceiver
(Ohashi – Abstract) “The processor is configured to receive… The processor is configured to output a request”
a processor configured to transmit and/or receive the automated driving related information
(Ohashi – Abstract) “The processor is configured to receive, from the applications, application requests and identifiers that identify the respective applications.”
wherein the processor is configured to obtain information on a priority of the automated driving related information
(Ohashi – Abstract) “a memory configured to store information related to priority levels of a plurality of applications that implements driving assistance functions and a processor.”
While Ohashi et al. teaches determining an output based on the priority values of automated driving related information, Ohashi et al. does not explicitly teach a transmission priority; however, Iijima teaches:
a processor configured to transmit and/or receive the automated driving related information with a user terminal through the transceiver and process the automated driving related information
(Iijima – Abstract) “a priority determination unit that determines priority of transmission in accordance with a condition set in advance, based on types and combinations of the operating information and the behavior information”
wherein the processor is configured to obtain information on a priority of the automated driving related information to be transmitted to the user terminal
(Iijima – Abstract) “a priority determination unit that determines priority of transmission in accordance with a condition set in advance, based on types and combinations of the operating information and the behavior information”
wherein in a case in which the processor transmits a plurality of different types of automated driving related information, the processor is configured to transmit the plurality of the different types of the automated driving related information to the user terminal according to the obtained information on the priority
(Iijima – Abstract) “a bandwidth control unit that controls allocation of communication bandwidth for transmitting the operating information and the behavior information, based on a usage condition of communication bandwidth and the priority.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings, modifying the vehicle control device of Ohashi et al. with the transmission control system of Iijima. Both Ohashi et al. and Iijima are directed towards systems which output an instruction or instructions based on a priority level; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that they could be combined with predictable results (i.e., a vehicle control device which receives requests with a priority level and outputs instructions based on the priority levels). One would have been motivated to do this in order to use the available communication bandwidth efficiently in transmitting instructions to the components (Iijima – [0007]).
Neither Ohashi et al. nor Iijima explicitly teaches a user terminal; however, Kobayashi et al. teaches:
transmit and/or receive the automated driving related information with a user terminal
(Kobayashi – [0195]) “The notification unit 228 can present the determination result of the determination unit 226 to the driver or the like in the vehicle.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the vehicle control device of Ohashi et al. with the notification unit of Kobayashi et al. Both Ohashi et al. and Kobayashi et al. are directed toward controlling a vehicle in an autonomous mode; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the two teachings could be combined with predictable results (i.e., a vehicle control system which prioritizes the processing of particular autonomous control requests and waits for a user response in the event of a handover situation). One would have been motivated to do this in order to prevent the vehicle from being returned to manual control by a driver who is not currently capable of driving adequately.
Claim 2.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 below, Ohashi et al. further teaches:
Figure 1: A priority level table according to Ohashi et al. (originally Ohashi Fig. 2)
a first type information including Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) execution notification or urgency safety information
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the urgency safety information corresponds to the collision avoidance assistance and/or the lane deviation warning applications.
a second type information including Minimal Risk Condition (MRC) arrival or manual driving request through user fallback
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the manual driving request through user fallback corresponds to the application of “Autonomous Driving (Level 3)”, as discussed in greater detail with respect to Kobayashi et al. below.
a third type information including configuration of driving related control or information requiring a user approval
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the configuration of driving related control corresponds to the automatic parking and/or steering wheel operation guidance applications.
Ohashi et al. does not explicitly teach a type of information including a manual driving request through user fallback; however, Kobayashi et al. teaches:
a second type information including Minimal Risk Condition (MRC) arrival or manual driving request through user fallback
(Kobayashi – [0072]) “in the range of the definition of the automatic driving level 3 of the SAE, it is expected that a driver appropriately performs a response such as a driving operation in response to a request or the like from the vehicle control system side”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the teachings of Kobayashi et al. regarding level 3 autonomous travel would be applicable to the level 3 autonomous travel taught by Ohashi et al.
Claim 3.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, Mihaly et al., and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein a priority of the first type information is set higher than a priority of the second type information, and wherein the priority of the second type information is set higher than a priority of the third type information
As shown in Fig. 1 above, the first type information (collision avoidance assistance) has a higher priority level than the second type information (level 3 autonomous driving), and the second type information has a higher priority level than the third type information (automatic parking).
Claim 4.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, Mihaly et al., and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein a priority of the second type information is set higher than a priority of the first type information, and wherein the priority of the first type information is set higher than a priority of the third type information
As shown in Fig. 1 above, the second type information (level 3 autonomous driving) has a higher priority level than the first type information (lane deviation warning), and the first type information has a higher priority level than the third type information (steering wheel operation guidance).
Claim 5.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to obtain information on a priority of the automated driving related information to be received
(Ohashi – Abstract) “a memory configured to store information related to priority levels of a plurality of applications that implements driving assistance functions and a processor.”
wherein based on receiving or processing a plurality of different types of automated driving related information
(Ohashi – Abstract) “information related to priority levels of a plurality of applications… The processor is configured to arbitrate a plurality of the application requests based on the information and the identifiers. The processor is configured to output a request to an actuator based on a result of arbitration of the application requests.”
Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
the user terminal
(Kobayashi – [0195]) “The notification unit 228 can present the determination result of the determination unit 226 to the driver or the like in the vehicle.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim 6.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Ohashi et al. further teaches:
a fourth type information notifying that a user is unable to perform Dynamic Driving Task (DDT) fallback
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the DDT fallback notification corresponds to the autonomous driving (level 3) application, as discussed in further detail with respect to Kobayashi et al. below.
a fifth type information indicating a
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the configuration of driving related control corresponds to the automatic parking and/or steering wheel operation guidance applications.
Ohashi et al. does not explicitly teach DDT fallback; however, Kobayashi et al. teaches:
a fourth type information notifying that a user is unable to perform Dynamic Driving Task (DDT) fallback
(Kobayashi – [0292]) “if the return response of the driver to the return request is not appropriately and promptly performed, it is not recognized that the driver has returned to a state where the driver can perform manual driving by the handover completion required point, and the vehicle control system 100 inevitably activates the MRM.”
a fifth type information indicating a user’s response
(Kobayashi – [0082, 0083]) “the vehicle control system determines whether the driving mode can be switched (Step S15). Then, the vehicle control system proceeds to the processing of Step S 16 when determining that the driving mode can be switched… Next, the vehicle control system switches the driving mode (Step S16).”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 2.
Claim 7.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above. Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein a priority of the fourth type information is set higher than a priority of the fifth type information
As shown in Fig. 1 above, the fourth type information (level 3 autonomous driving) has a higher priority level than the fifth type information (automatic parking).
Claim 16.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 17.
The combination of Ohashi et al., Iijima, and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein the plurality of different types of automated driving related information includes second type information including Minimal Risk Condition (MRC) arrival or manual driving request through user fallback
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the manual driving request through user fallback corresponds to the application of “Autonomous Driving (Level 3)”, as discussed in greater detail with respect to Kobayashi et al. below.
Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
wherein the plurality of different types of automated driving related information includes second type information including Minimal Risk Condition (MRC) arrival or manual driving request through user fallback
(Kobayashi – [0072]) “in the range of the definition of the automatic driving level 3 of the SAE, it is expected that a driver appropriately performs a response such as a driving operation in response to a request or the like from the vehicle control system side”
wherein the processor is configured to preferentially transmit the second type information to the user terminal according to the obtained information on the priority and wait for a user response from the user terminal
(Kobayashi – [0081]) “the monitoring is executed in order to acquire teacher data for determining… whether the driver appropriately performs the return action in response to the notification or the alarm, including the return request”
wherein, upon receiving the user response in a timely manner, the processor is configured to fall back to a user to induce MRC arrival or manual driving
(Kobayashi – [0082, 0083]) “the vehicle control system determines whether the driving mode can be switched (Step S15). Then, the vehicle control system proceeds to the processing of Step S 16 when determining that the driving mode can be switched… Next, the vehicle control system switches the driving mode (Step S16).”
wherein, upon failing to receive the user response in a timely manner, the processor is configured to execute a Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) and transmit an MRM execution notification to the user terminal
(Kobayashi – [0292]) “if the return response of the driver to the return request is not appropriately and promptly performed, it is not recognized that the driver has returned to a state where the driver can perform manual driving by the handover completion required point, and the vehicle control system 100 inevitably activates the MRM.”
Claim(s) 9-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al.
Claim 9.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 10.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim 11.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 12.
The combination of Ohashi et al. and Kobayashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein a priority of the second type information is set higher than a priority of the third type information, and wherein the priority of the third type information is set higher than a priority of the first type information
As shown in Fig. 1 above, the second type information (level 3 autonomous driving) has a higher priority level than the third type information (automatic parking), and the third type information has a higher priority level than the first type information (lane deviation warning).
Claim 18.
Ohashi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Ohashi et al. further teaches:
wherein the plurality of different types of automated driving related information includes second type information including Minimal Risk Condition (MRC) arrival or manual driving request through user fallback and third type information including configuration of driving related control or information requiring a user approval
based on the obtained information on the priority, the processor is configured to
With respect to Fig. 1 above, the manual driving request through user fallback corresponds to the application of “Autonomous Driving (Level 3)”, as discussed in greater detail with respect to Sethu et al. below. With respect to Fig. 1 above, the configuration of driving related control corresponds to the automatic parking and/or steering wheel operation guidance applications.
Ohashi et al. does not explicitly teach displaying information; however, Kobayashi et al. further teaches:
second type information including Minimal Risk Condition (MRC) arrival or manual driving request through user fallback
(Kobayashi – [0072]) “in the range of the definition of the automatic driving level 3 of the SAE, it is expected that a driver appropriately performs a response such as a driving operation in response to a request or the like from the vehicle control system side”
wherein the processor is configured to receive a user response to the second type information for transmission to the automated driving system
(Kobayashi – [0081]) “the monitoring is executed in order to acquire teacher data for determining… whether the driver appropriately performs the return action in response to the notification or the alarm, including the return request”
the processor is configured to output or display
(Kobayashi – [0195]) “The notification unit 228 can present the determination result of the determination unit 226 to the driver or the like in the vehicle.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Iijima.
Claim 13.
While Ohashi et al. teaches determining an output based on the priority values of automated driving related information, Ohashi et al. does not explicitly teach a transmission priority; however, Iijima teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to obtain information on a priority of the automated driving related information to be transmitted to the automated driving system
(Iijima – Abstract) “a priority determination unit that determines priority of transmission in accordance with a condition set in advance, based on types and combinations of the operating information and the behavior information”
wherein in a case in which the processor transmits a plurality of different types of automated driving related information, the processor is configured to transmit the plurality of the different types of the automated driving related information to the automated driving system according to the obtained information on the priority
(Iijima – Abstract) “a priority determination unit that determines priority of transmission in accordance with a condition set in advance, based on types and combinations of the operating information and the behavior information”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ohashi et al. and Iijima as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al.
Claim 14.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim 15.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 7.
Conclusion
/S.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669