DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Reference JP H1186001 A is a general background reference covering: To provide an image formation device that can be easily operated even by a beginner without anxiety.
SOLUTION: The image formation device has an APS function for detecting the size of a document, an ADS function for detecting the density of the document, and an ACS function for detecting the color of the document and on the initial screen of an operaton part 40, a density setting display for setting the density of an image to be printed, a color setting display for setting the color of the image to be formed, a size setting display for setting the size of the form where the image is formed, and an automatic mode display for placing all the APS, ACS, and ADS functions in operation are displayed. When this automatic mode display is pressed, a main control part 20 performs control for erasing the density setting display, color setting display, and size setting display from the display screen of an operation part, so that the operator can recognize that the automatic mode has been set. (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hanada et al. (Hanada) (US 2017/0070624 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hanada discloses an image reading device comprising: an image reader which reads an image in accordance with setting contents of a plurality setting items (e.g., FIG. 3, the MFP 100 includes a reading part 1. The reading part 1 includes a manuscript transport part 7 and an image reading part 8, paragraph 63);
an operation receiver (e.g., operation panel 200, figure 1);
a display (e.g., a panel display part 202 (corresponding to the display input part) , figure 1); and
a controller, wherein the controller: automatically sets, when a first operation which instructs that setting contents of at least one setting item among the setting contents of the plurality of setting items be automatically set is performed on the operation receiver, the setting contents of the at least one setting item (e.g., The panel control part 201 includes a panel CPU 211 and a panel memory part 212 as a storage part 15 of the display input device 10. The panel CPU 211 controls an operation of parts included in the operation panel 200, and recognizes contents of settings, selections, operations and instructions that are made on the operation panel 200, paragraph 49);
allows, when a second operation to manually set the setting contents of the automatically set setting item is performed on the operation receiver, the setting contents of the automatically set setting item to be changed by manual setting (e.g., Alternatively, the image reading part 8, reads the manuscript D that is mounted on a mounted-manuscript reading glass 1b and creates image data of the manuscript D (doing mounted-manuscript reading), paragraph 63); and
causes, when the setting contents of the automatically set setting item are changed by the manual setting, the display to notify that the setting contents of the automatically set setting item are changed by the manual setting (e.g., in addition, the MFP 100 includes a print part 2. The print part 2 includes a sheet feeding part 3, a conveyance part 4, an image forming part 5 and a fixing part 6. Then, the main control part 110, when recognizes an instruction for executing a copy job is issued from the display input device 10, causes the print part 2 to make a print on a sheet P pursuant to the image data that has been read by the image reading part 8 via the reading part 1 (copy function). Alternatively, the printing part 2 prints an image based on the print data received by the main body side communication part 120 on the paper P (printer function), paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 2, Hanada discloses wherein the controller changes, when automatic setting is performed for the setting contents of the at least one setting item, a display form of an object to be operated indicating the automatically set setting item (e.g., the main control part 110, when recognizes an instruction for executing a copy job is issued from the display input device 10, causes the print part 2 to make a print on a sheet P pursuant to the image data that has been read by the image reading part 8 via the reading part 1 (copy function), paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 3, Hanada discloses wherein: the operation receiver comprises a touch panel display; and when a third operation, which instructs that the manual setting be started for an object to be operated indicating the automatically set setting item, is performed on the touch panel display, the controller allows the second operation to be received on the touch panel display (e.g., Based on such an output of the terminal touch panel 304 that receives an operation on the software key, the terminal control part 301 recognizes the setting input, such as a job by the user or the work flow WF, regarding the MFP 100. In other words, the application AP, the terminal display part 303, and the terminal touch panel part 304 make it possible to configure settings and issue operation instructions to the MFP 10, which are equivalent to those achieved by the operation panel 200, paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 4, Hanada discloses wherein the controller stores the setting contents of the manually set setting item, and causes the setting contents of the at least one setting item to be the stored setting contents (e.g., Based on such an output of the terminal touch panel 304 that receives an operation on the software key, the terminal control part 301 recognizes the setting input, such as a job by the user or the work flow WF, regarding the MFP 100. In other words, the application AP, the terminal display part 303, and the terminal touch panel part 304 make it possible to configure settings and issue operation instructions to the MFP 10, which are equivalent to those achieved by the operation panel 200. In addition, the terminal control part 301, based on the recognition result of inputting the configuration setting (operations) that are made to the terminal touch panel part 304, causes the terminal communication part 305 to transmits (notifies) the inputted setting or operated contents to the main control part of the MFP 100, paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 5, Hanada discloses wherein the controller stores the setting contents of the manually set setting item in association with a user involved in storing the setting contents of the manually set setting item, and causes the setting contents of the at least one setting item to be the setting contents stored in association with the user involved when the second operation is performed on the operation receiver (e.g., a terminal touch panel 304 is provided in opposition to the terminal panel display part 303. The terminal touch panel part 304 is configured to issue a signal that depends on a position on which the user touches. The terminal control part 301 recognizes, based on an output from the terminal touch panel part 304, the position in the terminal display part 303 which the user touches. Then, the terminal control part 301 recognizes that an operation is conducted on a key where the touch position and the display position are overlapped. Then, the panel control part 201 causes the display part 12 to switch the screen depending on the operation key that is manipulated, paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 6, Hanada discloses wherein the controller stores the setting contents of the manually set setting item in association with a group to which a user involved in storing the setting contents of the manually set setting item belongs, and causes the setting contents of the at least one setting item to be the setting contents stored in association with the group to which the user involved when the second operation is performed belongs (e.g., Based on such an output of the terminal touch panel 304 that receives an operation on the software key, the terminal control part 301 recognizes the setting input, such as a job by the user or the work flow WF, regarding the MFP 100. In other words, the application AP, the terminal display part 303, and the terminal touch panel part 304 make it possible to configure settings and issue operation instructions to the MFP 10, which are equivalent to those achieved by the operation panel 200. In addition, the terminal control part 301, based on the recognition result of inputting the configuration setting (operations) that are made to the terminal touch panel part 304, causes the terminal communication part 305 to transmits (notifies) the inputted setting or operated contents to the main control part of the MFP 100, paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 7, Hanada discloses wherein when the third operation is performed on the touch panel display for an object to be operated indicating the manually set setting item, the controller allows the setting contents of the setting item indicated by the object to be operated for which the third operation is performed to be changed by the manual setting (e.g., In addition, the terminal control part 301, based on the recognition result of inputting the configuration setting (operations) that are made to the terminal touch panel part 304, causes the terminal communication part 305 to transmits (notifies) the inputted setting or operated contents to the main control part of the MFP 100, paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 8, Hanada discloses wherein the at least one setting item is two or more setting items (e.g., executing the application AP that sets, instruct and operates the MFP 100 allows the terminal display part 303 to display a screen and an image related to the setting of the MFP 100 (for example, software keys for setting the MFP 100), similar to the operation panel 200 mounted on the MFP 100. It is to be noted that the application AP for setting, instructing, and operating the MFP 100 may be stored in the terminal storage part 302 by, for example, download from a server on the network via the terminal communication part 305, paragraph 55).
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683