DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 and 02/04/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a head-up display device provided with an emission port and emitting display light from the emission port toward a light-transmissive member so as to allow at least a real image of a display image represented by the display light to be visually recognized.” However, it is unclear how a head-up display device can be constructed such that it can “allow at least a real image of a display image represented by the display light to be visually recognized.” Specifically, it is unclear how “a real image” can be “visually recognized.” It is unclear if the claim is intending for the head-up display to have a structure that projects the real image onto a screen, or if any head-up display that forms a real image at some location would read on the claimed structure, as the real image could be “visually recognized” in some manner. Furthermore, it is unclear if the “light-transmissive member” is intended to “allow” the real image to be recognized, or some other structure in the head up display. For the purposes of examination, any head-up display that projects an image onto a light-transmissive member will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation, as only real images can be projected onto a screen.
Claim 1 further recites “the first mirror is disposed, along an optical path of the first light beam, closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror.” However, it is unclear how the first mirror can be disposed “closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror.” Specifically, the “first optical focus” of the imaging optical system is a variable position that depends upon the elements of the system and the light passing through the system. It is unclear if there can be additional elements in the first optical system or if the focus is formed solely by the light-transmissive element and the second and third mirror. Moreover, it is unclear how the first mirror can be disposed “closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus of an imaging optical system” as it is unclear which positions the first mirror should be disposed “closer” to and where the first mirror should be located.
For the purposes of examination, any first mirror that is located between the display and a focal or conjugate point of the light-transmissive member, the second mirror, and the third mirror, or any first mirror located at such a focal or conjugate point will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claims 2-5 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim 3 recites “the first mirror is a plane mirror, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed on the first mirror.” However, claim 3 depends upon claim 1 which recites that “the first mirror is disposed, along an optical path of the first light beam, closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror.” As such, it is unclear how the first mirror can be “closer… to the first display than a first optical focus of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror,” as required by claim 1, while simultaneously “the first optical focus is disposed on the first mirror” as required by claim 3. That is, it is unclear how the first optical focus can be both on the first mirror, and after the first mirror, as a focus can only be in a single location. For the purposes of examination, any system having a planar first mirror and meeting the structural requirements of claim 1 will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 5 recites that “the second display is disposed, along an optical path of the second light beam, closer to the emission port than a second optical focus of the imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror, and wherein the head-up display device allows the virtual image of the display image to be visually recognized.” However, it is unclear how the second display can be disposed “along an optical path of the second light beam, closer to the emission port than a second optical focus of the imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror” as it is unclear that the imaging optical system should actually have a “second optical focus.” It is unclear if the “second optical focus” should be the same as the “first optical focus” or if it should be an additional focus conjugate with the first focus. Moreover, any point between conjugate points would necessarily be closer to the emission port than one of the optical foci. Furthermore, it is unclear what structure is required for the head-up display to allow “the virtual image of the display image to be visually recognized.” For the purposes of examination, any second display that is disposed between a focal position of the optical system and the emission port will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuzuhara et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0039077; hereinafter – “Kuzuhara”).
Regarding claim 1, Kuzuhara teaches a head-up display device provided with an emission port (210) and emitting display light from the emission port toward a light-transmissive member (220) so as to allow at least a real image of a display image represented by the display light to be visually recognized, the head-up display device comprising:
a first display (110) provided with a first display element, the first display transmitting light emitted from a real-image first light source and displaying the real image of the display image (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028-0030); and
a reflector (120, 130) reflecting at least a first light beam representing the real image displayed on the first display toward the light-transmissive member (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028, 0030, and 0034-0045), the reflector including:
a first mirror (121) reflecting the first light beam toward a second mirror (131) (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028, 0030, and 0034-0045);
the second mirror (131) reflecting the first light beam toward a third mirror (132) (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028, 0030, and 0034-0045); and
the third mirror (132) reflecting the first light beam toward the emission port (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028, 0030, and 0034-0045),
wherein the first mirror is disposed, along an optical path of the first light beam, closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus (M) of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028, 0030, and 0034-0045), and
wherein the third mirror and the first display are disposed so that at least a height position of the third mirror is above a height position of the first display (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 4; Paragraphs 0028, 0030, and 0034-0045).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piehler (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2014/0247433).
Regarding claim 1, Piehler teaches a head-up display device provided with an emission port and emitting display light from the emission port toward a light-transmissive member (2) so as to allow at least a real image of a display image represented by the display light to be visually recognized, the head-up display device comprising:
a first display (4) provided with a first display element, the first display transmitting light emitted from a real-image first light source and displaying the real image of the display image (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034); and
a reflector (9, 10) reflecting at least a first light beam representing the real image displayed on the first display toward the light-transmissive member (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045), the reflector including:
a first mirror (5) reflecting the first light beam toward a second mirror (6) (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045);
the second mirror (6) reflecting the first light beam toward a third mirror (7) (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045); and
the third mirror (7) reflecting the first light beam toward the emission port (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045),
wherein the first mirror is disposed, along an optical path of the first light beam, closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045), and
wherein the third mirror and the first display are disposed so that at least a height position of the third mirror is above a height position of the first display (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045).
Regarding claim 2, Piehler teaches the head-up display device of claim 1, as above.
Piehler further teaches that the second mirror (6) is a concave mirror with a free-form surface (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045; See also Tables 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Piehler teaches the head-up display device of claim 2, as above.
Piehler further teaches that the first mirror (5) is a plane mirror, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed on the first mirror (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0036 and 0045; See also Tables 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Piehler teaches the head-up display device of claim 2, as above.
Piehler further teaches that the first mirror is a concave mirror with a free-form surface, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed between the first mirror and the second mirror along the optical path of the first light beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045; See also Tables 1-3).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2019/0212556).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a head-up display device provided with an emission port and emitting display light from the emission port toward a light-transmissive member (10, 153) so as to allow at least a real image of a display image represented by the display light to be visually recognized, the head-up display device comprising:
a first display (111) provided with a first display element, the first display transmitting light emitted from a real-image first light source and displaying the real image of the display image (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraphs 0044-0051, 0057, and 0061-0072); and
a reflector (110, 120, 130, 150) reflecting at least a first light beam representing the real image displayed on the first display toward the light-transmissive member (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097), the reflector including:
a first mirror (112, 113, 132, or 133) reflecting the first light beam toward a second mirror (133 or 151) (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097);
the second mirror (133 or 151) reflecting the first light beam toward a third mirror (151 or 152) (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097); and
the third mirror (151 or 152) reflecting the first light beam toward the emission port (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097),
wherein the first mirror is disposed, along an optical path of the first light beam, closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus (20, 140) of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0047-0049, 0055, 0063, 0066, 0085-0087, 0090, 0095, and 0112), and
wherein the third mirror and the first display are disposed so that at least a height position of the third mirror is above a height position of the first display (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 1, as above.
Sasaki further teaches that the second mirror (133 or 151) is a concave mirror with a free-form surface (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 9-11; Paragraphs 0054-0056, 0080-0097, and 0102).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 2, as above.
Sasaki further teaches that the first mirror (112) is a plane mirror, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed on the first mirror (See e.g. Figs. 5 and 10-12; Paragraphs 0047-0049, 0055, 0063, 0066, 0085-0087, 0090, 0095, and 0112).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 2, as above.
Sasaki further teaches that the first mirror (132 or 133) is a concave mirror with a free-form surface, and wherein the first optical focus (20, 140) is disposed between the first mirror and the second mirror along the optical path of the first light beam (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 9-11; Paragraphs 0047-0049, 0054-0056, 0063, 0066, 0080-0097, and 0102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piehler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki.
Regarding claim 2, Piehler teaches the head-up display device of claim 1, as above.
Piehler further teaches that the second mirror (6) is a concave mirror with a free-form surface (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045; See also Tables 1-3).
While Piehler teaches a structure reading on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the free-form surface, Examiner further submits reference Sasaki.
Sasaki teaches an image display apparatus comprising a first display (111) provided with a first display element, the first display transmitting light emitted from a real-image first light source and displaying the real image of the display image (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraphs 0044-0051, 0057, and 0061-0072); and a reflector (110, 120, 130, 150) reflecting at least a first light beam representing the real image displayed on the first display toward the light-transmissive member (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097), the reflector including: a first mirror (112, 113, 132, or 133) reflecting the first light beam toward a second mirror (133 or 151) (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097); the second mirror (133 or 151) reflecting the first light beam toward a third mirror (151 or 152) (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097); and the third mirror (151 or 152) reflecting the first light beam toward the emission port (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097), wherein the first mirror is disposed, along an optical path of the first light beam, closer to the emission port than the first display as well as to the first display than a first optical focus (20, 140) of an imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0047-0049, 0055, 0063, 0066, 0085-0087, 0090, 0095, and 0112), wherein the third mirror and the first display are disposed so that at least a height position of the third mirror is above a height position of the first display (See e.g. Figs. 1-12; Paragraph 0044-0056, 0063, 0069, and 0082-0097), and wherein the second mirror (133 or 151) is a concave mirror with a free-form surface (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 9-11; Paragraphs 0054-0056, 0080-0097, and 0102).
Sasaki teaches this concave second mirror with a free-form surface such that “the image display apparatus 100 may control a reflection of light and the size of the image display apparatus 100 may be miniaturized” (Paragraph 0084) so “an aberration may be improved” (Paragraph 0097) and “to reduce or prevent a chromatic aberration from occurring due to a difference in a wavelength” such that “the image display apparatus 100 may display an image with a relatively high quality without color bleeding” (Paragraph 0099).
Therefore, even if Piehler did not disclose the claimed free-form surface, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display device of Piehler such that the concave second mirror has a free-form surface as in Sasaki such that “the image display apparatus 100 may control a reflection of light and the size of the image display apparatus 100 may be miniaturized” so “an aberration may be improved” and “to reduce or prevent a chromatic aberration from occurring due to a difference in a wavelength” such that “the image display apparatus 100 may display an image with a relatively high quality without color bleeding,” as taught by Sasaki (Paragraphs 0084, 0097, and 0099).
Regarding claim 3, Piehler in view of Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 2, as above.
Piehler further teaches that the first mirror (5) is a plane mirror, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed on the first mirror (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0036 and 0045; See also Tables 1-3).
Additionally, Sasaki further teaches that the first mirror (112) is a plane mirror, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed on the first mirror (See e.g. Figs. 5 and 10-12; Paragraphs 0047-0049, 0055, 0063, 0066, 0085-0087, 0090, 0095, and 0112).
Regarding claim 4, Piehler in view of Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 2, as above.
Piehler further teaches that the first mirror is a concave mirror with a free-form surface, and wherein the first optical focus is disposed between the first mirror and the second mirror along the optical path of the first light beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 and 6; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0045; See also Tables 1-3).
Additionally, Sasaki further teaches that the first mirror (132 or 133) is a concave mirror with a free-form surface, and wherein the first optical focus (20, 140) is disposed between the first mirror and the second mirror along the optical path of the first light beam (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 9-11; Paragraphs 0047-0049, 0054-0056, 0063, 0066, 0080-0097, and 0102).
Sasaki teaches this concave first mirror with a free-form surface such that “the image display apparatus 100 may control a reflection of light and the size of the image display apparatus 100 may be miniaturized” (Paragraph 0084) so “an aberration may be improved” (Paragraph 0097) and “to reduce or prevent a chromatic aberration from occurring due to a difference in a wavelength” such that “the image display apparatus 100 may display an image with a relatively high quality without color bleeding” (Paragraph 0099).
Therefore, even if Piehler did not disclose the claimed free-form surface, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display device of Piehler such that the concave first mirror has a free-form surface as in Sasaki such that “the image display apparatus 100 may control a reflection of light and the size of the image display apparatus 100 may be miniaturized” so “an aberration may be improved” and “to reduce or prevent a chromatic aberration from occurring due to a difference in a wavelength” such that “the image display apparatus 100 may display an image with a relatively high quality without color bleeding,” as taught by Sasaki (Paragraphs 0084, 0097, and 0099).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Matsuura et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0143431; hereinafter – “Matsuura”).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 4, as above.
Sasaki fails to explicitly disclose a second display provided with a second display element, the second display transmitting light emitted from a virtual-image second light source and displaying a virtual image of the display image, wherein the second mirror transmits a second light beam representing the virtual image displayed on the second display, the third mirror reflects the second light beam toward the light-transmissive member, and the second display is disposed, along an optical path of the second light beam, closer to the emission port than a second optical focus of the imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror, and wherein the head-up display device allows the virtual image of the display image to be visually recognized.
However, Matsuura teaches a head-up display comprising a first display (10) provided with a first display element, the first display transmitting light emitted from a real-image first light source and displaying the real image of the display image; and a reflector (30, 50, 60) reflecting at least a first light beam representing the real image displayed on the first display toward the light-transmissive member, the reflector including: a first mirror (30) reflecting the first light beam toward a second mirror (50); the second mirror (50) reflecting the first light beam toward a third mirror (60); and the third mirror (60) reflecting the first light beam toward the emission port, further comprising a second display (20) provided with a second display element, the second display transmitting light emitted from a virtual-image second light source (21) and displaying a virtual image of the display image, wherein the second mirror (50) transmits a second light beam representing the virtual image displayed on the second display, the third mirror (60) reflects the second light beam toward the light-transmissive member, and the second display is disposed, along an optical path of the second light beam, closer to the emission port than a second optical focus of the imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror, and wherein the head-up display device allows the virtual image of the display image to be visually recognized (See e.g. Figs. 2-3; Paragraphs 0027, 0033-0037, 0040-0041, and 0054-0056).
Matsuura teaches this second display such that “the viewer can visually recognize a first virtual image 311 and a second virtual image 321 on the first virtual image display surface 310 and the second virtual display surface 320 virtually generated by the HUD 100, in the front through the front windshield 2” (Paragraph 0027) in order “to facilitate differentiation of information included in a stereoscopic display and display an image with a stereoscopic effect” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display device of Sasaki with the second display of Matsuura such that “the viewer can visually recognize a first virtual image 311 and a second virtual image 321 on the first virtual image display surface 310 and the second virtual display surface 320 virtually generated by the HUD 100, in the front through the front windshield 2” in order “to facilitate differentiation of information included in a stereoscopic display and display an image with a stereoscopic effect,” as taught by Matsuura (Paragraphs 0010 and 0027).
Claim(s) 5 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piehler or Piehler in view of Sasaki as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Matsuura.
Regarding claim 5, Piehler or Piehler in view of Sasaki teaches the head-up display device of claim 4, as above.
Piehler and Sasaki fail to explicitly disclose a second display provided with a second display element, the second display transmitting light emitted from a virtual-image second light source and displaying a virtual image of the display image, wherein the second mirror transmits a second light beam representing the virtual image displayed on the second display, the third mirror reflects the second light beam toward the light-transmissive member, and the second display is disposed, along an optical path of the second light beam, closer to the emission port than a second optical focus of the imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror, and wherein the head-up display device allows the virtual image of the display image to be visually recognized.
However, Matsuura teaches a head-up display comprising a first display (10) provided with a first display element, the first display transmitting light emitted from a real-image first light source and displaying the real image of the display image; and a reflector (30, 50, 60) reflecting at least a first light beam representing the real image displayed on the first display toward the light-transmissive member, the reflector including: a first mirror (30) reflecting the first light beam toward a second mirror (50); the second mirror (50) reflecting the first light beam toward a third mirror (60); and the third mirror (60) reflecting the first light beam toward the emission port, further comprising a second display (20) provided with a second display element, the second display transmitting light emitted from a virtual-image second light source (21) and displaying a virtual image of the display image, wherein the second mirror (50) transmits a second light beam representing the virtual image displayed on the second display, the third mirror (60) reflects the second light beam toward the light-transmissive member, and the second display is disposed, along an optical path of the second light beam, closer to the emission port than a second optical focus of the imaging optical system that includes the light-transmissive member, the second mirror and the third mirror, and wherein the head-up display device allows the virtual image of the display image to be visually recognized (See e.g. Figs. 2-3; Paragraphs 0027, 0033-0037, 0040-0041, and 0054-0056).
Matsuura teaches this second display such that “the viewer can visually recognize a first virtual image 311 and a second virtual image 321 on the first virtual image display surface 310 and the second virtual display surface 320 virtually generated by the HUD 100, in the front through the front windshield 2” (Paragraph 0027) in order “to facilitate differentiation of information included in a stereoscopic display and display an image with a stereoscopic effect” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display device of Piehler with the second display of Matsuura such that “the viewer can visually recognize a first virtual image 311 and a second virtual image 321 on the first virtual image display surface 310 and the second virtual display surface 320 virtually generated by the HUD 100, in the front through the front windshield 2” in order “to facilitate differentiation of information included in a stereoscopic display and display an image with a stereoscopic effect,” as taught by Matsuura (Paragraphs 0010 and 0027).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2024/0385432) teaches a head-up display using a backlight to control the eyebox having a similar optical configuration.
Ichikawa et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0338987) teaches a projection display device having three similar mirrors.
Kawana (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0271927) teaches a head-up display device comprising a similar optical arrangement of three mirrors.
Ohta et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,598,830) teaches a screen member, image display apparatus, and object apparatus comprising a similar arrangement of free-form mirrors.
Kuzuhara et al. (U.S. PG-Pub Nos. 2018/0088327 & 2017/0184843) teach head-up displays and mobile objects equipped with heads-up displays having a similar optical arrangement.
Sakai (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0067308) teaches a light-source device, image display apparatus, and object apparatus having a similar optical arrangement.
Irzyk et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2015/0168795) teaches a device and method for emitting a light beam intended to form an image, projection system, and display using said device.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896