Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.) Claim(s) 1 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US Pub No.: 2017/0289457A1) and further in view of Tanaka (US Pub No.: 2021/0294070A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Hu et al. disclose an electromagnetic driving mechanism, applied to a camera module comprising an imager (A camera module is provided, including a frame, a holder, an image sensor, a plate, an electromagnetic driving assembly, and an elastic element, Abstract and Figures 1-3), comprising:
a first plate (Plate 10, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figures 1-3);
a second metal plate disposed opposite to the first metal plate (Upper spring SF, Paragraphs 0041-0042; Figure 1);
at least one coil (Driving coils C1 and C2, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figure 1);
at least one magnetic element, wherein the at least one coil and the at least one magnetic element are stacked between the first metal plate and the second metal plate (The four magnetic elements M (such as magnets) are respectively disposed on the four different sides of the frame 20 and face the first and second driving coils C1 and C2. The magnetic elements and coils C1 and C2 are stacked between SF and plate 10, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figure 1); and
at least one actuating assembly disposed on the first metal plate and connected to the at least one coil (Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0041-0045; Figure 1);
wherein the at least one actuating assembly is configured to support the imager (image sensor) (As mentioned above, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0041-0045; Figure 1);
wherein the at least one coil is driven by an Ampere force to move with respect to the at least one magnetic element within a magnetic field of the at least one magnetic element after being energized, thereby driving the at least one actuating assembly to deform to drive the imager to move (The optical lens and the image sensor are movable with a casing of the electronic device, so that the camera module 100 has an auto-focusing (AF) function and optical image stabilization (OIS). The plate 10 is configured to sustain the image sensor IM, and an optical lens (not shown) is disposed in a receiving space 301 of the holder 30. Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0040-0045; Figures 1-3).
Hu et al. do not explicitly teach that the first plate is a first metal plate. Tanaka teaches of a first plate being a metal plate, (Tanaka teaches of a lens driving apparatus that includes a housing; a lens holding member positioned in the housing for holding a lens body, a coil, a detection magnet, and a balance magnet; first and second magnetic field generating members facing each other across the coil and the lens holding member; the detection magnet for detecting a position of the lens holding member; a magnetic detection member facing the detection magnet; the balance magnet facing the detection magnet across an optical axis of the lens body; and first and second leaf springs conducted to the ends of the coil, movably supporting the lens holding member in the optical axis direction. The detection magnet is disposed closer to the first magnetic field generating member than to the second magnetic field generating member, and the balance magnet is disposed closer to the second magnetic field generating member than to the first magnetic field generating member, Abstract of Tanaka.
Tanaka teaches that in the base member 18, the metal member 7 formed with a metal plate including a material such as copper, iron, or an alloy having copper or iron as main components, is insert-molded and embedded, Paragraphs 0106-0107; Figures 1 and 13 of Tanaka. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the first plate in the teachings of Hu et al. to be a metal plate as taught by Tanaka, because it offers and provides rigidity while also providing a strong electrical connection).
In regard to Claim 23, Hu et al. and Tanaka disclose the electromagnetic driving mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the at least one magnetic element is connected to the second metal plate, the second metal plate, the at least one magnetic element, and the at least one coil are stacked in sequence; or the at least one magnetic element is connected to the first metal plate, the second metal plate, the at least one coil, and the at least one magnetic element are stacked in sequence (The four magnetic elements M (such as magnets) are respectively disposed on the four different sides of the frame 20 and face the first and second driving coils C1 and C2. The magnetic elements and coils C1 and C2 are stacked between SF and plate 10, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figure 1 of Hu et al.. The plate 10 is configured to sustain the image sensor IM, and an optical lens (not shown) is disposed in a receiving space 301 of the holder 30. Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0040-0045; Figures 1-3 of Hu et al.).
4.) Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US Pub No.: 2017/0289457A1) and further in view of Tanaka (US Pub No.: 2021/0294070A1) and Wang (US Pub No.: 2019/0289180A1).
Regarding Claim 24, Hu et al. disclose a camera module, (A camera module is provided, including a frame, a holder, an image sensor, a plate, an electromagnetic driving assembly, and an elastic element, Abstract and Figures 1-3), comprising:
a lens assembly configured to collect light (Optical lens, Paragraph 0041; Figures 1-3);
an electromagnetic driving mechanism (Electromagnetic drive assembly MC, Paragraphs 0041-0044; Figures 1-3);
an imager (image sensor) disposed on at least one actuating assembly of the electromagnetic driving mechanism (The plate 10 is configured to sustain the image sensor IM, and an optical lens (not shown) is disposed in a receiving space 301 of the holder 30. Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0040-0045; Figures 1-3);
wherein the electromagnetic driving mechanism comprises:
a first plate (Plate 10, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figures 1-3);
a second metal plate disposed opposite to the first metal plate (Upper spring SF, Paragraphs 0041-0042; Figure 1);
at least one coil (Driving coils C1 and C2, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figure 1);
at least one magnetic element, wherein the at least one coil and the at least one magnetic element are stacked between the first metal plate and the second metal plate (The four magnetic elements M (such as magnets) are respectively disposed on the four different sides of the frame 20 and face the first and second driving coils C1 and C2. The magnetic elements and coils C1 and C2 are stacked between SF and plate 10, Paragraphs 0041-0043; Figure 1); and
at least one actuating assembly disposed on the first metal plate and connected to the at least one coil (Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0041-0045; Figure 1);
wherein the at least one actuating assembly is configured to support the imager (image sensor) (As mentioned above, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0041-0045; Figure 1);
wherein the at least one coil is driven by an Ampere force to move with respect to the at least one magnetic element within a magnetic field of the at least one magnetic element after being energized, thereby driving the at least one actuating assembly to deform to drive the imager to move (The optical lens and the image sensor are movable with a casing of the electronic device, so that the camera module 100 has an auto-focusing (AF) function and optical image stabilization (OIS). The plate 10 is configured to sustain the image sensor IM, and an optical lens (not shown) is disposed in a receiving space 301 of the holder 30. Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane), Paragraphs 0040-0045; Figures 1-3);
wherein in response to the vibration of the lens assembly (shaking of the lens assembly), the at least one actuating assembly drives the imager to move in a direction opposite to a vibration direction of the lens assembly (Thus, when the electromagnetic drive assembly MC forces the plate 10 to move (for example, by applying an appropriate drive signal, the first driving coil C1 interacts with the magnetic elements M disposed on the frame 20 to generate a magnetic force), the plate 10 and the image sensor IM move linearly relative to the frame 20 in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the optical axis O or the central axis C (parallel to the XY-plane). Therefore, when the optical lens shakes, optical compensation can be provided by the aforementioned mechanism, to acquire high-quality images, in order to achieve the purpose of optical image stabilization, Paragraphs 0040-0045; Figures 1-3).
Hu et al. do not explicitly teach that the first plate is a first metal plate. Tanaka teaches of a first plate being a metal plate, (Tanaka teaches of a lens driving apparatus that includes a housing; a lens holding member positioned in the housing for holding a lens body, a coil, a detection magnet, and a balance magnet; first and second magnetic field generating members facing each other across the coil and the lens holding member; the detection magnet for detecting a position of the lens holding member; a magnetic detection member facing the detection magnet; the balance magnet facing the detection magnet across an optical axis of the lens body; and first and second leaf springs conducted to the ends of the coil, movably supporting the lens holding member in the optical axis direction. The detection magnet is disposed closer to the first magnetic field generating member than to the second magnetic field generating member, and the balance magnet is disposed closer to the second magnetic field generating member than to the first magnetic field generating member, Abstract of Tanaka.
Tanaka teaches that in the base member 18, the metal member 7 formed with a metal plate including a material such as copper, iron, or an alloy having copper or iron as main components, is insert-molded and embedded, Paragraphs 0106-0107; Figures 1 and 13 of Tanaka. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the first plate in the teachings of Hu et al. to be a metal plate as taught by Tanaka, because it offers and provides rigidity while also providing a strong electrical connection).
Hu et al. and Tanaka do not explicitly teach of a gyroscope configured to detect vibration of the lens assembly. Wang teaches of a gyroscope configured to detect vibration of the lens assembly, (Wang teaches of an imaging module that includes a circuit board mechanism, a photosensitive chip located on the circuit board body, a no-board focusing anti-shake component, and a lens located on the no-board focusing anti-shake component. Present disclosure also relates to an imaging module includes a circuit board mechanism comprising a circuit board body and an anti-shake coil located on the circuit board body, a photosensitive chip, a filter, and a lens device located on the circuit board body, Abstract of Wang.
Wang teaches that a gyroscope 140 and the driving chip 150 are both located on the first surface 112. The gyroscope 140 is used to sense a shake of imaging module 10, and the driving chip 150 is used to electrify the anti-shake coil 130 when the shake of the imaging module 10 is sensed by the gyroscope 140. In the illustrated embodiment, the gyroscope 140 is used to sense a displacement (shaking amount) of the lens device 20 at a plane (plane XY) perpendicular to the optical axis, i.e. the gyroscope 140 is configured to sense a displacement (shaking amount) of the magnet 440 at the plane (plane XY) perpendicular to the optical axis, Paragraphs 0047; Figures 1 and 4 of Wang. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Hu et al. and Tanaka to include a gyroscope configured to detect vibration of the lens assembly as taught by Wang, because it provides the measurement of an amount of shake that needs to be accounted for in the correction/compensation process).
In regard to Claim 25, Hu et al., Tanaka and Wang teach of an electronic device (The camera module 100 can be disposed in an electronic device, Paragraph 0040 and Figure 1 of Hu et al.), comprising:
a device main body (Camera housing, Paragraph 0040 of Hu et al.); and
the camera module according to claim 24 (See above rejection to Claim 24);
wherein the camera module is disposed on the device main body (The camera module 100 can be disposed in an electronic device, such as a camera, a tablet computer, or a cell phone, and it can be configured with an optical lens (not shown) and an image sensor IM disposed therein. The optical lens and the image sensor are movable with a casing of the electronic device, so that the camera module 100 has an auto-focusing (AF) function and optical image stabilization (OIS), Paragraph 0040 of Hu et al.).
5.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638