DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species Group 5 in the reply filed on 16 June 2026 is acknowledged. [Note that while Applicant’s response indicates election of “Group 7,” no such group was presented and it would appear that Group 5 based on Figure 7 was the intended election.]
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, and 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 June 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 124.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the restraint vent must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Note that while restraint vents are shown in other embodiments, none appears to be shown in the elected embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duncan et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0239253).
Regarding claim 1, Duncan discloses a seat for a vehicle having an integrated system for heating or cooling a seat occupant, the seat comprising: a seat base (32); a seat back (36) attached to the seat base, the seat back including an upper end, the upper end including an air plenum (54 and/or 64); a head restraint (38) attached to the seat base, the head restraint including at least one head restraint support stay (44) connecting the head restraint to the seat back, the at least one stay having an inner core, the inner core being substantially hollow (see at least paragraph 31), the at least one stay being in fluid communication with the air plenum (see figures and paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 2, Duncan further discloses the at least one stay having at least one air flow aperture (46) formed therein, the at least one air flow aperture being in fluid communication with the inner core of the at least one stay (see again at least paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 5, Duncan further discloses the seat back further includes an air blower assembly (56) fluidly attached to the air plenum.
Regarding claim 10, Duncan further discloses the head restraint further includes a restraint vent (50) in fluid communication with the at least one stay.
Regarding claim 11, Duncan further discloses the upper end of the seat back includes a seat vent (68) in fluid communication with the air plenum (at least 64 via 44 for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan. Duncan discloses a seat as explained above including the seat back further including ducting (82, 88), the ducting having a first end connected to an air blower assembly and a second end, wherein the seat back has a lower end and wherein the second end of the ducting exhausts outside of the seat back at a point in the lower end of the seat back (84 and/or 90 would be viewed as meeting this limitation). Duncan may not clearly show this arrangement with the air blower assembly described above. Rearrangement of components as well as making components integral require only routine skill in the art however. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a duct arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve manufacture, cost, and/or convenience for various users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related devices.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636