DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denk US 20070205654 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Denk discloses a carbon fiber bicycle rim 1 comprising: a carbon fiber rim body 1 having a sidewall 4; and a metal wire 7 embedded in the sidewall 4 of the carbon fiber rim body to enhance impact resistance and deformation resistance of the carbon fiber rim body, thereby increasing performance and durability of the carbon fiber bicycle rim 1. (Fig. 1; para. 27 and 58)
Regarding claim 2, Denk discloses the carbon fiber bicycle rim as claimed in claim 1, wherein the metal wire is a steel wire. (para. 27 and 58)
Regarding claim 3, Denk discloses the carbon fiber bicycle rim as claimed in claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional shape of the metal wire is square, triangular or circular. (Fig. 1; para. 33 discloses the wire/fiber reinforcement cross section is circular or other shapes. Square or triangular would fall under the “other shapes” category, particularly given that the specification of the instant application does not give any particular benefit or reason for the alternate cross sections.)
Regarding claim 4, Denk discloses a method of molding the carbon fiber bicycle rim as claimed in claim 1, comprising a step of integrating the metal wire 7 into the sidewall of the carbon fiber rim body 1 through an air-blowing process (para. 60 and Fig. 13 discloses using an inflatable bladder [air-blowing process] to give shape and press the reinforcing wire into the side wall) to ensure a strong bond between the metal wire and the carbon fiber rim body, thereby enhancing an overall structural strength of the carbon fiber bicycle rim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chiang and Tsai US 6767070 B1 teach a carbon fiber bicycle rim with reinforcing cables in the side wall. Glaumot and Gazonnet EP 4357150 A1 teach a wheel with a steel wire reinforcement to improve strength.
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615