DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first Office Action in response to application no. 18/953,465 filed on November 20, 2024 in which claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sen (US Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0042416).
Regarding claim 1, Sen discloses a method for capturing parameters of a trailer by at least one sensor of the towing vehicle, wherein the towing vehicle and the trailer form a vehicle/trailer combination with at least one hinge point, wherein the method comprises (See Sen [0026] “one or more sensors (e.g., a rear-facing camera) of a vehicle may be used to generate sensor data (e.g., an image) of a trailer attached to the vehicle”) capturing features of a trailer drawbar of the trailer by reversing camera of the towing vehicle while the towing vehicle is driving straight ahead (See Sen [0026], [0047], [0069]), and storing the trailer drawbar features (See Fig. 11, memory 1104, and [0192] where the drawbar features will be stored); during driving and based on the stored trailer drawbar features, calculating an articulation angle of the vehicle/trailer combination as the angle between the longitudinal axis of the towing vehicle and the longitudinal axis of the trailer (See Sen [0004]-[0005] “calculating the angle between the longitudinal axis of the towing vehicle”); capturing at least one part of a front face of the trailer facing the towing vehicle as well as a distance thereof from the hinge point of the vehicle/trailer combination (See Sen [0026] “In some embodiments, since the pivot point (e.g., the tow hitch) is typically in a fixed location on the center axis of the draw bar in image space, that known location may (but need not) be used as a fixed keypoint.” and [0096]-[0096]); during cornering, capturing a steering angle of the towing vehicle and the articulation angle (a) of the vehicle/trailer combination (See Sen [0032]); calculating a distance between an effective trailer axle and the hinge point of the vehicle/trailer combination based on the steering angle of the towing vehicle and the articulation angle of the vehicle/trailer combination (See Sen [0006], and [0027]-[0028] “calculate the location of (e.g., a line or ray fitted to) a corresponding projection of the center axis of the draw bar); and capturing further trailer features by image information of at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which captures a rear region to a side of the towing vehicle (See Sen [0036], [0041]-[0042]).
As per claim 15, Sen discloses a system for capturing parameters of a trailer which is moved by a towing vehicle, wherein the towing vehicle and the trailer form a vehicle/trailer combination with at least one hinge point (See Sen [0026] “one or more sensors (e.g., a rear-facing camera) of a vehicle may be used to generate sensor data (e.g., an image) of a trailer attached to the vehicle”), wherein the system comprises a reversing camera assigned to the towing vehicle and at least one pair of side cameras assigned to the towing vehicle (See Sen [0026], [0047], [0069]), which capture a rear region to a side of the towing vehicle (See Sen [0041]-[0042]), and a computer unit, wherein the computer unit (See Sen [0088] “ The controller(s) 1036 may include one or more onboard (e.g., integrated) computing devices (e.g., supercomputers) that process sensor signals, and output operation commands”) is configured to execute (See Sen [0108]) the following: capturing features of the trailer drawbar by the reversing camera of the towing vehicle while the towing vehicle is driving straight ahead (See Sen [0026], [0047], [0069]), and storing the trailer drawbar features (See Fig. 11, memory 1104, and [0192] where the drawbar features will be stored); during driving and based on the stored trailer drawbar features, calculating the articulation angle of the vehicle/trailer combination as the angle between the longitudinal axis of the towing vehicle and the longitudinal axis of the trailer (See Sen [0004]-[0005] “calculating the angle between the longitudinal axis of the towing vehicle”); capturing at least one part of a front face of the trailer facing the towing vehicle as well as a distance thereof from the at least one hinge point of the vehicle/trailer combination (See Sen [0026] “In some embodiments, since the pivot point (e.g., the tow hitch) is typically in a fixed location on the center axis of the draw bar in image space, that known location may (but need not) be used as a fixed keypoint.” and [0096]-[0096]); curing cornering, capturing a steering angle of the towing vehicle and the articulation angle of the vehicle/trailer combination (See Sen [0032]; calculating a distance between an effective trailer axle and the at least one hinge point of the vehicle/trailer combination based on a steering angle of the towing vehicle and the articulation angle of the vehicle/trailer combination (See Sen [0006], and [0027]-[0028] “calculate the location of (e.g., a line or ray fitted to) a corresponding projection of the center axis of the draw bar); and capturing further trailer features by image information of at least one side camera of the towing vehicle (See Sen [0036], [0041]-[0042])..
As per claim 2, Sen further discloses wherein drawbar position of the trailer is determined based on the captured features of the trailer drawbar when the towing vehicle is driving straight ahead (See Sen [0026]).
As per claim 3, Sen further discloses wherein the articulation angle of the vehicle/trailer combination is determined while the vehicle/trailer combination is driving from a comparison of the drawbar position when driving straight ahead and the current drawbar position captured by the reversing camera (See [0003] where the different algorithms as suggested by Sen will provide the claimed articulation angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen (US Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0042416) Zhang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2017/0341583).
As per claims 4-5, it is noted that Sen is silent about wherein a width of the trailer construction is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera, and wherein a total width of the trailer is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera and/or the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which captures the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle.
However, Zhang teaches wherein a width of the trailer construction is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera (See Zhang [0070]), and wherein a total width of the trailer is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera and/or the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which captures the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle (See Zhang [0065], [0070]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sen’s method and system wherein a width of the trailer construction is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera, and wherein a total width of the trailer is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera and/or the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which captures the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sen is to provide a system and method for a towing vehicle and a trailer with surround view imaging devices, which determine towing vehicle and trailer dynamics as taught by Zhang (See Zhang [0004]).
Ass per claims 6-7, it is noted that Sen is silent about wherein a height of the trailer is determined based on at least one of the image information of the reversing camera or the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle, and wherein a length of the trailer is determined based on the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle.
However, Zhang teaches wherein a height of the trailer is determined based on at least one of the image information of the reversing camera or the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle (See Zhang [0070]), and wherein a length of the trailer is determined based on the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle. (See Zhang [0065], [0070], and [0108] detailing the trailer dimension from the acquired image data).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sen’s method and system wherein a width of the trailer construction is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera, and wherein a total width of the trailer is determined based on the image information of the reversing camera and/or the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which captures the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sen is to provide a system and method for a towing vehicle and a trailer with surround view imaging devices, which determine towing vehicle and trailer dynamics as taught by Zhang (See Zhang [0004]).
8. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen (US Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0042416) in view of Singh et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2016/0153778).
Regarding claims 8-9, most of the limitation of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that Sen is silent about wherein an effective trailer axle is a single axle or a virtual central axle between individual axles of a tandem axle of the trailer, and wherein a type of axle of the trailer is established based on the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle.
However, Singh teaches wherein an effective trailer axle is a single axle or a virtual central axle between individual axles of a tandem axle of the trailer (See Singh [0061]), and wherein a type of axle of the trailer is established based on the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle (See Singh [0057] [0061] Note: the camera and axle count for image information and single axle).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sen to incorporate Singh’s teachings wherein an effective trailer axle is a single axle or a virtual central axle between individual axles of a tandem axle of the trailer, and wherein a type of axle of the trailer is established based on the image information of the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, which capture(s) the rear region to the side of the towing vehicle. The motivation fort performing such a modification in Sen is to use trailer parameter identification to identify a tyre portion and the axle of the trailer.
9. Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen (US Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0042416) in view of Omanovic et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0101898).
Regarding claims 10-11, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that Sen is silent about wherein a virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is generated based on the captured trailer features, and wherein the virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is represented at least occasionally on a monitor of the towing vehicle.
However, Omanovic teaches wherein a virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is generated based on the captured trailer features (See Omanovic [0007], [0009], and wherein the virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is represented at least occasionally on a monitor of the towing vehicle (See Omanovi [0019], [0022] and [0027]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sen to incorporate Omanovic’s teachings wherein a virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is generated based on the captured trailer features, and wherein the virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is represented at least occasionally on a monitor of the towing vehicle. The motivation for providing such a modification in Sen is to provide head up display with live footage of the blind spots when the vehicle is towing.
As per claim 12, the combination of Sen and Omanovic further teaches wherein an environmental representation of the rear region, which is located behind the towing vehicle, is created by a driving assistance system of the towing vehicle, and the virtual, partly transparent image of the trailer is integrated into the environmental representation (See Sen [0035], [0024] and [0100]).
As per claim 13, the combination of Sen and Omanovic further teaches wherein the environmental representation of the rear region of the towing vehicle is produced from image information which is provided by the reversing camera and the at least one side camera of the towing vehicle, and the image information which is provided by a camera of the trailer (See Sen [0024], [0035] and [0100]).
As per claim 14, the combination of Sen and Omanovic further teaches wherein the captured trailer features are transmitted to a driving assistance system or an autonomous driving system of the towing vehicle, and driving decisions of the driving assistance system or of the autonomous driving system are made based on the trailer features (See Sen [0023], [0024] “For example, the systems and methods described herein may be used by, without limitation, non-autonomous vehicles or machines, semi-autonomous vehicles or machines (e.g., in one or more advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS)), autonomous vehicles or machines, piloted and un-piloted robots or robotic platforms” and [0035]).
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424