Note
Applicant’s response filed on 12/30/2025 has been fully considered. Claim 19 is amended, claims 1-11 are cancelled and claims 12-22 are pending. Currently, claims 12-18 are withdrawn as non-elected invention.
Previous claim objection has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and comments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tung et al. (US 2008/0113472 A1).
Claim 19: Tung teaches a method of forming a film 3’ onto a back surface of a wafer 42 (Fig. 4, Fig. 5b and [0031]), wherein the film 3’ comprises a resin layer 34 and a plurality of spheroids 363, first balls 362 and second balls 361 embedded in the resin layer 34 (Fig. 3b and [0027]). The film 3’ meets the claimed carrier layer, the wafer 42 meets the claimed semiconductor wafer, the resin layer 34 meets the claimed matrix structure and the plurality of spheroids 363 meets the claimed ellipsoid structure. Tung teaches a length of the long axis of the spheroids 363 is preferably equal to a diameter of the first balls 362 [0027]. Drawings of Tung suggest the long axis of the spheroids 363 is in a thickness direction of the film 3’ (Figs. 3b, 5b, 5c and 5d). Furthermore, Tung teaches during the process of mounting a first chip 422 on a carrier 52 through the film 3’, if the spheroids 363 are just right above components 522, they can rotate due to their arc shape, as shown in FIG. 5e, such that the first chip 422 can be flatly mounted on the carrier 52 [0034]; therefore, it is interpreted that the long axis of the spheroids 363 in the film 3’ before being mounted on the carrier 52 is in the thickness direction of the film 3’.
Claim 21: Tung teaches the resin layer 34 can be made of and epoxy resin or a phenol resin [0026] and spheroids 363 are made of a rubber [0026].
Claim 22: Tung teaches a length of the long axis of the spheroids 363 is preferably equal to a diameter of first balls 362 [0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung et al. (US 2008/0113472 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2007/0082019 A1).
Tung teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 20: Tung does teach the method used to form the film 3’ on the wafer 42. However, Huang teaches, in a conventional semiconductor process, a coting solution can be applied a large flat surface to form a uniform coating, and the coated wafer then can be cut into small pieces, wherein the uniform coating can be formed using an inkjet printing method to achieve a uniform layering [0186]. Tung and Huang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the formation of a layer on a wafer art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ink jet printing process of Huang with the invention of Tung, and the motivation for combining would be, as Huang suggested, to provide a uniform layering [0186].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument is based on that the newly added limitation of claim 19 has not been taught by Tung and/or Huang. This argument is not persuasive for the following reason. Tung teaches a length of the long axis of the spheroids 363 is preferably equal to a diameter of the first balls 362 [0027]. Drawings of Tung suggest the long axis of the spheroids 363 is in a thickness direction of the film 3’ (Figs. 3b, 5b, 5c and 5d). Furthermore, Tung teaches during the process of mounting a first chip 422 on a carrier 52 through the film 3’, if the spheroids 363 are just right above components 522, they can rotate due to their arc shape, as shown in FIG. 5e, such that the first chip 422 can be flatly mounted on the carrier 52 [0034]; therefore, it is interpreted that the long axis of the spheroids 363 in the film 3’ before being mounted on the carrier 52 is in the thickness direction of the film 3’. Thus, the newly added limitation of claim 19 has not been taught by the reference of Tung.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
BS
April 17, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785