DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on 5/19/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-13, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozturk et al. [US2020/0339738, “Ozturk”].
Ozturk discloses a method, comprising: applying a liquid diamino silicone resin (paragraph 0008, 0033, 0048, 0057), a multi-functional amine (paragraph 0008, 0048), an epoxy resin (paragraph 0008, 0033, 0048), and fumed silica (paragraph 0008) to a surface (paragraph 0019, Example 3).
With respect to claim 10, Ozturk discloses the liquid diamino silicone resin, the multi-functional amine, the epoxy resin, and the fumed silica are applied to the surface individually in any order or as one or more mixtures (paragraph 0019, Example 4).
With respect to claim 11, Ozturk discloses mixing the liquid diamino silicone resin, the multi-functional amine, the epoxy resin, and the fumed silica to form a composition on the surface (paragraph 0009; Example 4).
With respect to claim 12, Ozturk disclose forming composite parts from prepregs and hot gluing which implies contacting the composition with a second surface (Example 4; paragraph 0082-87, Example 5, paragraphs 0094-96).
With respect to claim 13, Ozturk discloses a curing step after one or more of the liquid diamino silicone resin, the multi-functional amine, the epoxy resin, and the fumed silica are applied to the surface (paragraph Examples 4 and 5, paragraphs 0082-96).
With respect to claim 15, Ozturk does not disclose the release of an organic component during and/or after the curing step (Examples 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 18, Ozturk does not add a Mannich base to the surface (Examples 4 and 5).
Claims 9-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gordon et al. [US2006/0205861]
Gordon discloses a method, comprising: applying a liquid diamino silicone resin (paragraph 0024), a multi-functional amine (paragraph 0014), an epoxy resin (paragraph 0012), and fumed silica (paragraph 0022) to a surface (paragraph 0041).
With respect to claim 10, Gordon discloses the liquid diamino silicone resin, the multi-functional amine, the epoxy resin, and the fumed silica are applied to the surface individually in any order or as one or more mixtures (paragraph 0041).
With respect to claim 11, Gordon discloses mixing the liquid diamino silicone resin, the multi-functional amine, the epoxy resin, and the fumed silica to form a composition on the surface (paragraph 0041).
With respect to claim 12, Gordon discloses using the composition as an adhesive which implies contacting the composition with a second surface (paragraph 0041).
With respect to claim 13, Gordon discloses a curing step after one or more of the liquid diamino silicone resin, the multi-functional amine, the epoxy resin, and the fumed silica are applied to the surface (paragraph 0068, 0069).
With respect to claim 14, Gordon discloses curing at room temperature which would be considered about 10°C (paragraph 0079).
With respect to claim 15, Gordon does not disclose the release of an organic component during and/or after the curing step (Example 33 and 34).
With respect to claim 17, Gordon discloses water absorption and uptake which implies the surface is submerged in an aqueous medium during the application step (paragraph 0067).
With respect to claim 18, Gordon does not add a Mannich base to the surface (Examples 33 and 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either one of Ozturk or Gordon.
Ozturk and Gordon disclose a method and applicant is referred to paragraphs 5 and 6 for a detailed discussion of Ozturk and Gordon respectively. Ozturk and Gordon each disclose combining components of the composition into mixtures but do not explicitly recite the specific mixture combinations recited in claim 16. The mixture combinations of claim 16 are considered obvious in view of either one of Ozturk or Gordon as one of ordinary skill would have been capable of combining the components in any specific order in order to take advantage of the availability of the components at any particular time and for convenience.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
August 9, 2026