Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one memory board is vertically disposed on the adapter board” of claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (2014/0133085).
Regarding Claim 1: Lin teaches a server, comprising: at least one mainboard (12); at least one adapter board (16); at least one processor (162); and at least one memory board (18), wherein both the adapter board and the processor are disposed on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), the adapter board is disposed vertically or obliquely relative to the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), the memory board is electrically connected to the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c, through connector 122), the adapter board is electrically connected to the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c, through connector 122), and the memory board extends from the adapter board toward an outer side of the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 2: Lin teaches wherein the at least one memory board is vertically disposed on the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 3: Lin teaches wherein at least two memory boards are successively spaced apart in a height direction of the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 4: Lin teaches wherein the at least one processor is located at a middle position on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c, shows 162 towards the middle); and the adapter board is located at a position that is on the mainboard and that is near the processor (figs. 2a-2c), and the memory board is located on a side that is of the adapter board and that is away from the processor (figs. 2a-2c, memory board is on top and processor is on bottom); or the adapter board is located at an edge position on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), and the memory board is located on a side that is of the adapter board and that faces the processor (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 5: Lin teaches wherein the at least one adapter boards comprises at least two adapter boards (figs. 2a-2c), and the at least two adapter boards are located on different sides of the processor (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 10: Lin teaches a cabinet server, comprising a cabinet body (10) and a plurality of servers that are mounted in the cabinet body (figs. 2a-2c), wherein each of the plurality of servers comprise: at least one mainboard (12); at least one adapter board (16); at least one processor (162); and at least one memory board (18), wherein both the adapter board and the processor are disposed on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), the adapter board is disposed vertically or obliquely relative to the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), the memory board is electrically connected to the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c, through connector 122), the adapter board is electrically connected to the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c, through connector 122), and the memory board extends from the adapter board toward an outer side of the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 11: Lin teaches wherein the at least one memory board is vertically disposed on the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 12: Lin teaches wherein at least two memory boards are successively spaced apart in a height direction of the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 13: Lin teaches wherein the at least one processor is located at a middle position on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c, shows 162 towards the middle); and the adapter board is located at a position that is on the mainboard and that is near the processor (figs. 2a-2c), and the memory board is located on a side that is of the adapter board and that is away from the processor (figs. 2a-2c, memory board is on top and processor is on bottom); or the adapter board is located at an edge position on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), and the memory board is located on a side that is of the adapter board and that faces the processor (figs. 2a-2c).
Regarding Claim 14: Lin teaches wherein the at least one adapter boards comprises at least two adapter boards (figs. 2a-2c), and the at least two adapter boards are located on different sides of the processor (figs. 2a-2c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (2014/0133085).
Regarding Claim 6: Lin lacks a specific teaching of wherein the at least one mainboard comprises at least two mainboards that are disposed in parallel, and the at least one processor comprises at least two processors that are each disposed on each of opposite surfaces of the at least two mainboards.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having wherein the at least one mainboard comprises at least two mainboards that are disposed in parallel, and the at least one processor comprises at least two processors that are each disposed on each of opposite surfaces of the at least two mainboards in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user wherein this would be accomplished merely by duplicating the already disclosed elements of the prior art wherein it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 7: Lin lacks a specific teaching of wherein the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, and the adapter board extends from the first mainboard to the second mainboard.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having wherein the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, and the adapter board extends from the first mainboard to the second mainboard in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user wherein this would be accomplished merely by duplicating the already disclosed elements of the prior art wherein it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 8: Lin teaches wherein the server further comprises at least one connector (fig. 2A), one end of the first adapter board is connected to the first mainboard (fig. 2A), one end of the second adapter board is connected to the second mainboard (fig. 2A), but lacks a specific teaching of the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, the at least one adapter board comprises a first adapter board and a second adapter board, and another end of the first adapter board is connected to another end of the second adapter board by using the connector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, the at least one adapter board comprises a first adapter board and a second adapter board, and another end of the first adapter board is connected to another end of the second adapter board by using the connector in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user wherein this would be accomplished merely by duplicating the already disclosed elements of the prior art wherein it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 15: Lin lacks a specific teaching of wherein the at least one mainboard comprises at least two mainboards that are disposed in parallel, and the at least one processor comprises at least two processors that are each disposed on each of opposite surfaces of the at least two mainboards.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having wherein the at least one mainboard comprises at least two mainboards that are disposed in parallel, and the at least one processor comprises at least two processors that are each disposed on each of opposite surfaces of the at least two mainboards in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user wherein this would be accomplished merely by duplicating the already disclosed elements of the prior art wherein it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 16: Lin lacks a specific teaching of wherein the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, and the adapter board extends from the first mainboard to the second mainboard.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having wherein the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, and the adapter board extends from the first mainboard to the second mainboard in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user wherein this would be accomplished merely by duplicating the already disclosed elements of the prior art wherein it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 17: Lin teaches wherein the server further comprises at least one connector (fig. 2A), one end of the first adapter board is connected to the first mainboard (fig. 2A), one end of the second adapter board is connected to the second mainboard (fig. 2A), but lacks a specific teaching of the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, the at least one adapter board comprises a first adapter board and a second adapter board, and another end of the first adapter board is connected to another end of the second adapter board by using the connector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having the at least one mainboard comprises a first mainboard and a second mainboard, the at least one adapter board comprises a first adapter board and a second adapter board, and another end of the first adapter board is connected to another end of the second adapter board by using the connector in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user wherein this would be accomplished merely by duplicating the already disclosed elements of the prior art wherein it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (2014/0133085) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Steinmacher-Burow (2016/0026600).
Regarding Claim 9: Lin lacks a specific teaching of wherein the connector is one of a flexible circuit board, a flat cable, or a cable.
Steinmacher-Burow teaches wherein the connector is one of a flexible circuit board, a flat cable, or a cable (paragraph [0038].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having the connector is one of a flexible circuit board, a flat cable, or a cable as disclosed by Steinmacher-Burow in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user.
Regarding Claim 18: Lin lacks a specific teaching of wherein the connector is one of a flexible circuit board, a flat cable, or a cable.
Steinmacher-Burow teaches wherein the connector is one of a flexible circuit board, a flat cable, or a cable (paragraph [0038].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having the connector is one of a flexible circuit board, a flat cable, or a cable as disclosed by Steinmacher-Burow in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (2014/0133085) in further view of Steinmacher-Burow (2016/0026600).
Regarding Claim 19: Lin teaches each of the servers comprise: at least one mainboard (12); at least one adapter board (16); at least one processor (162); and at least one memory board (18), wherein both the adapter board and the processor are disposed on the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), the adapter board is disposed vertically or obliquely relative to the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c), the memory board is electrically connected to the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c, through connector 122), the adapter board is electrically connected to the mainboard (figs. 2a-2c, through connector 122), and the memory board extends from the adapter board toward an outer side of the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c), but lacks a specific teaching of a data center comprising one or more cabinet servers, each of the one or more cabinet servers comprising a cabinet body and a plurality of servers that are mounted in the cabinet body.
Steinmacher-Burow teaches a data center comprising one or more cabinet servers, each of the one or more cabinet servers comprising a cabinet body and a plurality of servers that are mounted in the cabinet body (paragreaph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Lin by having a data center comprising one or more cabinet servers, each of the one or more cabinet servers comprising a cabinet body and a plurality of servers that are mounted in the cabinet body as disclosed by Steinmacher-Burow in order to allow for improved and more direct connection between the memory modules which in turn increases the overall memory speed of the apparatus and decreasing any lag time for the user.
Regarding Claim 20: Lin teaches wherein the at least one memory board is vertically disposed on the adapter board (figs. 2a-2c).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in the notice of references PTO-892 but not relied upon above are related to the current application as they disclose multiple configurations of memory boards including adapters and connectors with in server systems.
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841