DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action responses to the Application filed on 11/20/2024.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged. This application claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/637,069, filed on 04/22/2024 and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No.63/600,922, filed on 11/20/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/09/2025 was considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Note to Applicant
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “a AC” should be “an AC”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King et al., US Patent Publication 20140207319; hereinafter “King”.
Regarding claim 1, King discloses a system (Fig. 1-10) comprising:
a plurality of power bus lines (Fig.1, 42) (Fig. 4, B+, B-, u, v, and w) comprising:
a first direct current (DC) bus line (Fig. 4, B),
a second DC bus line (Fig. 4, B-),
a first alternating current (AC) bus line (Fig. 4, u), and
a second AC bus line (Fig. 4, v);
first converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 4) (Fig. 4, 20) comprising:
DC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, 124),
DC to AC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60), and
AC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60);
first switching circuitry (Fig.1, 42 of 4) comprising a first plurality of switches (Fig. 4, 48, 50, 52, 54, and 56), wherein the first plurality of switches comprise:
a first switch (Fig. 4, 50) connected between the first converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+),
a second switch (Fig. 4, 48) connected between the first converter (Fig. 4, 20) circuitry and the second DC bus line (Fig. 4, B-),
a third switch (Fig. 4, 52) connected between the first converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and the first AC bus line (Fig. 4, u), and
a fourth switch (Fig. 4, 54) connected between the first converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and the second AC bus line (Fig. 4, v);
first power circuitry (Fig.1, converter inside 20 of 4) (Fig. 4, 124) connected to the first converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20), wherein the first power circuitry is configured to provide or receive electrical power (Fig. 4, 124 is a bi-directional DC-to-DC converter) [0047]; and
control circuitry (Fig. 4, 24) configured to control a first flow of power between the first power circuitry and the plurality of power bus lines by controlling the first plurality of switches to connect and disconnect the first power circuitry to and from the plurality of power bus lines [0039].
Regarding claim 2, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses the system further comprising:
second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) comprising:
second DC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, 124),
second DC to AC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60), and
second AC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60);
second switching circuitry (Fig.1, 42 of 6) comprising a second plurality of switches (Fig. 4, 48, 50, 52, 54, and 56), wherein the second plurality of switches comprise:
a fifth switch (Fig. 4, 50) connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+),
a sixth switch (Fig. 4, 48) connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the second DC bus line (Fig. 4, B-),
a seventh switch (Fig. 4, 52) connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the first AC bus line (Fig. 4, u), and
an eighth switch (Fig. 4, 54) connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the second AC bus line (Fig. 4, v);
second power circuitry (Fig.1, converter inside 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 124) connected to the second converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20), wherein the second power circuitry is configured to provide or receive electrical power (Fig. 4, 124 is a bi-directional DC-to-DC converter) [0047]; and
wherein the control circuitry (Fig. 4, 24) is configured to control a second flow of power between the second power circuitry and the plurality of power bus lines by controlling the second plurality of switches to connect and disconnect the second power circuitry to and from the plurality of power bus lines [0039].
Regarding claim 3, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses the first converter circuitry comprises a power transformer (Fig. 4, “inductors 106-110 represent a leakage inductance of the line transformer of power bus 36” [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, King discloses the system of claim 3 above, King also discloses the power transformer comprises a plurality of inductors comprising: a first inductor (Fig. 4, 106), a second inductor (Fig. 4, 108), and a third inductor (Fig. 4, 110).
Regarding claim 5, King discloses the system of claim 4 above, King also discloses the first inductor is connected between a first pair of terminals (Fig. 4, top and bottom terminals of 106); wherein the second inductor is connected between a second pair of terminals (Fig. 4, top and bottom terminals of 108); and wherein the third inductor is connected between a third pair of terminals (Fig. 4, top and bottom terminals of 110).
Regarding claim 8, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses a DC load (Fig. 4, when 122 of 6 is being charged) is connected to the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+).
Regarding claim 9, King discloses the system of claim 8 above, King also discloses a second DC load (Fig. 1, when 122 is being charging) is connected to the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, DC loads that connected to B+) is connected to the second DC bus line (Fig. 4, when 122 is being charging) is connected to the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+).
Regarding claim 10, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses a DC power source ([0027] “renewable energy source” usually) (Claim 1 “a DC bus couplable to an external charging source”) is connected to the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+) is connected to the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+).
Regarding claim 12, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses a DC load (Fig. 4, when 122 is being charging) and a DC power source ([0027] “renewable energy source” usually) (Claim 1 “a DC bus couplable to an external charging source”) are connected to the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+).
Regarding claim 13, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses an AC load (Fig. 4, 26) is connected to the first AC bus line (Fig. 4, u).
Regarding claim 14, King discloses the system of claim 13 above, King also discloses a second AC load (Fig. 1, 26 of 6) is connected to the second AC bus line (Fig. 1, v).
Regarding claim 15, King discloses the system of claim 14 above, King also discloses an AC power source ([0027] AC bus 36 connected to utility grid) is connected to the second AC bus line (Fig. 4 v); and wherein the second AC load is a backed-up AC load (Fig. 1, 26 of 6 when sharing power with other vehicles).
Regarding claim 16, King discloses the system of claim 14 above, King also discloses a DC power source is connected to the first DC bus line ([0027] “renewable energy source” usually) (Claim 1 “a DC bus couplable to an external charging source”); and wherein the second AC load is a backed-up AC load (Fig. 1, 26 of 6 when sharing power with other vehicles).
Regarding claim 17, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses an AC power source ([0027] AC bus 36 connected to utility grid) is connected to the first AC bus line (Fig. 4 u).
Regarding claim 18, King discloses the system of claim 1 above, King also discloses an AC load (Fig. 4, 26) and a AC power source ([0027] AC bus 36 connected to utility grid) are connected to the first AC bus line (Fig. 4 u).
Regarding claim 19, King discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-10) comprising:
converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 4) (Fig. 4, 20) comprising:
DC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, 124),
DC to AC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60), and
AC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60);
switching circuitry (Fig.1, 42 of 4) comprising a plurality of switches (Fig. 4, 48, 50, 52, 54, and 56), the plurality of switches comprising:
a first switch (Fig. 4, 50) configured to be connected between the converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and a first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+) of a plurality of power bus lines (Fig. 4, B+, B-, u,v,w),
a second switch (Fig. 4, 48) configured to be connected between the converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and a second DC bus line (Fig. 4, B-) of the plurality of power bus lines (Fig. 4, B+, B-, u,v,w),
a third switch (Fig. 4, 52) configured to be connected between the converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and a first AC bus line (Fig. 4, u) of the plurality of power bus lines (Fig. 4, B+, B-, u,v,w), and
a fourth switch (Fig. 4, 54) configured to be connected between the converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20) and a second AC bus line (Fig. 4, v) of the plurality of power bus lines (Fig. 4, B+, B-, u,v,w);
power circuitry (Fig.1, converter inside 20 of 4) (Fig. 4, 124) connected to the converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20), wherein the power circuitry is configured to provide or receive electrical power (Fig. 4, 124 is a bi-directional DC-to-DC converter) [0047]; and
control circuitry (Fig. 4, 24) configured to control a first flow of power between the power circuitry and the plurality of power bus lines by controlling the plurality of switches to connect and disconnect the power circuitry to and from the plurality of power bus lines [0039].
Regarding claim 20, King discloses the apparatus of claim 19 above, King also discloses the apparatus further comprising:
second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) comprising:
second DC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, 124),
second DC to AC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60), and
second AC to DC conversion circuitry (Fig. 4, bi-directional DC-to-AC voltage inverter 60);
second switching circuitry (Fig.1, 42 of 6) comprising a second plurality of switches (Fig. 4, 48, 50, 52, 54, and 56), the second plurality of switches comprising:
a fifth switch (Fig. 4, 50) configured to be connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the first DC bus line (Fig. 4, B+),
a sixth switch configured to be connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the second DC bus line (Fig. 4, B-),
a seventh switch (Fig. 4, 52) configured to be connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the first AC bus line (Fig. 4, u), and
an eighth switch (Fig. 4, 54) configured to be connected between the second converter circuitry (Fig.1, 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 20) and the second AC bus line (Fig. 4, v);
second power circuitry (Fig.1, converter inside 20 of 6) (Fig. 4, 124) connected to the second converter circuitry (Fig. 4, 20), wherein the second power circuitry is configured to provide or receive electrical power (Fig. 4, 124 is a bi-directional DC-to-DC converter) [0047]; and
wherein the control circuitry (Fig. 4, 24) is configured to control a second flow of power between the second power circuitry and the plurality of power bus lines by controlling the second plurality of switches to connect and disconnect the second power circuitry to and from the plurality of power bus lines [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King in view of An Official Notice.
Regarding claim 11, King discloses the system of claim 10 above, King discloses the DC power source is a renewable energy source ([0027] “renewable energy source”). King does not explicitly disclose the renewable energy source is a photovoltaic power source. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of power distribution to use photovoltaic as a renewable power source. This fact is considered to be common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art and is not being supported by documentary evidence at this time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836