DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. See MPEP 2111.03 ‘cited in the Office Action mailed 10/1/25. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6159686 to Kardos et al. (hereinafter Kardos).
Regarding claim 15, Kardos discloses a luminescent lanthanide nanoparticle (particles having a size of 0.01 to 3 µm or 10 to 3000 nm, col 17, ln 27-29), comprising a lanthanide ion nanoparticle (col 14, ln 16-17 and 29-36) selected from a group of four lanthanides including terbium (col 14, ln 34), and several molecules of chromophore ligand that are bonded to the surface of the lanthanide ion nanoparticle (chelates, col 29, ln 26-39),
wherein said lanthanide ion nanoparticle comprises terbium (Tb) ions (col 14, ln 34) and ions of at least a second lanthanide selected from the group consisting of: praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd) (col 29, ln 51-53), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm) (col 14, ln 33-34) and ytterbium (Yb) (col 14, ln 33);
said ligand is an organic molecule comprising at least one chromophore radical of formula II:
wherein R is selected from H or COOH, particularly dipicolinic acid (col 29, ln 34-36).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select Tb because Tb is listed as one of four preferred ions (col 14, ln 34). It would also be obvious to select the optimal combination of lanthanide ions, including Tb, to provide a luminescent nanoparticle with the desired optical and chemical properties (col 14, ln 43-49).
Kardos further discloses a ratio of at least about 1:1 of the absorber (first lanthanide ion, Tb) to the emitter (second lanthanide ion), more usually about 3:1 to 5:1 (col 14, ln 36-38). This provides a ratio of about 67:33 to about 80:20 of the first lanthanide ion to the second lanthanide ion, or 67-80 mol% Tb and 20-33 mol% second lanthanide ion, which overlaps the instantly claimed ratios of between 75 and 99.9 mol% Tb and between 0.1 and 25 mol% of the second lanthanide. See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 12/31/25, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The most recent amendment to the claim resolves the issue.
Therefore, the objection to claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 12/31/25, with respect to Kardos have been fully considered and are persuasive. The newly amended claims require at least one of Ce, Sm and Dy in combination with Tb. Kardos does not teach or suggest this combination.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-13 as obvious over Kardos has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 12/31/25, with respect to the double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. A proper terminal disclaimer was filed on 12/31/25.
Therefore, the obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1-13 as unpatentable over the claims of 077 has been withdrawn.
New claims 14-16 are addressed on page 11 of the response filed 12/31/25. All three claims are supported by the original disclosure.
It is agreed that Kardos does not teach or suggest the subject matter of new claims 14 and 16.
New claim 15 recites between 75 and 99.9 mol% Tb ions and between 0.1 and 25 mol% of ions of the second lanthanide. Applicant argues that Kardos discloses about 50 mol % Tb and about 50 mol% Yb but does not teach the amounts of Tb and the second lanthanide ion as set forth in the new claim. However, Kardos does teach that the ratio of absorber (first ion Tb) to emitter (second ion) is at least about 1:1, more usually about 3:1 to 5:1 (col 14, ln 36-38). This provides a Tb to second ion ratio of about 67:33 to about 80:20, which overlaps the instantly claimed ranges, as discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 and 16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closes prior art is applicant’s prior invention, US 12163077 B2, and a proper terminal disclaimer has been filed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734