DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bulgin (GB 700,751) in view of Mooring (5,667,152) in further view of Suzuki et al. (US 6,376939) or Zajac et al. (2002/0079887).
With respect to claim 1, Bulgin discloses a safety system for a machine comprising a sensor array (3a-3c) comprising at least two sensor elements having conductive windings, each sensor element comprising a protective plate (defined by the machine frame surrounding the magnetic elements) and a conductive winding , each conductive winding comprising at least one loop of wire; a sensor circuit configured to sense a current induced in the conductive windings by a magnetic field of a magnetic safety device (defined by a permanent magnet of a strap worn on the operators’ wrist or attached to a glove worn by the operator; see page, 44-53), the current induced by moving the magnetic safety device proximate to the sensor array, the sensor circuit further comprising an amplifier (4, 5) that generated an amplified signal proportional to the current. Bulgin also teaches that an operation of a cutting machine is interrupted when the signal is greater than a threshold (a predetermined value). See Figs. 1-2; page 4, lines 117-130; and page 5, lines 1-20 in Bulgin.
Bulgin; however, does not expressly disclose that the sensor elements are mounted on opposing sides of an infeed chute; and a comparator to compare the amplified signal to a threshold value.
Mooring teaches a method of automatically interrupting the operation of a cutting machine, the method comprising: forming a sensor array including a first sensor element 48 and a second sensor element 48, the first and second sensor elements are connected in series opposing; mounting the sensor array on opposing sides of an infeed chute 32 of a cutting machine such that the first sensor element is mounted to a first side of the infeed chute and the second sensor element is mounted to an opposing second side of the infeed chute. See Figs. 1-4 and col. 2, lines 34-65 in Mooring. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount Bulgin’ safety system on opposite sides of an infeed chute, as taught by Mooring, in order to provide a safety mechanism for a wood chipper. Bulgin in view of Mooring does not explicitly teach a comparator to compare the amplified signal to a threshold value. However, Suzuki teaches a sensor array including a first sensor element 26 and a second sensor element 26, each sensor element having a guard or protective plate 27, 28. Suzuki also teaches that a comparator compares an amplified signal from an amplifier 64 to a threshold value. See Figs. 1-16 and paragraph 93 in Suzuki. Zajac also teaches a sensor array including a first sensor element (A) having at least one loop of wire as a conductive winding, a second sensor element (B) having at least a loop of wire as a conductive winding, an amplifier 46, and a comparator 47. Zajac also teaches a current circuit configured to sense a current induced in the conductive winding by a device. Zajac also teaches that the comparator compares the amplified signal to a threshold value. See Figs.1-2 and paragraph 9 in Zajac. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Bulgin’ safety system, as modified by Mooring, with the comparator, as taught by Suzuki or Zajac, in order to facilitated detection of a signal that exceed the threshold value and with high reliability regardless of variation of output single of the amplifier.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,528,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,528,452 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836