DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/23/2026 with respect to Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10. 15, 16, and 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection based on the teaching of Malladi in view of NORRIE.
The applicant contends that Malladi in view of NORRIE does not teach or suggest the limitation of a single host device. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference teaches away only if it criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages investigation into the invention claimed. A prior art reference that discloses more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed (MPEP 2141.02, 2145). Malladi does not criticize, discredit, or discourage the use of a single host configuration. A reference does not teach away merely because it discloses an alternative solution or because one embodiment is preferred over another.
Furthermore, Applicant’s reliance on Malladi paragraph [0004] does not establish that Malladi requires a multi-server configuration. Paragraoh [0004] merely states that it “may be advantageous, in some circumstances, for a processing resource of one server to access a memory resource of another server.” Such language identifies a potential advantage in certain circumstances and does not establish that operation with multiple servers is required or that operation with a single server would render Malladi inoperable for its intended purpose.
Moreover, Applicant’s assertion that Malladi is limited to a multi-server architecture whose purpose would be defeated by implementation with a single host is not persuasive. Contrary to Applicant’s characterization, Malladi expressly states in paragraph [0005] that “there is a need for an improved system and method for managing memory resources in a system including one or more servers.” Thus, Malladi expressly contemplates a system having one server and does not require a plurality of servers. Malladi’s disclosure of embodiments employing multiple servers does not exclude or discourage implementation with a single server, particularly where Malladi expressly describes its system as including “one or more servers.” Accordingly, Malladi does not teach away from a single-host configuration merely because other embodiments provide memory sharing or pooling among multiple servers.
Applicant further argues that Norrie’s disclosure of a “single-host bridging restriction” demonstrates that the cited references are incompatible with the claimed single-host configuration. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Norrie identifies limitations associated with conventional single-host PCIes hierarchies when attempting to share PCIes resources across multiple servers, Norrie nevertheless expressly establishes that single -host PCIe hierarchies were known in the art. More importantly, Malladi itself does not require the use of multiple hosts. Malladi expressly states that its disclosed memory-resources management may be implemented in a system including “one or more servers” (Malladi, p. 0005) and further expressly discloses CXL switching capable of “connecting one root port to multiple end points” (Malladi p. 0044). Thus, Applicant’s assertion that a single-host implementation would render Malladi inoperable, or defeat Malladi’s purpose is not supported by Malladi’s disclosure.
Applicant further argues that neither Malladi nor Norrie teaches that the data transfer operation occur “only with a single host device.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 1 requires such a showing. Claim 1 recites an apparatus comprising “a single host device,” a first memory device configured to receive data from the single host device, and one or more second memory devices configured to receive the data from the first memory device via peer-to peer transfer operations, wherein the operations replicate data without involvement of the single host device. Claim 1 does not recite that the disclosed architecture must be incapable of supporting additional hosts or that the peer-to peer transfer operations must occur exclusively in an architecture capable of operating only with a single host.
In response to applicant's argument that the Examiner’s rationale for combining Malladi and Norrie would result in a multi-host rather than a single-host system, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Accordingly, Norrie need not be incorporated in its entirety, including its multi-host ghost-bridging functionality into Malladi. Rather, Norrie’s teaching of a known single-host PCIe configuration may be considered together with Malladi’s express disclosure of systems including “one or more servers” and a CXL configuration connecting one root port to multiple endpoints. Thus, one of ordinary skills in the art would have found it obvious to implement Malladi’s expressly contemplated architecture using Norrie’s known single-host configuration, thereby providing a conventional arrangement in which a single host accesses multiple endpoints through a single root port. Such modification would have amounted to the use of a known configuration in Malladi’s expressly contemplated single-server implementation and would have yielded the predictable result of providing Malladi’s memory-management functionality in a single-host system.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive and rejections of claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10, 15, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie is maintained. With regards to claims 2-3, 5, 7, 11-14, 17-18 and 20 the applicant did not make any arguments regarding the reference; the examiner is therefore maintaining the references. See below the new rejection of the stated claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10, 15-16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi (U.S. Patent Application No 202103116460 A1), hereinafter referred as Malladi, in view of Norrie et al (U.S. Patent Application No 2024/0104045 A1), hereinafter referred as Norrie.
As per claim 1, Malladi teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a single host device (there is a need for an improved system and method for managing memory resources in a system including one or more servers; Malladi p. 0005)((ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points; Malladi p. 0044); and
a plurality of memory devices configured in a fabric (a fabric manager may be employed to (i) perform device discovery and virtual CXL software creation, and to (ii) bind virtual ports to physical ports. Such a fabric manager may operate through connections over an SMBus sideband. Each server can be populated with multiple direct-attached CXL attached memory modules; Malladi p.0045, 0049), comprising:
a first memory device configured to receive data from the single host device (it may (as mentioned above) virtualize the memory modules , i.e., operate as a translation layer, translating between processing circuit-side addresses (or “processor-side” addresses, i.e., addresses that are included in memory read and write commands issued by the processing circuits ) and memory-side addresses (i.e., addresses employed by the enhanced capability CXL switch to address storage locations in the memory modules ), thereby masking the physical addresses of the memory modules and presenting a virtual aggregation of memory; Malladi p. 0061)((i) connecting multiple root ports to one end point, (ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points, or (iii) connecting multiple root ports to multiple end points), with aggregated devices being, in some embodiments, partitioned into multiple logical devices each with a respective LD-ID (logical device identifier); Malladi p. 0044)
and one or more second memory devices configured to receive the data from the first memory device via one or more peer-to-peer transfer operations (The controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may facilitate a physical function (PF) to PF transfer (peer-to-peer). The processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module; p. 0066)
that are caused via a manager component for the fabric (The controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may also act as a management device for the memory modules and help with host control plane processing; Malladi p. 0050),
the one or more peer-to-peer transfer operations to replicate the data from the first memory device to the one or more second memory devices (the data may be copied from one memory module to another memory module; Malladi p. 0066) without involvement of the single host device (The controller may transparently move data without the participation of the processing circuits and accordingly update the memory map (or “address translation table”) so that subsequent accesses function as expected; p. 0061) (the processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module behind the enhanced capability CXL switch without going to the processing circuit; Malladi p. 0066) )((i) connecting multiple root ports to one end point, (ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points, or (iii) connecting multiple root ports to multiple end points), with aggregated devices being, in some embodiments, partitioned into multiple logical devices each with a respective LD-ID (logical device identifier); Malladi p. 0044)
Malladi mentions connecting one root port to multiple end points (Malladi p. 0044). However, Norrie in analogous art further evidence that a single host device was a known configuration (Typically, a PCIe hierarchy is a tree that fans out of a single root port. This root port is commonly connected to a central processing unit (CPU) socket. Therefore, all devices on the PCIe hierarchy are available or accessible only to a single host server through this single root port (this equates to a single host device); Norrie p. 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of MALLADI with the teachings of Norrie by configuring the apparatus to comprise a single host device.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a single host device in the system of MALLADI because Norrie’s single-host PCIe hierarchy is recognized as a known configuration suitable for implementing Malladi’s expressly contemplated one-root port to multiple endpoint configuration, thereby providing predictable result of a single host accessing multiple endpoints through a single root port (Norrie p. 0003).
As per claim 4, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Malladi also teaches wherein the plurality of memory devices comprise a plurality of Compute Express Link (CXL) devices (The memory modules may be directly attached to the processing circuits as shown, and the top of rack Ethernet switch may be used for scaling the system to larger sizes (e.g., with larger numbers of servers); Malladi p. 0045, 0048-0049).
As per claim 6, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Malladi also teaches wherein the plurality of memory devices comprise a plurality of volatile or persistent memory devices (The system memory may include, e.g., DDR4 memory, DRAM, HBM, or LDPPR memory (volatile memory devices). The memory modules may be partitioned or contain cache controllers to handle multiple memory types; Malladi p. 0059, 0085) (one or more of the memory modules may include persistent memory, or “persistent storage” (i.e., storage within which data is not lost when external power is disconnected); Malladi p. 0051)
As per claim 8, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Malladi also teaches wherein the fabric comprises
one or more switches communicatively coupling the plurality of memory devices (Each input port of the enhanced capability CXL switch may independently access multiple output ports of the enhanced capability CXL switch and the memory modules connected thereto; Malladi p. 0045, 0049, 0060).
As per claim 9, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Malladi also teaches wherein the one or more peer-to-peer transfer operations are one or more Compute Express Link (CXL) memory operations (the controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may facilitate a physical function (PF) to PF transfer. For example, if one of the processing circuits needs to move data from one physical address to another (which may have the same virtual addresses; this fact need not affect the operation of the processing circuit), or if the processing circuit needs to move data between two virtual addresses (which the processing circuit would need to have) the controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may supervise the transfer, without the involvement of the processing circuit . For example, the processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module (e.g., the data may be copied from one memory module to another memory module) behind the enhanced capability CXL switch without going to the processing circuit; p. 0066)
As per claim 10, Malladi teaches a method, comprising:
loading data to a first memory device of a plurality of memory devices configured in a fabric (a fabric manager may be employed to (i) perform device discovery and virtual CXL software creation, and to (ii) bind virtual ports to physical ports. Such a fabric manager may operate through connections over an SMBus sideband. Each server can be populated with multiple direct-attached CXL attached memory modules; Malladi p.0045, 0049);
and causing, by the device, the first memory device to propagate the data to one or more second memory devices (it may (as mentioned above) virtualize the memory modules , i.e., operate as a translation layer, translating between processing circuit-side addresses (or “processor-side” addresses, i.e., addresses that are included in memory read and write commands issued by the processing circuits ) and memory-side addresses (i.e., addresses employed by the enhanced capability CXL switch to address storage locations in the memory modules ), thereby masking the physical addresses of the memory modules and presenting a virtual aggregation of memory; p. 0061) )((i) connecting multiple root ports to one end point, (ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points, or (iii) connecting multiple root ports to multiple end points), with aggregated devices being, in some embodiments, partitioned into multiple logical devices each with a respective LD-ID (logical device identifier); Malladi p. 0044)
, of the plurality of memory devices, via one or more peer-to-peer transfer operations (The controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may facilitate a physical function (PF) to PF transfer (peer-to-peer). The processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory moduleto another memory module; p. 0066) to replicate the data from the first memory device to the one or more second memory devices (the data may be copied from one memory module to another memory module; p. 0066) without involvement of the single host device (The controller may transparently move data without the participation of the processing circuits and accordingly update the memory map (or “address translation table”) so that subsequent accesses function as expected; p. 0061) (the processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module behind the enhanced capability CXL switch without going to the processing circuit; p. 0066) )((i) connecting multiple root ports to one end point, (ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points, or (iii) connecting multiple root ports to multiple end points), with aggregated devices being, in some embodiments, partitioned into multiple logical devices each with a respective LD-ID (logical device identifier); Malladi p. 0044).
Malladi mentions connecting one root port to multiple end points (Malladi p. 0044). However, Norrie in analogous art further evidence that a single host device was a known configuration (Typically, a PCIe hierarchy is a tree that fans out of a single root port. This root port is commonly connected to a central processing unit (CPU) socket. Therefore, all devices on the PCIe hierarchy are available or accessible only to a single host server through this single root port (this equates to a single host device); Norrie p. 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of MALLADI with the teachings of Norrie by configuring the apparatus to comprise a single host device.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a single host device in the system of MALLADI because Norrie’s single-host PCIe hierarchy is recognized as a known configuration suitable for implementing Malladi’s expressly contemplated one-root port to multiple endpoint configuration, thereby providing predictable result of a single host accessing multiple endpoints through a single root port (Norrie p. 0003).
As per claim 15, Malladi teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a single host device(there is a need for an improved system and method for managing memory resources in a system including one or more servers; Malladi p. 0005)((ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points; Malladi p. 0044); and
a plurality of memory devices configured in a fabric with the single host device and a fabric manager, for the fabric, configured to (a fabric manager may be employed to (i) perform device discovery and virtual CXL software creation, and to (ii) bind virtual ports to physical ports. Such a fabric manager may operate through connections over an SMBus sideband. Each server can be populated with multiple direct-attached CXL attached memory modules; Malladi p.0045, 0049)
cause a first memory device, of the plurality of memory devices, to receive data from the single host device (it may (as mentioned above) virtualize the memory modules , i.e., operate as a translation layer, translating between processing circuit-side addresses (or “processor-side” addresses, i.e., addresses that are included in memory read and write commands issued by the processing circuits ) and memory-side addresses (i.e., addresses employed by the enhanced capability CXL switch to address storage locations in the memory modules ), thereby masking the physical addresses of the memory modules and presenting a virtual aggregation of memory; p. 0061) )((i) connecting multiple root ports to one end point, (ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points, or (iii) connecting multiple root ports to multiple end points), with aggregated devices being, in some embodiments, partitioned into multiple logical devices each with a respective LD-ID (logical device identifier); Malladi p. 0044);
and cause one or more second memory devices, of the plurality of memory devices, to receive the data from the first memory device via one or more peer-to-peer transfer operations (The controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may facilitate a physical function (PF) to PF transfer (peer-to-peer). The processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module; p. 0066) without involvement of the single host device (The controller may transparently move data without the participation of the processing circuits and accordingly update the memory map (or “address translation table”) so that subsequent accesses function as expected; p. 0061) (the processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module behind the enhanced capability CXL switch without going to the processing circuit; p. 0066) )((i) connecting multiple root ports to one end point, (ii) connecting one root port to multiple end points, or (iii) connecting multiple root ports to multiple end points), with aggregated devices being, in some embodiments, partitioned into multiple logical devices each with a respective LD-ID (logical device identifier); Malladi p. 0044).
Malladi mentions connecting one root port to multiple end points (Malladi p. 0044).
However, Norrie in analogous art further evidence that a single host device was a known configuration (Typically, a PCIe hierarchy is a tree that fans out of a single root port. This root port is commonly connected to a central processing unit (CPU) socket. Therefore, all devices on the PCIe hierarchy are available or accessible only to a single host server through this single root port (this equates to a single host device); Norrie p. 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of MALLADI with the teachings of Norrie by configuring the apparatus to comprise a single host device.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a single host device in the system of MALLADI because Norrie’s single-host PCIe hierarchy is recognized as a known configuration suitable for implementing Malladi’s expressly contemplated one-root port to multiple endpoint configuration, thereby providing predictable result of a single host accessing multiple endpoints through a single root port (Norrie p. 0003).
As per claim 16, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 15, Malladi also teaches wherein the fabric manager is configured to cause the one or more second memory devices to receive the data from the first memory device via the one or more peer-to-peer transfers to replicate the data from the first memory device to the one or more second memory devices (the controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may facilitate a physical function (PF) to PF transfer. For example, if one of the processing circuits needs to move data from one physical address to another (which may have the same virtual addresses; this fact need not affect the operation of the processing circuit), or if the processing circuit needs to move data between two virtual addresses (which the processing circuit would need to have) the controller of the enhanced capability CXL switch may supervise the transfer, without the involvement of the processing circuit . For example, the processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module (e.g., the data may be copied from one memory module to another memory module) behind the enhanced capability CXL switch without going to the processing circuit; Malladi p. 0066).
As per claim 19, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 15, further comprising:
one or more switches communicatively coupling the plurality of memory devices (the system implements a aggregated architecture, including multiple servers, with each server aggregated with multiple CXL-attached memory modules . Each of the memory modules may contain multiple partitions that can separately be exposed as memory devices to multiple processing circuits . Each input port of the enhanced capability CXL switch may independently access multiple output ports of the enhanced capability CXL switch and the memory modules connected thereto; Malladi p. 0060)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Shin et al (U.S. Patent Application No 2011/0113296 A1), hereinafter referred as Shin.
As per claim 2, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Malladi also teaches wherein the one or more peer-to-peer transfer operations replicate the data from the first memory device to the one or more second memory devices (the processing circuit may send a CXL request, and data may be transmitted from one memory module to another memory module (e.g., the data may be copied from one memory module to another memory module) behind the enhanced capability CXL switch without going to the processing circuit; Malladi p. 0066) to enable testing of the first memory device and the one or more second memory devices.
Malladi fails to teach the enabling of testing of the first memory device and the one or more second memory devices.
However, Shin in an analogous art teaches the enabling of testing of the first memory device and the one or more second memory devices (The comparator may perform the testing operation in which the data may pass or fail, which may be determined by comparing the output data of the memory stored in a memory address with the expected data; p. 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Shin by configuring the peer-to-peer transfer operation to enable testing of the memory devices.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ testing of the memory devices in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Shin teaches transferring data to memory and comparing stored data with expected data is an effective technique for known testing methodology to enable validation of the memory device (Shin p. 0125).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Yudanov et al (U.S. Patent Application No 2021/0397932 A1), hereinafter referred as Yudanov.
As per claim 3, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the first memory device is further configured to perform processing in memory to modify the data that is to be replicated from the first memory device to the one or more second memory devices.
However, Yudanov in an analogous art teaches wherein the first memory device is further configured to perform processing in memory to modify the data that is to be replicated from the first memory device to the one or more second memory devices (a processing-in memory (PIM) capable device refers to a memory device capable of performing logical and arithmetic operations on data stored in an array of memory cells using a processing resource internal to the memory device; Malladi p. 0022, 0025, 0041-0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Yudanov by configuring the memory device with processing-in memory (PIM).
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ PIM in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Yudanov teaches methods, apparatuses, and systems for in-or near-memory processing to save time and/or conserve power by reducing and possibly eliminating external communications (Yudanov p. 0020).
As per claim 17, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 15.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the fabric manager is configured to cause the one or more second memory devices to receive the data, as modified by the first memory device, via the one or more peer-to-peer transfers.
However, Yudanov in an analogous art teaches wherein the fabric manager is configured to cause the one or more second memory devices to receive the data, as modified by the first memory device, via the one or more peer-to-peer transfer (a processing-in memory (PIM) capable device refers to a memory device capable of performing logical and arithmetic operations on data stored in an array of memory cells using a processing resource internal to the memory device; Malladi p. 0022, 0025, 0041-0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Yudanov by configuring the memory device with processing-in memory (PIM).
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ PIM in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Yudanov teaches methods, apparatuses, and systems for in-or near-memory processing to save time and/or conserve power by reducing and possibly eliminating external communications (Yudanov p. 0020).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of TAKI (U.S Patent Application No 20220066636 A1).
As per claim 5, Malladi teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the plurality of memory devices comprise a plurality of accelerators.
However, TAKI in an analogous art teaches wherein the plurality of memory devices comprise a plurality of accelerators (The CXL device of Type 2 has an accelerator function to operate by coherently caching the host memory and/or the device memory. This accelerator function makes it possible to set whether the device memory as well as the host memory is coherently cached; TAKI p. 0031, 0034. 0036-0037)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of TAKI by configuring the memory devices to comprise accelerators.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ accelerators in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because TAKI teaches a memory system connected to a host as a type 3 CXL device to support coherent caching involving host memory and/or the device memory with CXL architecture (TAKI p. 0034).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of IKEDA (U.S Patent Application No 2008/0101104 A1).
As per claim 7, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the plurality of memory devices have a same configuration.
However, IKEDA in an analogous art teaches wherein the plurality of memory devices have a same configuration ((When all the stacked memory chips have same configuration, all the memory chips receive a common address. Therefore, all the memory chips are selected simultaneously. Although having same configuration, layers can be individually selected and activated with a layer address input externally by layer selection methods as described below, for example; IKEDA p. 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of IKEDA by configuring the memory devices to have a same configuration.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the same configuration amongst the memory devices in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because IKEDA teaches when the stacked memory chips have same configuration, they can receive a common address simplifying addressing and control of the memory devices and having the size of a large-capacity semiconductor device is reduced (IKEDA p. 0005).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Abts et al (U.S. Patent Application No 2023/0161621 A1), hereinafter referred as Abts.
As per claim 11, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the method of claim 10.
Malladi fails to teach wherein causing the first memory device to propagate the data to the one or more second memory devices comprises causing a fan-out propagation of the data.
However, Abts in an analogous art teaches wherein causing the first memory device to propagate the data to the one or more second memory devices comprises causing a fan-out propagation of the data (This “fan-out” and “fan-in” of the data allows for additional bandwidth (if available) to be utilized for transferring data to TSP2, allowing for the transfer of data to be completed in a more timely manner, despite the increase in path lengths of the individual routes; Abts p. 0080)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Abts by configuring the memory device to cause a fan-out propagation of the data.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a fan-out propagation of the data in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Abts teaches fan-out communication for transferring data in a tensor steaming multiprocessor to use an otherwise under-utilized path with the goal of reducing latency and improving overall throughput (Abts p. 0082).
As per claim 14, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the method of claim 10.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the plurality of memory devices are communicatively coupled in a ring topology, a star topology, a mesh topology, or a tree topology.
However, Abts in an analogous art teaches wherein the plurality of memory devices are communicatively coupled in a ring topology, a star topology, a mesh topology, or a tree topology (high-level diagrams illustrating different types of network topologies, in accordance with some embodiments. Network system topologies can typically be classified as either indirect or direct networks; Abts FIG. 3A-3C; p. 0005, 0008, 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Abts by configuring the memory devices to be coupled in a specific topology.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ network topologies efficiency to the network diameter in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Abts teaches streaming multiprocessor for machine learning to reduce network latency (hop count) as well as lower the network cost to improve communication (Abts p. 0041).
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Duncan et al (U.S. Patent Application No 2006/0123142), hereinafter referred as Duncan.
As per claim 12, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the method of claim 10.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach the method further comprising:
causing, by the device, the plurality of memory devices to return stored data to the single host device via one or more additional peer-to-peer transfer operations.
However, Duncan in an analogous art teaches causing, by the device, the plurality of memory devices to return stored data to the single host device via one or more additional peer-to-peer transfer operations (a second host logic for accessing a local memory within the second device to extract data identified by the read command, and a second fabric interface for returning the data from the second device to the first device through the interconnectivity fabric using the protocol; Duncan p. 0032; Claim 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Duncan by configuring the device to cause the memory devices to return stored datat to the host.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ returning stored data to the host in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Duncan teaches returning stored data from the memory devices to the host in peer-to-peer communication over an interconnect fabric to provide processing speed and flexibility within the computing environment (Duncan p. 0005).
As per claim 18, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 15.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the fabric manager is further configured to cause the plurality of memory devices to return stored data to the single host device via one or more additional peer-to-peer transfer operations.
However, Duncan in an analogous art teaches wherein the fabric manager is further configured to cause the plurality of memory devices to return stored data to the single host device via one or more additional peer-to-peer transfer operations (a second host logic for accessing a local memory within the second device to extract data identified by the read command, and a second fabric interface for returning the data from the second device to the first device through the interconnectivity fabric using the protocol; Duncan p. 0032; Claim 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Duncan by configuring the device to cause the memory devices to return stored datat to the host.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ returning stored data to the host in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Duncan teaches returning stored data from the memory devices to the host in peer-to-peer communication over an interconnect fabric to provide processing speed and flexibility within the computing environment (Duncan p. 0005).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Duncan and Abts.
As per claim 13, Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Duncan teaches the method of claim 12.
Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Duncan fails to teach causing the plurality of memory devices to return the stored data to the single host device comprises causing a fan-in returning of the stored data.
However, Abts in an analogous art teaches causing the plurality of memory devices to return the stored data to the single host device comprises causing a fan-in returning of the stored data (This “fan-out” and “fan-in” of the data allows for additional bandwidth (if available) to be utilized for transferring data to TSP2, allowing for the transfer of data to be completed in a more timely manner, despite the increase in path lengths of the individual routes; Abts p. 0080)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Duncan with the teachings of Abts by configuring the memory device to cause a fan-out propagation of the data.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a fan-out propagation of the data in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Duncan because Abts teaches fan-out communication for transferring data in a tensor steaming multiprocessor to use an otherwise under-utilized path with the goal of reducing latency and improving overall throughput (Abts p. 0082).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi in view of Norrie in further view of Kwon et al (U.S. Patent Application No 2024/0378161 A1), hereinafter referred as Kwon.
As per claim 20, Malladi in view of Norrie teaches the apparatus of claim 19.
Malladi in view of Norrie fails to teach wherein the fabric manager is implemented in the one or more switches.
However, Kwon in an analogous art teaches wherein the fabric manager is implemented in the one or more switches (The at least one PBR switch may be configured to: identify types of neighboring ports connected to each port, collect information about the neighboring ports, and transmit the collected information to the fabric manager. The fabric manager may be configured to: determine a topology of the CXL network based on the collected information. The fabric manager may be configured to: assign PBR identifiers (IDs) for PBR flit routing to the upstream port and the downstream port of the PBR switch, respectively; and generate connectivity between PBR switches to determine the topology of the CXL network; Kwon p. 0008, 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Malladi in view of Norrie with the teachings of Kwon by configuring the switched with a fabric manager.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a fabric manager in the switch in the system of Malladi in view of Norrie because Kwon teaches the fabric manager within the CXL switch to perform fabric and topology discovery and manage PBR switch (Kwon p. 0006-0008).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYLUN A JACKSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112