DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. Claims 1-14 are subject to examination on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01 October 2026.
Priority
3. This application is a CON of PCT/US2023/022978 filed 19 May 2023, which claims priority to PRO 63/368,936 filed 20 July 2022, which then claims priority to foreign application filed in India (IN200221029160) on 20 May 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 October 2026 has been considered by the examiner. See initialed and signed PTO/SB/08’s.
Specification
5. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (paragraphs 0104, 0105, and 0106). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
6. The use of the terms TrueCut™, CRISPRMAX™, OptiMEM™ (paragraph 0134, 0135, and 0136), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “hybridise” should be “hybridize”, “characterised” should be “characterized”, and “synthesising” should be “synthesizing” to conform with American English. Appropriate correction is required.
8. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: periods in claims are not permitted except at the end of the claim and when used for abbreviations (See MPEP 608.01(m)). Thus, it is suggested to replace, for example, “a.” with “(a)” or “a)”, etc. and “i.” with “(i)” or “i)”, etc. It is noted, the preferred format for sequence identifiers is “SEQ ID NO:” – see MPEP 2422.01 and 37 C.F.R. 1821(c) and (d).
Appropriate corrections are required.
FOR SEQ ID NO: - – See MPEP 2422.01 and 37 C.F.R. 1.821(c) and (d)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description:
10. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a method of making a guide RNA, wherein the gRNA comprises a nucleic acid sequence that is configured to hybridize with a target nucleic acid sequence within the genome, wherein the target nucleic acid sequence is within a locus that is active within a specific cell type, wherein the method comprises: i) identifying one or more candidate nucleic acid sequences that are unique to a specific cell type as compared to a control cell, thereby identifying tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences; ii) identifying a subset of candidate nucleic acids of i) within an accessible chromatin region of the genome, and iii) synthesizing a gRNA that hybridizes to one or more of the tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences identified in ii). Additionally, the tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences comprise at least one tissue specific gene expression control sequence, and the cell type can be chosen from muscle, liver, CNS, brain, breast, endothelium, pancreas, esophagus, colon, gastrointestinal organs, kidney, lung, spleen, skin, heart, thyroid, lymphatic tissue, cardiovascular, eye, bone marrow, blood, connective tissue, bladder, reproductive organs, and placenta, and further, the cell type may be diseased, caused by an intracellular pathogen and/or neoplasm.
MPEP 2163(1):
35 U.S.C. 112(a) and the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 require that the "specification shall contain a written description of the invention ...." This requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane); Vas-Gath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1560, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1114 (Fed. Cir. 1991); see also Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920-23, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1890-93 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (discussing the history and purpose of the written description requirement); In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1357, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("conclusive evidence of a claim's enablement is not equally conclusive of that claim's satisfactory written description"). The written description requirement has several policy objectives. "[T]he 'essential goal' of the description of the invention requirement is to clearly convey the information that an applicant [inventor] has invented the subject matter which is claimed." In re Barker, 559 F.2d 588, 592 n.4, 194 USPQ 470, 473 n.4 (CCPA 1977). Another objective is to convey to the public what the applicant claims as the invention. See Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d 1559, 1566, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). "The 'written description' requirement implements the principle that a patent must describe the technology that is sought to be patented; the requirement serves both to satisfy the inventor's obligation to disclose the technologic knowledge upon which the patent is based, and to demonstrate that the patentee [inventor] was in possession of the invention that is claimed." Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1084 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Further, the written description requirement promotes the progress of the useful arts by ensuring that patentees adequately describe their inventions in their patent specifications in exchange for the right to exclude others from practicing the invention for the duration of the patent's term.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Gath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. However, a showing of possession alone does not cure the lack of a written description. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 969-70, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1617 (Fed. Cir. 2002). For example, it is now well accepted that a satisfactory description may be found in originally-filed claims or any other portion of the originally-filed specification. See In re Koller, 613 F.2d 819, 204 USPQ 702 (CCPA 1980); In re Gardner, 475 F.2d 1389, 177 USPQ 396 (CCPA 1973); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). However, that does not mean that all originally-filed claims have adequate written support. The specification must still be examined to assess whether an originally-filed claim has adequate support in the written disclosure and/or the drawings.
11. The claims are drawn to a method of making a guide RNA, wherein the gRNA comprises a nucleic acid sequence that is configured to hybridize with a target nucleic acid sequence within the genome, wherein the target nucleic acid sequence is within a locus that is active within a specific cell type, wherein the method comprises: i) identifying one or more candidate nucleic acid sequences that are unique to a specific cell type as compared to a control cell, thereby identifying tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences; ii) identifying a subset of candidate nucleic acids of i) within an accessible chromatin region of the genome, and iii) synthesizing a gRNA that hybridizes to one or more of the tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences identified in ii). Additionally, the tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences comprise at least one tissue specific gene expression control sequence, and the cell type can be chosen from muscle, liver, CNS, brain, breast, endothelium, pancreas, esophagus, colon, gastrointestinal organs, kidney, lung, spleen, skin, heart, thyroid, lymphatic tissue, cardiovascular, eye, bone marrow, blood, connective tissue, bladder, reproductive organs, and placenta, and further, the cell type may be diseased, caused by an intracellular pathogen and/or neoplasm. The variability in possible guide RNAs, target nucleic acids, cell types, and disease states are enormous. The specification does not describe all of these types of cells and disease states. The specification describes multiple loci in liver cell lines compared to a control cell line and the successful cutting of the target in that cell line. How accurate guide RNA targets a specific locus is unknown in every cell line, let alone a diseased cell in a greater tissue and/or organ. Additionally, the exemplification of 3 guide RNAs (N1-N3) in the context of 3 cell lines (HepG2, Caco2, and A549) is not indicative of all the possible cells, cell lines, tissues, and organs claimed here, and it is notable that there is no examples of a non-cancer cell or diseased cells other than the cancer lines mentioned above. Here the specification is incomplete and it mandates that those skilled in the art must then figure out how to use the aimed invention. Thus, the claims do not find adequate support in any place in the specification to show that possession of methods for making gRNAs for targeting any nucleic acid in a diseased or non-diseased cell. The courts have established:
Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2013):
A patent, however, "is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353 (quoting University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 930 n.10). For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from "leaving it to the ... industry to complete an ufinished invention.” Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
13. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
14. The term “specific cell type” recited in claim 1 makes it indefinite. It is unclear what makes this cell specific. Is this specific cell compared to a general cell, or is it in reference to a specific cell that is tissue specific, disease state specific, or numerically specific? Claims 2-14 are included in the instant rejection, since they do not mitigate the issue.
15. The recitation of “a control cell that is selected from a different cell type” recited in claim 1(i) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how a cell from a different cell type could serve as a control. Is “different” defined as a different cell of the same tissue or organ or is this cell a different cell from a different tissue, organ, or even organism? It is recommended to amend the claim to recite “a cell type from a different tissue” to make clear that this comparison would result in the claimed “tissue specific candidate nucleic acid.” Claims 2-14 are included in the instant rejection, since they do not mitigate the issue.
16. The term “predominately” and “uniquely in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what “predominately” and/or “uniquely” mean in comparison of the expression of a gene, i.e.. there is no baseline or wild-type to make this comparison. Additionally, it is unclear what degree of difference would qualify as “predominately” or “uniquely.” Claim 6 is included in the instant rejection, since the claim does not mitigate the issue.
17. The terms “optimal” and “minimum” in claim 14 are relative terms that render the claim indefinite. It is unclear what “optimal” and/or “minimum” mean in this context, i.e. are there ranges for ”optimal” or “minimum” in the gRNA selection process?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
20. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) being anticipated by Lande et al (Lande et al., 2018, US 2018/0179525 A1—cited on the IDS dated 16 October 2026). Regarding claim 1, drawn to a method for making a guide RNA, wherein the gRNA comprises a nucleic acid sequence that is configured to hybridize with a target nucleic acid sequence, wherein said target is active within a specific cell type, wherein the method comprises: i) identifying one or more candidate sequences that are unique to a specific cell versus a control cell, ii) identifying a subset of the candidate nucleic acid of (i) comprised within the accessible chromatin, and iii) synthesizing a gRNA that hybridizes to one or more of the tissue specific candidate nucleic acid sequences identified in (ii), Lande et al. teaches a DNA binding moiety that binds specifically to one or more target anchor sequences within a cell and not to non-targeted anchor sequences within the cell with sufficient affinity that it competes with binding of an endogenous nucleating polypeptide within the cell (paragraph 0005). Lande et al. teaches gRNAs that target CTCF binding motif associated with target disease genes, associated with an oncogene, a tumor suppressor, or a disease associated with a nucleotide repeat (paragraph 0487); specifically, targeting and repressing oncogenes (paragraph 0628). Additionally, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of MYC, which is upregulated in about 70% of cancers compared to healthy tissues (Paragraph 0675-0676). Additionally, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of TUSC5, which is frequently deleted in lung cancers (paragraph 0764-0766). Regarding claim 2, drawn to one or more of the nucleic acids being adjacent or comprising a PAM, Lande et al. teaches that the target DNA sequence must generally be adjacent to a PAM (0344). Regarding claims 3-4, drawn to the targeting of a accessible chromatin region in a gene, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of highly-expressed nucleic acids, such as MYC (paragraphs 0675-0676). Regarding claim 5, drawn to the gene being uniquely expressed in a specific cell type, Lande et al. teaches the mis-regulation, i.e. upregulation, of the targeted MYC gene in many human cancers (paragraph 0675-0676). Regarding claim 6, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of the UTR of the dmpk gene, which is implicated in Type 1 myotonic dystrophy, where the Lande et al. teaches the specific targeting of the CTCF adjacent to the UTR repeats in the gene (paragraph 0877). Regarding claim 7-8, drawn to targeting a candidate nucleic acid comprising a gene expression control sequence, such as a promoter and an enhancer, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of MYC, which as both promoters and enhancers in the expression loop (paragraph 0675-0676). Regarding claim 9, where the specific cell is chosen from muscle; liver; central nervous system (CNS); brain; breast; endothelium; pancreas; esophagus; colon; gastrointestinal organs; kidney; lung; spleen; skin; heart; thyroid; lymphatic tissue; cardiovascular; eye; bone marrow; blood; connective tissue; bladder; reproductive organs; and placenta, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of different cell types, including e.g., the cardiovascular system (heart vasculature); digestive system (esophagus, stomach, liver, gallbladder, pancreas, intestines, colon, rectum, and anus); endocrine system (hypothalamus, pituitary gland, pineal body, or pineal gland, thyroid, parathyroids, adrenal, glands ); excretory system ( kidneys , ureters , bladder); lymphatic system (lymph , lymph nodes , lymph vessels , tonsils , adenoids , thymus , spleen); integumentary system (skin , hair , nails); muscular system (e.g. skeletal muscle); nervous system (brain , spinal cord , nerves); reproductive system (ovaries , uterus , mammary glands , testes , vas deferens , seminal vesicles , prostate); respiratory system (pharynx , larynx , trachea , bronchi , lungs , diaphragm); skeletal system (bone , cartilage), and combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the composition crosses a blood - brain - barrier , a placental membrane, or a blood - testis barrier (paragraph 0157). Regarding claims 10 and 12, drawn to a diseased cell being a neoplastic cell type, Lande et al. teaches the targeting of MYC in cancerous cells (paragraphs 0675-0676). Regarding claim 11, drawn to a target cell infected with an intracellular pathogen, Lande et al. teaches the composition targeting an infected cell harboring a pathogen (paragraph 0176). Regarding claim 13, drawn to the gRNA being an sgRNA, Lande et al. teaches the utilization of sgRNAs to targeting CTCF sites (paragraph 0878). Regarding claim 14, drawn to the gRNA selected based on optimal on-target cleavage and minimum off-target activity predictions, Lande et al. teaches the utilization of a custom gRNA generator and algorithm commercially available for use in the design of effective guide RNAs.
Conclusion
21. All claims are rejected.
/CIARA A MCKNIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/SUZANNE M NOAKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656