DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title is objected to because of the following informalities: “KARUSSEL” is not a word and should be changed to -CAROUSEL-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: "karussel" is not a word and should be changed to -carousel-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “the bearing support” in line 2 without antecedent basis. Claim 7 has been read as depending on claim 4.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation has been read as -a plate-.
Claim 13 lacks antecedent basis for “the other parts” in line 2. The limitation has been read as -other parts-.
Claim 13 recites “a karussel” in line 3. Whether this limitation refers to claim 1’s karussel or a separate karussel is unclear. The limitation has been read as -the karussel -.
Claim 15 recites “a horological movement” in lines 2-3. Whether this limitation refers to claim 13’s movement or a separate movement is unclear. The limitation has been read as -the horological movement-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barraud (EP 3193216).
Regarding claim 1, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) a carousel for a horological movement, the carousel comprising an inertial mass (24), a guide and a resilient return element (25) for returning the inertial mass, configured to cause it to oscillate in a plane, as well as an escapement mechanism (22) cooperating with the inertial mass, the carousel comprising a carriage (20) intended to be rotatable, the inertial mass, the guide, the resilient return element and the escapement mechanism being arranged inside the carriage (Fig. 4), the carousel comprising a first ball bearing (26) allowing the carriage to rotate, when mounted in a horological movement (Fig. 4: 20 forms part of the movement and is integral with 26, so that rotation of 26 rotates 20), and a second ball bearing (30) allowing the escapement mechanism to be actuated (30 has teeth 31 that meshes with 21 to allow 22 to be actuated), wherein the first ball bearing and the second ball bearing are arranged substantially in the same plane (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 1, wherein the first ball bearing (26) and the second ball bearing (30) are coaxial (Fig. 4—the bearings’ axis overlaps the axis of pinion 28).
Regarding claim 4, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 1, wherein the carousel comprises a bearing support (27) that includes the first ball bearing (26) and the second ball bearing (30).
Regarding claim 5, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 4, wherein the bearing support (27) is arranged beneath the carriage (20).
Regarding claim 6, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 4, wherein the carriage (20) comprises an upper armature (upper 20) and a lower armature (lower 20), the bearing support (27) being arranged beneath the lower armature (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 4, wherein the bearing support (27) comprises a first element (28), intended to be mounted integral with the carriage ([0019] of the translation).
Regarding claim 8, Barraud teaches the carousel according to claim 7, wherein the bearing support comprises a second element, intended to be mounted integral with the plate of the movement ([0019]: “an intermediate ring 29 fixed to the movement plate”).
Regarding claim 9, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 8, wherein the bearing support (27) comprises a third element (bottom bearing for pivot arbor 21), intended to be mounted integral with an arbor (21) actuating the escapement mechanism.
Regarding claim 10, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 9, wherein the first element (28) and the second element (29) are connected via the first ball bearing (26).
Regarding claim 11, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 10, wherein the third element (bottom bearing for 21) and the second element (29) are connected via the second ball bearing (30).
Regarding claim 12, Barraud teaches (Fig. 4) the carousel according to claim 9, wherein the first element (28), the second element (29) and the third element (bottom bearing for 21) are arranged in the same plane as the first ball bearing (26) and the second ball bearing (30). See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 13, Barraud teaches a horological movement ([0017]) comprising a plate ([0019]) configured to support other parts of the movement, the horological movement comprising drive means provided with a gear train ([0004]), and the carousel ([0001]) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Barraud teaches the horological movement according to claim 13, wherein the carousel is mounted at an angle to the plate ([0019]). Any angle is an angle, and the carousel and plate must be at some angle with respect to one another.
Regarding claim 15, Barraud teaches the timepiece comprising the horological movement according to claim 13 ([0017]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 3, Barraud shows (Fig. 4) a first ball bearing (26) arranged concentrically inside a second bearing 30).
The prior art does not show or suggest a second ball bearing arranged concentrically inside a first ball bearing, in combination with the other limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Feyer (US 20210026300) shows a carousel comprising an escapement mechanism ([0025]) and a ball bearing allowing the carousel to rotate ([0052]).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2831