Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species I; Figures 1-14 in the reply filed on August 31, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 10-18 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 31, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 40. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For claims 1 and 19, the doors appear to be connected to an intermediate member (see below) which connects to the back portion, but this member is not specifically identified or its function discussed. However, in order for the doors to pivot from the front to the back of the back portion of the cabinet, this feature is required. For claims 7 and 8, it is unclear how the latch in the locking position is capable of rotating relative to post 38 because of the horizontal members of 44, how the post receives an opening 40 that mechanically interlocks with the catch 44, and how the hook 42 is engaged within the catch 44.
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 1, it is unclear how the second door hinges(s) are located in contact with the first edge of the first door and a first edge of the second door. The doors are hinged to the back portion (respective intermediate portion) and not to each other. Note: it appears that the “wherein the one of more hinges…” limitation should not be in the second door paragraph of the claim. Also, it is unclear whether or not it is the first door or the hinges that include the first and second edges of the first door. Furthermore, for claim 1, it is unclear whether or not the “a third edge” in line 8 is the same third edge claimed in line 2. For claim 3, it is unclear what feature the parallel wall is parallel with respect to on the cabinet. For claim 19, it is unclear how there is “one or more of the first and second door”. There are only two doors disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rivers et al (6,806,422). For claims 1-3, Rivers teaches a cabinet (Fig. 8) comprising: a back portion (300) having a first, second, and third edge (a-c; see annotated figure below); a first door (104) connected to the back portion via one or more hinges (d), the first door including a first edge (e) and a second edge (f); a second door (106) connected to the back portion via one or more hinges (d); wherein the one or more hinges are located in contact with the first edge of the first door and a first edge of the second door; one or more retaining arm assemblies (108,150,154) located at the third edge of the back portion, wherein one or more retaining arm assemblies are capable of moving between a disengaged position (Fig. 3) and an engaged position (Fig. 8); a space (92) formed in the back portion capable of receiving a screen; wherein when the one or more retaining arm assemblies is in the engaged position the first door, the second door, or both are secured in an open position (via 160,158) and when the one or more retaining arm is in the disengaged position, the first door, the second door, or both are able to move between an open and closed position. Wherein the one or more retaining arm assemblies include a retaining arm (154,150), the retaining arm including a projection (158,160) that is capable of being received by a slot portion (i.e. other means of attachment; column 8, starting line 7 which is not positively claimed) located along a third edge of the first door and second door when in the engaged position. Wherein the one or more retaining arm assemblies include a “parallel” wall (125) having an opening (110,112) located therein for receiving a fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivers et al (6,806,422) in view of Ochiai (JP2002295103). As stated above, Rivers teaches the limitations stated above, including first and second doors. For claims 7-9, Rivers fails to teach a latch between the doors. Ochiai teaches first and second doors (3b,3a)
including a latch (Fig. 4) for maintaining the first and second door in a closed position.
Wherein the latch includes a hook (5) and catch (6) for receiving the hook. Wherein the hook is located on the second door and the catch is located on the first door. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cabinet of Rivers by adding a latch, such as is taught by Ochiai, between the doors, for keep the doors in a closed position.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivers et al (6,806,422). For claims 19 and 20, Rivers would inherently further teach a method comprising: providing a back portion (300) including a screen surface (back wall of 300 could have an image(s) projected thereon making it a screen surface) and having a first, second, and third edge (a-c); locating one or more retaining arm assemblies (108,150,154) onto the third edge of the back portion, the one or more retaining arm assemblies including a retaining arm (154,150) having a projection (158,160); connecting a first and second door (104,106) to the back portion via one or more hinges (d), the first and second door also including a first, second, and third edge (e,f,g), wherein the back portion and first and second doors form a cabinet; forming a portion (other attachment; column 8, starting line 7) in the third edge of the first and second doors; locating the projection with the portion so that the first door, second door, or both are maintained in an engaged and open position (Fig. 8). Wherein the first door and second door include inner surfaces that are a visible when the doors are in an open position and capable of receiving images that are electronic, static or some combination thereof (e.g. a poster, screen capable of being hung on inner door surfaces, etc). Although Rivers fails to specifically teach that the projections can be inserted into slots on the third edges of the doors, the catches/projections are stated as being attachable to the doors using “other means of attachment” (column 8, starting line 7). The examiner takes Official notice that slot and projection connections are well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third edges of the doors by adding slots therein to receive the projections, to help keep the doors in their open positions.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivers et al (6,806,422) in view Zhao (CN114027630). For claims 19 and 20, Rivers would inherently further teach a method comprising: providing a back portion (300) including a screen surface (back wall of 300 could have an image(s) projected thereon make it a screen surface) and having a first, second, and third edge (a-c); locating one or more retaining arm assemblies (108,150,154) onto the third edge of the back portion, the one or more retaining arm assemblies including a retaining arm (154,150) having a projection (158,160); connecting a first and second door (104,106) to the back portion via one or more hinges (d), the first and second door also including a first, second, and third edge (e,f,g), wherein the back portion and first and second doors form a cabinet; forming a portion (other attachment; column 8, starting line 7) in the third edge of one or more of the first and second door; locating the projection with the portion so that the first door, second door, or both are maintained in an engaged and open position (Fig. 8). Wherein the first door and second door include inner surfaces that are a visible when the doors are in an open position and capable of receiving images that are electronic, static or some combination thereof (e.g. a poster, screen capable of being hung on inner door surfaces). First, although the back wall and inner door surfaces are capable of receiving images/acting as a screen, even if this was not the case, Zhao teaches a screen (10) located on a cabinet door surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cabinet of Rivers by adding a screen, such as is taught by Zhao, to the back wall or inside of one of the doors, to provide an image/screen surface with the cabinet. Second, although Rivers fails to specifically teach that the projections can be inserted into slots on the third edges of the doors, the catches/projections are stated as being attachable to the doors using “other means of attachment” (column 8, starting line 7). The examiner takes Official notice that slot and projection connections are well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third edges of the doors by adding slots therein to receive the projections, to help keep the doors in their open positions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilkens
September 25, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637