DETAILED ACTION
Election Acknowledged
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I encompassing claims 1-23 in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that coexamination of Groups I-III would not pose a serious burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because the Groups were differently classified as well as having materially different designs as outlined in the requirement mailed 7/30/2026. Further, prior art which may anticipate or render obvious one method would neither anticipate nor render obvious the other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/5/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2012/0207929).
Yoo describes a method for producing various layered dosages forms via three-dimensional (3D) printing. Example 4 describes a layered tablet made by a process of 3D printing a first layer of a first composition (Plasdone C-15 in water) and a second layer of a second composition (pseudoephedrine, chlorpheniramine and Plasdone C-15) wherein the layers are printed in sequential order and wherein each printed layer has a thickness of 200 um (see [0072-0084]) (see instant claims 1, 5, 18, 19). Example 4 requires the composition used in producing the layers be prepared prior to printing (see instant claim 6). The layers of Example 4 are separate from and in direct contact with one another (see instant claims 1 and 2). Yoo’s method prints the layers as a liquid which then solidify as the solvent evaporates (e.g. cooling) (see [0028] and Example 4) (see instant claim 3). As the process is done in the open (e.g. not in a vacuum), air would be present in the space surrounding the printed compositions (e.g. circulating) (see instant claim 4). Yoo states that the printed layers are printed until a desired layer thickness is achieved with the number of layers being from 5 to 50 (i.e. a plurality of portions) (see [0027-0029]) (see instant claim 20)
Claims 1-13, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2020/0338009), evidenced by Merriam-Webster: syringe (1 page).
Li provides a precision pharmaceutical 3D printing device for forming multilayered dosage forms comprising a plurality of layers (see [0092]), wherein the multilayered dosage form is produced by a method comprising melting and pressurizing a first material; flowing the first material through a first extrusion port of a first nozzle comprising a tapered inner surface; stopping flow of the melted first material; melting and pressurizing a second material; and then initiating flow of the second material through a second extrusion port wherein the second material is printed directly onto the first material (see [0027, 0079, 0220-0222]) (see instant claims 1, 2, 6, 12). The extrusion process utilizes an actuator for moving the melted material through the nozzle (see [0051, 0072]). Li’s characterization overlaps with the definition of ‘syringe’ (‘a device used to inject fluids’; see evidence to definition of syringe) (see instant claim 17).
The first material and second material are different (see [0018, 0083] and claim 14) and first material is printed prior to the printing of the second portion (see instant claim 5). Li contemplates their method as providing additional layers of a third material (see [0093]) (see instant claim 21). As the first, second and third layers are separately printed they are understood to produce distinct, non-mixed regions (see instant claim 1).
As Li’s method requires heating/melting the first and second compositions at the time of extrusion, the compositions would exist as a liquid at that time (see instant claims 3, 7 and 13). The melting and extrusion temperature for the first and second materials may be 150oC but may more broadly range from 50-400 oC (see [0052, 0080]) (see instant claims 8 and 9). As the composition is extruded, it would be removed from heat thereby cooling producing a solid layer (see instant claim 3). [0059] states that the printer is to be heated prior to receiving the material to be melted and printed (i.e. pre-heated) (see instant claims 10 and 11). As the process is done in the open (e.g. not in a vacuum), air would be present in the space surrounding the printed compositions (e.g. circulating) (see instant claim 4).
Li’s printing method utilizes different parts of the device for the printing of the first and second (and third) materials such that the different material supply systems can extrude different materials to form a multi-component printed product such as a component dosage form like a tablet (see [0083]) (see instant claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2020/0338009), evidenced by Merriam-Webster: syringe (1 page).
Li is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claims 1-13, 17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Li fails to teach the second temperature as being different from the first temperature.
Li teaches that the first and second nozzles are to be heated to a temperature to melt the first and second material so as to enable flow of the material through the nozzle. Li teaches that the melting temperature of the material is to be about 50oC or higher, such as about 60°C or higher, about 70°C or higher, about 80°C or higher, about 100°C or higher, about 120°C or higher, about 150°C or higher, about 200°C or higher, or about 250°C, etc. (see [0052]). The selection of first and second materials and their melting temperatures would have been an obvious parameter to identify and if the result was a method where the second temperature was different than the first (e.g. the second temperature being higher than the first, first temperature being 80-85°C and second temperature being 90-105°C), such would have been the product of ordinary skill and common sense rather than one of innovation. Differences in temperature do not support patentability, absent evidence of that difference being critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2020/0338009), evidenced by Merriam-Webster: syringe (1 page) as applied to claims 1-17 and 21 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 2012/0207929).
Li fails to teach the printing of the first portion to include a first layer having a thickness of less than 1 mm and the second portion to include a second layer having a thickness of less than 1 mm.
Yoo describes a method for producing various layered dosages forms via three-dimensional (3D) printing. Example 4 describes a layered tablet made by a process of 3D printing a first layer of a first composition (Plasdone C-15 in water) and a second layer of a second composition (pseudoephedrine, chlorpheniramine and Plasdone C-15) wherein the layers are printed in sequential order and wherein each printed layer has a thickness of 200 um (see [0072-0084]) (see instant claims 1, 5, 18, 19). Moreover, Yoo teaches that the printed layers are printed until a desired layer thickness is achieved with the number of layers being from 5 to 50 (i.e. a plurality of portions) (see [0027-0029]) (see instant claim 20). It would have been obvious to modify Li’s method such that the first and second layers were printed to a desired thickness and if that was determined to be a thickness less than 1 mm, like that described by Yoo, then that would have been the product of ordinary skill and common sense. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) which states that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable result is supportive of obviousness.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2020/0338009), evidenced by Merriam-Webster: syringe (1 page) as applied to claims 1-17 and 21 above, and further in view of Pandey et al. (Drug Delivery Translation Research, 2020, 10, 986-1001).
Li fails to teach controlling the humidity (40-60%) during the printing of the first and second material.
Pandey is directed to the 3D printing of therapeutic compositions. It is taught that humidity can affect the printed materials in a negative way such as resulting in bad printability (see page 995). It is taught that relative humidity of between 30-60% is most suitable for printing applications as the increase in mass post print was small. Humidity values of 90% result in unwanted difficulties (see page 995). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Li’s method of 3D printing such that the relative humidity during the printing process was between 40-60% as this is within the range described by Pandey as producing the best printability of the final product. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611