DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2007/0154198), hereinafter referenced as Oh.
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a digital camera module comprising: a housing (figure 6 exhibits housing 601 as disclosed at paragraph 136); an image sensor (figure 6 exhibits image sensor 602 as disclosed at paragraph 136); a fixed lens assembly at least partially coupled to the housing (figure 6 exhibits lenses 605 and 606 as disclosed at paragraph 136); and an adjustable lens assembly positioned within the housing between the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly (figure 6 exhibits lens 607), wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to selectively modify a focal length of the digital camera module (figure 6 exhibits lens 607 which is driven to adjust focus as disclosed at paragraph 140).
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses the digital camera module of claim 1, in addition, Oh discloses wherein the adjustable lens assembly includes an optical element (figure 6 exhibits lens 607 as disclosed at paragraph 137), guide mechanisms (figure 7 exhibits guide mechanism 608 as disclosed at paragraph 140), and guide rods (figure 7 exhibits guide rods 609 as disclosed at paragraph 139), the guide mechanisms positioned around the guide rods so that the guide rods run through a void in the guide mechanisms (figure 7 shows that the guide rods run through a pair of openings), and wherein the guide mechanisms are coupled to a perimeter of the optical element (figure 6 shows the lens is mounted in the focus driving part 608 as disclosed at paragraph 138).
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0385411), hereinafter referenced as Ryu.
Regarding claim 1, Ryu discloses a digital camera module comprising: a housing (figures 3 and 4 exhibit lens holders 101 and 105 which form a housing); an image sensor (figures 3 and 4 exhibit image sensor 192 as disclosed at paragraph 78); a fixed lens assembly at least partially coupled to the housing (figures 3 and 4 shows a first lens assembly comprises lenses L1 and L2 coupled lens holder 101); and an adjustable lens assembly positioned within the housing between the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly (figures 3 and 4 exhibits lens L3 positioned in lens holder 105 between the image sensor and the fixed lenses), wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to selectively modify a focal length of the digital camera module (paragraph 78 teaches that the lens assembly is driven to adjust the back focal length, BFL).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 1, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the fixed lens assembly seals an opening of the housing (figure 2 shows that lens 1 seals the opening of the housing).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 1, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the adjustable lens assembly includes an optical element (figure 3 exhibits lens L3), suspension arms (figure 3 exhibits springs 45 as disclosed at paragraph 79), and side supports (figure 3 exhibits side supports to which the springs are connected), wherein the suspension arms are configured to selectively retract to displace the optical element along an optical axis of the adjustable lens assembly (figure 3 shows that the springs will extend and retracted based on the driving direction of the lens).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 3, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the suspension arms include two upper arms and two lower arms (figure 3 exhibits a pair of upper springs and a pair of lower springs), wherein the two upper arms are configured to displace the optical element towards the fixed lens assembly, wherein the two lower arms are configured to displace the optical element towards the image sensor (it is apparent that the springs work together to displace the lens L3 toward both the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly depending on the driving signal).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 3, in addition, Ryu discloses, wherein the suspension arms include micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) devices or include springs (paragraph 79 teaches that the arms are springs).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 1, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to modify the focal length of the digital camera module with focusing breathing effect that is imperceptible to a user of the digital camera module (paragraph 78 teaches that the lens L3 is driven to modify the back focal length; Applicant’s specification at paragraph 19 teaches that the focus breathing effect is achieved by moving a back lens relative to a fixed front lens; because Ryu teaches moving a back lens L3 relative to a front lens L1 and L2 Ryu teaches the claimed focus breathing effect).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 1, in addition, Ryu discloses, wherein the fixed lens assembly includes a plurality of optical elements optically aligned to direct incident light towards the adjustable lens assembly (figure 3 exhibits the fixed lens assembly comprising lenses L1 and L2).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 7, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein an outermost lens of the plurality of optical elements includes glass (paragraph 38 teaches that the outermost lens is made of glass).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 7, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the housing is wider than an outermost lens of the plurality of optical elements (figure 3 shows a housing wider than lens L1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Sugimoto et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2025/0110262), hereinafter referenced as Sugimoto.
Regarding claim 9, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 7, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein an outermost lens of the plurality of optical elements includes plastic (paragraph 41 teaches that the first lens may be made of plastic). However, Ryu fails to disclose wherein the plastic outermost lens is covered by a hard-coating.
Sugimoto is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Sugimoto teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of providing scratch resistance would have prompted a predictable variation of Ryu by applying Sugimoto’s known principal of covering a plastic outermost lens with a hard-coating (fig. 3 exhibits hard coat 120 covering outermost lens 110 as disclosed at paragraph 62).
In view of the motivations such as providing scratch resistance one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Ryu.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 7, wherein the outermost lens is a negative meniscus lens.
Sugimoto is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Sugimoto teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of reducing aberrations in the optical system would have prompted a predictable variation of Ryu by applying Sugimoto’s known principal of using a negative meniscus lens as the outermost lens (figure 3 exhibits lens 210 which is a negative meniscus lens as disclosed at paragraph 58).
In view of the motivations such as reducing aberrations in the optical system one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Ryu.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Yamamoto (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0278046).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 7, however, Ryu fails to disclose wherein an interface between the housing and an outermost lens of the plurality of optical elements is waterproof.
Yamamoto is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Yamamoto teaches an imaging device wherein the motivation of protecting the internal lenses and image sensor from contaminates would have prompted a predictable variation of Ryu by applying Yamamoto’s known principal of making an interface between the housing and an outermost lens of the plurality of optical elements waterproof (paragraph 14 teaches hermetically sealing the opening between the housing and the outermost lens 211).
In view of the motivations such as protecting the internal lenses and image sensor from contaminates one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Ryu.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Lipson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0293764), hereinafter referenced as Lipson.
Regarding claim 13, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 7, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the outermost lens has a larger width than the other optical elements in the fixed lens assembly (figure 1 exhibits wherein the first lens 111 has a larger width than lenses 113 and 115). However, Ryu fails to disclose wherein the adjustable lens assembly includes an adjustable lens that is wider than each of the plurality of optical elements in the fixed lens assembly.
Lipson is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Lipson teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of providing a zoom function while preserving fidelity of the cropped image would have prompted a predictable variation of Ryu by applying Lipson’s known principal of providing a lens closest to the image sensor with a width larger than the other lenses in the lens assembly (figure 2 exhibits wherein the lowest lens L5 is greater in width than the other lenses as disclosed at paragraph 19).
In view of the motivations such as providing a zoom function while preserving fidelity of the cropped image one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Ryu.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Rho et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0272237), hereinafter referenced as Rho.
Regarding claim 14, Ryu discloses the digital camera module of claim 1, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the adjustable lens assembly includes an optical element, ball bearings, side supports. (figure 4 exhibits a lens L3, ball bearings 48 and an inside of housing 105 as disclosed at paragraph 81). However, Ryu fails to disclose rails, and wherein the ball bearings are disposed between the side supports and the rails coupled to a perimeter of the optical element in the adjustable lens assembly.
Rho is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Rho teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of maintaining a positioning of the ball bearings between the housing and the lens would have prompted a predictable variation of Ryu by applying Rho’s known principal of providing rails coupled to the perimeter of an optical element with ball bearings disposed between the side supports and the rails (figure 6A exhibits balls 492 which are disposed between a frame 413 and rails 458 which are coupled to an optical element as disclosed at paragraph 147).
In view of the motivations such as maintaining a positioning of the ball bearings between the housing and the lens one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Ryu.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0400185), hereinafter referenced as Price, in view of Ryu.
Regarding claim 16, Price discloses a head-mounted device comprising: a frame (figure 2 exhibits a frame 234 as disclosed at paragraph 26); and a camera module disposed with the frame (figure 2 exhibits optical sensor 204 as disclosed at paragraph 26). However, Price fails to disclose wherein the camera module includes: a housing; an image sensor; a fixed lens assembly at least partially coupled to the housing; and an adjustable lens assembly positioned within the housing between the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly, wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to selectively modify a focal length of the camera module.
Price discloses a device with a camera module for capturing images of a surrounding area. Ryu discloses a device with a camera module for capturing images of a surrounding area wherein the camera module includes: a housing (figures 3 and 4 exhibit lens holders 101 and 105 which form a housing); an image sensor (figures 3 and 4 exhibit image sensor 192 as disclosed at paragraph 78); a fixed lens assembly at least partially coupled to the housing (figures 3 and 4 shows a first lens assembly comprises lenses L1 and L2 coupled lens holder 101); and an adjustable lens assembly positioned within the housing between the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly (figures 3 and 4 exhibits lens L3 positioned in lens holder 105 between the image sensor and the fixed lenses), wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to selectively modify a focal length of the digital camera module (paragraph 78 teaches that the lens assembly is driven to adjust the back focal length, BFL). Because both Price and Ryu disclose image sensors for capturing images of a surrounding area, it would have been obvious to substitute the camera module disclose by Ryu for the camera module disclosed by Price to achieve the predictable result of capturing images of a surrounding area.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, Price in view of Ryu discloses head-mounted device of claim 16, in addition, Price discloses a display configured to present display light to an eyebox region (figure 2 exhibits near eye displays 236 as disclosed at paragraph 26), wherein the camera module is configured to capture images of an external environment of the head- mounted device (paragraph 13 teaches that the imaging devise captures images of the environment), and wherein the images of the external environment are driven onto the display (paragraph 13 teaches that captured images are displayed on the near eye displays).
Regarding claim 18, Price in view of Ryu discloses the head-mounted device of claim 16, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the fixed lens assembly seals an opening of the housing (figure 2 shows that lens 1 seals the opening of the housing).
Regarding claim 19, Price in view of Ryu discloses the head-mounted device of claim 16, in addition, Ryu discloses wherein the adjustable lens assembly includes an optical element (figure 3 exhibits lens L3), suspension arms (figure 3 exhibits springs 45 as disclosed at paragraph 79), and side supports (figure 3 exhibits side supports to which the springs are connected), wherein the suspension arms are configured to selectively retract to displace the optical element along an optical axis of the adjustable lens assembly (figure 3 shows that the springs will extend and retracted based on the driving direction of the lens).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price in view of Ryu and further in view of Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 20, Price discloses a wearable comprising: an image sensor (figure 2 exhibits optical sensor 204 which includes a CMOS image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 19). However, Price fails to disclose a fixed lens assembly having an outermost lens that has a waterproof seal to prevent external contaminants from entering the fixed lens assembly and the image sensor; and an adjustable lens assembly positioned between the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly, wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to selectively modify a focal length of the camera module.
Ryu is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Ryu teaches an imaging device wherein the motivation of providing an adjustable focus so that objects at different lengths can be selectively focused on would have prompted a predictable variation of Price by applying Ryu’s known principal of a fixed lens assembly having an outermost (figures 3 and 4 shows a first lens assembly comprises lenses L1 and L2 coupled lens holder 101); and an adjustable lens assembly positioned between the image sensor and the fixed lens assembly (figures 3 and 4 exhibits lens L3 positioned in lens holder 105 between the image sensor and the fixed lenses), wherein the adjustable lens assembly is configured to selectively modify a focal length of the camera module (paragraph 78 teaches that the lens assembly is driven to adjust the back focal length, BFL).
In view of the motivations such as an adjustable focus so that objects at different lengths can be selectively focused on one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Price.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Price in view of Ryu fails to disclose the outermost lens that has a waterproof seal to prevent external contaminants from entering the fixed lens assembly and the image sensor.
Yamamoto is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Yamamoto teaches an imaging device wherein the motivation of protecting the internal lenses and image sensor from contaminates would have prompted a predictable variation of Price by applying Yamamoto’s known principal of making an interface between the housing and an outermost lens of the plurality of optical elements waterproof (paragraph 14 teaches hermetically sealing the opening between the housing and the outermost lens 211).
In view of the motivations such as protecting the internal lenses and image sensor from contaminates one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Price.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0221537) discloses a camera module.
Jeong (United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0201737) discloses a camera module.
Yang et al. (United States Patent 7,889,445) discloses a camera module.
Chen et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0152818) discloses a camera module.
Conclusion
JASON A. FLOHRE
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/JASON A FLOHRE/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637