DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 06/03/2024, coinciding with the filing date of the Republic of Korea application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US20240278679, referred to as Song).
Regarding claim 1: Song discloses: A method of controlling a vehicle, the method comprising: obtaining information about the vehicle or parcels from an external device or at least one sensor; determining loading or unloading of the parcels based on the information about the vehicle or the parcels; ([0033] The pickup or delivery robot 102 stands by, for example, in a predetermined pickup or delivery center 122 and delivers an item to a delivery place designated by the management apparatus 104 and/or picks up an item from a pickup place designated by the management apparatus 104 in accordance with a pickup or delivery instruction from the management apparatus 104. The pickup or delivery robot 102 is loaded with items, for example, by a loading device 124 installed in the pickup or delivery center 122 in accordance with the pickup or delivery instruction received from the management apparatus 104 through the communication network 120.) determining a required State Of Charge (SOC) of a battery of the vehicle based on the loading or the unloading of the parcels and the information about the vehicle or the parcels; and controlling the battery of the vehicle based on the required SOC of the battery of the vehicle or providing a driver with information about the required SOC of the battery of the vehicle. ([0078] When the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112, the current remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 measured by the SOC measurement section 322 is lower than or equal to the predetermined value, and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery 110 deposited in that depository 112 is higher than or equal to the predetermined value, the notification section 328 then outputs the replacement request notification described above. In this case, when the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112 that is a pickup or delivery place, the notification section 328 receives a pickup or delivery completion notification from the pickup or delivery management section 324 and then outputs the replacement request notification described above. [0079] In addition, when not outputting the replacement request notification, the notification section 328 transmits, to the movement control section 320, a notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary. The movement control section 320 that receives the notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary resumes the movement along the moving route indicated by the pickup or delivery instruction stored in the storage device 302.)
Regarding claim 2: Song discloses: The method of claim 1,
Song further discloses: further comprising: determining a required SOC of a delivery robot based on the information about the parcels; and controlling charging of a battery of the delivery robot based on the required SOC of the delivery robot. ([0075] The replacement request notification to be issued when the pickup or delivery robot 102 reaches the depository 112 is issued to the depositary 116 of that depository 112 through that pickup or delivery robot 102. Specifically, the notification section 328 outputs a replacement request notification such as “Please replace the battery” as a voice message from the speaker 210 and/or a text message displayed on the display device 208. The voice message and/or the text message may include a wording, for example, the name of the depositary 116 or a pronoun such as “Mr. or Ms. Depositary” indicating that the notified person is the depositary 116. In addition, the replacement request notification may include information related to a method for replacing the detachable battery in the pickup or delivery robot 102. In addition, the replacement method described above may include information related to a position in the pickup or delivery robot 102 at which the detachable battery 110 is mounted, or an instruction or a request, for example, to charge the detachable battery 110 pulled out from the pickup or delivery robot 102 with the charger 114 in that depository 112. [0078] When the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112, the current remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 measured by the SOC measurement section 322 is lower than or equal to the predetermined value, and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery 110 deposited in that depository 112 is higher than or equal to the predetermined value, the notification section 328 then outputs the replacement request notification described above. In this case, when the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112 that is a pickup or delivery place, the notification section 328 receives a pickup or delivery completion notification from the pickup or delivery management section 324 and then outputs the replacement request notification described above.)
Regarding claim 3: Song discloses: The method of claim 1,
Song further discloses: further comprising: determining whether delivery of the parcels has been started; and in response to a determination that delivery of the parcels has been started, determining the required SOC of the battery of the vehicle. ([0078] When the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112, the current remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 measured by the SOC measurement section 322 is lower than or equal to the predetermined value, and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery 110 deposited in that depository 112 is higher than or equal to the predetermined value, the notification section 328 then outputs the replacement request notification described above. In this case, when the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112 that is a pickup or delivery place, the notification section 328 receives a pickup or delivery completion notification from the pickup or delivery management section 324 and then outputs the replacement request notification described above. [0079] In addition, when not outputting the replacement request notification, the notification section 328 transmits, to the movement control section 320, a notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary. The movement control section 320 that receives the notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary resumes the movement along the moving route indicated by the pickup or delivery instruction stored in the storage device 302.)
Regarding claim 4: Song discloses: The method of claim 3,
Song further discloses: further comprising determining whether delivery of the parcels has been started based on the loading or the unloading of the parcels. ([0033] The pickup or delivery robot 102 stands by, for example, in a predetermined pickup or delivery center 122 and delivers an item to a delivery place designated by the management apparatus 104 and/or picks up an item from a pickup place designated by the management apparatus 104 in accordance with a pickup or delivery instruction from the management apparatus 104. The pickup or delivery robot 102 is loaded with items, for example, by a loading device 124 installed in the pickup or delivery center 122 in accordance with the pickup or delivery instruction received from the management apparatus 104 through the communication network 120. In addition, the pickup or delivery center 122 is provided, for example, with a charging device (not illustrated) as a so-called home position to which the pickup or delivery robot 102 docks the pickup or delivery robot 102 itself for charging. When returning to the pickup or delivery center 122 after delivery is completed, the pickup or delivery robot 102 is charged by being docked to the charging device serving as the home position described above.)
Regarding claim 5: Song discloses: The method of claim 3,
Song further discloses: further comprising: determining whether the parcels are being unloaded or are about to be unloaded from the vehicle; and in response to a determination that the parcels are being unloaded or are about to be unloaded from the vehicle, determining the required SOC of the battery of the vehicle. ([0078] When the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112, the current remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 measured by the SOC measurement section 322 is lower than or equal to the predetermined value, and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery 110 deposited in that depository 112 is higher than or equal to the predetermined value, the notification section 328 then outputs the replacement request notification described above. In this case, when the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112 that is a pickup or delivery place, the notification section 328 receives a pickup or delivery completion notification from the pickup or delivery management section 324 and then outputs the replacement request notification described above. [0079] In addition, when not outputting the replacement request notification, the notification section 328 transmits, to the movement control section 320, a notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary. The movement control section 320 that receives the notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary resumes the movement along the moving route indicated by the pickup or delivery instruction stored in the storage device 302.)
Regarding claim 6: Song discloses: The method of claim 1,
Song further discloses: further comprising determining the required SOC of the battery of the vehicle based on entire weight of the vehicle and an estimated travel distance. ([0014] the route plan section decides the depository to drop in at on the moving route, and an order to drop in at the depository and the delivery place and/or the pickup place on the basis of the remaining charge level of the detachable battery attached to the pickup or delivery robot, positional information related to the depository and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery deposited in each of the depositories, and an amount of power consumed by the pickup or delivery robot per unit traveling distance.)
Regarding claim 7: Song discloses: The method of claim 6,
Song further discloses: further comprising determining the entire weight of the vehicle by adding up empty carriage weight of the vehicle and weight of the parcels. ([0014] the route plan section decides the depository to drop in at on the moving route, and an order to drop in at the depository and the delivery place and/or the pickup place on the basis of the remaining charge level of the detachable battery attached to the pickup or delivery robot, positional information related to the depository and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery deposited in each of the depositories, and an amount of power consumed by the pickup or delivery robot per unit traveling distance. [0040] In the depository 112 a that is the first destination and a delivery place, the first item 106 is taken out from the pickup or delivery robot 102 by the depositary 116 a who is a recipient (illustrated dotted arrow). As described below, the pickup or delivery robot 102 includes a cargo compartment door for each of partitioned cargo compartments. The depositary 116 a who is a recipient is able to take out the item delivered to himself or herself by entering an unlock code of which the portable terminal 118 a is informed in advance from the management apparatus 104 into the pickup or delivery robot 102. In the example illustrated in FIG. 1 , the remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 exceeds the predetermined value at the time of the arrival at the depository 112 a and the pickup or delivery robot 102 thus issues no replacement request notification to the depositary 116 a. [0041] Next, in the depository 112 b that is the second destination, but is not a pickup or delivery place, the remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 is lower than or equal to the predetermined value at the time of the arrival at the depository 112 b and the pickup or delivery robot 102 thus issues a replacement request notification to the depositary 116 b by using, for example, a voice message “Please replace the battery” or the like. This causes the depositary 116 b to replace the detachable battery 110 attached to the pickup or delivery robot 102 with the detachable battery 110 connected to the charger 114 b installed in the depository 112 b (illustrated solid arrows). [0042] In this case, the pickup or delivery robot 102 is capable of predicting a decrease in the remaining charge level of that pickup or delivery robot 102 before the arrival at the depository 112 b and transmitting a replacement request notification in advance to the portable terminal 118 b of the depositary 116 b of the depository 112 b.)
Regarding claim 10: Song discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising:
Song further discloses: classifying the parcels into a plurality of groups based on destination location information of the parcels; allocating the groups to different delivery robots, respectively; determining an optimal route for each of the delivery robots based on destination location information of parcels allocated to each of the delivery robots; and determining the required SOC of a delivery robot based on the optimal route. ([0078] When the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112, the current remaining charge level of the pickup or delivery robot 102 measured by the SOC measurement section 322 is lower than or equal to the predetermined value, and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery 110 deposited in that depository 112 is higher than or equal to the predetermined value, the notification section 328 then outputs the replacement request notification described above. In this case, when the current destination at which the pickup or delivery robot 102 arrives is the depository 112 that is a pickup or delivery place, the notification section 328 receives a pickup or delivery completion notification from the pickup or delivery management section 324 and then outputs the replacement request notification described above. [0079] In addition, when not outputting the replacement request notification, the notification section 328 transmits, to the movement control section 320, a notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary. The movement control section 320 that receives the notification indicating that replacement is unnecessary resumes the movement along the moving route indicated by the pickup or delivery instruction stored in the storage device 302.)
Regarding claim 11: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 20: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US20240278679, referred to as Song) in view of Wurz (US20080035390, referred to as Wurz).
Regarding claim 8: Song discloses: The method of claim 7,
Song does not explicitly disclose: further comprising obtaining the weight of the parcels by scanning a barcode attached on a box of each of the parcels through a camera sensor or a barcode sensor.
Song does not disclose the following limitations, however Wurz, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: further comprising obtaining the weight of the parcels by scanning a barcode attached on a box of each of the parcels through a camera sensor or a barcode sensor. ([0002] shipping companies determine an amount to charge for the transport of customer packages based on a relatively limited number of factors, including the package's weight, dimensions and distance to the shipping destination. If the customer expects a package to be delivered to the correct address, the customer is required to provide the shipping company with the correct destination, and there may be a relatively high degree of confidence, therefore, in revenue based on shipping distance and/or destination address. On the other hand, customers often will not have ready access to accurate information regarding the dimensions and weight of the packages they ship. [0003] Particularly with the increase in use of online resources, shipping companies often allow customers to provide the weight, dimension, and destination of their packages prior to collection for shipment. Customers may provide such information through an Internet site or on a paper record attached to the package itself and then deposit the package in an unattended drop-off container from which the carrier retrieves the package. [0011] The system processor relies on tachometer pulses to correctly associate barcode data with a package record. The system processor determines the accumulated tachometer value at the time the barcode data is received from the barcode scanner processor. The open read window and close read window barcode variables for each package structure correspond to the distance between the dimensioner and the predetermined point downstream from the barcode scanner. Thus, the system processor compares the tachometer value associated with the received barcode data with the open read window and close read window barcode variables for the open package structures it maintains. If the tachometer value is between the open read window barcode variable and close read window barcode variable for any open package structure, the system processor assigns the barcode data to that package record. If the tachometer value does not fall within the open window and close window barcode variables stored for any open package record, the barcode data is not assigned to a package record.)
Song and Wurz are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of package processing and delivery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the package delivery process of Song to enable the scanning initial data method described in Wurz.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the package data scanning method with the package delivery system provided in Song for the purpose of baseline weight and distance predictions.
Regarding claim 9: Song discloses: The method of claim 6,
Song further discloses: further comprising: determining the estimated travel distance of the vehicle based on destination location information of the parcels; and [obtaining the destination location information of each of the parcels by scanning barcode attached to a box of each of the parcels through a camera sensor or a barcode sensor.] ([0014] the route plan section decides the depository to drop in at on the moving route, and an order to drop in at the depository and the delivery place and/or the pickup place on the basis of the remaining charge level of the detachable battery attached to the pickup or delivery robot, positional information related to the depository and the remaining charge level of the detachable battery deposited in each of the depositories, and an amount of power consumed by the pickup or delivery robot per unit traveling distance.)
Song does not disclose the following limitations, however Wurz further teaches: obtaining the destination location information of each of the parcels by scanning barcode attached to a box of each of the parcels through a camera sensor or a barcode sensor. ([0002] shipping companies determine an amount to charge for the transport of customer packages based on a relatively limited number of factors, including the package's weight, dimensions and distance to the shipping destination. If the customer expects a package to be delivered to the correct address, the customer is required to provide the shipping company with the correct destination, and there may be a relatively high degree of confidence, therefore, in revenue based on shipping distance and/or destination address. On the other hand, customers often will not have ready access to accurate information regarding the dimensions and weight of the packages they ship. [0003] Particularly with the increase in use of online resources, shipping companies often allow customers to provide the weight, dimension, and destination of their packages prior to collection for shipment. Customers may provide such information through an Internet site or on a paper record attached to the package itself and then deposit the package in an unattended drop-off container from which the carrier retrieves the package. [0011] The system processor relies on tachometer pulses to correctly associate barcode data with a package record. The system processor determines the accumulated tachometer value at the time the barcode data is received from the barcode scanner processor. The open read window and close read window barcode variables for each package structure correspond to the distance between the dimensioner and the predetermined point downstream from the barcode scanner. Thus, the system processor compares the tachometer value associated with the received barcode data with the open read window and close read window barcode variables for the open package structures it maintains. If the tachometer value is between the open read window barcode variable and close read window barcode variable for any open package structure, the system processor assigns the barcode data to that package record. If the tachometer value does not fall within the open window and close window barcode variables stored for any open package record, the barcode data is not assigned to a package record.)
As previously stated, Song and Wurz are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of package processing and delivery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the package delivery process of Song to enable the scanning initial data method described in Wurz.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the package data scanning method with the package delivery system provided in Song for the purpose of baseline weight and distance predictions.
Regarding claim 18: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658