DETAILED ACTIONS
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim this application being a Continuation of the Application No. 16/951,485, filed on November 18, 2020, and benefit of foreign priority from Russian Patent Application No. RU2020137345 filed on November 13, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on 12/10/2024 was reviewed and the listed references were noted.
Drawings
The 6-page drawings have been considered and placed on record in the file.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,622 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 9, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 112,190,622 B2 anticipated claims 1, 9, and 15 of the present invention. Claims 2-8, 10-14, and 16-20 are also rejected for being dependent upon claims 1, 9, and 15.
Instant Application (18/953,948)
U.S. Patent No. 12,190,622
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method for document clusterization, comprising:
receiving an input document;
determining, by evaluating a first document similarity function, a first plurality of similarity measures, wherein each similarity measure of the first plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and a corresponding cluster of documents of a plurality of clusters of documents;
based on the plurality of similarity measures, determining that the input document belongs to a subset of the plurality of clusters of documents;
determining, by evaluating a second document similarity function, a second plurality of similarity measures, wherein each similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and a corresponding cluster of documents of the subset of the plurality of clusters of documents, and wherein the first document similarity function is based on a first number of attributes of the input document and the second document similarity function is based on a second number of attributes of the input document;
associating the input document with a cluster of documents associated with a maximum similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures.
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method for document clusterization, comprising:
receiving an input document;
determining, by evaluating a first document similarity function, a first plurality of similarity measures, wherein each similarity measure of the first plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and a corresponding cluster of documents of a plurality of clusters of documents, wherein a first likelihood of the first document similarity function to yield a false negative result exceeds a second likelihood of the first document similarity function to yield a false positive result;
based on the plurality of similarity measures, determining that the input document belongs to a subset comprising two or more adjacent clusters of the plurality of clusters of documents, wherein a distance between centroids of the two or more adjacent clusters is less than a predefined separation distance;
determining, by evaluating a second document similarity function that is different from the first document similarity function, a second plurality of similarity measures, wherein each similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and a corresponding cluster of documents of the subset of the plurality of clusters of documents, and wherein the first document similarity function is based on a first number of attributes of the input document, the second document similarity function is based on a second number of attributes of the input document, the second number exceeding the first number;
associating the input document with a cluster of documents associated with a maximum similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvet et al. (US 2011/0093464 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cvet.
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method for document clusterization (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”), comprising:
receiving an input document (Cvet, para. 0043, “system 290 receives a machine readable document, such as the electronic documents 120 (FIG. 1), as an input”);
determining, by evaluating a first document similarity function (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries. This comparison may be performed by determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”), a first plurality of similarity measures (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071,”the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”) wherein each similarity measure of the first plurality of similarity measures (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071,”the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”) reflects a degree of similarity (Cvet, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries. This comparison may be performed by determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”, para. 0088, “at step 510, the document clustering system 160 compares the distance, or information loss, between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary with a predetermined threshold in order to determine whether the cluster summary is sufficiently similar to the feature vector”) between the input document (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”, para. 0065, “At step 502, the document clustering system 160 creates a feature vector based on the document”) and a corresponding cluster of documents of a plurality of clusters of documents (Cvet, para. 0043, “each cluster of documents may have a cluster summary 286, stored in memory 250, which is associated with that cluster. The cluster summary 286 may summarize the contents of the documents associated with that cluster”, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries);
based on the plurality of similarity measures (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071,”the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”), determining that the input document (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”, para. 0065, “At step 502, the document clustering system 160 creates a feature vector based on the document”) belongs to subset of the plurality of clusters of documents (Cvet, para. 0053, “When comparing the features of the electronic document 120 to each cluster summary, the document clustering system 160 may select one of the cluster summaries as the closest, or most representative cluster summary for the electronic document 120. That is, the document clustering system 160 may determine which of the cluster summaries is most representative of the document.”, the system will determine if the input document belongs to a first cluster of documents if it is determined to be the closet cluster summary, otherwise it does not belong to that first cluster of documents, the first cluster of document can be the outlier that was defined in para. 0105, “Outliers may include, for example, cluster summaries which summarize single documents. Outliers may also include”, under BRI, the closest cluster summary is considering a subset of the plurality of clusters of document because a subset can have only one element which is the closest cluster summary);
determining, by evaluating a second document similarity function (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries. This comparison may be performed by determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”, there are multiple similarity functions, one for each existing cluster summaries, in this interpretation, the second similarity function is done to the closest cluster summary, para. 0053, “the document clustering system 160 may select one of the cluster summaries as the closest, or most representative cluster summary for the electronic document 120. That is, the document clustering system 160 may determine which of the cluster summaries is most representative of the document.”), a second plurality of similarity measures (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071,”the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”, the second plurality of similarity measures is between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary, para. 0053, “the document clustering system 160 may select one of the cluster summaries as the closest, or most representative cluster summary for the electronic document 120. That is, the document clustering system 160 may determine which of the cluster summaries is most representative of the document.”), wherein each similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071,”the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”, the second plurality of similarity measures is between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary, para. 0053, “the document clustering system 160 may select one of the cluster summaries as the closest, or most representative cluster summary for the electronic document 120. That is, the document clustering system 160 may determine which of the cluster summaries is most representative of the document.”) reflects a degree of similarity (Cvet, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries. This comparison may be performed by determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”, para. 0088, “at step 510, the document clustering system 160 compares the distance, or information loss, between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary with a predetermined threshold in order to determine whether the cluster summary is sufficiently similar to the feature vector”) between the input document and a corresponding cluster of documents of the subset of the plurality of clusters of documents (Cvet, para. 0087, “Next, at step 506, the document clustering system 160 determines a closest cluster summary to the feature vector. That is, based on the result of the comparison at step 504, the feature vector identifies the cluster summary having the lowest information loss which would be incurred if the feature vector were added to that cluster summary. The cluster summary with the smallest distance to the feature vector, FV, may be referred to as CS(S.sub.min).”, under BRI the closest cluster summary is part of the subset even though it is the only element in the subset), and wherein the first document similarity function is based on a first number of attributes of the input document (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries. This comparison may be performed by determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”, the attributes to determine similarity between the feature vector and the cluster summary is information loss or distance between the feature vector and a cluster summary) and the second document similarity function is based on a second number of attributes of the input document (Cvet, the second plurality of similarity measures is between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary, para. 0088, “at step 510, the document clustering system 160 compares the distance, or information loss, between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary with a predetermined threshold in order to determine whether the cluster summary is sufficiently similar to the feature vector.”, the attributes to determine similarity between the feature vector and the cluster summary is information loss or distance between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary);
associating the input document with a cluster of documents associated with a maximum similarity measure (Cvet, para. 0071, “determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary”) of the second plurality of similarity measures (Cvet, para. 0089, “if the information loss between the feature vector and the closest cluster summary does not exceed the predetermined threshold (as determined at step 510), then the document clustering system 160 determines that the cluster summary is sufficiently similar to the feature vector. In such a case, at step 406, the document clustering system 160 adds the document to the cluster of documents associated with the closest cluster summary. Adding the document to the cluster may include updating the cluster summary associated with that cluster based on features of that document 120. For example, in at least some embodiments, the closest cluster summary, CS(S.sub.min) may be replaced by a new cluster summary which includes the features includes in the closest cluster summary and also the features of the feature vector associated with the document.”, the closest cluster summary has the maximum similarity measure because it is the closest or most similar to the input document).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine each of the example embodiments of the prior art. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined each of the example embodiments as claimed by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The embodiment of placing the document in the proper cluster (Fig. 5) and cleaning outliers (Fig. 7) are combined by the prior art in at least at least some embodiments as discussed in Paragraph. 0099.
Claim 2
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”), wherein the first document similarity function (Cvet, Fig. 5, para. 0071, “at step 504, the feature vector, FV, is compared with existing cluster summaries. This comparison may be performed by determining a measure of similarities between the feature vector and the cluster summary. As will be described in greater detail below, the measure of similarities is, in at least some embodiments, an information loss or distance between the feature vector and the cluster summary.”) is based on one or more attributes of the input document (Cvet, Fig. 5, create feature vector, para. 0065, “At step 502, the document clustering system 160 creates a feature vector based on the document. The feature vector describes the document using a set of features which are each associated with a value which may numerically represent the features”), the one or more attributes comprising at least one of: a grid type attribute, a singular value decomposition (SVD) type attribute, or an image type attribute (In the Specification, para. 0030, “In some implementations, SVD type of document attributes are used to determine the degree of similarity. SVD (singular value decomposition) type document attributes are determined using singular value decomposition of word matrix with corresponding word frequency. Any document may be characterized by a set of words present in the document and frequency of their use in the document. A set of mappings can be created, such that each mapping associates a word with the number of occurrences of the word in the document. For example, the set of mapping may be represented by a table that lists words (or their identifiers) in the first column and number of times the word in present in the document in the second column. Such a high-rank matrix may be converted to a lower-rank matrix, that can be used as an SVD type attribute of a document.”, Cvet discloses this concept for the feature vector in para. 0093, “a feature vector describes a document using a set of features which are each associated with a value which may numerically represent the features. In the embodiment of FIG. 6, the feature vector describes a document in terms of the frequency of occurrence of words in that document. The process 600 of FIG. 6 may be used with text-based documents.”).
Claim 4
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”), wherein the input document is a text document (Cvet, para. 0024, “the documents 120 may be formatted in a Hyper-Text Markup Language ("HTML") format, a plain-text format, a portable document format ("PDF"), or in any other format which is capable of representing text or other content.”).
Claim 5
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”), further comprising: responsive to determining that a first cluster of documents of the plurality of clusters of documents (Cvet, para. 0112, “For example, one cluster summary may summarize news stories which are related to a men's tennis tournament”, para. 0052, “The cluster summary summarizes features of the documents associated with that cluster. For example, the cluster summary may summarize the contents of the documents in that cluster. The cluster summary may also include timestamp information associated with one or more documents in the associated cluster. For example, the cluster summary may include a timestamp associated with a newest document in the cluster. Similarly, the cluster summary may include a timestamp associated with the oldest document in the cluster.”) is associated with a first document having a first value of a document feature (Cvet, para. 0112, “Following the step 703 of cleaning outliers, at step 718, a computation of related clusters may be performed. It will be appreciated that, in some cases, the clustering processes 400 and 500 of FIGS. 4 and 5 will result in cluster summaries which are highly related but which did not get merged. For example, one cluster summary may summarize news stories which are related to a men's tennis tournament and another cluster summary may summarize news stories which are related to a women's tennis tournament.”, para. 0113, “At step 718, the overlap between cluster summaries may be determined. In some embodiments, the cluster overlap, CO, between two clusters C.sub.1 and C.sub.2, may be calculated”, para. 0115, “In at least some embodiments, as an additional safeguard, the overlap of the frequency of the occurrence of features in the cluster summaries is also considered. That is, in some embodiments, at step 718, the document clustering system 160 considers the frequency of the features of the two clusters (rather than simply the existence of the features) in order to determine whether the cluster summaries are related.”, if the two clusters has overlap , it means they have the same value of some of the document feature) and a second cluster of documents of the plurality of clusters of documents is associated with a second document (Cvet, para. 0112, “another cluster summary may summarize news stories which are related to a women's tennis tournament.”, para. 0052, “The cluster summary summarizes features of the documents associated with that cluster. For example, the cluster summary may summarize the contents of the documents in that cluster. The cluster summary may also include timestamp information associated with one or more documents in the associated cluster. For example, the cluster summary may include a timestamp associated with a newest document in the cluster. Similarly, the cluster summary may include a timestamp associated with the oldest document in the cluster.”) having the first value of the document feature (Cvet, para. 0112, “Following the step 703 of cleaning outliers, at step 718, a computation of related clusters may be performed. It will be appreciated that, in some cases, the clustering processes 400 and 500 of FIGS. 4 and 5 will result in cluster summaries which are highly related but which did not get merged. For example, one cluster summary may summarize news stories which are related to a men's tennis tournament and another cluster summary may summarize news stories which are related to a women's tennis tournament.”, para. 0113, “At step 718, the overlap between cluster summaries may be determined. In some embodiments, the cluster overlap, CO, between two clusters C.sub.1 and C.sub.2, may be calculated”, para. 0115, “In at least some embodiments, as an additional safeguard, the overlap of the frequency of the occurrence of features in the cluster summaries is also considered. That is, in some embodiments, at step 718, the document clustering system 160 considers the frequency of the features of the two clusters (rather than simply the existence of the features) in order to determine whether the cluster summaries are related.”, if the two clusters has overlap , it means they have the same value of some of the document feature), merging the first cluster of documents and the second cluster of documents (Cvet, para. 0116, “The overlap of two clusters (or another measure of the similarity of the clusters) may be compared with one or more predetermined thresholds in order to determine whether the clusters are sufficiently related., para. 0117, “In at least some embodiments, if the cluster summaries are determined to be related, the cluster summaries are merged.”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine each of the example embodiments of the prior art. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined each of the example embodiments as claimed by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The embodiment of placing the document in the proper cluster (Fig. 5) and cleaning outliers (Fig. 7) are combined by the prior art in at least at least some embodiments as discussed in Paragraph. 0099.
Claims 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected for similar reasons as those described in claim 1-2 and 4-5. The additional elements in Claims 9-10 and 12-13 (Cvet) discloses includes: a system (Cvet, Fig. 2) comprising a memory (Cvet, Fig. 2, memory 250) and a processor (Cvet, Fig. 2, processor 240), couple to the memory (Cvet, Fig. 2, memory 250).
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected for similar reasons as those described in claim 8, 21 and 23-24. The additional elements in Claims 15-16 and 18-19 (Cvet) discloses includes: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions (Cvet, para. 0152, “non-transitory computer readable medium including program instructions”) executed by a computer system (Cvet, Fig. 2).
Claims 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvet in view of Tanniru et al. (US 2021/0295103 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tanniru.
Claim 3
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”).
Cvet does not explicitly disclose wherein the first document function is implemented by a neural network.
However, Tanniru teaches wherein the first document similarity function is implemented by a neural network (para. 0074, “The machine learning system may apply the trained machine learning model 305 to the new observation to generate an output (e.g., a result).”, “the output may include information that identifies a cluster to which the new observation belongs, information that indicates a degree of similarity between the new observations and one or more prior observations (e.g., which may have previously been new observations input to the machine learning model and/or observations used to train the machine learning model), and/or the like, such as when unsupervised learning is employed”, observation is the input document as seen in Fig. 2 where the first observation is a medical form, para. 0076, “the trained machine learning model 305 may classify (e.g., cluster) the new observation in an action cluster, as shown by reference number 320. The observations within a cluster may have a threshold degree of similarity.”, para. 0072, “the machine learning model may employ a different machine learning algorithm than what is described in connection with FIG. 2, such as a Bayesian estimation algorithm, a k-nearest neighbor algorithm, an a priori algorithm, a k-means algorithm, a support vector machine algorithm, a neural network algorithm (e.g., a convolutional neural network algorithm), a deep learning algorithm, and/or the like”).
Cvet and Tanniru are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of document clusterization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Cvet to incorporate the teachings of Tanniru wherein the first document similarity function is implemented by a neural network. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to improve speed and efficiency of the process and conserve computing resources (e.g., processing resources, memory resources, communication resources, and/or the like), networking resources, and/or the like (Tanniru, para. 0056).
Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons as those described in claim 3. The additional elements in Claim 11 (the combination of Cvet in view of Tanniru) discloses includes: a system (Cvet, Fig. 2) comprising a memory (Cvet, Fig. 2, memory 250) and a processor (Cvet, Fig. 2, processor 240), couple to the memory (Cvet, Fig. 2, memory 250).
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as those described in claim 3. The additional elements in Claim 17 (the combination of Cvet in view of Tanniru) discloses includes: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions (Cvet, para. 0152, “non-transitory computer readable medium including program instructions”) executed by a computer system (Cvet, Fig. 2).
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvet in view of Galle et al. (US 2013/0262465 A1), hereinafter referred to as Galle.
Claim 6
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”).
Cvet does not explicitly disclose responsive to determining that the maximum similarity measure falls below a similarity measure threshold, creating a new cluster of documents and associating the input document with the new cluster of documents.
However, Galle teaches responsive to determining that the maximum similarity measure falls below a similarity measure threshold, creating a new cluster of documents and associating the input document with the new cluster of documents (para. 0121, “For the first point p.sub.1 it creates a cluster c.sub.1 such that .gamma.(c.sub.1)={p.sub.1}. For point p.sub.1 arriving at time t, it computes a similarity measure between p.sub.1 and each of the clusters already existing at time t. If none of these similarities is greater than a threshold .tau., a new cluster is created whose only point is p.sub.1. Else, p.sub.1 is assigned to the most similar cluster.”, Abstract, “Each document is represented by a multidimensional data point”).
Cvet and Galle are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of document clusterization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Cvet to incorporate the teachings of Galle determining that the maximum similarity measure falls below a similarity measure threshold, creating a new cluster of documents and associating the input document with the new cluster of documents. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to improve clustering results.
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as those described in claim 6. The additional elements in Claim 14 (the combination of Cvet in view of Galle) discloses includes: a system (Cvet, Fig. 2) comprising a memory (Cvet, Fig. 2, memory 250) and a processor (Cvet, Fig. 2, processor 240), couple to the memory (Cvet, Fig. 2, memory 250).
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as those described in claim 6. The additional elements in Claim 20 (the combination of Cvet in view of Galle) discloses includes: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions (Cvet, para. 0152, “non-transitory computer readable medium including program instructions”) executed by a computer system (Cvet, Fig. 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvet in view of Rashad et al. “Document Classification Using Enhanced Grid Based Clustering Algorithm” (2015), hereinafter referred to as Rashad.
Claim 7
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”).
Cvet does not explicitly disclose wherein the first similarity function is based on a set of attributes, each attribute of the set of attributes computed for a corresponding cell of a grid defined on the input document.
However, Rashad teaches wherein the first similarity function is based on a set of attributes, each attribute of the set of attributes computed for a corresponding cell of a grid (Rashad teaches that one of the algorithm used for clustering the document or finding similarity is by grid-based method, In Specification [0029], the second similarity function is Grid type, “GRID type document attributes are calculated by breaking a document into multiple cells, forming a grid, and calculating image attributes for each cell”, Rashad also teaches dividing each data into cells, Proposed Grid Based Multi-density Using Representative Points Algorithm, “The main purpose of this algorithm is to divide the data space into clusters with arbitrary shape. These clusters are considered as dense regions of points in the data space that are separated by regions of low density representing noise. Also it deals with making clustering the data set with multidensities and assigning noise and outliers to the closest category”, each division is considered a cell and each cell has an attribute) defined on the input document (Fig. 1, input document).
Cvet and Rashad are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of document clusterization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Cvet to incorporate the teachings of Rashad wherein the first similarity function is based on a set of attributes, each attribute of the set of attributes computed for a corresponding cell of a grid defined on the input document. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been because it will reduce the time complexity (Rashad, Abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvet in view of Forsati et al. “Efficient stochastic algorithms for document clustering” (2012), hereinafter referred to as Forsati.
Claim 8
The method of claim 1 (Cvet, Abstract, “document clustering system and method of assigning a document to a cluster of documents containing related content are provided”).
Cvet does not explicitly disclose wherein each similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and one or more randomly selected documents of a corresponding cluster of the subset of the plurality of cluster of documents.
However, Forsati teaches wherein each similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and one or more randomly selected documents of a corresponding cluster of the subset of the plurality of cluster of documents (Section 3.1, “The K-means algorithm, first introduced in is an unsupervised clustering algorithm which partitions a set of object into a predefined number of clusters., “K-means starts with randomly selected initial cluster centroids and iteratively reassigns the data objects to clusters based on the similarity between the data object and the cluster centroid”).
Cvet and Forsati are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of document clusterization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Cvet to incorporate the teachings of Forsati wherein each similarity measure of the second plurality of similarity measures reflects a degree of similarity between the input document and one or more randomly selected documents of a corresponding cluster of the subset of the plurality of cluster of documents. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to achieve better clustering by combining the explorative power of HS with the refining power of the K-means (Forsati, Abstract).
Conclusion
/DENISE G ALFONSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662