DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 07/08/2024, coinciding with the filing date of the Republic of Korea application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US20160352113, referred to as Zhao).
Regarding claim 1: Zhao discloses: A robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus, comprising: a parking robot configured to move a vehicle dropped off in a drop-off zone to a parking zone or a charging zone; a charging robot configured to charge the vehicle moved by the parking robot to the charging zone by connecting a charger; and a controller configured to control a movement of the parking robot or an operation of the charging robot, according to a parking request or a charging request of a user of the vehicle. ([0022] the track 24 may support its movable charging apparatus 28 and allow the charging apparatus 28 to translate along the track 24 to gain access to charging receptacles 15 disposed on each of the vehicles 12 in the station 10. The charging apparatus 28 may be electrically and communicatively coupled with an automatic charging station 35 including a power supply circuit 32, a charging controller 34, a robotic controller 56 and a human/machine interface device 36, e.g., a graphic user interface or touchpad. Embodiments of a graphic user interface are shown with reference to FIGS. 9 and 10. The human/machine interface device 36 is a single device that services all of the parking spaces 14 accessible to and serviced by the movable charging apparatus 28 in this embodiment. The human/machine interface device 36 communicates user inputs in the form of charging requests to the charging controller 34.)
Regarding claim 2: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 1,
Zhao further discloses: wherein the parking robot is further configured to: load the vehicle dropped off in the drop-off zone; move to a parking space arranged in the parking zone; unload the vehicle in the parking space; and return to the drop-off zone. ([0073] Referring again to FIGS. 1, 2 and 11, in operation the charge controller 34 determines a preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10, 410, including any newly arrived vehicle that has been identified. The preferred charging sequence may be in the form of a charging queue that identifies each of the vehicles 12 and its place in the queue. Determining the preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10 may include determining states for input parameters for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any.)
Regarding claim 4: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 1,
Zhao further discloses: wherein, when the vehicle is dropped off in the charging zone, the charging robot is further configured to: approach a position of a charging inlet of the vehicle based on information on the vehicle received from a database; and insert the charger into the charging inlet of the vehicle by using a sensor. ([0041] The charging controller 34 determines information related to a newly-arrived vehicle 12 at step 63. As further explained with reference to FIG. 6, step 63 may include three general aspects: presence detection and verification at step 80, charge determination at step 82, and user identification at step 84. Step 63 may initiate at step 80 when the charging controller 34 receives a sensory indication that a vehicle 12 has entered a parking space 14. The sensory indication may be from, for example, a pressure mat embedded in the ground of the parking space 14, from an ultrasound, laser, or radar proximity detector, from a visual camera associated with the charging station 10, or from an action performed by a user, e.g., push a button to indicate a charging request. [0042] Once the presence of a vehicle 12 is detected at step 80, the charging controller 34 may initiate communication with the vehicle 12 at step 86.)
Regarding claim 5: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 1,
Zhao further discloses: wherein, when an entry of the vehicle into the drop-off zone is detected through a sensor module, the controller is further configured to: determine whether the vehicle is able to be dropped off; and dispose the parking robot when determining that the vehicle is able to be dropped off. ([0073] Referring again to FIGS. 1, 2 and 11, in operation the charge controller 34 determines a preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10, 410, including any newly arrived vehicle that has been identified. The preferred charging sequence may be in the form of a charging queue that identifies each of the vehicles 12 and its place in the queue. Determining the preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10 may include determining states for input parameters for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any.)
Regarding claim 6: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 5,
Zhao further discloses: wherein the controller is further configured to: when the vehicle entering the drop-off zone is detected, determine whether the vehicle is registered for a service; and when the vehicle is not registered, determine vehicle information including type and specifications of the non-registered vehicle from a database and determine whether the non-registered vehicle is able to be dropped off based on the vehicle information. ([0073] Referring again to FIGS. 1, 2 and 11, in operation the charge controller 34 determines a preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10, 410, including any newly arrived vehicle that has been identified. The preferred charging sequence may be in the form of a charging queue that identifies each of the vehicles 12 and its place in the queue. Determining the preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10 may include determining states for input parameters for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any.)
Regarding claim 9: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 1,
Zhao further discloses: wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a state of charge (SoC) with respect to first pick-up vehicles reserved for pick-up within a preset time among all vehicles within a service region; and charge a second pick-up vehicle having the state of charge (SoC) lower than a preset first minimum reference value among the first pick-up vehicles to the preset first minimum reference value. ([0073] Determining the preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10 may include determining states for input parameters for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any. The remaining power level for the vehicle battery may be in any suitable value, and is often reported as a percentage of battery state of charge (SOC). The total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery may be expressed in terms of kilowatt-hours. The period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery may be calculated or otherwise determined, with the target charge level expressed in terms of a full charge or a target charge level, e.g., 85% SOC.)
Regarding claim 10: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 9,
Zhao further discloses: wherein, when the second pick-up vehicle is not detected, the controller is further configured to: determine the state of charge (SoC) with respect to all vehicles within the service region; and charge a vehicle having the state of charge (SoC) lower than a preset second minimum reference value among all vehicles to the preset second minimum reference value. ([0073] Determining the preferred charging sequence for all the vehicles that are parked in the parking spaces 14 serviced by the electric vehicle charging station 10 may include determining states for input parameters for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any. The remaining power level for the vehicle battery may be in any suitable value, and is often reported as a percentage of battery state of charge (SOC). The total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery may be expressed in terms of kilowatt-hours. The period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery may be calculated or otherwise determined, with the target charge level expressed in terms of a full charge or a target charge level, e.g., 85% SOC.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-8, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20160352113, referred to as Zhao) in view of Nordbruch et al. (WO2019096509A1, referred to as Nordbruch).
Regarding claim 3: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 1,
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however Nordbruch, from an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the parking robot is further configured to: transport the vehicle completed with charging in the charging zone to the parking zone; and transport the vehicle requiring charging from the parking zone to the charging zone. ([0023] a control device designed to control the parking robot in such a way that, after the end of a charging process of an electric vehicle, it [0024] The energy storage system of a motor vehicle allows the vehicle to be moved from a charging position, in which the electrical energy storage system of the vehicle is located, using the charging station. [0025] The vehicle, which has been charged using the charging station, is moved to a parking position in which the vehicle no longer blocks the charging position. Another aspect is the provision of a parking space for motor vehicles, which includes the system for operating a parking robot.)
Zhao and Nordbruch are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of EV charging process robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the charging system of Zhao to enable the automated movement of cars in and out of the charging area.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the charging method disclosed in Zhao with the method applied to a system that additionally handles the loading of the parking spaces, as taught in Nordbruch.
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 6,
Zhao further discloses: wherein when the vehicle is registered for the service, the controller is configured to: determine that the registered vehicle is able to be dropped off; and determine whether there is a remaining parking space within the parking zone usable by the registered vehicle based on registered vehicle information on the registered vehicle and parking zone map information. ([0005]A multi-user electric vehicle charging station is described, and includes a movable charging apparatus that is disposed to service a plurality of parking spaces and a controller that operatively connects to the movable charging apparatus. A human/machine interface device communicates with the controller and includes an interface device including user-selectable states including a user identification, identification of a specific one of the parking spaces and an expected departure time associated with a vehicle parked in the specific one of the parking spaces.) [0049] The charging routine 60 executes in response to arrival of another vehicle, or in response to a user-initiated “cut in line” request or a user-initiated “extending parking” offer. One of the parked vehicles 12 may not get a full charge in one time (without break) depending on status of other vehicles 12, include remaining battery power, time needed for a full charge, and departure time. [0050] Preferably, the charging routine 60 employs the electric vehicle charging station 10 to sequentially charge the plurality of vehicles 12 based upon the preferred charging sequence. The preferred charging sequence is based on the arrival times, the remaining power levels, and the vehicles' normal parking times (via their parking history) and expected departure times. If a user sends the system a “cut in line” request or an “extending parking” offer by providing an expected departure time, the charging routine 60 re-executes and may make an adjustment to the sequence)
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management apparatus of claim 7,
Zhao further discloses: wherein, the controller is configured to: when a remaining parking space for the registered vehicle and the non-registered vehicle is determined, dispose the parking robot to each of the registered vehicle and the non-registered vehicle; and when the remaining parking space for the registered vehicle and the non-registered vehicle is not determined, inform a delay time to dispose the parking robot to the user. ([0005]A multi-user electric vehicle charging station is described, and includes a movable charging apparatus that is disposed to service a plurality of parking spaces and a controller that operatively connects to the movable charging apparatus. A human/machine interface device communicates with the controller and includes an interface device including user-selectable states including a user identification, identification of a specific one of the parking spaces and an expected departure time associated with a vehicle parked in the specific one of the parking spaces.) [0049] The charging routine 60 executes in response to arrival of another vehicle, or in response to a user-initiated “cut in line” request or a user-initiated “extending parking” offer. One of the parked vehicles 12 may not get a full charge in one time (without break) depending on status of other vehicles 12, include remaining battery power, time needed for a full charge, and departure time. [0050] Preferably, the charging routine 60 employs the electric vehicle charging station 10 to sequentially charge the plurality of vehicles 12 based upon the preferred charging sequence. The preferred charging sequence is based on the arrival times, the remaining power levels, and the vehicles' normal parking times (via their parking history) and expected departure times. If a user sends the system a “cut in line” request or an “extending parking” offer by providing an expected departure time, the charging routine 60 re-executes and may make an adjustment to the sequence)
Regarding claim 11: Zhao discloses: A robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method, comprising: detecting, by a sensor, a vehicle entering a drop-off zone; determining whether the vehicle is able to be dropped off; [moving, by a parking robot, the vehicle determined to be able to be dropped off to a parking zone or a charging zone; moving, by the parking robot, the vehicle parked in the parking zone to the charging zone;] charging, by a charging robot. a vehicle disposed in the charging zone by connecting a charger; and [returning, by the parking robot, the vehicle completed with charging to the parking zone.] ([0005]A multi-user electric vehicle charging station is described, and includes a movable charging apparatus that is disposed to service a plurality of parking spaces and a controller that operatively connects to the movable charging apparatus. A human/machine interface device communicates with the controller and includes an interface device including user-selectable states including a user identification, identification of a specific one of the parking spaces and an expected departure time associated with a vehicle parked in the specific one of the parking spaces.) [0049] The charging routine 60 executes in response to arrival of another vehicle, or in response to a user-initiated “cut in line” request or a user-initiated “extending parking” offer. One of the parked vehicles 12 may not get a full charge in one time (without break) depending on status of other vehicles 12, include remaining battery power, time needed for a full charge, and departure time. [0050] Preferably, the charging routine 60 employs the electric vehicle charging station 10 to sequentially charge the plurality of vehicles 12 based upon the preferred charging sequence. The preferred charging sequence is based on the arrival times, the remaining power levels, and the vehicles' normal parking times (via their parking history) and expected departure times. If a user sends the system a “cut in line” request or an “extending parking” offer by providing an expected departure time, the charging routine 60 re-executes and may make an adjustment to the sequence)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose, however Nordbruch further teaches: moving, by a parking robot, the vehicle determined to be able to be dropped off to a parking zone or a charging zone; moving, by the parking robot, the vehicle parked in the parking zone to the charging zone; returning, by the parking robot, the vehicle completed with charging to the parking zone. ([0023] a control device designed to control the parking robot in such a way that, after the end of a charging process of an electric vehicle, it [0024] The energy storage system of a motor vehicle allows the vehicle to be moved from a charging position, in which the electrical energy storage system of the vehicle is located, using the charging station. [0025] The vehicle, which has been charged using the charging station, is moved to a parking position in which the vehicle no longer blocks the charging position. Another aspect is the provision of a parking space for motor vehicles, which includes the system for operating a parking robot.)
As previously stated, Zhao and Nordbruch are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of EV charging process robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the charging system of Zhao to enable the automated movement of cars in and out of the charging area.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the charging method disclosed in Zhao with the method applied to a system that additionally handles the loading of the parking spaces, as taught in Nordbruch.
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 11,
Zhao further discloses: further comprising receiving a drop-off request in the drop-off zone with respect to a user vehicle input through an interface of an application from a user terminal. ([0069] FIG. 10 schematically shows one embodiment of the mobile device 20 that communicates with the charging controller 34 via the communication device 38 for capturing user information including charging requests from a user who parked a vehicle 12 in one of the parking spaces 14. The mobile device 20 may be a small, portable computing device having a user interface in the form of a display screen capable of touch inputs and/or a keyboard. The user interface allows a user to interact with the mobile device 20. The user interface may include, but is not limited to, a touch screen, a physical keyboard, a mouse, a microphone, and/or a speaker.)
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 12,
Zhao further discloses: wherein determining whether the vehicle is able to be dropped off comprises: determining whether the vehicle is registered for a service; and determining vehicle information comprising type and specifications of the vehicle from a database and determining whether the vehicle is able to be dropped off based on the vehicle information, when the vehicle is not registered for the service. ([0005]A multi-user electric vehicle charging station is described, and includes a movable charging apparatus that is disposed to service a plurality of parking spaces and a controller that operatively connects to the movable charging apparatus. A human/machine interface device communicates with the controller and includes an interface device including user-selectable states including a user identification, identification of a specific one of the parking spaces and an expected departure time associated with a vehicle parked in the specific one of the parking spaces.) [0049] The charging routine 60 executes in response to arrival of another vehicle, or in response to a user-initiated “cut in line” request or a user-initiated “extending parking” offer. One of the parked vehicles 12 may not get a full charge in one time (without break) depending on status of other vehicles 12, include remaining battery power, time needed for a full charge, and departure time. [0050] Preferably, the charging routine 60 employs the electric vehicle charging station 10 to sequentially charge the plurality of vehicles 12 based upon the preferred charging sequence. The preferred charging sequence is based on the arrival times, the remaining power levels, and the vehicles' normal parking times (via their parking history) and expected departure times. If a user sends the system a “cut in line” request or an “extending parking” offer by providing an expected departure time, the charging routine 60 re-executes and may make an adjustment to the sequence)
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 13,
Zhao further discloses: wherein determining whether the vehicle is able to be dropped off further comprises: determining that the vehicle is able to be dropped off, when the vehicle is registered for the service; and determining whether there is a remaining parking space within the parking zone usable by the registered vehicle based on registered vehicle information on the registered vehicle and parking zone map information. ([0005] A multi-user electric vehicle charging station is described, and includes a movable charging apparatus that is disposed to service a plurality of parking spaces and a controller that operatively connects to the movable charging apparatus. A human/machine interface device communicates with the controller and includes an interface device including user-selectable states including a user identification, identification of a specific one of the parking spaces and an expected departure time associated with a vehicle parked in the specific one of the parking spaces.) [0049] The charging routine 60 executes in response to arrival of another vehicle, or in response to a user-initiated “cut in line” request or a user-initiated “extending parking” offer. One of the parked vehicles 12 may not get a full charge in one time (without break) depending on status of other vehicles 12, include remaining battery power, time needed for a full charge, and departure time. [0050] Preferably, the charging routine 60 employs the electric vehicle charging station 10 to sequentially charge the plurality of vehicles 12 based upon the preferred charging sequence. The preferred charging sequence is based on the arrival times, the remaining power levels, and the vehicles' normal parking times (via their parking history) and expected departure times. If a user sends the system a “cut in line” request or an “extending parking” offer by providing an expected departure time, the charging routine 60 re-executes and may make an adjustment to the sequence)
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 11,
Zhao does not disclose, however Nordbruch further teaches: wherein moving, by the parking robot, the vehicle to the parking zone or the charging zone comprises: moving the vehicle to the charging zone when the charger of the charging zone is usable; and moving the vehicle to the parking zone when the charger of the charging zone is not usable. ([0023] a control device designed to control the parking robot in such a way that, after the end of a charging process of an electric vehicle, it [0024] The energy storage system of a motor vehicle allows the vehicle to be moved from a charging position, in which the electrical energy storage system of the vehicle is located, using the charging station. [0025] The vehicle, which has been charged using the charging station, is moved to a parking position in which the vehicle no longer blocks the charging position. Another aspect is the provision of a parking space for motor vehicles, which includes the system for operating a parking robot.)
As previously stated, Zhao and Nordbruch are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of EV charging process robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the charging system of Zhao to enable the automated movement of cars in and out of the charging area.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the charging method disclosed in Zhao with the method applied to a system that additionally handles the loading of the parking spaces, as taught in Nordbruch.
Regarding claim 16: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 11,
Zhao further discloses: further comprising: identifying whether there is a parking space for the vehicle in the parking zone when it is determined that the vehicle is able to be dropped off; disposing the parking robot to the vehicle when there is the parking space; and informing a delay time to dispose the parking robot with respect to the vehicle when there is no parking space. ([0005] A multi-user electric vehicle charging station is described, and includes a movable charging apparatus that is disposed to service a plurality of parking spaces and a controller that operatively connects to the movable charging apparatus. A human/machine interface device communicates with the controller and includes an interface device including user-selectable states including a user identification, identification of a specific one of the parking spaces and an expected departure time associated with a vehicle parked in the specific one of the parking spaces.) [0049] The charging routine 60 executes in response to arrival of another vehicle, or in response to a user-initiated “cut in line” request or a user-initiated “extending parking” offer. One of the parked vehicles 12 may not get a full charge in one time (without break) depending on status of other vehicles 12, include remaining battery power, time needed for a full charge, and departure time. [0050] Preferably, the charging routine 60 employs the electric vehicle charging station 10 to sequentially charge the plurality of vehicles 12 based upon the preferred charging sequence. The preferred charging sequence is based on the arrival times, the remaining power levels, and the vehicles' normal parking times (via their parking history) and expected departure times. If a user sends the system a “cut in line” request or an “extending parking” offer by providing an expected departure time, the charging routine 60 re-executes and may make an adjustment to the sequence)
Regarding claim 17: Zhao discloses: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 11,
Zhao further discloses: further comprising: determining a state of charge (SoC) with respect to first pick-up vehicles reserved for pick-up within a preset time among all vehicles within a service region; and charging a second pick-up vehicle having the state of charge (SoC) lower than a preset first minimum reference value among the first pick-up vehicles to the preset first minimum reference value. ([0043] States for input parameters are determined for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any. The remaining power level for the vehicle battery may be in any suitable value, and is often reported as a percentage of battery state of charge (SOC). The total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery may be expressed in terms of kilowatt-hours. The period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery may be calculated or otherwise determined, with the target charge level expressed in terms of a full charge or a target charge level, e.g., 85% SOC. The average parking time may be calculated based upon historical data for each vehicle. The expected departure time may be based upon historical data or user input.)
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 17,
Zhao further discloses: further comprising: determining the state of charge (SoC) with respect to all vehicles within the service region, when the second pick-up vehicle is not detected; and charging a vehicle having the state of charge (SoC) lower than a preset second minimum reference value among all vehicles to the preset second minimum reference value. ([0043] States for input parameters are determined for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any. The remaining power level for the vehicle battery may be in any suitable value, and is often reported as a percentage of battery state of charge (SOC). The total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery may be expressed in terms of kilowatt-hours. The period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery may be calculated or otherwise determined, with the target charge level expressed in terms of a full charge or a target charge level, e.g., 85% SOC. The average parking time may be calculated based upon historical data for each vehicle. The expected departure time may be based upon historical data or user input.)
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 11,
Zhao does not explicitly disclose, however Nordbruch further teaches: wherein moving, by the parking robot, the vehicle to the parking zone or the charging zone comprises: loading the vehicle dropped off in the drop-off zone by the parking robot; moving the parking robot to a parking space within the parking zone arranged for the vehicle; and unloading the vehicle in the parking space. ([0023] a control device designed to control the parking robot in such a way that, after the end of a charging process of an electric vehicle, it [0024] The energy storage system of a motor vehicle allows the vehicle to be moved from a charging position, in which the electrical energy storage system of the vehicle is located, using the charging station. [0025] The vehicle, which has been charged using the charging station, is moved to a parking position in which the vehicle no longer blocks the charging position. Another aspect is the provision of a parking space for motor vehicles, which includes the system for operating a parking robot.)
As previously stated, Zhao and Nordbruch are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of EV charging process robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the charging system of Zhao to enable the automated movement of cars in and out of the charging area.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the charging method disclosed in Zhao with the method applied to a system that additionally handles the loading of the parking spaces, as taught in Nordbruch.
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Zhao and Nordbruch teaches: The robot-based electric vehicle parking and charging management method of claim 11,
Zhao further discloses: wherein charging, by the charging robot, the vehicle disposed in the charging zone to the charger by connecting the charger comprises: receiving vehicle information comprising type and specifications of the vehicle from a database by the charging robot; ([0043] States for input parameters are determined for each of the vehicles 12 that are parked in the parking spaces 14, including a vehicle arrival time, a remaining power level for the vehicle battery, a total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery, a period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery, an average parking time, an expected departure time, and credit points, if any. The remaining power level for the vehicle battery may be in any suitable value, and is often reported as a percentage of battery state of charge (SOC). The total electric power capacity of the vehicle battery may be expressed in terms of kilowatt-hours. The period of time required to achieve a target charge level for the vehicle battery may be calculated or otherwise determined, with the target charge level expressed in terms of a full charge or a target charge level, e.g., 85% SOC. The average parking time may be calculated based upon historical data for each vehicle. The expected departure time may be based upon historical data or user input.) detecting a position of a charging inlet of the vehicle based on the vehicle information by the charging robot; and inserting the charger into the charging inlet by using a sensor by the charging robot. ([0052] the controller 34 may instruct the robotic controller 56 to move the charging apparatus 28, 30 with end effector 52 to the vehicle requiring charging (66) and couple the end effector 52 to the charging receptacle 15 (68). [0061] Referring again to FIG. 8, in one configuration the end effector 52 may be guided toward the charging receptacle 15 at step 124 using one or more indicia that may be perceived from the receptacle 15. For example, the end effector 52 may include a sensor that may receive electromagnetic radiation and/or sound pressure waves from the receptacle 15 at step 140, or employing a visual sensor that may receive and process a visual image for aligning and coupling the end effector 52, which is any suitable charge coupler, to the charging receptacle 15. The robotic controller 56 may identify one or more indicia of the charging receptacle 15 from the received radiation/waves at step 142, and may use the positioning of the indicia as feedback during the final approach at step 144.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658