DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9, 12-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180164583 A1 (Wall et al.; as cited in IDS filed 11/20/2024) in view of US 20240069340 A1 (Krawczyk et al.).
Regarding claim 1:
Wall discloses a projector for an augmented reality or mixed reality headset (Para. [0010], a mixed reality display device with a display engine), comprising:
an emissive display (Fig. 3, display [206]) defining an optical axis (Fig. 3, optical axis [223]), configured to provide first supplied light (Fig. 3, light [222]);
an exit pupil configured to couple the first supplied light into a waveguide (See fig. 3, light [222] is coupled into waveguide [102] at input coupler [112]) for an augmented reality or mixed reality headset (Para. [0010], the mixed reality display device system includes an optical waveguide), the exit pupil comprising a first region (The examiner notes that the first region as claimed may cover any portion of the exit pupil including the whole exit pupil.);
an optical arrangement (See for example fig. 3, lens [208]) configured to couple the first supplied light [222] from the emissive display [206] towards the exit pupil (Fig. 3, the light is directed toward the exit pupil to be coupled into the waveguide); and
an absorptive structure (Para. [0046], surfaces of the display engine [204] are “painted or otherwise coated with a light absorbing material to reduce and preferably prevent stray light incident thereon from being reflected-back toward the image former 206” and “One or more additional and/or alternative type of light trap can be used to absorb light that is reflected-back toward the display engine 204, so as to minimize and preferably prevent such reflected-back light from being incident on the image former 206” (underlines added for emphasis). The examiner notes that a light trap is not simply a coating such as a black paint but a structure meant to prevent light from escaping by capturing and absorbing the light, for example in a cavity coated in light absorbing material.)
wherein the emissive display [206] is configured to provide the first supplied light [222] to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis [223] so that the first supplied light [222] is coupled towards the first region of the exit pupil (Fig. 3, the light [222] is directed off-centre of optical axis [223]);
wherein the first region is positioned off-centre from the optical axis [223] in a first direction to enable a first partial reflection (Fig. 3, reflection of light [232]) of the first supplied light [222] at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure (Fig. 3, shows that the off-centre positioning of the input coupling [112] causes the reflection to be directed away from display [206], from para. [0046] it is understood that the reflected light is absorbed by the absorbing structure in the display engine [204]).
Wall fails to disclose,
an absorptive structure is at the emissive display (Wall teaches in Para. [0040] that if the display [206] is an emissive display then the light reflected back will be reduced compared to a reflective display but does not teach that an absorptive structure should be provided at the emissive display.)
Krawczyk teaches a display system (Abstract) comprising
an absorptive structure (Fig. 8B and 9, absorptive structure [806] and [906]) at display system (In Fig. 9, waveguide of display system [940]. Additionally Krawczyk teaches, in para. [0009],that the absorptive structure is applied to an optical component having a reflective surface with the waveguide being the particular example in the embodiments.) to absorb visible light (Fig. 9, light [S’]) directed towards the display (Para. [0126], the incident light is absorbed as shown by the X in fig. 9.)
One of ordinary skill in the art trying to prevent ghost images caused by reflections on the display of Wall would recognize that applying the absorptive structure to a reflective surface, taught by Krawczyk, to the display of wall would prevent reflections off of the emissive display while allowing the first supplied light to be provided off-centre from the optical axis.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an absorptive structure at the emissive display as taught by Krawczyk in the projector of Wall for the purpose of preventing ghost images caused by reflections off of the emissive display.
Regarding claim 5:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk the teaches the projector of claim 1,
Krawczyk additionally teaches wherein the absorptive structure comprises a plurality of absorptive slats arranged between the emissive display and the optical arrangement. (Fig. 9 showing the absorptive slats.)
The motivations for the combination are the same as for claim 1 above.
Regarding calm 6:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk the projector of claim 5,
Krawczyk additionally teaches wherein the absorptive slats are oriented at a plurality of angles relative to the emissive display in a fanned arrangement. (Para. [0023], the angles of the slats may vary according to the position on the reflective surface.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the absorptive slats are oriented at a plurality of angles relative to the emissive display in a fanned arrangement as taught by Krawczyk in the projector of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of allowing the slats to direct the light at a plurality of angles.
Regarding claim 9:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk the projector of claim 5,
wherein the plurality of absorptive slats is arranged to enable light from a central pixel of the emissive display to be re-coupled towards the exit pupil.
Regarding claim 12:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk teaches an augmented or virtual reality headset comprising the light projector of claim 1. (Wall teaches a light projector for use in an augmented reality or mixed reality headset, see Para. [0001] and [0010])
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is an independent claim form of claim 12 above with a slightly broader set of limitations as the only difference between claim 12 and claim 13 is that claim 12 requires a light projector while claim 13 simply claims the limitations that the light projector comprises. For this reason claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Wall discloses a method for presenting an image to a wearer of an augmented or virtual reality headset (Para. [0010], a mixed reality display device with a display engine for presenting an image to a wearer.), the method comprising:
providing first supplied light (Fig. 3, light [222]) from an emissive display (Fig. 3, display [206]) defining an optical axis (Fig. 3, optical axis [223]);
coupling the first supplied light into a waveguide (See fig. 3, light [222] is coupled into waveguide [102] at input coupler [112]) for an augmented reality or mixed reality headset (Para. [0010], the mixed reality display device system includes an optical waveguide) via an exit pupil comprising a first region (The examiner notes that the first region as claimed may cover any portion of the exit pupil including the whole exit pupil.);
coupling the first supplied light [222] from the emissive display [206] towards the exit pupil (Fig. 3, the light is directed toward the exit pupil to be coupled into the waveguide) via an optical arrangement (See for example fig. 3, lens [208]); and
absorbing visible light reflected towards the emissive display from the exit pupil at an absorptive structure (Para. [0046], surfaces of the display engine [204] are “painted or otherwise coated with a light absorbing material to reduce and preferably prevent stray light incident thereon from being reflected-back toward the image former 206” and “One or more additional and/or alternative type of light trap can be used to absorb light that is reflected-back toward the display engine 204, so as to minimize and preferably prevent such reflected-back light from being incident on the image former 206” (underlines added for emphasis). The examiner notes that a light trap is not simply a coating such as a black paint but a structure meant to prevent light from escaping by capturing and absorbing the light, for example in a cavity coated in light absorbing material.)
wherein the emissive display [206] is configured to provide the first supplied light [222] to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis [223] so that the first supplied light [222] is coupled towards the first region of the exit pupil (Fig. 3, the light [222] is directed off-centre of optical axis [223]);
wherein the first region is positioned off-centre from the optical axis [223] in a first direction to enable a first partial reflection (Fig. 3, reflection of light [232]) of the first supplied light [222] at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure (Fig. 3, shows that the off-centre positioning of the input coupling [112] causes the reflection to be directed away from display [206], from para. [0046] it is understood that the reflected light is absorbed by the absorbing structure in the display engine [204]).
Wall fails to disclose,
the absorptive structure is at the emissive display (Wall teaches in Para. [0040] that if the display [206] is an emissive display then the light reflected back will be reduced compared to a reflective display but does not teach that an absorptive structure should be provided at the emissive display.)
Krawczyk teaches a display system with a method (Abstract) comprising
an absorptive structure (Fig. 8B and 9, absorptive structure [806] and [906]) at display system (In Fig. 9, waveguide of display system [940]. Additionally Krawczyk teaches, in para. [0009],that the absorptive structure is applied to an optical component having a reflective surface with the waveguide being the particular example in the embodiments.) to absorb visible light (Fig. 9, light [S’]) directed towards the display (Para. [0126], the incident light is absorbed as shown by the X in fig. 9.)
One of ordinary skill in the art trying to prevent ghost images caused by reflections on the display of Wall would recognize that applying the absorptive structure to a reflective surface, as taught by Krawczyk, to the display of Wall would prevent reflections off of the emissive display while allowing the first supplied light to be provided off-centre from the optical axis.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have absorbing visible light reflected towards the emissive display from the exit pupil at an absorptive structure at the emissive display as taught by Krawczyk in the method of Wall for the purpose of preventing ghost images caused by reflections off of the emissive display.
Regarding claim 18:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk the teaches method of claim 14,
Krawczyk additionally teaches wherein the absorptive structure comprises a plurality of absorptive slats arranged between the emissive display and the optical arrangement. (Fig. 9 showing the absorptive slats.)
The motivations for the combination are the same as for claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk the method of claim 18, wherein the absorptive slats are oriented at Krawczyk additionally teaches wherein the absorptive slats are oriented at a plurality of angles relative to the emissive display in a fanned arrangement. (Para. [0023], the angles of the slats may vary according to the position on the reflective surface.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the absorptive slats are oriented at a plurality of angles relative to the emissive display in a fanned arrangement as taught by Krawczyk in the method of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of allowing the slats to direct the light at a plurality of angles.
Claim(s) 2-4, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180164583 A1 (Wall et al.; as cited in IDS filed 11/20/2024) in view of US 20240069340 A1 (Krawczyk et al.) as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of US 20230393404 A1 (Gao).
Regarding claim 2:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk teaches the projector of claim 1,
Neither Wall nor Krawczyk teach
wherein the emissive display comprises a first portion configured to provide the first supplied light and a second portion configured to provide second supplied light to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis so that the second supplied light is coupled towards a second region of the exit pupil that is off-centre from the optical axis in a second direction so that the first and second regions are at least partially spatially separated from one another, to enable a second partial reflection of the second supplied light at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure.
Gao teaches a display with an optical guide that
comprises a first portion configured to provide the first supplied light (Fig. 14, left optical filter part [614]) and a second portion configured to provide second supplied light (Fig. 14, right optical filter part [614]) to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 14, the light is off-centre by angle α) so that the second supplied light is coupled towards a second region of the exit pupil that is off-centre from the optical axis in a second direction so that the first and second regions are at least partially spatially separated from one another (Fig. 14, the light from the first portion is directed towards a left region while the light from the second region is directed right.), to enable a second partial reflection of the second supplied light at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure. (Fig. 8 and 14, the reflections from one region would be absorbed by the absorptive structure.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the emissive display comprise a first portion configured to provide the first supplied light and a second portion configured to provide second supplied light to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis so that the second supplied light is coupled towards a second region of the exit pupil that is off-centre from the optical axis in a second direction so that the first and second regions are at least partially spatially separated from one another, to enable a second partial reflection of the second supplied light at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure as taught by Gao in the projector of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of allowing preventing the reflections from the off-center regions form forming ghost images.
Regarding claim 3:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Gao teaches the projector of claim 2,
Gao further teaches wherein the first portion and the second portion of the emissive display are configured to operate simultaneously to provide different parts of a field of view to the exit pupil at the same time. (Fig. 14 and Para. [0072]-[0073], The first and second portions form light rays in opposite directions at angles 0 to α forming different parts of a field of view.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first portion and the second portion of the emissive display are configured to operate simultaneously to provide different parts of a field of view to the exit pupil at the same time as taught by Gao in the projector of Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Gao for the purpose of allowing preventing the reflections from the off-center regions form forming ghost images while maintaining a wide field of view.
Regarding claim 4:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Gao teaches the projector of claim 2,
Gao additionally teaches wherein, at the first portion of the emissive display, the absorptive structure comprises features oriented towards the first direction and, at the second portion of the emissive display, the absorptive structure comprises features oriented towards the second direction. (Fig. 14, first and second portions [614] with structures pointing in first and second directions respectively.)
The motivations for the combination are the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk teaches the method of claim 14,
Neither Wall nor Krawczyk teach wherein:
the providing of the first supplied light from the emissive display comprises:
providing the first supplied light from a first portion of the emissive display; and
providing second supplied light from a second portion of the emissive display to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis so that the second supplied light is coupled towards a second region of the exit pupil that is off-centre from the optical axis in a second direction so that the first and second regions are at least partially spatially separated from one another, to enable a second partial reflection of the second supplied light at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure.
Gao teaches a method for a display with an optical guide wherein
the providing of the first supplied light from the emissive display comprises:
providing the first supplied light from a first portion (Fig. 14, left optical filter part [614]) of the emissive display; and
providing second supplied light from a second portion (Fig. 14, right optical filter part [614]) of the emissive display to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 14, the light is off-centre by angle α) so that the second supplied light is coupled towards a second region of the exit pupil that is off-centre from the optical axis in a second direction so that the first and second regions are at least partially spatially separated from one another (Fig. 14, the light from the first portion is directed towards a left region while the light from the second region is directed right.), to enable a second partial reflection of the second supplied light at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure (Fig. 8 and 14, the reflections from one region would be absorbed by the absorptive structure.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the providing of the first supplied light from the emissive display comprises: providing the first supplied light from a first portion of the emissive display; and providing second supplied light from a second portion of the emissive display to the optical arrangement off-centre with respect to the optical axis so that the second supplied light is coupled towards a second region of the exit pupil that is off-centre from the optical axis in a second direction so that the first and second regions are at least partially spatially separated from one another, to enable a second partial reflection of the second supplied light at the exit pupil to be coupled towards and absorbed by the absorptive structure as taught by Gao in the method of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of allowing preventing the reflections from the off-center regions form forming ghost images.
Regarding claim 16:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Gao teaches the method of claim 15,
Gao further teaches wherein the first portion and the second portion of the emissive display are configured to operate simultaneously to provide different parts of a field of view to the exit pupil at the same time. (Fig. 14 and Para. [0072]-[0073], The first and second portions form light rays in opposite directions at angles 0 to α forming different parts of a field of view.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first portion and the second portion of the emissive display are configured to operate simultaneously to provide different parts of a field of view to the exit pupil at the same time as taught by Gao in the method of Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Gao for the purpose of allowing preventing the reflections from the off-center regions form forming ghost images while maintaining a wide field of view.
Regarding claim 17:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Gao teaches the method of claim 15,
Gao additionally teaches wherein, at the first portion of the emissive display, the absorptive structure comprises features oriented towards the first direction and, at the second portion of the emissive display, the absorptive structure comprises features oriented towards the second direction. (Fig. 14, first and second portions [614] with structures pointing in first and second directions respectively.)
The motivations for the combination are the same as for claim 15 above.
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180164583 A1 (Wall et al.) in view of US 20240069340 A1 (Krawczyk et al.) as applied to claims 1, 5 and 18 above, and further in view of US 20180074375 A1 (Koito et al).
Regarding claim 7:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk the projector of claim 5,
Neither Wall nor Krawczyk teaches
wherein the plurality of absorptive slats comprises a first set of slats and a second set of slats that are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the first set of slats.
Koito teaches a plurality of absorptive slats for use with a display device (See abstract and Figs. 1 and 2.)
wherein the plurality of absorptive slats comprises a first set of slats (Fig. 2, slats [LV1]) and a second set of slats (Fig. 2, Slats [LV2]) that are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the first set of slats (Fig. 2 shows that the slats are substantially perpendicular).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of absorptive slats comprises a first set of slats and a second set of slats that are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the first set of slats as taught by Koito in the projector of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of directing the light travelling though the slats in two dimensions.
Regarding claim 8:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Koito teaches the projector of claim 7,
Koito additionally teaches wherein the first set of slats and the second set of slats intersect to form a plurality of truncated rectangular pyramids. (Figs. 3 and 4 showing the angles of first slats [LV1] and second slats [LV2] which form truncated rectangular pyramids.)
The motivations for the combination are the same as for claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 10:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk teaches the projector of claim 1,
Neither Wall nor Krawczyk teaches
wherein the emissive display comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein exposed external surfaces of the emissive display between respective pixels of the plurality of pixels are configured to absorb visible light to provide at least part of the absorptive structure.
Koito teaches Koito teaches an emissive display device with an absorptive structure (See Fig. 10)
wherein the emissive display comprises a plurality of pixels (Fig. 10, LEDs [LED]), and wherein exposed external surfaces of the emissive display between respective pixels of the plurality of pixels [LED] are configured to absorb visible light to provide at least part of the absorptive structure (Fig. 10, Plurality of walls [LV]. Para. [0087], the walls LV are part of light guide [LG1] that surround each pixel, and claim 8, the light-guide is located on the display side surface of the display and the walls are light shielding (absorbing) surfaces.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the emissive display comprise a plurality of pixels, and wherein exposed external surfaces of the emissive display between respective pixels of the plurality of pixels are configured to absorb visible light to provide at least part of the absorptive structure as taught by Koito in the projector of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of directing the light travelling though the slats while preventing reflections from the display.
Regarding claim 11:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk and Koito teaches the projector of claim 10,
Koito additionally teaches further comprising a collimating tube for each of the plurality of pixels, wherein an exposed external surface of each of the collimating tubes is configured to absorb visible light to provide at least part of the absorptive structure. (Fig. 10, Plurality of walls [LV]. Para. [0087], the walls LV are part of light guide [LG1] that surround each pixel, and claim 8, the light-guide is located on the display side surface of the display and the walls are light shielding (absorbing) surfaces.)
The motivation for combining is the same as for claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Wall in combination with Krawczyk teaches the method of claim 18,
Neither Wall nor Krawczyk teaches
wherein the plurality of absorptive slats comprises a first set of slats and a second set of slats that are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the first set of slats.
Koito teaches a plurality of absorptive slats for use with a display device (See abstract and Figs. 1 and 2.)
wherein the plurality of absorptive slats comprises a first set of slats (Fig. 2, slats [LV1]) and a second set of slats (Fig. 2, Slats [LV2]) that are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the first set of slats (Fig. 2 shows that the slats are substantially perpendicular).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of absorptive slats comprises a first set of slats and a second set of slats that are arranged substantially perpendicularly to the first set of slats as taught by Koito in the method of Wall in combination with Krawczyk for the purpose of directing the light travelling though the slats in two dimensions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250020919 A1 (Samaniego et al.) Teaches a display with a light guide to prevent ghosting from reflections, see especially Fig. 13.
/SETH D MOSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872