DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18-24 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 10-16. It is assumed Applicant intended claims 18-24 to depend from claim 17, rather than claim 9.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 12, 19, 17, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the aforementioned patent teach at least the features of the present claims.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,296,823. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the aforementioned patent teach at least the features of the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 13, 21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claim 5 recites, “assigning a location to each encoded bit based on a formula.” The omitted elements are: the formula. It is unclear what formula Applicant intends for assigning a location. There will always exist a formula that can be used to describe location assignment because such an action can inherently be described in pseudocode according to the laws of mathematics, so therefore this omitted essential element further causes the claim to not be further limiting.
Claims 13, 21, and 29 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 16-19, 21, 24-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li et al (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0180495; hereinafter referred to as Li).
As per claims 1, 9, 17, 25: Li teaches a method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium for wireless communications, comprising:
a memory in communication with a processor (Fig. 1) configured for:
encoding a code block using a Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) code (Fig. 1, 109) to generate a stream of encoded bits including systematic bits and parity bits arranged with the systematic bits followed by the parity bits (paragraph 16, Equation 4 and paragraph 49, Equation 6);
mapping each bit in the stream of encoded bits sequentially to a most significant bit (Fig. 2, systematic bits are mapped starting with MSBs; paragraph 62) available across two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 2, each column pair is a modulation symbol as explained in paragraph 54; see also paragraph 50); and
transmitting the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 1, 101 and 106).
As per claims 2, 10, 18, 26: Li further teaches the method, apparatus, and medium above, wherein systematic bits are located in a most significant bit of each of the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 2, systematic bits in MSB positions).
As per claims 3, 11, 19, 27: Li further teaches the method, apparatus, and medium above, wherein parity bits are located in a least significant bit of each of the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 2, parity bits in LSB positions).
As per claims 5, 13, 21, 29: Li further teaches the method, apparatus, and medium above, wherein mapping each bit in the stream of encoded bits sequentially to a most significant bit available across two or more modulation symbols comprises assigning a location to each encoded bit based on a formula (paragraphs 59-61).
As per claims 8, 16, 24: Li teaches the method, apparatus, and medium above, wherein mapping each bit in the stream of encoded bits sequentially to a most significant bit available across two or more modulation symbols comprises:
selecting a first symbol of the two or more modulation symbols that has a bit location that is in a most significant position that is available among the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 2, first row of the first column; paragraph 54), and
selecting a location of a next encoded bit a most significant bit location that is available within the selected symbol (Fig. 2, first row of the second column; paragraph 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 12, 15, 20, 23, and 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jeong et al (US Pat. Pub. 2012/0051460; hereinafter referred to as Jeong).
As per claims 4, 12, 20, and 28: Li teaches the apparatus and method above. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the encoded bits are arranged with the systematic bits followed by the parity bits based on a mapping table. However, Jeong in an analogous art teaches a bit mapper (Fig. 5, 515) that arranges bits of an encoded codeword based on a mapping table (paragraph 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the transmitter of Jeong in the system of Li. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it could have equivalently been used to perform the transmission functions disclosed by Li.
As per claims 7, 15, 23: Li teaches the apparatus and method above. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein mapping each bit in the stream of encoded bits sequentially to a most significant bit available across two or more modulation symbols is performed in a bit level interleaving operation. However, Jeong in an analogous art teaches a transmitter comprising a bit interleaver (Fig. 5, 513; Fig. 6, 611).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the mapping of Li in a bit level interleaving operation. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because doing so would have minimized error rate in modulating the codeword (paragraph 76).
Claims 6, 14, 22, 30 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li in view of Yano et al (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0290544; hereinafter referred to as Yano).
As per claims 6, 14, 22, 30: Li teaches the apparatus and method above. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the systematic bits and the parity bits are arranged in an order based on an encoding scheme of the LDPC code. However, Yano in an analogous art teaches an irregular encoding LDPC scheme arranged in an order based on column degree (paragraph 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the bits of Li based on an encoding scheme of the LDPC code. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because performance gains increase with column weights, as taught by Li in paragraph 76.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 17-19, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al (US Pat. 8,000,403; hereinafter referred to as Shimizu) in view of Myung et al (US Pat. Pub. 2010/0162073; hereinafter referred to as Myung).
As per claims 1, 9, 17, 25: Shimizu teaches a method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium for wireless communications, comprising:
encoding a code block using a ECC code (Fig. 2, 150) to generate a stream of encoded bits including systematic bits and parity bits arranged with the systematic bits followed by the parity bits (col. 5, lines 12-14);
mapping each bit in the stream of encoded bits sequentially to a most significant bit available across two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 3: encoded bits mapped to MSB across the three symbols shown); and
transmitting the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 1, 10 and 250).
Not explicitly disclosed is the ECC code being a Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) code. However, Myung in an analogous art teaches a LDPC code (paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a LDPC code as the ECC code of Shimizu. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it was a well-known ECC code (paragraph 10).
As per claims 2, 10, 18, 26: Shimizu further teaches the method, apparatus, and medium above, wherein systematic bits are located in a most significant bit of each of the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 3, systematic bits S1 and S2 in MSB positions).
As per claims 3, 11, 19, 27: Shimizu further teaches the method, apparatus, and medium above, wherein parity bits are located in a least significant bit of each of the two or more modulation symbols (Fig. 3, parity bits P11 and P12 in LSB positions).
Claims 4, 12, 20, 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Myung in view of Jeong et al (US Pat. Pub. 2012/0051460; hereinafter referred to as Jeong).
As per claims 4, 12, 20, 28: Shimizu et al teach the apparatus and method above. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the encoded bits are arranged with the systematic bits followed by the parity bits based on a mapping table. However, Jeong in an analogous art teaches a bit mapper (Fig. 5, 515) that arranges bits of an encoded codeword based on a mapping table (paragraph 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a mapping table in the bit mapper 415 of Myung. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it was a known way of facilitating the operation of the bit mapper as taught by Jeong.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/STEVE N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111