DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Look et al. (US 20180207397 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Look discloses An aspiration tubing set ("tubing set"; [0007]) comprising: a first end with an aspiration-side connector ("having a distal end configured to couple to the aspiration lumen of the aspiration catheter" [0007); a second end with a negative pressure source-side connector ("proximal end configured to couple to a vacuum source" [0007]), the negative pressure source-side connector being in selective fluid connection with the aspiration-side connector along a flow path ("tubing compression element configured to externally engage the tubing of the tubing set at a location between the proximal end of the tubing set and the distal end of the tubing set" [0007]); and a combined hydraulic ("pneumatic line"; [0196]) and electrical control ("pedal 2027" [0196]) disposed between the aspiration-side connector and the negative pressure-side connector (see FIG. 64) and configured to selectively open and close the flow path passing from the aspiration-side connector to the negative pressure-side connector through the combined hydraulic and electrical control ("user steps on the pedal 2027 causing a signal to be sent along a cable 2029 which is connected via a plug 2041 to an input jack 2037 in the pump 200" [0196]).
Regarding Claim 2, Look discloses an electrical connector disposed towards the second end, the electrical connector configured to detachably couple to a receptacle of a drive unit ("user steps on the pedal 2027 causing a signal to be sent along a cable 2029 which is connected via a plug 2041 to an input jack 2037 in the pump 200" [0196]).Regarding Claims 3-8, Look discloses the combined hydraulic and electrical control comprises a slidable control body ("pinch valve 2023" [0196]) configured to activate both an electrical switch within a housing of the combined hydraulic and electrical control and open the flow path ('by stepping on the pedal 2027, the user may cause the opposite action, wherein the actuator head 2033 opens the vacuum line 2008, by moving away from the anvil 2035" [0196]);
a release control configured to unlock the slidable control body ("unlocking the plunger 867 of the syringe 849 and allowing to release" [0134]);
the release control comprises a solenoid ("vacuum source 22 may be controlled by the electronic control module 412 (for example, by opening or closing a solenoid)" [0137]);
the combined hydraulic and electrical control comprises a first control interface ("foot pedal 2021") and a control body ("pinch valve 2023"), the first control interface being configured to be activated by a user to move the control body between a first position and a second position ("foot pedal 2021 may operate by alternately causing the actuator 2031 to move in a first direction and a second, opposite direction"), the control body being configured to be locked in second position ("plunger 2067 may be a locking variety of plunger that is configured to be locked in the retracted (vacuum) position" [0195]);
an electrical switch configured to be activated by the control body when the control body is moved to the second position ("controller may be configured to open the pinch valve 2023. The pressure transducer 2006 thus senses a negative pressure and sends a signal" [0196]);
a valve ("pinch valve 2023" [0196]) having a closed position blocking flow along the flow path and an open position allowing flow along the flow path, the valve being configured to be moved from the closed position to the open position by the control body when the control body is moved to the second position ([0196-0201]);
Regarding Claim 9, Look discloses An aspiration tubing set ("tubing set"; [0007]) comprising: a first end with an aspiration-side connector ("having a distal end configured to couple to the aspiration lumen of the aspiration catheter" [0007); a second end with a negative pressure source-side connector ("proximal end configured to couple to a vacuum source" [0007]), the negative pressure source-side connector being in selective fluid connection with the aspiration-side connector along a flow path ("tubing compression element configured to externally engage the tubing of the tubing set at a location between the proximal end of the tubing set and the distal end of the tubing set" [0007]); a combined hydraulic ("pneumatic line"; [0196]) and electrical control ("pedal 2027" [0196]) disposed between the aspiration-side connector and the negative pressure-side connector (see FIG. 64) and configured to selectively open and close the flow path passing from the aspiration-side connector to the negative pressure-side connector through the combined hydraulic and electrical control ("configured to operate a pinch valve 2023 for occluding or opening the vacuum line 2008" [0196]); a first conduit having a first lumen extending from the aspiration-side connector to the combined hydraulic and electrical control ("aspiration catheter 2018" [0193]; FIG. 64); and a second conduit having a second lumen extending from the negative pressure source-side connector to the hydraulic and electrical control ("vacuum line 2008 extends through a portion of the pump 200" [0196]; FIG. 64), wherein the first lumen, the second lumen, and a portion of the combined hydraulic and electrical control forming the flow path ([0195]; FIG. 64).
Regarding Claims 10, 12-13, and 17, Look discloses the combined hydraulic and electrical control comprises a valve ("pinch valve 2023" [0196]) having a closed position blocking flow from the first conduit to the second conduit and an open position allowing flow from the first conduit to the second conduit ("for occluding or opening the vacuum line 2008" [0196]);
the combined hydraulic and electrical control comprises a control body ("pinch valve 2023"), the valve being configured to be moved from the closed position to the open position by the control body ("pinch valve 2023 for occluding or opening the vacuum line 2008" [0196]);
the valve comprises a plunger disposed on a piston of a control body ("actuator head 2033 attached to the actuator 2031 and an anvil 2035" [0196]);
an electrical connector disposed towards the second end, the electrical connector configured to detachably couple to a receptacle of a drive unit ("user steps on the pedal 2027 causing a signal to be sent along a cable 2029 which is connected via a plug 2041 to an input jack 2037 in the pump 200" [0196]).
Regarding Claim 18, Look discloses An aspiration tubing set ("tubing set"; [0007]) comprising: a first conduit having a first lumen and a first end with an aspiration-side connector ("aspiration catheter 2018" [0193]; FIG. 64); a second conduit having a second lumen and a second end with a negative pressure source-side connector ("vacuum line 2008 extends through a portion of the pump 200" [0196]; FIG. 64), the negative pressure source-side connector being in selective fluid connection with the aspiration-side connector along a flow path ("tubing compression element configured to externally engage the tubing of the tubing set at a location between the proximal end of the tubing set and the distal end of the tubing set" [0007]); an electrical connector disposed between the first end and the second end, the electrical connector coupled to a conductor disposed in a conductor conduit ("user steps on the pedal 2027 causing a signal to be sent along a cable 2029 which is connected via a plug 2041 to an input jack 2037 in the pump 200" [0196]); and a combined hydraulic and electrical control disposed between the aspiration-side connector and the negative pressure-side connector (see FIG. 64) and configured to (i) selectively open and close the flow path extending from the aspiration-side connector to the negative pressure-side connector through the combined hydraulic and electrical control ("configured to operate a pinch valve 2023 for occluding or opening the vacuum line 2008" [0196]), the first lumen, the second lumen, and a passageway of the combined hydraulic and electrical control forming the flow path (see FIG. 64), and (ii) activate a switch electrically communicating with the electrical connector to activate a pump that is operatively coupled to the electrical connector to injected pressurized fluid to a patient ("pump 1602 may be configured (via an internal controller) to not pump saline when the lack of vacuum in the vacuum line 1606 is determined. Additionally, if vacuum is present, but is suddenly lost, the pump 1602 will shut down" [0197]).
Regarding Claims 19-20, Look discloses the first conduit and the second conduit terminate within a housing of the combined hydraulic and electrical control (see FIG. 64);
a pressure sensor ("pressure sensor 1608" [0197])configured to measure pressure within the passageway ("ability of the pressure sensor 1608 to monitor aspiration lumen pressure" [0197]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Look in view of Fineout et al. (US 20220031928 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Look fails to specify the valve is configured to be pulled into the closed position by negative pressure within a passageway extending through the combined hydraulic and electrical control. However, Fineout teaches a surgical suction/irrigation system ([0056]) wherein the valve is configured to be pulled into the closed position by negative pressure within a passageway extending through the combined hydraulic and electrical control ("pinching may be effected by displacement of the piston-type valve actuator against the tube 70 responsive to an application of vacuum pressure to the valve actuator" [0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Look to incorporate the teachings of Fineout to suitably control the flow of fluid within the system ([0062-0064]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Look in view of Overmyer et al. (US 20200155151 A1).
Regarding Claims 14-16, Look is silent regarding the limitations. However, Overmyer teaches “frame 1110 is configured to engage the frame of a surgical system, such as the handle of a surgical instrument and/or the arm of a surgical robot” ([0330]) comprising a locking tab associated with the control body and displaceable in a direction generally transverse to a longitudinal axis of the control body ("clutch 1540 comprises a cantilever beam 1543 fixedly mounted to the intermediate firing rod 1530 and, in addition, a cam head 1544 slidably positioned in a lateral slot 1534 defined in the intermediate firing rod 1530" [0349]; FIG. 24); wherein the locking tab is coupled to the control body via a deflectable beam ("cantilever beam 1543 fixedly mounted to the intermediate firing rod 1530 and, in addition, a cam head 1544 slidably positioned in a lateral slot 1534 defined in the intermediate firing rod 1530" [0349]; FIG. 24]); wherein the deflectable beam extends in a direction generally parallel to the longitudinal axis of the control body (see FIG. 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Look to incorporate the teachings of Overmyer to prevent unintentional activation ([0349-0351]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781