DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II with claims 8-13 in the reply filed on 0-6/01/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-7, 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A heating unit in claim 8 wherein heating is a functional language with the recited term unit being a generic placeholder for means.
A heating unit is interpreted as a heating wire, a heating net, or a heating film as disclosed in the specification, or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 2022/0007724).
With respect to claim 8, Zhang discloses the structure of the porous glass atomization core claimed including a substrate (shown by the porous body 10/20/30 as shown in Figure 1) comprising porous glass (para 0080), and a heating unit (50) arranged on the substrate wherein the porous body includes a porosity of 65% to 72% with an average pore size of 61 um to 64 um (also, see para 0148-0149) which is encompassed within the claimed range of the porosity of 65-80% and the pore size of 10-200 um.
With respect to claim 9, it is noted that claim 9 recites for a method of making the porous glass which renders the claim 9 as a product by process wherein the patentability of the product, i.e., the porous glass atomization core, does not depend on the method of production but based on the product itself (MPEP 2113) wherein the product, i.e., the porous glass, is met by Zhang.
With respect to claim 13, Zhang discloses an electronic atomizer that includes the porous glass atomization core (also, see Figure 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2022/0007724) in view of Kim et al (KR 102211643; see the English translation) or Liebald et al (US 2009/0156384).
With respect to claim 10, Zhang discloses the porous glass having a framework including a glass body (glass powders; para 0035) forming an average pore size the range of 61-64 um (para 0148) which is encompassed within the claimed range of 10-200 um, but Zhang does not show a fiber body.
Kim shows it is known to provide a foam/porous glass body having an reinforcing fiber body that is mixed with a glass body/powder (which would surround the fiber body) that provides an improved mechanical strength of the glass body with excellent heat and corrosion resistance (see para 0003, 0005 and 0010).
Liebald also shows it is known to provide a fiber body that is mixed with a glass body/powder that forms a mechanically strong glass body. Also, see para 0026-0028 and 0038.
In view of Kim or Liebald, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Zhang with the framework that includes a fiber body mixed with the glass body to predictably render a mechanically high strength porous glass body that can also withstand heat and corrosion resistance.
With respect to claim 11, Kim discloses the fiber body having a diameter of 10-30 um with a length of 500 (para 0009) which overlaps the claimed range that predictably provides the high mechanical strength to the porous glass body, and Liebald also discloses for the fiber body having a diameter of 4-10 um with a length of about 50 um or more (para 0028).
With respect to claim 12, Liebald discloses an aspect ratio of the fiber body that is 1-10 based on its diameter/width (e.g., 5 um) and its length (50 um), and, also, as Kim as well as Liebald discloses that the fiber can have a length that is 50 um or more (see para 0009 of Kim; and para 0028 of Liebald), such fiber can make up 25% or more of the fiber body (i.e., the entirety of the fiber body can be made of the fibers having a length that 50 um or more) to provide for the mechanically high strength glass body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rothwell (US 2023/0148044) and Borkovec et al (US 2017/0231286) disclose for the electronic atomizer having a porous glass atomization core.
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761